New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan

newmira1.jpg

Daihatsu Japan has updated their Daihatsu Mira with a new model and guess what… the new facelift seems to sport headlamps that look like they belong to the Myvi family! A similiar design has been spotted on the new Perodua Kancil Replacement Model that has been seen doing testing rounds lately. Look after the jump for some comparisons…

kancilmiracomparison.jpg

Above is a comparison between the three headlamps. The new Daihatsu Mira front end loses the sharp edged look that it’s predecessor had, now instead appearing more curvy than before. Similiarly, the new front grille has been made more curvy to match the new headlamps. Of course, a new bonnet is also required to match the contour of the new bumper and front grille.

newmira3.jpg

original_mira_1.jpg

The shape of the widebody-like wheel arch has also been smoothened out to lose it’s sharp edged look. The front bumper has been given a new sportier 3 intake design, the classic two smaller intakes flanking a larger intake in the middle for the radiator. Of course, the wing mirror have gained the customary turn signal indicators that seem to be latest in automotive fashion!

newmira7.jpg

oldmirainterior.jpg

The interior has also been updated. Above is the new interior while the bottom photo is the old interior. With the new Mira, the gear shift has been moved to the center dash instead of positioned traditionally between the two front seats. Our new 2007 Perodua Kancil Replacement Model will likely get the gear shift in the traditional position instead, like the previous generation Mira that it was based on.

Just to remind you how the 2007 Perodua Kancil Replacement Model looks like, here’s a spyshot from one of my previous entries. At the end of this entry, you will find links to all my previous coverage on the 2007 Perodua Kancil Replacement Model to date. Enjoy!

kancil_replacement_3.jpg

newmira2.jpg

newmira4.jpg

newmira5.jpg

newmira6.jpg

Perodua Viva to launch in May 2007
Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jasonlow (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 9:39 am

sure sports a more futuristic design. looks great!

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 11:54 am

if this kancil aaa nottt baddd,

look like good ride on longer wheelbase,(seemed like)

still mantain price of old kancil ????

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 3:43 pm

Lovely! Now that's what we'd all call a facelift!

• Fox (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 5:01 pm

….and this will also replace the kancil in April I think.

• calvin5189 (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 5:26 pm

If this the kancil replacement , and the price is nearly remain as old, sure I will get one…. NICE

• mzw (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 5:29 pm

From the spyshots, looks like the New Kancil Replacement will be based on the old Mira.

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 5:35 pm

I like the pre-facelift Mira better, but interior wise, the post-facelift one is better. Column shift is fun for spirited driving, if it's a manual version.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 5:43 pm

No wonder Perodua is making huge profit.. it looks much better than the naza sutera or other makes in its class.

• indigo (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 5:58 pm

I'd say it'll be more expensive. Kelisa is also considered as Kancil replacement model, how come people will get confused about this Mira being a new Kancil. In Japan, this is the evolution of a model while for us in Malaysia, it is a complete new model and new platform. So more likely they might still keep Kancil in favor for its low price and add in another new "model" into the line up. Kancil is cheap and I don't think Perodua is going to scrap it so fast as what you can see on our 23 years old Proton Saga. Wira is also Lancer and so as Saga. One is 23 years old while another is 14 years old. What a joke!

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 6:05 pm

i dont think that it will be priced on the current kancil price tag. It would be probaly priced if not around kelisa price tag, it would be slightly higher but not more than myvi.

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 6:44 pm

Woo, the new Mira interior looks really nice…

• siacw (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 7:05 pm

the interior is even better than VIOS/City.

• carenthusiast (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 7:19 pm

Paul, i think this new Mira is the newest all-new Mira. The Kancil replacement model is based on the old Mira. The new and Kancil Replacement Model-based Mira's wheelbase is longer than Myvi, i wonder the legroom in both Mira is better than Myvi…

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 7:35 pm

Is it just me or does tht new steering look HUGE !!

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 7:52 pm

we'll definitely get the older version judging from the spy pix taken in malaysia. plus, this will not be a facelift i think. rather, its a replacement model that could probably replace both the kancil and kelisa together due to its larger size. no point for p2 to have 2 almost similar cars competing in the same segment.

• waksegan (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 8:16 pm

mini myvi :)

• transformer (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 12:30 am

i think Kancil will still remain in P2 lineup… maybe a new facelift…

this "Kancil Replacement" is just an additional(new) in P2 lineup…

sure it will be price higher than Kancil.

• jehutyz (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 1:02 am

The new interior is nice. If New Kancil will have that then will be cool. Until now don't have any local car have that kind of interior where the gear is at the upper part.. I wondering is it that hard if to have a upper part to have the gear shift? Now the perodua car is better and better.

• mymyvi (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 4:14 am

trust P2 to come up with current models, well I can smell another runaway success for P2… can't wait to get my hands on P2's model when its out.

• mlbl (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 5:32 am

Is it just me or does this new Mira looks like a mini-avanza (the front) ? To me it does look like that! But overall I love the design of the front, the back is just ok only. If this new mira will be the new kancil, i'm sure it'll sell like hotcakes! When I saw MyVI on the road, I knew I had to buy it, it just looks great and it still love it :)

• nmh (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 6:52 am

both of them still got 'muka penyek' front….hope p2 can redesign better. steering dem huge….can change to aftermarket unit. new interior looks dem good

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 7:18 am

Like the gear shift one on the upper center dash instead of middle of two seats, which looks nice and save space too. Maybe we will get the similiar New New Mira facelift on another next kancil replacement for another 5 years…

• jeanloo (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 6:54 pm

mlbl, they all look alike. From Innova to Avanza to Myvi and now to Kancil. lol

• jeanloo (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 7:00 pm

We won't get the center dash gear console but i got a feeling that we will get the signal on the side view mirror.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 8:19 pm

the look is more toward toyota, no more diahatsu look although with some unfinish touch (uncovered matal interior), that could be improve though.and the seat still flat cheap look, well…..shpuld be in budget price, hopefully

• rashID chUlo (Member) on Dec 30, 2006 at 3:58 am

i like it…

• SuperSuckers (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 4:22 pm

Price below RM35,000.00.

• eshaks22 (Member) on Jan 13, 2007 at 8:59 pm

Code name D18D.4 variants 660,850,1000MT & 1000AT.Launch in May 07

• sinan3d.com (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 5:06 am

#

eshaks22 said,

January 13, 2007 @ 12:59 pm

Code name D18D.4 variants 660,850,1000MT & 1000AT.Launch in May 07

• sinan3d.com (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 5:06 am

eshaks22 said,

Launch in May 07

• ozone (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 2:02 am

interior=nice

exterior=ugly=myvi

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 27, 2007 at 7:58 am

i tot they'l launch new model in march x may.

gv it a wide bodykit then u ready to joyride!!!

woohooo

• SuperSuckers (Member) on Feb 02, 2007 at 6:34 pm

Another not so beautiful design for me. Girls car. Perodua needs to spice up a bit…all models are feminine, Masculine like…YRV, Cannot do aaa? Try to explore the new market laaa. Is the CEO ask their wife before sign MOU/MOA to choose what car aaa??? Then YRV is the steady product to be sold here.. Close to MPV…I can Guarantee laaa….I'll promise i'll buy one!!! Myvi 1.3 also kena smoke dgn savvy, tapi i kena smoke dengan Myvi 1.3Turbo at Sunway. That i'm impressed. YRV engine you know…

• x-men9999 (Member) on Feb 23, 2007 at 5:50 am

Wow PERODUA did it again,Kenari RS…now this,any Perodua YRV or Terios coming in Malaysia…?

• Ziad Shehadeh (Member) on Feb 26, 2007 at 12:58 pm

Daihatsu

• makseming (Member) on Feb 28, 2007 at 6:39 am

it still same design for kancil

• produa viva can fit new mira bodypart or not

• Mwita on Jul 31, 2009 at 4:17 am

Mira is a good car any one can want to have. But no parts especially headlamp ar found easely. So I don't think it fits in those countries out of Japan.

• pedro on May 06, 2010 at 7:05 am

I have a daihatsu mira from 2001 and experienced too much sastifactions with
    this car, l don´t nokw why they not sell this car any more in argentina

• Djati PD on Sep 21, 2010 at 12:31 am

I am staying in Indonesia,Jakarta.
    I am looking for the automatic transmission part, any information where the nearest place I can buy such part? I heard that lot of part available in Malaysia, if so can somebody inform me any specific shop where I can go to buy?

• Zeeshan Mahmood on Feb 03, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Hi all,

I have dahatsu mira 2007 model. ts without abs system and i have imported from japan directly but it has abs speed meter in it and because of this my speedo meter is not working. any solutions to it ? or tell me f i can get speedo meter without abs than only it will work, help me its urgent.