BYD Seal EV pre-booking open in Malaysia January 19

Following a teaser and a preview last December, the BYD Seal will be open for pre-booking on January 19, which is this Friday, as posted to the BYD Cars Malaysia Instagram page. This is after its first showing in Malaysia at the BYD brand launch in December 2022, and we’ve also had wheel time in an example in China; check out our review here.

The four-door coupé-styled sedan from BYD is expected to come to the Malaysian market in three variants, which means a line-up similar to those in nearby markets such as Singapore, Thailand and Australia, where there is a Dynamic Standard Range rear-wheel drive with a single 204 PS/310 Nm rear motor, paired with a 61.4 kWh Blade lithium-iron phospate (LFP) battery yielding 460 km of range (WLTP).

Second of the expected line-up is the Premium Extended Range, which is also of a single motor RWD driveline albeit with 313 PS and 360 Nm, and a larger 82.5 kWh LFP battery that brings up to 570 km of range.

Topping the range is the Performance AWD, with all-wheel-drive coming courtesy of a 215 PS/310 Nm front-axle motor joining the 313 PS/360 Nm rear motor for a combined output of 530 PS and 670 Nm. Paired with the same 82.5 kWh LFP battery as on the Premium Extended Range, its greater performance offsets range, which is up to 520 km (WLTP) on the Performance AWD.

For charging, the Seal in its base form supports up to 7 kW AC charging via a Type 2 connection, which will take 8.6 hours for a full, 0-100% charge, while DC charging via CCS2 connection goes up to 110 kW. The Premium Extended Range and Performance AWD, with their larger batteries, take 15.2 hours to get the full 0-100% charge via 7 kW AC (Type 2 connection), though their DC charging gets uprated to 150 kW, taking just 37 minutes for a 10-80% state of charge.

For pricing, the definitive figures have yet to be revealed, though sales advisors at the December preview event have indicated that pricing for the Seal will start from RM180k for the base Dynamic, stepping up to around RM200k for the Premium Extended Range, and then the Performance AWD at around RM220k.

Which would it be for you? The BYD Seal, or the recently launched Tesla Model 3 Highland facelift for similar pricing?

GALLERY: BYD Seal previewed in Malaysia

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• The interior looks so stuffy. Still Tesla is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
    • Neutral on Jan 16, 2024 at 4:18 pm

Not everyone likes the bland interior of the Tesla..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • Disgruntled New Tesla Owner on Jan 16, 2024 at 5:52 pm

BYD Seal same class as Porsche Taycan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Tesla User on Jan 16, 2024 at 9:57 pm

Worst buying car experience with Tesla. Customer service line forever busy, email no response, delivery advisor wont give you handphone no.

This is all i can share for those potential Tesla buyer.

• TESLA FANS on Jan 17, 2024 at 9:50 am

TESLA fans complaining workmanship already LMAO

• Tesla User on Jan 17, 2024 at 4:29 pm

Don’t hear and listen unless you have one. My car has no issue. The service is super poor. The briefing by the mat salleh tone Advisor is just wasting of time. The customer service is basically none. Good car but my second EV car wont be Tesla

• byd_ftw on Jan 16, 2024 at 3:37 pm

Tesla is better in term of what? FSD? Maybe. What else that Tesla is better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Technology and status. You can argue about the perceived battery tech of BYD but it doesn’t change the fact it has the relatively highest fire cases in middle kingdom.

The self driving tech, sensors and data collection of Tesla are miles ahead.

Do you see anyone recording their journey taking delivery a BYD? Many are documenting their experience taking delivery their model3 including many youtubers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
      • Chris on Jan 16, 2024 at 9:47 pm

Tech i can agree. But status is abit of syiok sendiri

• hello on Jan 18, 2024 at 1:55 pm

If you been following tesla news how many accident happen during the first 10 years.

• I’ll think about buying an EV after another 10 years..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Allo Hymn on Jan 17, 2024 at 3:31 pm

Work extra harder and choose the right platform for growth. We know you wouldn’t want to ride kapchai for another 10 years..

• 7kw ac onboard charger can be a dealbreaker for some people..even home charging may take almost 1day to fully charge..well see how the market response compared to model 3..

• Too much thing going on in the interior. As much as I like the exterior, cannot say the same for the interior. The “all over the place” interior design puts me off honestly. Maybe I am getting used to Tesla’s minimalist approach.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Bla blaz on Jan 16, 2024 at 6:48 pm

Anyone knows:
    1. How much is EV road tax
    2. Bank interest rate for EV car loan
    3. How much Tesla is charging for its supercharger?

Tq

• paanjang16 on Jan 16, 2024 at 7:06 pm

Tesla Model 3 is like Iphone 15
    BYD Seal is like Huawei/Xiaomi/Vivo flagship phone

The advantage I see with Tesla Model 3 is:
    1) Like Iphone, got seamless interface with accessories and services like supercharging using the Supercharger network
    2) 11kW home charging
    3) Like Iphone, ada Tesla, ada gaya, ada amoi
    4) Also like Iphone, Tesla will update the car to give updated features like IOS

BYD under Sime Darby seems to concentrate on getting sale instead of investing into charging stations hence the AP requirement. If BYD is serious then BYD should invest and provide what Tesla is doing to waive the AP requirement. Invest into more DC fast chargers so that all makes under the Sime Darby stable can charge. Otherwise now I have to fight with BMW, Merc, Audi and other BYD car owners for the charging points while Tesla owners have their own private club.

The 7kW home charging is a let down. Its like buying a flagship phone but have slow charging.

Advantage of this Seal is that it is more of a proper car with signal stalk than the Iphone on wheels Tesla model 3 where everything need to go through the touch screen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
    • Iphone and Tesla are boring and lacking innovative models, no new features. It is losing out to Xiaomi,Huawei and BYD in 2023. There’s no question Tesla market share will slip further in 2024.

• EV Fanboy on Jan 17, 2024 at 11:41 am

This BYD Seal is a beast. Such a sleeper with a tame name. Seal becames a monster when you floor the pedal. Looks tame but tapau any super car on the road but still has the comfort like a luxury sedan. I watched all the youtube reviews from other country, all prefer this Seal over TESLA.

• Taycan on Jan 17, 2024 at 12:46 pm

I don’t want a worm…

• azhar on Jan 17, 2024 at 4:54 pm

Just watched mat watsons’ seal v model 3 on youtube..its not perfect but model 3 still top

• db10s on Jan 18, 2024 at 9:55 pm

One thing that’s hard to compare here and the UK is the tesla super charger network, it’s quite extensive in the UK and we barely have any here. There was a segment on the tesla routing chargers for destinations on the GPS.

I wonder if the tesla here does that with other non tesla charging stations?

• John OC on Jan 21, 2024 at 1:22 am

BYD Seal selling in Australia start from RM155K, in China only start from RM105K. If selling in Malaysia start from RM180 then BYD Seal won’t be Tesla Model 3 killer in Malaysia, but is reversal. As I know BYD China is very aggressive in pricing to push their car sales. So hopefully dealership in Malaysia follow the step to place the car price aggressive so able to compete with Tesla, from RM160K, so call model 3 killer.