Volkswagen Scirocco photos leaked ahead of debut

Geneva_Preview_Volkswagen_Scirocco

Photos of the Volkswagen Scirocco have been released ahead of Volkswagen’s official announcement, so we get to drool at the production version of Volkswagen’s IROC Concept. The production Volkswagen Scirocco gets a new grille, far from the big open mouthed design of the IROC Concept. The 3-door hatch sits lower and wider than a Golf, and the model will debut with a range of forced induction engines, even for the baseline, which will be a 1.4 litre TSI.

Full details of the Volkswagen Scirocco will be revealed closer to the Geneva Motorshow, but for the moment view more shots after the jump including some of the interior, which reveals a 4 seater layout because the rear seat bench is shaped like twin bucket seats.

All Volkswagen Scirocco models to come with forced induction engines
Volkswagen IROC Concept
Volkswagen IROC Video

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 1:55 am

I like the concept car better than the finished article. they should maintain the front part of the concept. It does not look that much different though.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 2:27 am

rear exterior reminds me of honda civic hatch aka honda mayat…front and rear exterior feels unconnected to each other..hmmm i like the exterior but the seat colour seems not match with the exterior and interior…nice idea for the bucket seat at the rear..with tsi engine this car can fly….but overall hmm kinda weird unsatisfactory feel i had

• azrai (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 7:01 am

Look like a hybrid of Lancer front and Latio Sport’s rear. Like palatypus. Low centre of gravity sure giving the edge for this car on cornering.

• longdongsilver (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 8:21 am

Didn’t Honda do this already in the early nineties with the EG Civic hatch? I guess the Japs are going Euro and the Euros are going Jap.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 8:41 am

the cncept front look is better than dis 4 me…n interestingly it will compete wit the volvo c30…

• nanashisan (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 9:04 am

i wish that i dont sit in the middle of rear reat. i would be really painful.

from the exterior design, i wonder starting from this model, will it be the trend setter in terms of VW design?? just like golf and to the rest of VW generation….

• wildthingz (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 9:34 am

front similar to evo dont u guys agree. see this car iam not exicted at all it like an lagendary honda mayat with lancer eyelids.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 12:03 pm

Coolness… they actually made the front cooler than the concept… I still dun like the fact that it’s a hatch… it’s meant to be a coupe… but still sweet nevertheless…

• car_craze (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 12:48 pm

It’s a big depature from the slim and wedgy original styling of Giugiaro’s original Scirocco in 1974. The newer versions are more teutonic, more in line with VW’s overall image across the board. Somehow or rather, it’s getting too blend and ‘faceless’.

• kimmy (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 2:13 pm

Looks pretty slick. Although it looks more like a replacement Golf GTI rather than an all new model

• mohdjiman (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:27 am

a lot of VW cars in Malaysia today…

• szw (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:18 pm

nice…

• KF (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 9:20 am

The new VW Scirocco exterior is totally different from current range of VWs. It looks cool…but the interior is left to be desired…looks like VW EOS…

• nmh (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 11:10 pm

Look at the C pillar…… its slanting profile just like a supercar