2008 Mazda 6: 2nd generation Zoom-Zoom

Like most Frankfurt previews, we get to see the car but not much of the details yet, so let’s just feast our eyes on this new second generation Mazda 6 for now and wait until more details surface.

Mazda say the new second generation 2008 Mazda 6 is lighter than it’s predecessor – something that breaks the tradition of newly released cars getting heavier and heavier with every generation. The new Mazda 6 does not share a platform with the Mondeo’s EUCD platform, instead uses a revised version of first generation CD3 platform.

From these photos, you can see three variants are available – a sedan, a liftback and a station wagon. Lots of photos to be checked out after the jump.

Next generation Mazda 6 to debut at Frankfurt 2007
Mazda 6 2.0 and 2.3 Test Drive Report

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• HenryChang (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 5:32 pm

Wow…..nice outlook and inner look^^

But front look got a bit Honda Civic shadow lo~~~~~

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 6:09 pm

can always say wow …
    but if put along side a decently designed audi A4,
    which one looks right?

• owaief (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 6:11 pm

nice…..reminds me of the older mazda6 which this is replacing

• rugaxp (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 6:14 pm

it makes me feels like a sportier Toyota Camry

• kruzer (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 6:24 pm

wah… drooling….too bad when it comes here, it will be taxed out of most people’s reach. :(

• Prem3377 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 6:37 pm

WOW…….great design..hope this mazda can win many buyers here in malaysia…

• jehutyz (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 6:51 pm

Like combining Lexus with Toyota.
    Anywhere it did carried their own design.
    Nice one…. sharp headlamp and rear one.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 6:59 pm

God damn! I was expecting somewhat of a disappointment with the 2nd gen 6 but Mazda once again proved my pessimism wrong! It makes the current 6 look so outdated!

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 7:04 pm

Oh, come to think of it now, the new 6 does have some design cues carried over from the Nagare and Ryuga concepts. Way COOL!!

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 7:04 pm

very pretty, a lot better than the new honda accord release in USA, though lets wait and see what it will look like when it reaches malaysia

• gogsard (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 7:18 pm

NIceeeeeeeeeeeeee

• tommy73 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 7:26 pm

Absolutely beautiful.

• F430CS (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 7:52 pm

sharper than camry. camry dull.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 7:53 pm

looks much nicer in estate form….very mature looking…i like !

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 8:04 pm

My god! Now that’s a beaauuuutiful car!!!!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 8:16 pm

Like the push-start button…And fancy the fast-back more….Wonder when are we in Bolehland can see these babes…

• szw (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 8:42 pm

just like those sharp angles

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 9:17 pm

AWESOME!!!!! all 3 variants also very nice!!! :-)

the current Mazda6 got a very impressive handling and design…..

• gbc7 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 9:31 pm

mazda meets lexus

• J (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 9:36 pm

Fantastic !!

But what if the price is RM180,000 ??

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 9:56 pm

Wow!! This car looks great1 But it looks too sporty for me…

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 10:12 pm

Very very nice car…love its exterior…

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 10:30 pm

DAMN BEAUTIIIFULL!! :)

iTS BETTER THAN THE CAMRY OR CIVIS OR EVEN EVO IX!! *drool*

• albagmane (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 10:35 pm

mazda oways does a good job in terms of design… this is one great looking car too… the front look is the best, having some shadows from the RX-8 too… 2nd best looking car so far, i still think Civic looks the best…

• farmcow (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 11:31 pm

almost perfect to me….what a beauty….haha…way to go mazda

• nmh (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 11:42 pm

looks like it want to beat lexus gs

• toxicboy (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 11:44 pm

wow.. really nice car.

• drM (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 11:54 pm

i’ll take the liftback any given day.

just…magnificient.

• StingRayINC (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 11:56 pm

I prefer Mazda 6 than the Honda Civic, this interior just look right, not like the Civic’s gear knob( that looks like a mushroom), The exterior of Mazda 6 is sporty and modern. superb car…i like it

• Mr Bak on Apr 24, 2010 at 9:47 am

U can’t compare Mazda6 with Civic, its in different league. Mazda6 can compare with Camry&Honda. Civic can compare with Mazda3, Altis…

• khimfoh (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 11:56 pm

“The new Mazda 6 does not share a platform with the Mondeo’s EUCD platform, instead uses a revised version of first generation CD3 platform.”

Hard to believe that the Mazda 6 doesn’t share a platform with the Mondeo as judging from the pictures of the Mazda 6 lift-back model, it kinda resembles the new Ford Mondeo lift-back version.

Overall the new Mazda 6 look stunningly sexy and awesome.

• jonnyblaze (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 12:01 am

Wow!

Best looking medium size car.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 12:20 am

no offence to japanese car, i still like a bold continental,

front and rear is quite busy and too elaborate,rear lighit cluster looks multi layer, japanese stylist like it this way

• nmh (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 1:27 am

it even better if it is rwd…liftback for me pls

• neurra (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 3:59 am

WOW. *drools*
    this is dead gorgeous.. as u can see.. no need to fit bodykit oso darn nice.. i wonder wat else can the aftermarket do..

• ab (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 9:12 am

very elegant, a bit Lexus GS but who cares, it looks good. Lets hope it drives as well too.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 10:14 am

To proton.GL:

Dude, the Japanese didn’t design the new Mazda6, the person who designed it is European, it was designed at Mazda’s design studio in Europe.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 10:22 am

This car does live up to its Zoom-zoom standard. Good that is has that Lexus type of impression when one looks at the car. It still has a sporty image but with a touch of luxury. The rear lamps looks very concept car like. I like..

• williaml (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 11:02 am

This is the second Mazda model with new Zoom Zoom philosophy, after the launch of new Mazda2. It will still a CBU from Japan when it reach Malaysia and price would not far from Melaka made Accord and Thai made Camry.

Zoom Zoom…

• redwings (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 6:25 pm

Nice design… Just hope this monster will be arrive in Malaysia soon..hopefully 2008.

Agree with Jonnyblaze… Best Medium Size car – D segment…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 08, 2007 at 8:12 pm

MAZDA 6 is not competing against Civics. It’s competing against Camry/Accord buyers who are already having that kind of disposable income, yet not in that kinda age. Accord use to have this edge over Camry, now i don’t think so.

And may i say Mazda is the most exciting manufacturer from Japan? Toyota is focusing too much on corporate branding, environmental efforst, Honda is very much on racing and stepped into environmental issues as well. Only Mazda seems to be making pure exciting, good looking cars.

• transformer (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 8:46 am

love its headlight and rearlight designs…
    kinda tired as everyone else opted circle….

wished this would sell in volume as Mazda are not normally…

• williaml (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 11:23 am

New Mazda6 should reach Malaysia around 3rd 2008, right after launch in Singapore. Hope it received the 6 speed Activematic transmission for this new model.

Zoom Zoom…

• s60t (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 3:05 pm

Looks great,better than the camry or accord but sadly it will never sell as well in Malaysia as the mazda brand image is not on par with the toyota or honda as well as resale value. But for people willing to stand out and own something different it is a good choice. Performance and handling will surpass the camry or accord (dare I call it a japanese BMW?)but probably lose out in size. In a shootout I read somewhere, the mazdaspeed 3 even surpassed the golf GTi

• mild7 (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 8:51 pm

yeah…. this is another success model which i believe perfect selling every country!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Jay (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 11:24 pm

even the current Mazda 6 is already better than the stupid “Accord & Camry” dum cars. people these days buy car not because the want to get a solid car but just because of the resale value. do we call these people smart investors or just they don’t know much about motoring industry. i think they are in category 2 !

accord – nothing great (model changes to soon)
    camry – big ugly turtle car (model changes to soon) copycat of the bimmer (rear)
    mazda 6 – class of its own ! thumbs up !

• transformer (Member) on Sep 09, 2007 at 11:44 pm

its looks beat most of other japanese makes!
    looks very young… so might lost some uncle market…

quite interesting that this 6 doesn’t borrow Mondeo chassis, maybe royalty charged too high ?

love those headlight and rearlight reflector design! very innovative not to use roundel!

• jared323f (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:51 am

paul..

how come I don’t see any photos here?

• williaml (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 10:14 am

What model has ‘good’ resale value in Malaysia nowsaday?

Zoom Zoom…

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 10:58 am

i want one of this car if the price is not more then 100k if more then that so just test drive lah what to do cannot afford it ma buy persona and mod just like this lah

• civ96110 (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 11:08 am

Nice. Very nice. Hope we get the manual tranny. Shall be looking forward to the launch.

• arcana (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 11:20 am

well Jay,

this design definitely is awesome….i agree it is in a class of its own.
    but whats with the category of smart investors or they need “motoring industry for dummies”?
    cars are expensive here….resale value is always a consideration because it affects your future rides and upgrades, ppl definitely wouldnt want to buy a car 150k and 5 years down the road or more…30-40k value left? how to buy another car in the same segment costing more or less the same value as before…, pay installments like crazy? i wouldnt want that for sure…its hard earned money……unless u have too much money that value is not even a concern, hell yeah i’ll buy anything that looks good.
    its just a pity that mazda’s sporty image doesnt not go along with medium-sized sedans since buyers of this segment have more concerns on comfort, luxury.

• ed0r (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 11:27 am

Awesome design and those so called lamps technologies lol, HID, LED and what not. Could it be the trend setter to other car makers? *Shrugs*

Audi has come out with theirs. We wait and see how other car makers respond to Audi and Mazda.

And yeah… not to forget.. COME ON PROTON!!

• leechorwin (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 8:34 pm

Very very nice car. Mazda alway do something that surprise people. although they are not major car manufacturer, but they still able to survive in the competitive automobile world!

• altis_fan (Member) on Sep 10, 2007 at 11:14 pm

Somehow looks like Persona, yeah.

• zanggief (Member) on Sep 11, 2007 at 8:52 am

It got some Persona feel but what’s the important thing-it has the Zoom2 spirit inside or outside the car…such nice piece of design work..

• funbox (Member) on Sep 14, 2007 at 9:16 am

wow… very sexy! Next evolution of Zoom-zoom that enhances the emotional connection with this beautiful good looking car!!! :)

• sQew (Member) on Sep 21, 2007 at 10:49 am

Perghh, super cun

• zac_crix (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 12:46 am

I’ve driven the Mazda 6 2.5 and it butchers the accord and camry altogether…and for RM 178k its a decent asking price for somethin that can b compared to and A4….if ur interested in lookin for a test drive or even buying one just PM me…

• SkyWalker on Oct 19, 2009 at 6:18 pm

The Mazda 6 2.5 litre is superb among it's class.Could anyone tell if the AFTA on Jan 2010 will impact the resale value of Mazda cars ? knowing that Mazda is a CBU model from Japan, AFTA will not make any impact for a brand new MAZDA. I also would like to know if spare parts for Mazda is pricey compared to other Japanese brands ?

• Mine is coming next week…he…hee…PEARL WHITE…..

• 2.0 GOOD OR 2.5 GOOD?

I WONDERING WHICH ONE IS BETTER?

• ProTip on Aug 25, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Test drive both to find out! Seriously.

I find the 2.0 good enough for everyday driving, but for better overtaking power on the highway, and going up Genting with 5 people, it’s a no brainer that the 2.5 triumphs.

You also get better features on the 2.5 which warrants the nearly 30k difference.

• Mr Bak on Apr 24, 2010 at 9:48 am

I will get 1 for me….InsyaAllah

• Razee on Jan 10, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Any more unit left for mazda 6, really interested to buy one, this is my contact 012-7767402