A fitting sendoff: 260 hp Honda Civic Type R Mugen 2.2

Here’s a fitting sendoff to both the current Honda Civic hatchback and the famed K20 2.0-litre petrol engine – the Honda Civic Type R Mugen 2.2. Developed by Northampton UK based Mugen Euro, the most extreme version of the FN2 Civic has increased bore and stroke to make 2,156 cc, hence the 2.2 in the name.

From that, Mugen Euro have coaxed out 20 extra horses over the Civic Type R Mugen that came out last year. The final tally is 260 hp and peak torque of 240 Nm at 6,000 rpm. Besides that, the car gets Mugen sports suspension, brakes and bodykit.

A teaser image of the next gen Civic hatchback is already out ahead of its debut in Frankfurt, and this will be the last of the FN2s. The K20 engine, which powers the only two complete road cars produced by Mugen (FD2 Civic Mugen RR saloon and FN2 Civic Type R Mugen), has ceased production in Japan.

“Environmental pressures mean naturally aspirated engines are rapidly being superseded by other engine architectures and technologies. We may never see the like of the K20 in a mainstream production car again, so it felt only fitting we mark the occasion with this special 2.2 version of the Honda Civic Type R,” said Hiro Toyoda, VP of Mugen Euro.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• maabas on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:59 pm

If it come to Malaysia….just able to admire only :(

• xavier lert on Sep 09, 2011 at 5:31 pm

wow ..so girl gets new jet pack

• yeap… 260 hp and peak torque of 240 Nm at 6,000 rpm on TORSION BEAM…yeahh..this is honda,,hahaa

• confused on Sep 10, 2011 at 7:30 am

Megane RS 250 is also on torsion beam dood…

• dude,that was renault..but this is hondaaa…plus,they put more n more cheaper things nowadays with higher n higher price…dats honda maaaa~~

• theanswer on Sep 10, 2011 at 4:42 pm

theoretically, torsion beam is inferior compared to independent….but thats was just a theory..renault already proved that they can change the theory by using it for megane rs and clio rs.

• DSG xtahan lasak on Sep 09, 2011 at 5:47 pm

hurmm….mugen rr recond pun dh rega 200k…
    maabas…yap..just able to admire only :(

• farid on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:09 pm

in two years..there will “product update campaign”(recalled) for this model?

• Simon Sez on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:16 pm

Now this is what I call the real ‘Extreme’ 260hp in a 3 door hatchback. wow!

• nighttrain on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:19 pm

big deal, still cannot beat 2.0 evo and impreza

• research on Sep 10, 2011 at 7:43 am

hah!

• theanswer on Sep 10, 2011 at 4:46 pm

lol..funny la u. let say u put turbo in these 2.2 vtec engine…then u see the result. both impreza n evo are turbocharged car yaw. honda still the best manufacturer than can produced high powered na engine.

• nighttrain on Sep 11, 2011 at 5:53 pm

question is, why don’t they twincharge the honda engine? after all, this is the last hurrah, right?

• M0Faz on Sep 11, 2011 at 6:00 pm

Yep, true. Too bad it’s the age of factory Turbo and Kompressors. Sucks to be you, Honda.

• yeah, in terms of HP, if compared to imprezas or evo, but when it comes to cornes, they rulez man..of coz an NA engine cannot match the turbos in HP, but the NA power cum only from the nuts n guts of the engine itself, no xtras accessories..hehe..but i admit turbos are more power la of coz, but it is easy to reach the desired HP la, no need xtra work..now juz depends on individual la, either NA or Turbos

• Rodney on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:22 pm

rice…ricer…

• exFD2owner on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:53 pm

Honestly..i m getting a bit bored of Honda Civic..just sold current model FD2 and the upcoming model is not attracting my eyes !

• surewi on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:10 pm

one word, ugly..

• Jolly_idiot on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:27 pm

I like this name ‘Hiro Toyoda, VP of Mugen Euro’ sounds like he is a hero from toyota and now working with honda. Traitor? Betrayer? Or run dog?

• Gavin on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:28 pm

vtec region only lasts 3 secs before having to shift

• Love this… But if it really comes to Malaysia (dream on), it will cost nearly RM400k :( In the UK, CTR Mugen 2.0 cost nearly to double of normal CTR.

• Eww Honda again!i hope this thing never came out to scare the xxxx out of me!

• WHERE’S HONDA’S C30A OR C32B????

• Honda Power on Sep 10, 2011 at 1:56 pm

For goodness sake, if you don’t like Honda, please stop bashing. By the way, how many of you Honda bashers out there drive a Honda? If you cannot afford to own a Honda, then stop bashing Honda and just be contented driving your precious Proton or Perodua! Pwwwwth!

• Feast on Sep 11, 2011 at 12:15 am

I can’t afford a Honda because I can’t afford to waste so much time sending my car for recalls. So I bought a Mazda 6…Don’t just think only u can afford it, what’s the big deal of owning a Honda or even a CBU Mazda?

• cannot afford a Honda?Honda is not that expensive lah even the Inspira is more expensive than the Honda City cheh…

• Razor on Sep 11, 2011 at 11:43 pm

hahaha… Inspira a C-segment compared to a City? hahahahaha…compare the price of inspira to the civic la.

• Medic on Sep 12, 2011 at 10:20 am

What did u smoke today bro to come out with such stupid comments.Don’t think Honda cars are ‘THAT’ expensive.I drove a Civic for 5 yrs,it was good..enjoyed the ride,but then changed to Conti cars..it was even better.The ride,good FC,excellent NVH,built quality and adequate power(turbo).If u havent tried a conti,don’t brag so much bout Honda!(JGn jadi katak bawah tempurung)!!!

• Drove 1, switched to Conti. Never gonna look back.

• Ahmed on Sep 10, 2011 at 4:03 pm

Yes well done Honda I like it

• Ini baru “LAGI POWER, LAGI BEST!!!”

• Rosmah on Sep 11, 2011 at 12:11 am

Given a slew of awful new models, customers may soon send honda packing for good.

• The torque is seriously low O.O Hmmm…. Wonder will it suffer during hill climb.

• Pinnacle on Sep 11, 2011 at 7:42 am

I always say this, no point of having high hp but low torque. If you seriously want to enjoy a powerful car, it’s the torque figure you should look at. With high torque you could enjoy the acceleration and it’s more practically used on day to day driving. This 2.2 Type R peak torque only achieved at 6,000rpm and at only 240nm, definitely sluggish for a car like this. Compare with the same hp of Mazda Mps, the torque is a whopping 380nm and at only 3,000 rpm!

• Steve on Sep 11, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Dude, this car isn’t for people who want enjoy acceleration only la. want enjoy acceleration and torque go buy SUVs better. the engine is a high rev unit, this car has one of the best engines ever appeared in automotive universe. naturally aspirated 2.2 260hp is just crazy, crazily reliable too!

• Pinnacle on Sep 11, 2011 at 10:29 pm

So you are going to rev it to 6,000 rpm each time you want to enjoy the ride? Drive the turbo charged Mps or the rs250 and then drive this car and you will immediately feel this Typr R is not moving..Looking at your comment I don’t think you have ever driven any…

• BeemerFreak on Sep 12, 2011 at 2:03 am

Nah best high rev engine belong the Mazda Renesis Rotary engine in the RX-8. That in manual gear box doesnt develop full power till 8500 rpm and will go on till 9200

• Harrier on Sep 11, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Bro.. have u drive Type r before ?? if not try first before comment… u will c different compare to Mazda MPS….

• Pinnacle on Sep 12, 2011 at 7:51 am

I have driven Civic Type R when they first launch here and also recently when I m considering a 200k car range.. I seriously don’t feel the oomph at all…seriously. And for that price?? Test drove the Mps and you don’t need to be a car enthusiast or rocket scientist to immediately feel the differences. Mps was miles ahead. A completely different car. I even tested GTI and just can never feel the power too, the only great thing about the car is the DSG which I have to admit was really fun and excellent. For pure raw power, it has to be MPS..100%. I placed the booking immediately without further consideration.

• Medic on Sep 12, 2011 at 10:06 am

Yeah,will different like SHIT when get smoked by MPS.Dude,just to get a little ‘rush’,i’ve to rev and make engine scream like crazy..How to maintain such a high rev in bz traffic in Msia?..isn’t very practical right.

Also,can’t meet new Euro emission std,not to mention bad FC.Vtec engines are on their way to the museum.It was a good NA engine,it had ‘glory’ days,but those days are coming to an end.Same goes for rotary engines!

• rally_fan on Sep 12, 2011 at 9:55 am

pinnacle.. different people enjoy different things.. even a type R civic with only 220 hp and about 215nm of torque will lap a race track faster than the mazda 3 MPS, and even quicker than the RX8…etc. etc. etc. and even worry the boys in their evo and wrx.

there is much more about a car than just hp and torque figures.

• Pinnacle on Sep 12, 2011 at 6:51 pm

You got to be kidding me…..or kidding yourself. Don’t just blare out without any fact or experience. I bet a million percent you have not driven a Mps.

• Honda fan on Jan 10, 2014 at 4:59 pm

dude u compare this car with turbo car..??why not compare it with nissan GTR..

• Feast on Sep 12, 2011 at 7:34 pm

Please don’t compare MPS with this car. MPS will rape this car, big time.

• droll on Sep 11, 2011 at 9:22 am

dude, this is a high revving engine la. all the power is made up high when the engine is screaming and you are speeding.

the difference with turbo engine is when the rpm climbs higher and higher, some of the turbo engines start losing torque. and accelerating at high rpm becomes harder for them.

with this 2.2L NA engine, it’s the other way around. as the rpm climbs higher, it goes like crazy. the torque is maintained.

this is a completely different engine from turbo charged ones. i would call this hand made magic. NA that produces 260bhp. it’s not easy to balance a road going car engine that must live up to warranty and reliability for years and many kms when it is spinning at 8500rpm! kudos to honda.

• And can you tell us WHAT turbo’s are losing torque when the rpm climbs higher?

I.e. the Renault Megane Sport has 90 percent of it’s torque from 2000rpm until redline?

• droll on Sep 11, 2011 at 9:20 am

even if we can afford this car, would we be able to buy it since it’s in limited quantity?

• izhar on Sep 11, 2011 at 3:24 pm

belakang macam ford lynx 90an…bontot tebal…

• areoulz on Sep 12, 2011 at 3:51 pm

everyone talking like a pro.. this good, that bad etc.. ntah² pakai kia spectra je..

• pijulrs on Sep 23, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Hi all….dont fight over engine.I own both the NA (K20a iVtec Dc5) n TURBO (legendary 4g63T evo’s Mitsu).Both engine are marvelous n has its own chateristic.The Dc5 for my daily drive n the evo mitsu for my weekend ride.Now im thinking about changing subaru wrx boxer ver 9 :-)