Volkswagen Polo Sedan facelift leaked, gets new face

polo-sedan-fl-iab-0002

The local media may still be focused on the facelifted Volkswagen Polo hatch – which appears to be heading our shores very soon – but Indian Autos Blog has already received images of the yet-to-be-launched updated sedan version with no camouflage at all, revealing styling that diverges from the hatch’s aesthetic still further.

The refreshed Volkswagen Polo Sedan gains a larger Passat-inspired grille with four chrome slats, rather than the two of the current car. Because the Volkswagen badge is now positioned lower, the hood has also been revised as it does not need the semi-circle cut-out for the badge anymore. The full-width lower air intake is also larger than before and receives its own horizontal chrome accent at the bottom, while rectangular fog lights replace the previous circular units.

polo-sedan-fl-iab-0001

Changes to the rear are relatively subtle – there’s a new chrome trim that runs across the bootlid, mirrored by another piece across the rear bumper that link the new bumper-mounted reflectors. The tail light graphics have also been revised – they are now similar to the hatch’s internals.

We’re not expecting any changes to the mechanicals of the Polo Sedan, so it should soldier on with the current 1.6 litre MPI petrol, 1.2 litre TSI petrol and 1.5 litre TDI diesel engines.

Pre-facelift Volkswagen Polo Sedan

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• wiralutionx on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Is this new p1 wira?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • What's changed? on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Still looks like a Polo Saga to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:20 pm

If Proton managed to rebadge it, they still have chance not becoming a beggar.

• nextgf on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Who cares, it’s bigger from outer smaller from inner, oh I mean this polo sedan.
          Next!!!!!!

• Someone is blind on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:43 am

Despite the design, in term of performance, VW do much better than Proton. Its not wise to even try to compare these 2 carmakers. The differences are quite far.

• please drop that ancient tech no vvt 1.6 engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • If there’s one thing toyota teaches u, is that the more ancient the engine, the higher the RV goes.

• At least better than Milo tin VIOS and City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 49
    • Almera on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Against the Vios i would agree but City has higher safety standard than Polo though.

Polo no ESP and only 4 airbags while City has ESP and 6 airbags for its highest spec variant.

ASEAN NCAP score Polo Sedan is 14.51/16.00 vs City 15.80/16.00

ANCAP score Polo Hatchback(no sedan available)is 34.96/37.00 vs City 35.62/37.00

So which is the safer car now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
  • Lolol on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Its like taking a dump in the public toilet….. No one cares!!!!!

Ahahahahahah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • oren kita on Mar 25, 2015 at 4:02 pm

try to scroll from top to btm of the page, you will see so many comments. that shows, so many ppl care about it. :)

• still looks like saga.. but i’m ok with it..

• lazyf on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Still has no signal indicator on side mirror…huhu

• limao on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:59 pm

you could get it with the price of RM3k for both side mirrors. dont bother try to spread some hatred around here.

• Ananku on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:48 pm

The most solid built and the best handling car model in B- segment. Not like Milo Can VIOS, City & Almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 33
    • The high hidden maintenance cost of owning VW.

I rather buy a more SOLID built Toyota Altis or Mazda 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
      • nextgf on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Altis and Mazda where got one for 80k?
        Dun dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • high hidden what? Dont see he said this 1 is not a NIGHTMARE 7SPEED DSG, but its a conventional 6speed auto. So far this 6speed dont cause any problem to its owner. so, your argument is invalid.

• The best handling B-segment would be Mazda 2. A Polo is not even close in terms of specs and handling. Polo solid built? How come Asean NCAP and Australian NCAP ratings lower than City and Mazda 2?? Polo no ESP is a moving coffin like Vios

• The reason it’s ncap rating is lower is not because of its chasis. It is due to the lack of ESC. Next time get your facts right. Polo chasis is share with Audi A1 and it is one of the more solid chasis. In terms of handling it has been proven hands down by many qualified car reviewer.

• Someone is Good on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:49 am

Its true what this guy said. You will feel the comfortable of driving this with dynamics.

• Contender on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:53 pm

For those who says this looks like Saga, better go get your eye and head checked, or you have spent too much time driving the Saga SV and all cars look like your cheapo car.

This is one of the very much underrated car, affordable, drives reasonable well, 6speed conventional auto (not the nightmare DSG 7speed), pretty safe and solid car for the price paid, arguable the best value for cars below RM90k in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
    • eyeswide on Mar 23, 2015 at 5:53 pm

I agree it looks like Saga, but I dun drive one and I dun wear specs, so what?

• Well said! on Mar 24, 2015 at 10:52 am

I had enough with all the craps these haters gave. Its far, so far to be compared with saga. This is a piece of art. You dont simply said its somehow near to Saga. No!

• Goodwoh on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Nice car. Better than Japanese Milo Can

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • neemfa on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Sama saja..

• Usha - Usha on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:05 pm

which part of the body said that it was a face lift… ahbeng part also can said face lift kaaa…

• OwnerHere on Mar 23, 2015 at 7:43 pm

I am 1 of the Polo Sedan here. Never regret and Happy to own this Beauty. Tested VIOS, City, Almera. After tested Polo sedan, I choose Polo Sedan on the sport without looking further above Japanese Cars. All above models cannot give good sound insulation, stability, handling and safety. And calculated the 5 years total Maintenance cost for Polo Sedan is quite comparable to current City. By the way, Almera has the cheapest 5 years total maintenance cost. VIOS is not cheap on total maintenance cost neither.Trust me, you wont regret to own this Beauty over those Japanese RV kings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Not bad, i thought so. Maybe cos most of em hate VW so, despite of the great and outstanding performance and design, they still cant accept the truth that VW is a best carmaker in the world.

• Sam W on May 19, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Honestly. Would you recommend this as a first car for small family then? Does it feel a bit weak when climbing up Genting? Thanks

• Sam W on May 19, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Honestly.
      Is it still a good value without any offer?
      Would you recommend this as a first car for small family then?
      Does it feel a bit weak when climbing up Genting? Thanks

• Arell on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:22 pm

Same sh1T that nobody wants!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Is it true? on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:57 pm

that nobody might be just your kind. each carmakers got its own fans. even a retard like you, maybe got someone who loves you. :)

• salesman on Mar 24, 2015 at 12:36 pm

so many sushi and kimchi salesman here…..

• Shawn on Mar 25, 2015 at 9:16 am

I hope this is coming to malaysia

• Shawn on Mar 25, 2015 at 9:19 am

i want this car

• greatVWnowLoser on Mar 25, 2015 at 8:30 pm

endless hype and facelift after facelift alone cant clean the old sh*t. still can smell fart of dsg nightmare and unreliable tsi ancient technology engine plus overpriced maintenance! vw gotta change its name in order to gain back consumer trust!

• Test drive the current Polo Sedan and City. Like the Polo feel but not the spec (City brochure spec better, not the feel though). Will wait for this one hoping for better deal. If lousy deal City will be next choice.

• Ackom on Jun 06, 2015 at 7:31 pm

You can see major differences with a Proton Saga, especially when parked side by side.. MAJOR DIFFERENCES. This VW is much larger as well.

How can anyone compare this to that.

In my opinion, this is the most value for the money car.

• Hi Jonathan and Paultan

I planned to buy a Polo sedan.
    Any idea about the launching in Malaysia?
    Thank you