DBKL proposing reducing parking spaces – report

Driven_2014_ep5_Mazda_3_vs_Toyota_Corolla_Altis_vs_Kia_Cerato 003

Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) is proposing to reduce the number of parking spaces in the city in an attempt to encourage public transport use, The Sun reports.

“We also hope that by doing this we can inculcate a pedestrian culture among city residents,” KL mayor Datuk Seri Ahmad Phesal Talib said, although he didn’t elaborate on how many parking spaces are proposed to be reduced, or where.

“We hope this move will help higher ridership in public transport, especially with the expected completion of the MRT in 2016,” he told The Sun, adding that car ownership amongst city dwellers is too high, causing regular traffic jams.

We’re all for public transport and healthier, more eco-friendly means of getting around, but do you think this is a good way to reduce Malaysians’ overwhelming dependence on the car?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• xavier lert on May 26, 2015 at 9:32 am

boleh..but not now..in 2025 maybe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 11:05 am

why cant? dbkl can reduce parking space area that has transit bus, brt, lrt, mrt, komuter n monorel at city centre…increase parking space near public transport area at outskirt n residential area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
      • RicoT on May 26, 2015 at 11:25 am

Take away that special parking for Datuk Bandar in DBKL HQ first, then we start talking reducing parking space…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 3
        • Black Dog on May 26, 2015 at 1:14 pm

It’s a f#$%ing joke these idiots from DBKL.

Reduce parking in CBD is understandable but they are also reducing parking space in the peripheral/outskirts of the city where most people stays. Where the residents going to park their cars?

To make matters worst, they allow hawkers (easy kopi money) and other business to grab the parking space. Motorist are like sitting ducks waiting for police to saman with nowhere to park.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Yes…..also Implement this to all cabinet members first then talk to public

• Now park at City @RM20++ per day
          after that RM50++ per day

• Braindeer on May 26, 2015 at 11:56 am

This not bad, apparently the gomen finally triggers their smartest plan ever.. reducing these will be beneficial to the then said MRT projects, and the near future Shinkansen or what-so-ever.. the point is, they are pointless!
      ..I wanna propose too, why dont you build one at my doorstep.. 1 metro gate for every home, now thats reachability in mine’s definition..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • thatredcarlookslikemines on May 26, 2015 at 12:01 pm

That red car looks like mine’s..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Christophe on May 26, 2015 at 9:33 am

Idiotic men with idiotic ideas.

Instead of improving the road condition/better traffic management, they come up with an idiotic idea to reduce car parking space.

If our public transport is as good as Japanese, car would have been redundant years ago without even having to reduce parking space.

Idiots.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 12
    • SkullJuJu on May 26, 2015 at 9:46 am

No more room! Besides, I don’t want to pay RM20 just for parking anymore. ;_;

• Nolan Christopher on May 26, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Idiot is infectous desease.. our gomen already being plagued by them, stay alert citizens!

• First of all, why we would rather drive than take public transport is because the public transport in this country is still lack in quality.

Punctuality and Accessibility is limited in some places. Besides, not many people would want to walk in such hot weather.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 4
    • Usavich on May 26, 2015 at 10:41 am

the truth is, gonna be, global warming is going to lower our temperature to 13-18deg Celsius, that’s the time we can really walk to working place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • calvin on May 26, 2015 at 9:46 am

stupid people have outpower intelligent people; the country is (barely) run by morons. The definition/direct depiction of idiocracy….. hahahahah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
    • Ibrahim on May 26, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Got mirror at home hah? You are also stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
      • thebosssedangbercakap on May 26, 2015 at 12:26 pm

how is he the stupid one for pointing out the right thing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Mary Minah on May 26, 2015 at 12:44 pm

If he is not stupid, then why he allows himself to be ruled by so called stupid people? Only stupid people cannot see any choices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • cctvi on May 26, 2015 at 5:41 pm

I saw stupid worker commenting during office hours, early in morning summore. Must be eating lot of kuih lapis with tea then borak pasal awek etc at store

• BigBalls on May 26, 2015 at 9:47 am

These DBKL are good for nothing

first the propose building a new building which costs taxpayers tonnes of money, and now they are restricting our cars in town, when they should be looking for ways for better town planning which benefits everyone

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
  • thepolygonal on May 26, 2015 at 9:49 am

Actually it is already bleeding the pocket to park in the city. Just leave it as it is and built up a good public transport. When the convenience and flexibility of public transport is better than driving my own car, then I will definitely switch to public transport!

Of course I will switch to public transport if I have a choice. Who wants to drive a car just to pay to park under the sun just sitting there for 8 hours?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • Luqman on May 26, 2015 at 9:50 am

Public transport macam sampah, teksi cekik darah and you expect us to use public transport? What a joke!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
  • Good example of idiot idea from public servant.

Please understand the overall transport landscape before throw any suggestion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • Kenneth Fook on May 26, 2015 at 9:54 am

Great idea from the ruling coalition. With the recent roadblocks by PDRM and the JPJ, all is working on full force to ensure safety is the top priority before the Raya Commences. Thumbs up to them! Keep up the road blocks and fine more irresponsible drivers. Pls help keep our road safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • applegreen on May 26, 2015 at 9:54 am

hopefully the new rm300m DBKL building have 100 parking spaces only, and you (DS Phesal) also going to work by bus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on May 26, 2015 at 9:54 am

Everyone wanna compete who can become stupider than Ahmad Maslan.

MRT, LRT, bus tak siap lagi, dah nak buat benda bodoh. Tampar buaya kang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • Trailblazer on May 26, 2015 at 9:59 am

Its a stupid proposal as of now. I bet their high ranking officers just had a “Working visit” to a developed European Country, and wants to copy the idea to Malaysia. Typical Malaysia, immediately wants to have what developed country has despite the fact we are just not ready in terms of infrastructure and inadequate planning.

With the over development of KL and incomprehensive LRT and future MRT network + inefficiency bus service Malaysian will still need to rely on car until to go to some parts of KL.

• concern on May 26, 2015 at 10:15 am

Try to look at Singapore first… no double car park.. no car park at side road.. strict enforcement.. huge car park available everywhere with a price of course and damn good public transport. Achieve that first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Nobel Prize Scout on May 26, 2015 at 10:16 am

What an idiotic idea. We already have a lack of parking spaces and I don’t see car usage going down.
    What this will cause is more double and illegal parking. Thanks for making the roads a nightmare instead of actually doing your jobs and making it easier for the citizens

• dodgeviper88 on May 26, 2015 at 10:21 am

Reducing parking space would encourage triple even quadruple parking.

I shudder to think if those buffoons suddenly wake up and realise KL has too many people, then propose to limit supply of food in KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Why Malaysian duwan take public transport on May 26, 2015 at 10:26 am

Well, I agree. DBKL is a cowboy city council runs by not only idiotic people, but also rasuah people who has no logic beyond money and bribery. If not, we wouldn’t have these DBKL cowboys harassing mamak stalls for protection fees, Scandinavian flowers flown in from Netherlands and Belgium to “beautify” the KL streets, which hardly could stand against our climate. Those flowers are wither away within two weeks and new batch of flowers are flown in frm Netherlands and Belgium, this is how they make money. I don’t make this up myself, you can go check who are those buggers who own the two companies supplying Scandinavian flowers to DBKL. Simple question: Aren’t our tropical flowers good enough? Where’s the logic of using Scandinavian flowers to beautify our street?

Speaking of promoting public transport utility, I think there are some factors which make Klang Valley folks are so reluctant to use public transport.

1) Cronies Monoply which make bus riding a tedious and time consuming nightmare

I remember when I was a schoolboy, I have plenty of minibuses, CItyliners, Metrobusses and later, Intrakota busses to ride frm where I live to many destinations. I can reach Bdr Utama frm Olg Town PJ by riding the Intrakota 328 and one trip to Klang by riding Cityliner 51 ! Fast forward almost 20 years later, I HAVE NO SUCH OPTION AT ALL! Do you know I have to ride U66 to KL and take another bus frm KL just to reach Bdr Utama? Klang is even worst, I have to take 3 bus ride just to reach Klang! This shows bus services had hardly improve, it has become even more inconvenient and infrequent. The answer is no other than all buss services are monopolised under Pasarana’s Rapid KL after 2005. These buggers have ZERO concern about commuters’ conveniences, they design their route in such a way to MAXIMISE THE NUMBER OF TRIPS YOU NEED TO MAKE to reach your same destination compare to 15 years ago! All thanks to their stupid “U” and “T” route system. Taking busses in KL is a more time consuming affair compared to the 1990’s! This is such a mockery and shame to our nation. This is what happen when you have government-link cronies stepping into public services and have full monopoly, no competition, no scrutiny, they can do what they want. They make money and we suffer.

2) Malaysian’s perception of taking public transport

Malaysians have a very weird perception between the car you drive and your social status. If you drive a car = you are well off. Drive big car = you are rich, Drive very big car = You are very rich, Chauffeur driven = You’re Datuk Tan Sri!
    In overseas, it’s OK for executives or even CEOs of big conglomerate to ride in the subway or taking a bus just to save time. In Malaysia, we associate public transport to lower income group or worse, poor people. Our CEOs or managers would rather dance naked on the street rather than riding public transport, even though they might end up wasting more time in a jam. However, our public transport is not efficient to begin with, they can’t be fully blamed. It’s just the mentality we Malaysians can’t shake it off like Taylor Swift.

3) Our street is a Wild-Wild West slaughter ground

Just face the fact, our street is not safe. Period. Just look at the statistic of our snatch thieves cases (which doesn’t includes many cases which are unreported, coz the rakyat simple just lost faith in the police), and the police inefficiencies in solving street crime and handbags nabbing. Ask any Johorians, they will jokingly tell you that if you have not been snatch once in a lifetime, you’re not consider a JB folks. Our police has more manpower in Special Branch to probe politicians, dissidents rather than fighting street crime. Our safety is never a priority of our law enforcement agencies, and this certainly hamper the willingness of the rakyat to open be on the street and take public transport.

4) Our pedestrian’s experience is horrendous

Try walking under the hot scorching sun in a typical KL environment. You’ll end up soaking wet in sweat, your face covered with a layer of black carbon and worst, sometimes you don’t find any pedestrian’s walkway at all because the road had “encroach” into your territory after being widened for multiple times to “ease traffic congestion”. Walking in some part of Klang Valley is so hazardous, apart from the smoke, and heat, sometimes you’ll be rubbing shoulders with motorcyclist and vehicle pass by at rocket speed just inches away from you! And to make matter worst, Malaysian motorists have very little concern or even total disregard for pedestrian. I once had show my overseas friends on foot around KL, they had a shock of their life when cars came charging on with FULL SPEED even though the green light for pedestrians are fully turn on! What a shame. So, thinking of walking to your nearest bus station or LRT station, with snatch thieves and cars came fully charging at you? Well, to many, they rather drive, and stuck in a jam (at least is safer). And the vicious cycle continues…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 2
    • kukuray on May 26, 2015 at 1:49 pm

DBKL mayor doesnt read Paultan’s comments.

• romzee on May 26, 2015 at 8:46 pm

KL Mayor not read! but hundred of his staf in DBKL building read Paultan’s comments. So…they know how stupid their bos.

• Hermin on May 26, 2015 at 10:34 am

It is just ridiculous to use public transport as there is no direct train for me to go to bangsar from bukit bintang and the waiting time for monorail is a absurd and if I were to take taxi or the same journey it will cost me RM 20 – RM 25 and provided if the taxi driver want to take me as their usual excuse would be traffic jammed no passenger on the way back. How to use public transport like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Dennis on May 26, 2015 at 10:36 am

Ask DBKL and government officers to lead by example. Go to any DBKL office or government office and you will find parking space hoarded by empty DBKL season parking

• Has that even stopped people for parking and stopping curb side?

• 4G63T DSM on May 26, 2015 at 10:42 am

Another hairbrained idea from DBKL.

I assume they are going to increase parking space at MRT/LRT/MONORAIL terminals. If not how to get to your public transportation? If not, STFU.

Parking operators are jumping for joy. Next month rates will go up. Even now, city centre parking lots are already full to the brim.

• It’s a chicken & egg issue. Ppl continues driving coz it’s convenient (with excuse that public transportation is bad). And then there’s news that bus services need to close down as there’s insufficient passengers (Passengers argued the buses r not punctual). Someone need to take the first step. Sure, reducing carparks might not b a popular decision. But I feel it is a step in the right direction. Force ppl away from their cars into public transport. When more ppl start taking public transport, it becomes sustainable and this ‘forcing’ will b a habit. Note that reducing carparks requirement will result in less basement levels (cheaper properties) which is ultimately what the masses is hoping for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • Ananz on May 26, 2015 at 1:07 pm

There are many more issues at play which forces people not to use public transport and one of them would be security. Snatch theft cases happen everyday and majority of the victims are those that take public transport by waiting at bus stop or walking along the roads. Such cases are usually under reported in news channel or newspaper unless it involves casualties but just go and ask around and most people would either have been a victim once or know someone that is a victim before. What about the previous acid splashing cases and its many victims? How many cases of children being kidnapped from the streets? See the latest case where groups of teenagers are robbing people in the streets? The streets here just ain’t safe where even walking around your own housing area is a danger.

• Sure, improve the bloody public transport first lah.

• kapchai on May 26, 2015 at 10:58 am

IS HAS TO HAPPEN SOONER OR LATER. When the MRT and other public transport are ready and running, the public MUST be discouraged to drive. Parking fees in the city has to go up and some sort of deterrent like Singapore’s ERP must be implemented to discourage driving.
    (http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/roads-and-motoring/managing-traffic-and-congestion/electronic-road-pricing-erp.html)
    Otherwise, everyone will continue to drive and the city will continue to be choked up.

• JB_KIA on May 26, 2015 at 10:59 am

brilliant idea from a genius….why SG (LTA) has never thought of that? They even spent millions of $ installing ERP gantries…

• Usavich on May 26, 2015 at 11:02 am

our public transport does not have the capacity to do so..

• ss427 on May 26, 2015 at 11:13 am

Actually your gov can follow SG style of doing things. Charge super high parking rates and people won’t dare to drive into the CBD area.

Seriously, if you need to pay at least S$5/hr just to park downtown, would u do it? Season parking at S$600-$700 /mth and needs to be balloted.

And take out all roadside parking lots and close more public car parks and turn the space into shopping malls or new office buildings. Even public car park charges are high enough to deter some drivers already.

Install tons of cameras along major roads and they can book offenders automatically 24×7. In SG, its $130 fine PLUS 3 demerit points. You don’t even need police presence there.

And since your gov is implementing RFID toll gantries similar to our ERP system soon, they can always use the same system and surround the whole KL city and make sure people pay alot just to drive into the city.

And if that doesnt work, install more gantries along the same road, so that people needs to pay twice or even 3x just to complete the journey.

Don’t KPKB, if we sinkies can survive such inhuman treatment and live to type all these, so can u my bolehland frens. Your gov will be much richer then LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Sorchai Albert on May 27, 2015 at 2:49 am

Can I ask you if Sg safety and public transport is the same standard as malaysia?
      If no better stfu and stop talking kok…

• sammy on May 26, 2015 at 11:18 am

Give us the public transport that works before you propose anything.

The government need to be abit more cohesive and sync. Charge us expensive taxes for cars, use the money to build more highways, but the end tell you not to drive???

• kapchai on May 26, 2015 at 11:25 am

Singaporeans have to endure all the high costs of ERP, parking and COE thanks to LKY’s strict policies, and they can’t complain. We have also got to start living with this.

• sammy on May 26, 2015 at 12:28 pm

but they have world class public transport as an alternative to the people.
      How many of us will have issues if we stop driving to work? The taxis are practically hopeless.

• More and cheaper parking at train/bus station first

• Monkey on May 26, 2015 at 11:43 am

Another monkey comment…. take away all the government car. Get all minister to use the public transfer for 1 month. Then lets talk.

• They are not idiot. Reduce the parking space then they can have extra land to sell off and someone make money in the process.

• nabill (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 11:56 am

well , when u dont give someone enough banana’s….

• Encourage public to kena more saman. Who happy?

• thebosssedangbercakap on May 26, 2015 at 12:25 pm

these clowns approve high rise buildings and then proposes to reduce parking spaces.

the idea of reducing parking spaces is viable if the city is not full of sky scrappers and high rised condominiums.

even normal roads and ah long stickers mess cannot be curbed still have the guts to say that they want to reduce the parking space.

• tinmilo on May 27, 2015 at 9:37 am

When you build a highrise building in the city, there is a certain requirement of car park to floor size ratio that you have to meet, but sadly, most building didn’t meet such requirement and got away with it.
      And the DBKL did not allocate multi story car-park in city to easy the problem.

• maker on May 26, 2015 at 12:27 pm

from my house, i can go to klcc in 15minutes. But if i take public transport, have to wait for it and no lrt/mrt station nearby, i will reach klcc at least an hour, have to spend more money and energy . So why i should take public transport?

• civicdriver on May 26, 2015 at 12:33 pm

that is very absurd to have the idea of encouraging pedestrian culture in malaysia. with the average temperature up to 37 degree celsius in the afternoon. that is basically, a very bad idea..

• old dog on May 26, 2015 at 5:31 pm

all others complete the public transport then say reduce space.
    our public transport is real bad, and yet to reduce parking space…

What a crab…lol

• roxas on May 26, 2015 at 5:57 pm

reduced parking space? thn non will left!! bcoz parking is already so limited !

• Wow brilliant move! The whole country should follow!

• porkchop on May 26, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Reducing public parking lots in cbd would give advantage to private parking companies to charge higher and in result they benefits from them, both legally and illegally.Smart move.

• saladin on May 26, 2015 at 9:23 pm

What the mayor says is contradicting on the current dbkl policy. New development which do not provide enough carpark will be charge rm60k per bay. Do he even know what he is talking about.

• “Will help higher ridership” which is leveraging on inconvenient caused by the change, always bring change that they have zero idea on what is the impact, plug something from thin air and never can elaborate on the details…
    Being a taxpayer myself I feel silly keeping these jellyfish on payroll

• mason_ on May 26, 2015 at 11:29 pm

ada udang di sebalik batu…mungkinkah si mayor ni ada banyak share kat public transport company ,mungkin atas nama isteri ke,saudara mara ke, sebab tu mencadangkan supaya orang ramai menggunakan public transport…kalau tidak,mayor ni tidak akan begitu bodoh sekali mencadangkannya..

• Audi Owner on May 27, 2015 at 12:17 am

Looks like somebody want to sapu car park land for development before GE14