Surprise, surprise – it looks like the Tesla Cybertruck could be converted to right-hand drive after all, if Drive is to be believed. According to the Australian publication, there is a remote possibility of the pick-up being re-engineered for the continent and, unique among full-size trucks sold in Australia (which are usually converted to RHD locally), built right at the main factory in Texas.
“We are working pretty hard to get [Cybertruck] in right-hand drive,” said Tesla Australia country director Thom Drew. “Obviously not confirmed just yet, but we’re working on it.”
He said that while the matter is still being discussed with headquarters, his team is building a solid business case for the conversion – even though Australia will likely be the only market outside the US that offers it.
Certainly, it’s a segment that…utes in general are super popular here. Yes, this is a class above in size and all that, but there really isn’t anything like it that I see in the market or coming soon, so we think there’s a really strong case.
“It is in our sights, and we’re talking with the engineering team about the feasibility of building it in right-hand drive. In all honesty, it would only be for our market, so there is that challenge to consider, but we’re working very hard,” he told the publication.
The news comes even as some quarters have been calling for privately-imported Cybertrucks to be banned from the roads in Europe. One was even seized by authorities in the UK over its non-conformity with local rules, including the sharpness of its stainless steel body panels.
Many Australian Design Rules (ADRs) have been derived from European regulations, said Drive, but that doesn’t seem to be stopping Tesla’s Australian arm. Asked whether significant changes will need to be made for the Cybertruck to be sold Down Under, Drew said: “[Right-hand drive] and a few other ADR requirements. But in general what you see here is what we would [sell] in Australia.
“I think what you’ve heard, and I’ve certainly seen myself, is it’s not suitable for other markets [other than North America]. Australia’s rules are slightly different and it actually is a [feasible] vehicle.”
It is thought that changes to meet ADRs would be focused on developing Australian-compliant lighting units rather than reengineering the whole truck. That would increase the possibility of the Cybertruck being sold in Australia, especially as building RHD units directly at the factory – rather than converting them locally as is the case with full-size petrol-powered rivals like the Ford F-150, Ram trucks and the Toyota Tundra – would confer a significant pricing advantage.
The local effort to bring the Cybertruck has been spurred by growing interest in electrified pick-ups, such as the BYD Shark, although Drew believes the fully-electric Tesla offers something more. “As far as capability: look, PHEVs have some benefits. Something like the BYD Shark which has an interesting range extender type model, with a lot more EV capability,” he told Chasing Cars.
“[But] there is still nothing here that is a real workhorse, full EV that has the range and capability that Cybertruck does. We think there is a real gap in the market that still needs to be filled and we would love to be the ones to do it first.”
The electric truck market is still non-existent even in Australia, but it is wide open, with the Cybertruck’s usual rivals the Ford F-150 Lightning and Rivian R1T still not available down south. Bringing its polarising leviathan in would enable Tesla to have a head start in the region.
But what does this all mean for the Cybertruck in Malaysia, another right-hand-drive market? While an in-house RHD conversion certainly helps matters, it would still be a long shot at best to be able to buy one through official means.
Quite apart from the fact that we share the same UN regulations as most of the world, the Cybertruck is simply too big to fit our roads and parking lots. It’s nearly 5.7 metres long and over two metres wide – way bigger than the already massive regular one-tonne trucks like the Toyota Hilux and over 130 mm longer than even a Rolls-Royce Ghost. There’s a reason why full-size trucks are not sold here, and it’s likely the Cybertruck will stay that way, too.
GALLERY: Tesla Cybertruck in Malaysia
habislah, the ugly abomination is here to boost our road fatality rate
Welcome to discipline mat rempit and lane hogger
Why bother supporting this ugly truck that only make the Musketeer richer and richer?
Elon supported Trump who wants to relocate the poor daily bombarded Gazans.
The boycott of KFC,Mc Dee,Starbucks should be diverted to Tesla.
Support BYD ,distributed by Sime Darby,our own conglomerate GLC.Do u need rocket science?
Jgn terkejut kalau kau pandu benda ni nanti akan ada orang tanya..”Apa binatang Chip bawak ni?”… Pinjam ayat Sarjan Pendek dlm filem Ali Baba Bujang Lapuk daaa
Don’t come here, I would definitely puke if I see this p.o.s in the flesh.
Those sharp edge are dangerous for pedestrians. This truck should be banned.
As usual, Malaysia is the dumping ground for unsold units. Whoever buy this truck, be prepared for terrible QC of a trash vehicle.
lori elok je ada atas jalan kalau panjang dan lebar jadi alasan…pelawak pelawak pelawak
watched a few “reviews” where they really used the cybertruck as a work-truck. It failed miserably.
The body frame snapped when towing overloads.
The door trims broke and fell out if the doors were slammed a few times. Horribly failed.
Keep this ugly dumpster-looking swasticar off our streets.
With all due respect, this car looks horrible. How did we evolve from making Mustangs, Ferraris, Aston Martin DBX, Land Rovers, Volvos, etc… to THIS?!?!
no please? what a road hazard. and imagine that door banging your car next to it
Fragiletruck in Malaysia hot and humid climate? Oh, the amount of jokes and memes from Cybertruck fails in Malaysia will be legendary!
please dont bring it here
nononono, plz go away, this road-bully favourite cybertruck – our govt should not approve the sale of this deadly abomination on malaysian roads, a danger to all other road users …