2016 Toyota Fortuner debut just a few months away

toyota-fortuner-next-gen-leaked-fw-1

The 2016 Toyota Fortuner, based on the new Hilux, is “just a few months away,” revealed Toyota Thailand at the launch of its latest pick-up truck. We already know what the seven-seat SUV will look like, of course, thanks to a few leaked photos from earlier this year.

When arrives, you can expect it to share the same range of new engines that are offered on the new Hilux. On the diesel front, the 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV and 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV from the GD family should take over from the current 2.5 and 3.0 litre options. The 2.7 litre petrol engine, meanwhile, will be a newer Dual VVT-i unit.

toyota-fortuner-next-gen-leaked-fw-2

Gone, too, will be the four-speed automatic transmission, replaced by a brand new six-speed auto’box. A six-speed manual option (iMT6 with rev-match function, no less) should be available as well, but don’t count on it being offered here in Malaysia.

Inside, the next-gen Fortuner is expected to mirror the new Hilux rather closely, with a much more car-like dashboard and interior amenities thrown in. The pick-up truck already boasts much improved interior space and refinement, which will be put to good use by its passenger-oriented SUV cousin.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Hilux

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Fortuner Failure is a Hilux on May 21, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 158
    • SkullJuJu on May 21, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Wow.. How long did it take you to type that out? :0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • kzm (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 8:58 pm

copy paste from old comment of his..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • ahbengah on May 22, 2015 at 8:43 am

Takata airbags come standard?

• Same L0rrrr on May 22, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Proton salesmen are so lazy even on a blog also lazy to type the comment. No wonder Proton sales forever so bad.

And other people who couldn’t let go of the VSC, I have an perfect advise to them: Go buy Proton, you help the sales-less proton salesman, he help you on VSC, 6 airbags.

*Bear in mind the best selling Proton Saga, Persona have no VSC and 6 airbags, don’t get conned.

• giovannie on May 21, 2015 at 8:33 pm

why are u jealous?

• Sam Loo Papa on May 21, 2015 at 9:38 pm

what jealous are you talking about ? Are you the same junior uncle sales man at UMW showroom too ? Business is bad, showroom is empty. Sam( real name Danny) can only talkcok at blog everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 22, 2015 at 12:25 am

If you know how many kimchi owners that were shown the Hilux and those that have attempted suicide after learning about the RV of their rotten cabbages, you will know why these sorhai tai lan ngongs feel jealous of sushi’s RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
    • Aiyooo here also, haha bro tak bosan ke comment the same thing in almost every Toyota related news? I don’t like UMW also and i love to read all the negative comments here but it gets annoying when i tried to read all the comments and i can see your essay almost every single time. Move on bro, try to make another essay and I will assess it, OK?

• Government Sure BUY! on May 21, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Pity Malaysians who dont know the truth about Fortuner. Every Fortuner out there is mainly JKR car or other gomen department.

Government give strict directive. All gomen SUV must be either Santa Fe or Fortuner. One to help Sime Darby and the other to help crony GLC UMW.

So, gomen spends hundreds of millions to buy there 2 cars to help crony GLC Sime Darby and crony GLC UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • U r mistaken. UMW is PR crony. U see what r the fleet cars for PR when they got Penang, Perak, Terengganu, Selangor?

• Triumph International on May 21, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) are still selling bra and panties in Parkson.

• VSC VSC Where are you? on May 21, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Still no VSC? Then this should be called Fortuner Coffin or Moving Coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • VSC VSC Where are you? on May 21, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Car so expensive also still got no VSC? Better buy a conffin. Put four wheels under it and put a steering wheel on it. Walah! its a Fortuner!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • shawal on May 21, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Ford everest…
    2 electric front seats
    Panoramic roof
    Sync 2
    Electric tailgate
    2.2 duratorq with 385nm of twist

• Jimmy on May 21, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Are 6 airbags + ESP too much to ask for?

What about anti-roll?

And all discs + calipers ?

Giants need calipers.

• OK, at least it doesn’t look like a HILUX.
    Design is very sharp.
    Welcome back to the 7 seater SUV game.

• ehemm..

• why no toyota highlander?

• The first two picture looked like the old model SSyangYong to me.. :p

• It reminds me of angry bird.