After writing the same thing all year, May 2026 finally brings a changing of the guard at the top of Malaysia’s EV chart. The Proton eMas 7 has overtaken its smaller sibling, the eMas 5, to become the country’s best-selling fully electric model for the month, according to the latest EV registration data from the road transport department (JPJ).
It was the narrowest of wins. The eMas 7 recorded 896 units to the eMas 5‘s 883, a margin of just 13 units. The eMas 7 had trailed in third place in April, so its move to the summit caps a steady climb. On a year-to-date basis, though, the eMas 5 remains streets ahead, with 9,356 units to the eMas 7’s 2,286, so this is very much a monthly result rather than a shift in the bigger picture.
Third place goes to a relative newcomer, the iCaur V23 with 397 units (1,369 YTD), the Chery-derived marque now carving out its own space in the chart. It is followed by the Zeekr 7X (355 units, 1,354 YTD) and the BYD Seal 6 (268 units, 937 YTD), the best-placed of a cluster of BYD models.
BYD in fact fields five models in the top 20, but its volume is spread thinly: the Sealion takes sixth with 242 units, the Atto 2 seventh with 208, and further down, the once-dominant Atto 3 is in 14th place with just 96 units, which is expected as BYD geared up for the 2026 Atto 3 facelift to be launched.
The mid-table sees the Leapmotor B10 in eighth (149 units), the Xpeng G6 ninth (144), and the Tesla Model Y rounding out the top 10 with 104 units. The newly locally-assembled MG S5 makes the biggest leap of all, vaulting from 42nd in April to 11th with 102 units as CKD deliveries get going.
The rest of the 20 is filled out by the TQ Wuling Bingo in 12th (100 units), the iCaur 03 in 13th (99), the Atto 3 in 14th, the Tesla Model 3 in 15th (93), the Leapmotor C10 in 16th (88), the Perodua QV-E in 17th (80), the BYD M6 in 18th (73), the Great Wall Ora in 19th (56) and the Zeekr 009 in 20th, also on 56 units.
By brand, Proton remains the dominant force in EVs, its e.MAS pair good for 1,779 units, or 35.3% of all EV registrations in May. BYD is a distant second on 925 units (18.4%), with the fast-rising iCaur third on 522 (10.4%), ahead of Zeekr (413) and Leapmotor (237).
Overall, EV registrations totalled 5,038 units in May, down 14.5% from April’s 5,894, broadly tracking the wider market, which cooled around 15% on the month. The Perodua QV-E continues its slow climb, edging up to 17th from 18th with 80 units against April’s 52, a sign that the national brand’s first EV may at last be finding its feet. You can explore the full EV picture, by model, brand and month, on our car sales data tool.

About 25k new 2026 EV guys now can enjoy cozy NVH amid daily traffic jam stress, traffic jam also have minimal. Impact to its power consumption, only about 1kWh for 1 hour idling for at 32deg during morning and evening time.
Very ideal for me to sleep in the plushy comfortable EV car in the morning and lunch hour too.. I use V2L in car power socket for laptop working, also plugged to air fryer to cook my Maggie and nugget bought from 99 speedmart…
can i ask, which is the cheapest EV with V2L feature?
I can even take a shower in my EV during lunch break and watch my 75 inch tv plug in my EV. No regret buying my transformer EV it is my house now.
QV-E no where to be seen.
Must be blind when it’s all over the charts.
All over ur GUGU chart isit!
Of course we hardly see it on the road.There are just 80 unit register in this month and just 182 total QVE registered on road since ITS launched 6 months ago.Its rarer than Lambo for now.And this is just my speculation,I suspected most of the units are being use by Perodua itself like for show room ,for test deive and maybe got used by their staff or selected individuals to get real world data for their own EV.
harap ada emas 5 PHEV.
They have to really fight for the market as there are limited EV adopters and once they buy the car they gonna hold on to it for at least 5 years meaning no sales from them for the next 5 years.
No. We will hold on to it until it explode. Not 5 yrs. Because no 2nd hand seller want to take it. So for eternity my love is for my EV. Sorry to EV company, I ll drive your car till the end of time.
VW and Peugeot owners knows the pain of low resale value
wheres volvo, BMW and the rest of the orang putih and jepunis, i see only tesla is the only one in the list which is not Chinese, but that car is made in China.
This chart shows thats, cheap cheap EV can sell anything within 60k or less, Mostly for fetching kids and go to office. Single lady driver. Emas 5 the best. Emas 7 main family and 120k its a lot of options. But again it still sell the most.
The 7x is the best bargain, especially when u are fed up with orang putih unreliable brand, you probably settle with the Zeeker as its best in its price.
As for BYD, i think the saga of with the MITI has cause buyers to be caution with the brand, not knowing if it will exit or stay. or What will happen to BYD, so thats probably the answer. Even the Atto 2 not really selling well.
Leapmotor, great product. Good pricing, value for money. but again, its Stellantis, Its Peugeot, they carry those name that frightens people, you type Stellantis on the internet u get financial trouble news of Stellantis.
Wu Ling is definitely a rip off. I dont see how can they position that product in that such category, Probably will sell when they start throwing price again, Like that Aion. Last last 70k to 80k all sold out. TCM style. No discount no sales. Got discount only got sales. Im not too sure who would get that Wu Ling Bingo. It is literary squatting at the back seat.
As for the others. They are all in a Limbo. not here nor there.
Wow a true EV sales person caught here. Good. I ll increase your salary based on your research, keep up the work!
given the continuous steady figure posted by icar v23, i have no doubt there will be a catastrophe viral case involving this model soon, like how the omoda 5 petrol fallen from grace when it once top the chart.
you cant expect a car to always keep top chart spot, same logic as how no one football team can keep on winning premier league every year.
When he has only a tiny wowbrain, dun expect him to think of a normal common sense!
seem like WOW is having a catastrophe viral brain problems!