RON95 subsidy criteria to be announced soon – Rafizi

The subsidy eligibility criteria and mechanism should be announced in a few weeks’ time, according to economy minister Rafizi Ramli, reported The Star. The ministry would present related matters to the Cabinet soon for approval before the public is informed, Rafizi said.

“The economy ministry and finance ministry will bring the proposal of the mechanism and eligibility to Cabinet for approval, and as we progress, we will communicate to the public as soon as possible. Given that the timeline is in a few months, and this is already January, some of these announcements have to be made progressively going forward,” he said at the Malaysian Economic Forum on Tuesday, according to the report.

This announcement will also include the transition of eligibility criteria from the existing set that is gross income, defined by the B40, M40 and T20 segments, to net disposable income, Rafizi said.

“We have informed the proposal of policy changes, but the Cabinet’s decision has to be official so we can proceed to the next steps. In a few weeks, we hope to finalise the matter with the government’s approval in accordance with the proposal by the economy ministry,” he said.

Previously, minister of deputy domestic trade and cost of living Fuziah Salleh said that a person’s employment status and their number of dependents will be among the cost-of-living indicators which will be used to determine their eligibility for the RON 95 subsidy.

Last November, Rafizi said that the proposed levy system for implementing the RON 95 petrol subsidy could see some of the poorest households miss out from receiving the financial aid, as some 40% of households were found to have their vehicles not registered under their own names.

Meanwhile, concerns for data security have also arisen if the subsidy was dispensed through the use of e-wallets and the MyKad national identity card.

At the tabling of Budget 2025 last October, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim – who is also finance minister – announced that the target RON 95 subsidy would see the top 15% of earners (T15) pay more for petrol, and that 85% of the Malaysian population would continue to receive the fuel subsidy.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Phuddi sung lee on Jan 10, 2025 at 3:24 pm

This another azab on our head regarding this Ron 95 subsidy issue,can’t tahan ,when ever I open Paul tan portal I pray this issue not come frnt me but come ,
    Disgusting really

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Dah Menang Semua on Jan 10, 2025 at 9:40 pm

We already know this thing sure Go
      BN, PN, PH all being the gomen
      No one party abolish also

• Lets See on Jan 13, 2025 at 8:29 am

According to PH troopers, PH voters are spoil brat keeps asking for illogical entitlement wor…

• Richard Teo on Jan 13, 2025 at 2:47 pm

They only criticize when not in power. But when in power they push for it. Best is PN because they know “God’s will”

• Avenger on Jan 14, 2025 at 1:58 pm

Thunder God’s will cannot be challenged by mere human.

• Najib Razak on Jan 11, 2025 at 5:50 pm

Sedaghe sedaghe…
      Esok saya keluar penjara…
      Harga minyak turun…

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Jan 13, 2025 at 8:28 am

To PMX, Lapizi! As above!!!!!!!!!

• Squid on Jan 10, 2025 at 3:35 pm

How many years already want to announce soon? Just keep quiet and announce when ready la ayo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • 4GR-FSE on Jan 10, 2025 at 3:42 pm

Whether I am qualified or not it doesn’t matter, because the biggest impact to everyone is a step of inflation after that. Business owners will make excuses to increase prices regardless you are B40, M40, T20, T15, B60 whatever categories that the government has created..
    Government is just giving hint to brace for impact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • watmau on Jan 11, 2025 at 9:45 pm

Agree with comment, what comes after will be far worst, thinking post covid inflation wasn’t enough, the puts the cherry on top, not to mention the weakeaning of RM with mostly Asia bond markets bailing out in favour of higher interest US bills. What follows next is an increase in OPR, u tgk la x caya.

Salah undi or not, nasi sudah menjadi bubur brader

• Casual reader on Jan 13, 2025 at 10:13 am

Msians dah kena squid game by PH. Now it is bottom 3/4 fighting to survive while the Pakatan elites laugh at us.

• Autodriver on Jan 14, 2025 at 7:17 am

Dude, 2015 until today the RON95 is same price at RM 2.05. This is the only thing that never increase in price until today but yet food price and every other thing price hike. How do you explain this situation?

Another thing is from 2015 until today total car sales is at least 5 million units. Let’s take half is active, it is still a humongous number of 2.5 million over the 10 years. As of Dec 2023 there are nearly 24 millions vehicles with active road tax (source from paultan.org) and half of them are cars. Meaning 12 millions of cars on the road enjoying fuel subsidy from gov. But sadly B40 or 40% owners or 4.8 million cars are not paying any income tax to gov but enjoy subsidy from gov.

And every year our car sales figure hitting higher record. The burden of gov is increasing over the years. Many said you pay a lot on car tax, but you know the car sales mainly from Perodua which is the lowest car tax among all car brands. And we all know among B40, M40 and T20 who buy the perodua the most and yet they contributing the least of all kind of taxes to nation yet the biggest group receiving fuel subsidy. Anyone want argue my statement is welcome. Don’t just press dislike, come debate with fact.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Jan 14, 2025 at 2:32 pm

Easy, coz food prices depends on diesel as fuel of transportation. Food Price Hike started hiking when PH removed all diesel subsidies. And yet we are still waiting for their promise of reducing petrol to RM 1.50/L.. still waiting… still waiting…

• Ben Yap on Jan 10, 2025 at 3:55 pm

what’s the formula for the criteria?

• Ajibkor still at kajang sipping Starbucks Machiatto on Jan 10, 2025 at 8:14 pm

Ben Yap
      There is a huge ‘conspiracy gossip” going on that this Madani set up cant last long.
      It makes sense not to listen to all these ‘SURPRISES”from this Mr Surprise any more till July 2025.
      We have LHDN,KWSP,Bank Negara , and last year the apanama data gathering exercise…why still cannot determine who is T15? Do u need Iranian nuke science?
      Blardy irritating for this dude to keep highlighting ,like a old grandma.

• Lapizi Lampazi on Jan 11, 2025 at 5:26 pm

5 kids + 9 cats + 1 kapcai + living in rented PPR flat + wife pregnant with 6th kid

• Kea Was on Jan 10, 2025 at 3:56 pm

Just one word does it make any sense that 85% of the population have to go through all the hoops and loops just to remove 15% of the population from benefiting the system?

Until today we still have not shown how the previous government magical number T20 consumes 53% of the subsidy – how does their Ferrari pumps RON95, can they split their body to drive 10 cars, isn’t their newer car more fuel efficient and likely all of them also moved to EV by now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Art of maleise politics on Jan 11, 2025 at 5:34 pm

1) Weaponize poverty and keep the poor addicted and dependent on handouts
      2) Create religious issues to distract attention away from gomen shortcomings
      3) Relate every social, economical and constitutional decision to religion

• Rafizi dungu on Jan 13, 2025 at 11:23 am

Betul, dare you Rafizi to remove all subsidy. T15 will just change to EV or install solar power for their homes. The chain effect from subsidy removal even if just for T15 will be felt by the M40 and B40 the most

• Sohai Rafizi on Jan 10, 2025 at 4:24 pm

I just pay my eligible friend to use his IC to fill up every time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • if price difference is small, this is a hassle.
      depends on the price difference.

• T15 have the brightest brains on Jan 11, 2025 at 5:39 pm

Why don’t you hire your friend to be your driver for RM1.5k per month? He work for you plus fill up your tank with sweet subsidized fuel. Isn’t that more economical?

• Casual reader on Jan 13, 2025 at 10:11 am

Min wage Rm1700 incoming lar brader, later that fren sue for being underpaid who to seek compensation from? PH?

• Squid game on Jan 13, 2025 at 11:19 am

He probably pays his friend RM10-20 each filling. Comes to less than RM100 per month. Where’s your logic to hire the friend for RM1,500?

• Janji Dicapati on Jan 10, 2025 at 4:38 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Nurul Izzah on Jan 10, 2025 at 4:38 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Ex Rafizi Fanboi on Jan 10, 2025 at 4:39 pm

Tahniah pengundi Pakatan Hancing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • t20, t15, t10, whatever you want to call, already being paying higher tax (with higher income) with higher percentage. It is just fine if you remove all the subsidiary if I do not need to pay tax. I can pay myself using the money saved from tax. I am paying RM30k yearly. How much I need to pay for Ron95? With that much of money, I can pump Ron100!

• anticlowns on Jan 10, 2025 at 8:30 pm

so, shouldn’t the T15 or T20 group be granted more voting rights e.g. 1 vote equivalent to 3 or 5 to that of B40 group then ?

it’s only fair since they pay higher tax rates and being removed from all govt-subsidies, so they get a higher share in deciding who the next clowns to ascend to the cabinet.

• Zuchie on Jan 10, 2025 at 9:06 pm

Hari ini saya jadi PM…esok! Saya ulang…esok harga minyak turun! Kharkkkkpuiiiii!!!!

• Diam la fxxk face, u just break my weekend mood

• Just remove all the subsidies. To both members of the public and private entities. The government want to save money so much, then do it properly. Reboot everything. Can’t be saving money from public but leaking them to cronies’ companies.

Also, remove useless government entities. Too many overlapping functions with no outcome. Stop giving away government land/concessions for free/cheaply to cronies too.

• You guys chose to vote the guy who likes it from the back, this is what you get.

• Dulan on Jan 11, 2025 at 4:19 pm

We already have bumi and non bumi . Then now we have T15 class . Kesian if you are non bumi and T15 . Great if you are bumi and B40 but working in Singapore.

• Lets Ride !! on Jan 12, 2025 at 11:14 am

Just remove subsidy for all and ride motorbikeslah. Make our city look like neighbours country. Many advantages, just look at current bikers antics, illegal turns and ride opposite way, riding on pedestrian path, can choose to use dedicate ‘Vip’ bike lane or want some thrill & excitement by zigzag and zooming pass vehicles.Can go faster than 110km/h and with extremely loud exhaust!!. Can park anywhere they like. Can horn/ curse if drivers blocking their way, ignore traffic light, free tolls, cheap roadtax, etc. Pay the least, but enjoy the most! Time to switch to freedom! Yahoo!!!

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 12, 2025 at 8:36 pm

The main criteria is bumi. Please.

• Autodriver on Jan 13, 2025 at 8:38 pm

Do you guys know the unsubsidised RON95 is how much? It is about RM2.80. To T15 to pay this RM2.80 unsubsidised RON95 isn’t very pain compare to the rest of people. But again this T15 is the group who pay highest bracket of income tax. Some argue this T15 very smart of finding way to reduce the amount to pay for the tax. Come on, even if these rich people trying hard to reduce the tax they are still paying tens of thousands or more income tax every year compared to B40. B40 no need to pay any income tax meanwhile enjoying the most benefits from gov.

I think gov can remove all subsidy of RON95 from T15 meanwhile also reduce the subsidy to B40 and M40, probably set the RON95 at RM 2.40. B40 and M40 should not over rely on gov subsidy. Gov save this money please invest on education. Do not over populated especially on the poor citizen segment. Increase the knowledge of financial management. Those who bash me please think twice because Saudi produce more oil but higher price of RON95. Brunei fuel cheap but they only have 450k citizens while Malaysia population is 34 million, we are 75 times higher population than Brunei. Brunei gov has no pressure to subsidy their citizens at all compare to Malaysia.