Honda CEO: NSX confirmed, sportiness still on the agenda

We’ve heard it before, but for good news such as this, it’s worth hearing another yes from the big man. Honda president and CEO Takanobu Ito is reported by Autocar UK to have confirmed that the company is making a “new NSX” on the eve of the Frankfurt show. He may be the boss now, but Ito is an engineer at heart.

“I spent part of my early career at Honda developing the NSX, and specifically the aluminium body. I really enjoyed that experience, and learned much, so it is my wish that Honda engineers have the experience of developing a sportscar like the NSX in future. Within Honda, our engineers are already looking at developing such a car,” Ito said.

“You can’t depend on a high power output to call a car sporty anymore. The original NSX was about high power but also good driving performance, and today power-to-weight is what we have to focus on. The NSX was known for its aluminium body, so when we develop our new sportscar we don’t want to copy Ferrari for power, but to also chase efficiency as well,” the man added.

Previous reports say that the production NSX will be based on the HSV-010GT race car that competes in Super GT. Funnily, that racer was supposed to be the production car before the latter was canned!

If you’re skeptical, we don’t blame you. After all, the much anticipated new NSX has been on and off for a long time. A successor to the mid engined flagship was originally slated for a 2010 launch, but the plans were thrown out in December 2008 by ex Honda boss Takeo Fukui. Reasons include the global financial crisis as well as ever growing environmental concerns.

The Honda brand has always been linked to engineering and performance, but these days, they seem to be only interested in hybrids. Ito hears our cries, though, and has in place plans to change this.

“Our recent efforts have been focused on fuel efficiency, and that perhaps gives the impression Honda is behind with pushing the brand image of sportiness, but let me assure you that is not the case. We will address that impression with our new generations of cars.”

Those are comforting words for the legions of Honda fans who yearn for the good old days!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!

MY FAVORITE CAR OF ALL!!!!
    i almost bought an NA1 few months back but due to need for space, had to let go of that and got a pickup instead
    gonna buy NA1 in few years time
    hopefully the new one will be as good as the old one and not plagued with recalls or problems

• Tubik Racer on Sep 19, 2011 at 3:45 pm

yeehhaaaaaaaa….nsx is back?

• kawan on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:00 pm

new CEO with old old golden times experience regain new touch up coming up..

• carazy on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:01 pm

good for honda and good for nsx fans..

• 12Raixa on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:10 pm

How come 290bhp can be called high power.
    You must be joking me!

• lonelyobserve on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Hey, that time NSX was designed to meet gentlemen’s agreement in Japan, where cars’ horsepower can’t exceed 280ps.

Furthermore, 290bhp is the most Honda can do on a 3.0L V6 and later 3.2L V6 DOHC V-TEC engine, which Honda is good on developing DOHC V-TEC engines producing meeting 1L engine producing 100 horsepower.

• u have no idea about NSX do u?
      or are u the kind that finds EVO, Impreza and Supra as supercars?

• taboogen on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:53 pm

it does clearly shows that u have no what sort of knowledge you are talking about right…
      let met brief with something that is within your brain can understand lah ok
      Just imagine kancil with civic type R engine…. would the driver said this is high powered car…. of course lah IDIOT

• Alpha on Sep 19, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Well,the benchmark used by Honda to create NSX was the Ferrari 348.Its engine is able to churn out 300bhp-320bhp depending on specs.

Oh,well.I guess Ferrari isn’t a high powered car,then.

Have fun in you high powered 1000bhp Kancil Turbo,bro~

• Murga on Sep 19, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Power-to-weight ratio, look it up. Besides, in 1991 when NSX came out, Ferrari 348 V8 also “only” made 300hp, and Ferrari is known for overstating performance figures, so actual power probably less. In fact, NSX whacked Ferrari in comparison tests when it’s released. But at that time you are just an itch in ur fathers pants so wouldn’t expect you to understand lol

• man~~ you are lacked if car knowledge~~

• nashraf on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:31 pm

i figure u must be only 12 years old so i forgive u for not having seen nsx in action

• lonelyobserve on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:32 pm

NSX was a good sports car even though it lacked of power compared to the European counterparts. But its cornering speed was undeniable very fast.

Appreciate new Honda CEO’s vision to continue with NSX successor.

• Make sure they amazed us with something special , reborn the Legendary NSX which once rule the kingdom of race. No more hybrid kind of CR-Z , no more hybrid kind of Insight. Be sure its a hybrid which dominates or at least or a turbocharged engine which is far more superior than Nissan GT-R or Mc Laren MP4. Throw in all the ideas, power ,engineering skills, effort to prove that Honda is still a victory !!.

• beware the old timer nsx is making a comeback

next in pipeline should be the legendary integra

• mangata on Sep 19, 2011 at 5:35 pm

will honda finally introduce new engine wit more than 6 cylinder and dual cluch transmission or will they end up using te same old techonolgy derive from acura?seriously if u guys notice something te highest cc for honda n acura is te same old 3.7 V6 and a 6 speed gear box and they have been using this combination for many of their high end cars while lexus n nissan are coming wit bigger cc cars and introducing V8 n V10 into their cars

• the japs is back on Sep 19, 2011 at 5:48 pm

owh..nostalgia2…syabas honda!
    haha…aku berteriak ‘NSX is back!’ di depan kwn2 aku yg kebanyakkan kimchi fanboi…
    oppsss…dont get too excited dulu….come on honda!!!!!!!

• jay8393 on Sep 19, 2011 at 5:49 pm

Now that’s music to my ears!! :D

• shawal on Sep 19, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Understated elegance , backed up with high performance…
    stick with that formula and a true NSX successor will be born….

• 12Raixa on Sep 19, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Just hope they utilize all those Honda signature that made them famous, full of engineering prowess such as full on chassis light weight technology such as bonded aluminum spaceframe or even better carbon fiber monocoque chassis, well executed electro – hydraulic steering feel, hybrid on demand power only, pure function over form fluid sculpture design on exterior and driver focused interior hard drive based infotainment and competitive price.

• Shooter on Dec 13, 2011 at 8:30 pm

Yeah, and hopefully Honda sticks to the tried and tested high revving NA engines. V8,v10???…I say the more pistons the merrier and the higher the rpms the better (10k rpms!!!), dual clutch gearboxes etc…..ultimately theres gonna be a showdown between the GTR and the new NSX…the far east version of Porsche 911 turbo vs Ferrari’s midship-high revving-monster….BANZAI!!!!

• mirror mirror on Sep 19, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Some say, that the new NSX is actually the reincarnation of the reclusive Samurai Musashi.

• Carl Wong on Sep 19, 2011 at 8:56 pm

So great news and lets be powerful with an insanely high power to weight ratio while still being green and fuel efficient at the same time beating others including Toyota :)..
    ..!!!

• seancorr on Sep 19, 2011 at 9:16 pm

Wow that’s a lot of promise to Honda fans. Talk about the burden he just put upon his own shoulders! What about the S2000 and Integra successor??

• herrenmann on Sep 19, 2011 at 9:19 pm

does it mean the new nsx gonna be front engine?..since its gonna be based on the HSV-010GT

• mirror mirror on Sep 19, 2011 at 9:56 pm

…and that, it is the embodiment of the essence of Shinto.

• Abraham Sy on Sep 19, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Thought ALL the Honda engineers transferred to Mazda……

• I dunno if integra needs one but s2000 has a huge following

Perhaps honda could still keep to their promise with an NA engine with no more than v6 for their new nsx. If they can make 290bhp with an NA engine at under 3000cc and super torque like the old NSX, im sure they can recreate another flagship using that formula but with newer tech. Get drift king’s input and the car will rock.

• teelim on Sep 19, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Finally. I hope some of the goodies learn from the development of this car gets filtered down to the 9th Gen Civic Type R :D~

• Chyan on Sep 20, 2011 at 12:13 am

They better don’t shit it up.

What I want to see is clean historical lines without hampering their current style signature.

• you’r not welcome back stupid Honda!

• Musalmah Endut on Sep 20, 2011 at 10:34 am

huhu.. someone is having PMS!

• Steve on Sep 23, 2011 at 6:03 pm

lmao honda might be stupid for their civic and their normal cars..but dont mess with their nsx or type r line.

• kwing on Sep 20, 2011 at 12:27 pm

honda is crab now, even their acura is crab.. let’s hope the honda realised what toyoto have realise 2 years ago… put sportyness back to car…no more “fridge”

• Carl Wong on Sep 20, 2011 at 5:47 pm

I have more than 10 NSXs in my GT5 garage :).

• Jaybond on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:44 am

When the original NSX came out, it had given Ferrari & Porsche a smack or two in the face. Not only it boasts the highest power-to-liter ratio for a NA engine but also the world’s first aluminium chassis sportscar which contributed to superior handling. Sadly, when the successor to Ferrari 348 GTB came out, the brilliant Ferarri F355, coupled that with the arrival of BMW M3 E36 3.2, and Porsche 993 Carrera S, Honda did nothing much to maintain the supremacy in the entry level supercar and has lost the game eversince. Hopefully the NSX successor would be able to challenge the likes of Ferrari & Porsche again..

• NSX LOVERS on Sep 21, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Probably one of the best balance supercar i’ve ever tested out in what we have in Malaysia. Salute to the CEO whom still have his awareness on how these type of breed that can really shake the Motorsport Industries :D

• nashraf on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:34 pm

the stig would be pleased