Anwar says 90% of Malaysians won’t be affected by targeted RON95 subsidy, only foreigners, the wealthy

Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has said the rationalisation of the RON 95 fuel subsidy won’t affect the majority of the population, reports NST.

“I don’t believe ordinary citizens need to worry or be impacted, regardless of the methods introduced in the RON 95 rationalisation issue. Do not pay attention to rumours; even during the fasting month, when concerns arise about increases in electricity tariffs, I want to reassure everyone that such increases will only affect the wealthy,” said Anwar.

“The same applies to RON95. In fact, our study shows that it is not 85%, but 90% of the population who will remain unaffected. Those who will be impacted are foreigners and the extremely wealthy. If someone earns RM50,000 a month, they should be expected to contribute a little more,” he added.

Yesterday, second finance minister Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan revealed that more than 85% of the people will benefit from subsidised RON 95 petrol. He added that subsidy mechanism will be based on a two-tier pricing system, with the MyKad being used to determine the amount that users will pay at pumps.

The restructuring of RON 95 petrol subsidy from a blanket to targeted approach was announced during the tabling of Budget 2025 by Anwar, who said the change will take place in mid-2025. At the time, he said the subsidy bill was RM20 billion a year to keep the price of RON 95 at RM2.05 per litre, and moving to targeted subsidies would incur savings of RM8 billion.

“I need to remind everyone that it is better for this RM8 billion to be channeled into education facilities, healthcare and public transport,” Anwar, who is also the finance minister, told reporters today after performing Friday prayers in Shah Alam.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally express skepticism and criticism towards the targeted RON95 subsidy policy, questioning its fairness and effectiveness. Many argue that the 90% of Malaysians supposedly unaffected are actually impacted indirectly through inflation and increased operational costs, despite official claims. Several comments highlight concerns that the policy benefits foreigners and the wealthy while placing a burden on the ordinary rakyat, especially the lower-income groups. Some believe the government is using this as an excuse to hide wasteful spending or to target the rich unfairly. There’s also frustration over the complexity of the system, the potential for loopholes, and doubts about transparency and true savings. Overall, sentiment leans towards distrust and dissatisfaction with the policy's intentions and implementation.

• susah payah, setiap kali support, apa sampah yg saya pilih?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
    • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Mar 29, 2025 at 10:02 pm

You can trust him as much as you can trust his janji above

• Dah Menang Semua on Mar 31, 2025 at 4:42 pm

One house of B40 Bangla
        Sum up to T10 household
        Hahahahahahahaaaa

• This is what you get in mesia. No talented politicians. Only rhetoric racist extremists and thieves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • Avengers on Mar 31, 2025 at 10:46 am

Plenty of these racist & thieves in PH which why it is surprising why did rakyat choose them over stable 60 years gomen. So sad.

• Akmal Salleh on Mar 31, 2025 at 4:57 pm

Like that runny nosed kampung boi with a clinic in merlimau turned politician? As a politician, he’s still runny nosed. Serve him right for being racist. Hey! That me!

• “If someone earns RM50,000 a month, they should be expected to contribute a little more”. Dont they already paying very high income tax to you? So why are they still being charged more??? Also those money will be used to fund the luxury of government, public transport my ass.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
    • Go live in Brunei then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
      • Dah Menang Semua on Mar 31, 2025 at 10:50 am

Now he quote
        “90% Malaysians not affected”
        “someone earning 50K monthly”

In summary,
        “not household, but individual”
        “T10 earnings above 50K pay full”

• Borneo Darul Selam on Mar 31, 2025 at 10:54 am

pls do not come over, we are going to submerged under salty water soon

• Paul Chan on Apr 02, 2025 at 9:48 am

punish those that paying high taxes. smart or desperate move?

• ThePolygon on Mar 28, 2025 at 6:02 pm

Next press conference.. 100% won’t be affected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Phuddi sung Lee on Mar 28, 2025 at 6:35 pm

Laughing stock Malaysia infrnt rests of the world ,no more comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • YB Kinte Kunte on Mar 28, 2025 at 7:16 pm

Dear PMX,the combined savings from diesel n Ron 95 rationalisation should be around 20 Billions Rm.
    So,instead of pushing for another Sapura style “cash injection” or ‘bailout” for other badly managed GLCs,pls direct the resources to improve Public hospitals which r in dire straits.With the influx of patients who gave up private medicare insurance,our public hospitals r bursting.
    If this Madani germen is serious of getting another term,pls cut down on wastages,target improving the health services to the rakyat.Health is wealth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • By cutting off subsidy, our national debts can be reduced, and currency strengthen.
      If say first example our currency same strength as Singapore, one litre is only RM1. Therefore efforts should be to reduce subsidise. Everyone benefits in the long run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • He Long Must on Mar 30, 2025 at 1:27 pm

Mesia should have its own DOGE. I’m not against helping the poor but the country can only reduce it’s debt when it trims the bloated gomen service, cut pensions and stop hiring people to sit around all day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
        • Donald Trump on Mar 31, 2025 at 4:11 pm

Gomen service is the welfare department for the weak and lazy. Just walk into any gomen office or agency and you can only see 1 common face or look

• Saipol Bookari on Mar 31, 2025 at 4:14 pm

My ex-lover can’t nip this problem in the bud so he created all these rhetoric to distract the rakyat. The only nip he does is to my butt

• Bieight8 on Mar 28, 2025 at 7:53 pm

So is 85 or 90?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Azgarffield on Mar 30, 2025 at 11:42 am

We won’t know the truth, the way this gomen operates.

You will know only when you get hit. You might actually be only in the top 25%, but they’ll say, “thank you for being a contributor to govt taxes. Congratulations, you’re the top 10% earner. Andalah Wira Negara”…..

• Susukotak on Mar 30, 2025 at 4:42 pm

Shame on press. Should tell the 25% instead 10% affected.

• Anwar will say only 5% later. Someone that with no I integrity should not be pm!

• Winnie on Mar 28, 2025 at 8:03 pm

I am curious,

if based on IC,
    Rich Man has alot of cars,
    his rich cars easily linked with His Car’s Insured Sum Value.

so from this can determine if he is top 10% rich car mans.
    whatever he drives, gonna pay more.

if u ask me, there are loops hole.
    but i dont these loops hole help him becoming any richer nor help me save any troubles.

Any delay in implementing = more subsidy are lost to super rich car mans and foreigners?

• I’m a rich man and I have 7 perodua ativas in 7 colours for each day of the week

• Gamee on Mar 30, 2025 at 8:48 pm

so IC-insurance sum linked means you dont get subsidy, unable to hide your richness @ petrol station.

unless you ask B90 to help you.

• Dah Menang Semua on Mar 31, 2025 at 4:41 pm

One house of B40 Bangla
        Sum up to T10 household
        Hahahahahahahaaaa

• Belum Kalah Seorang on Apr 02, 2025 at 3:19 pm

What are you babbling about? Foreigners not entitled to fuel subsidy

• Oh now it’s 50k a month? Moving goalpost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • these numbers are plucked out of the skies.. guess what? if you are affected then they will say you are earning more than 90% of the population.. even when you only bring home a little over 10K a month..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Mar 29, 2025 at 10:03 pm

His janji above also pluck from the sky yet majority trusted & voted him?

• Azgarffield on Mar 30, 2025 at 11:44 am

Exactly my thoughts as well. We won’t know the truth, the way this gomen operates.

You will know only when you get hit. You might actually be only in the top 25%, but they’ll say, “thank you for being a contributor to govt taxes. Congratulations, you’re the top 10% earner. Andalah Wira Negara”…..

• dudette on Mar 30, 2025 at 1:33 pm

Are your parents retired? Get them to tag along for your petrol refills and use their mykad. Then reward them with a Magnum ice cream from the gas station for their trouble. No biggie

• Nurul Izzah on Mar 28, 2025 at 11:46 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Janji Dicapati on Mar 28, 2025 at 11:46 pm

Refer my name

• Ma-de-ni on Mar 29, 2025 at 4:00 am

Last year say tnb increase won’t affect 85% of the population, I’m only taking home 6k monthly and was affected in a household of 3. Giving unrealistic blatant misinformation of those earnings 50k monthly as example, I’m very skeptical on not being impacted even though not earning 50k. Even if my fuel bill remains unchanged, this will certainly cause major inflation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Made in cina on Mar 29, 2025 at 9:29 am

Well done.

• Politicians get paid more than RM50k a month but everything paid for by the gomen including petrol and housing allowance, driver, escort, body guards… . .

• Land exploited by the wind on Mar 30, 2025 at 1:38 pm

Seriously consider politics for your career. I haven’t seen one politikus who’s poor in mesia. Even simple things like helping businessman get mining license will net you 300k to a million

• Eydin on Mar 29, 2025 at 10:02 pm

How much savings is the government projecting if global oil prices are now much lower than a year ago? Should the US go into recession, it may come down even more.

• Sometime i pity with M40/T20 people .. Not only will you not get a subsidy , You also kena income tax.

Employer(T20) not get subsidy/bantuan > try to cut cost to maintain the business > laid off employee .

Good luck bodek kaya people .

• Shifting from fuel-based consumption to sustainable energy helps combat climate change and global warming, benefiting the environment, society, and future generations.

• Lolsomany on Apr 06, 2025 at 5:09 am

Climate change only slow down not becoming cooler. It’s been research by geologist scientist every 250K years, earth will have climate change

• IGP mom on Mar 30, 2025 at 10:23 am

If 90% not affected, then why bother doing it? Wasn’t it meant to save billions? You cant tell me that 10% using that much of petrol. So much hoo-hah just to witch-hunt T20. Go after T1% la. These are the ultra rich, with capability to escape tax. The usual T20, they paid the most tax honestly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Cut the BS la Anwar. You’re using this excuse to hide your failure of tackling wasteful gomen spending. Our cars can’t use ron95 anyway. You wanna save money then cut the bloated gomen service and stop bailing out failed gomen ventures

• Subsidy on Mar 30, 2025 at 10:57 am

The petrol station’s operator will have a sudden increase in cost due to the system upgrade and additional staffs needed to monitor the implementation of the 2 tier pricing system. can imagine how havoc it is with loonggg que just to pump petrols esp during peak hours! why dont just float it like diesels and pay directly to those eligible for subsidy! Its much more practical and easier since you said it….85-90% will received subsidies! Why need this complication just because of ONLY 10% which not eligible for subsidy! Idiotic implementation…..sbb 10%, semua jadi kelam kabut! Tak pasal2 bangla keje pump station kena marah/pukul nanti

• AZHAR BIN MD NOH on Mar 30, 2025 at 11:43 am

The wealthiest stir the economy. Now the cost of fuel is higher for them. Cost of doing business. Higher fuel cost result to ‘slight’ increase in price. This government doesn’t know economy.

• How are you all rich on Mar 30, 2025 at 10:00 pm

The comment section is full of rich people. I am actually ok with the policy as long as the income level threshold is not too high.

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Mar 31, 2025 at 8:40 am

janji dicapatikan…

all his janji is like shit coming out of his arse!

• So why implement it in the first place? Waste of time and money since you are still subsiding 90% of the people.

• Permaidani on Apr 02, 2025 at 7:41 am

Save the money for government, then the money go to someone else pocket, definitely not the people. malaysia permaidani…

• If someone earns RM50,000 a month, they should be expected to contribute a little more,” he added.

So earning RM10,000 not affected? No operation costs increase to businesses and businesses won’t increase prices to consumers?

• kogila on Apr 02, 2025 at 9:46 am

i’ll say this again. the government is attacking the Rakyat, instead of stopping RON95 stolen at Thai and Singapore border. This is stupid. All Rakyat pays taxes, the rich pays more, the poor pays less/none. So it is only fair all Rakyat gets to use subsidized RON95 regardless of income, etc.

• Gov just want to forces rich people using EV, that’s it. If you are rich, why not buy EV?

• Ben Yap on Apr 03, 2025 at 4:19 pm

so when PMX going to remove stack pension?