Proton Perdana to use 2.0L NE01 engine by end-2017

Perdana_red_front

Among the morsels of news coming from Proton’s new engine line-up announcement is the confirmation that the upcoming Honda Accord-based Proton Perdana (Theophilus Chin’s renderings shown) will gain Petronas-derived NE01 engines by the end of 2017. These will replace the Honda-derived R20A3 2.0 litre and K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines the car will feature from its launch in the first quarter of this year.

This is the first time that the national carmaker has confirmed that the new engine is under development. Like Proton’s upcoming range of new 1.3 and 1.5 litre four-pots, the 2.0 litre engine will likely feature direct-injection and offered in both naturally-aspirated (GDI) and turbocharged (TGDI) forms – both technologies were also procured from Petronas back in 2012.

Perdana_red_rear

Given Proton’s determination to stick with CVTs, it’s also possible that the Perdana will receive the new torque converter CVT currently developed in tandem with the new engines, putting to pasture the old Honda five-speed automatic that has been in service for donkey’s years. The drivetrain is rumoured to come from Jatco, after the Japanese CVT specialist erected a booth at the Alami Proton open day last year.

Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah also said that there was a possibility that the Perdana could use the new 1.5 litre TGDI engine: “yes, that is also a possible option.” He added that the smaller mill in the D-segment sedan would have a similar power-to-weight ratio to the Honda 2.4 litre engine, given that the former’s maximum projected output of 180 hp and 250 Nm is close the latter’s 177 hp and 222 Nm.

So, dear readers, would you get a Proton Perdana with the new, more advanced 2.0 litre direct-injected engines, or stick to Honda’s tried-and-tested powertrains?

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:19 pm

So what was it that the bashers were saying about what happened to the 2-liter engine? The hits just keep on coming.

Good job, Proton. Please execute these plans correctly and don’t let us down!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 133 Thumb down 138
    • Downsizing normal lah nowadays. The power output is good with that 1.5L turbo churning 180hp and more importantly, 250nm torque. Just put a 6 speed manual trans as option in the list. Surely people will like this new variant. Timing chain, cast aluminium intake manifold (the plastic one is just horrible, replacement is rm450 on the saga blm, crazy) and good aftersales will make other car makers tremble. Plus, make sure your engine is using sae30 or thinner engine oil, it will make the car more economical. Crazy some proton dealership says 10w30 is only for savvy, bullcrap! And no more punch cvt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:48 pm

Before launching always a lot of nice stories promise this and that, the car actual quality is just another unimportant topic. See the Preve Suprima S Iriz then you’ll know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 52
        • paulnut on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:59 am

How is your son feedback on saga that you bought him?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • New Hype on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:34 am

This hype same with Campro hype. We wait few more years. Same story will happen. Same leaks. Same door handles breaking, same absorber failing. And same RV issues. Buy RM100k today, tomorrow sell, to get RM60k also lucky

Malaysians just don’t learn their lesson. Every 7 years Proton got hype lah for the past 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
          • Proton VS Toyota/Honda on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:03 am

I had a Perdana. I just sold it for RM4k. 13 years old

Same time I bought an Accord. I just sold it for RM50k.

That alone just give you answers whether to buy a Proton or a Honda or Toyota.

Oh yeah, don’t forget, in the 13 years, my Accord cost me RM20k in repairs.

My Perdana cost me RM100k in parts and repairs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
          • CarmenTung on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Is not fair to justify a latest incarnation with something built 13 years ago…

• Educate Donkey on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:05 am

Donkey, pls be more educated. In your previous posts, you keep on bashing DAP and Tony Pua. What have they got to do with this blog?

Pls try to educate yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
          • ae101 on Jan 19, 2016 at 11:00 am

Ignore donkey la. He must be one of the proton or proton supplier cronies dog that hate DAP or Tony so much.

• So bashing Najib & co is considered fair comment but doing the same to tokong and PuaKa is considered racist?
            I guess this is what being taught nowadays by Democrazy And Politiking, huh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:13 pm

Wow, illiterate tramps asking me to get educated? That’s a new one. Judging from your zombie follow-the-herd mentality, I’d suggest you to please start learning how to read before you talk about being educated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Samang on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:42 pm

“pls be more educated”, sounds very vernacular school-ish

• dankeykang on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:05 pm

DonkeyKong, pls stop, acting all high just bcause u can write in “perfect” grammar does not mean u r educated. Stop embarassing urself pls..

• Mr Fakta on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:33 pm

I really hope, again, proton will succeed this time of making Malaysian proud. But everytime before proton launch something new, we all get excited and hope it turn out great, but it doesn’t. Do anyone else still remember the Preve hype in 2011? And do they learn any lesson during the launch of Iriz? Unfortunately no.
      I do hope proton will do it right this time. But just like a couple curang for too many times, we will have to see the real results to speak for themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • George Abdul on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:45 pm

No more Campro and “punch” cvt… this going to be something Rakyat are really waiting for past 10 years. Can’t wait for her debut and car review!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • The 2.0 Liter T-GDI/T-SGDI engine was codenamed “Volcano” and developed by Ricardo with diesel like efficiency. It can produce 197 kW and 391 Nm of torque in the development stage which is quite a lot. And it is rumoured to be able to run on gasoline, ethanol and methanol blends quite nicely.
      The engine uses Multiple Injection Variable Injection
      Separation (MIVIS) which will spray or inject fuel several times in one engine cycle to reduce NOx, reduce fuel consumption and prevent knock.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 7
      • tokmoh. on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:14 am

Only in paultan jib can have so many likes n 0 dislike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • 197 kW = 264 hp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • dankeykang on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Goodluck pairing that with a cvt

• ProProtin on Mar 12, 2016 at 9:02 pm

I thought proton ricardo jv is new engine variants 1.0L-1.5L only and I thought the NE01(1.8L-2.2L) is another project jv between petronas-proton….again Im confused

• Dr Mamak on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:32 am

Power window working onot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
    • Rusmah on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:56 am

Support my jib! Support UMW.
      Motive of new engine? $onglap.
      Potong, est since 1985.
      Over 20 years, never build an own engine.
      Renault Campro? PETRONAS knocking engine? Now using R20 & K24? then going to build an TGDI engine?
      Potong, never change, only your power windows, door handles always changed!

We do not need BOLEH slogan anymore.
      Since first “Boleh” introduced by Dr M.
      How many positive kebolehan we achieve?
      All negative boleh we achieve,
      Boleh spending public money in personal interest.
      Boleh makes money flying around the world.
      Boleh cakap besar, janji X payah ditepati.
      Boleh, ape pun boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • alldisc on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:05 am

Downsizing began to take place abt 8 yrs ago. That’s why the noise made 2-3 yrs back to push Proton to do the same.

Thank god Proton got message and will start downsized engines but more power 10 years after.

And where is turbo diesel anyway? That is the ticket to sell cars in Europe and UK. With no diesel, Proton sales will be just as before. Lukewarm.

• Talking crap. Who doesn’t knows anything is possible?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
  • shawal on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:34 pm

if the new engine is comparable to the latest 4 pot in the camry facelift….. den it would make sense….

if not then just keep using honda’s

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:50 pm

If… Keep on day dreaming please.There is solid reason why Toyota is the best selling car brand in the WORLD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
      • syer1n on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:52 am

i read a sorento review and more than 70% of its user in US rage about engine stalling too often. tell me more about Korean automaker as the third best. Hyundai-Kia technology they said. pfft. sometimes things are good just because of its warranty.so what’s the reason of your toyota being the best? 650BHP per cubic centimetre?

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 20, 2016 at 12:54 am

You read 1 article then you think kimchi sucks. Bravo to your hearsay bullshit. In fact, Millions of Malaysian drove Proton and they agree Proton is junk, that’s why Proton sales keep falling. Once bitten twice shy.

• pontiac on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:37 pm

we dont need new engine. we only need good transmission. 5 speed is OLD SCHOOL!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • drMpower on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:38 pm

Cannot really believe this NE01 story. Last time they say the new Perdana is out in the first quater 2016. First quater means 1/4 of the year which points to jan – march. Now its ending of Jan, and news had it the launch is pushed to April.

So thats the basis of this ‘cannot really believe’ coming from. I am one of many anticipating the new Perdana and with proven Honda K24 i think big chances i may miss the NE01

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • First quarter is January – April, fool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 33
    • syer1n on Jan 19, 2016 at 8:56 am

its delayed to march. what on earth are you talking about? who told you nonsense April launch?

• drMpower on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:17 am

Rumours had it, something wrong with the tooling. Never heard about March but April is likeliest.

And as for first quater thing, all i can say is hahahahahahaha. Try learn about it, man. Reading helps alot. And stay away from porns man. It damages your intelligence

• SampaiBila on Mar 04, 2016 at 8:13 pm

and until now heard no news about the development of NE01…entah2 postponed la gi untuk 10 tahun..hehehe

• Perdana v6 on Jan 18, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Seriously proton want to use cvt gearbox? Nooo please! No enough pickup though.

Tbh, Proton should’ve stay v6 engine on new perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • Warren Wong Yee Ket on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Have you driven a Nissan CVT before? If not, please don’t condemn CVT. And staying with that ancient V6 which ONLY produces 148 hp? When all the competitors in the same segment have at least 160 hp already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:10 am

That v6 will not pass strict emission legislation in Europe. Do u know that all BMW below 3000 cc now using 4 cylinder engines? Even 528i is only 2.0 but turbocharged to bring power like 2.8 6 cylinder like in the 90s

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:10 pm

Wah so nice wei, sure will sell very well like the world-class turning-point game-changer car Iriz. Malaysians will accept with an open heart and all will buy Proton and sing kumbaya to Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • Firdaus on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:16 pm

Why proton always want to put their feet into everything.release a new model with old engine first and then after 2 years, same model plus new engine.

The accord is already more than 5 years old.then proton recycle, then recycle again using so said ‘new’ engine.

Trust me, this perdana will be sold even in year 2026.

Same goes to new saga.sell with so called nee vvt engine as iriz.after 2 yrs, put new engine.

And the have the balls to declare to the whole world that this is their plan.

Proton should concentrate on key segments only.why put you foot into everything and be so tamak only to end up losing more money and lose more market share.this is called rationalisation I guess. learn from 1mdb please. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Fanofthisite on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:53 pm

No new engines means just like 1MDB. They are late but there is no other way

• Ponggiri Ponggiri on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:33 am

Jangan lagak pandai. Even BMW and Mercedes dont lauch new models with new engines. Look it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • alldisc on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:22 am

BMW and mercedez never announce 2 years in advance on new engine details. Just hints and that’s about it.

• Ckloke on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:20 pm

I would rather wait and see! Honestly speaking, majority of Malaysian have no confidence against Proton’s homegrown technology! It may sounds promising at the beginning but eventually it may upset or turn down many potential buyers due to quality and reliability problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • alldisc on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:11 am

No, we declined to be used as lab mice as first batch experiment by Proton. Again and again

• Tin Kosong on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:22 pm

A CVT can be as good as a torque converter automatic. Just look at the CVTs used by Toyota and Nissan. Nissan and Mitsubishi are using CVT from Jatco. So, at least you can expect the CVTs on upcoming Proton models to be better than those from Punch.

• paultan engine engineer on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:37 pm

hmmm xbetul lah ni.

• Tin Kosong on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:39 pm

The V6 produced 155hp in the Alfadana. It was smooth revving, so I can see why some people are still fans. The NE01 will have (hopefully) better power and fuel economy, so there is no way Proton will go back to the V6. Another important factor will seal the V6’s fate: lower production costs of the NE01.

• paultan engine engineer on Jan 18, 2016 at 10:40 pm

hmmm xbetul la ni.. x betul..

• important on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:31 pm

most important 10 years warranty. 7 years free full services. price cut down somemore. I surely buy.

• Ong Chee Boon on Jan 18, 2016 at 11:40 pm

Not that i wanna condemn proton… since it is a national car, it should 100% locally produced using 100% local materials. Unless it involves some very rare material that could not be found here. Until now, still need to source orang punya engine, then 2017 only change.

Lack of technology or expertise? Do R&D la. Dont feed all those money into those cronies. Send staff to overseas to train properly, not go there sightseeing. Train more mechanics, offer higher salary, attract talents like Hyundai and Kia long time ago.

i am sure many still love proton and would like proton to grow or make a decent car. Iriz is ok, but not enough anymore. Continental cars are getting cheaper and attractive, only aftersales services holding them back. So if Proton aftersale continue to suck, then what’s the point of buying one?

Using foreign engine is just a temporary solution. Proton should use the time to study the engine or research a new engine properly. I am sure proton can do it, only whether they want or not.

Corruption and cronyism is hurting proton, as well as this country.

Mazda is just a small company at first, yet it created the legendary rotary and now famous skyactive. I am sure any company, including proton, can do it if they are serious in making cars.

TLDR version: Proton, you got solid plans for product model and engines, so please execute them well. Improve on aftersales, hack off the failed cronies and you will be fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • Power Rangers on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:42 am

the models are overlapping to certain extend since the differences are not very much different. (their own context has lots of difference but the market consumer point is different), probably to fulfill different cronies suppliers for different models..

• ppl choose Perdana because of Honda’s reliability, if u using ur own engine, ur sales will even worse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • wiwiwiwiw on Jan 19, 2016 at 12:56 am

Seriously, how many platforms, model line up, variants, engines or production lines does really Proton need?

• alldisc on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:20 am

Theoretically, the more products u have the chances are the more u will sell. Proven by Toyota having about 25 models on sale in Japan. And BMW with now about 20 models compare to only 5… 15 yrs ago. It is very difficult for a restaurant to survive selling only chicken rice. It needs to have the varieties

• The Fair Knight on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:24 am

I would obviously go for the Honda engibes first, until protons new line of engines proves itself.

• I trust Petronas technology. Please put a 2.0 turbo engine in Satria Neo with manual gearbox or paddle shift. I believe many people will go after it if the price is right.

• For T-GDi, the turbo better buat Twin scroll turbo. boosted RPM range medium compare to single turbo low range. Efficientcy and weight lebih kurang sama but cost and complexity a little bit higher than single turbo. twin scroll telah dipakai dlm BMW and Hyundai..

• kzm (Member) on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:18 am

+1 for P1

• Kancil Hybrid on Jan 19, 2016 at 7:46 am

I want this engine in Iriz as well. Please give us the R version of Iriz. Go Proton go!

• Basically Proton is shouting “buy it now while it is still using Honda’s engine before it is replaced by the crappy engine”.

They have done it with Inspira “buy now because the first batch are using original Lancer parts”.

• Newer version not necessary better, like launching a car with 4 disc brakes and later replace 2 with drum brakes.

• alldisc on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:14 am

That actually happened with Wira SE. First batch 4 disc brakes, later back to disc and drums set up :(

• Not only that. There are also Saga tethergate incident and sudden Savvy TUV certification disappearance.

• Pulleysandrubberband on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:27 am

New engine YES cvt NO

• most car makers nowadays toyota, nissan, honda, subaru etc. are using cvt..its not the best auto but at least proton will be using cvt from Jatco which we hope to be much better than current Punch cvt..

• alldisc on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:16 am

The main reason for cvt is 1. Reduced emission. U don’t need to rev hard to accelerate the car. That is why Japanese car makers have no choice but to go the same route. 2. Benefits to the customer in terms of fuel economy. Again, because of no wasted revs when accelerating

• superman on Jan 19, 2016 at 9:37 am

IT WILL NEVER WORK. as long as DRB is in charge…

• sepul on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:16 am

To be honest, the Campro engine itself is a good engine. With proper tuning and supporting ancillaries, it should be a good performer. What let it down to most people is the quality of the supporting components (tubes, gaskets, wires, etc) which are of low grade material and should have not been used for engine application. The infamous engine oil burst with the CFE motor was due to poor use of material for the tubing and Proton acknowledged the errors when one of their vendor (I think) pointed the issue.

If you remember, many engines that outlast the decade also use cast iron block, like the uber powerful 1JZ/2JZ series, the RB series, even the 4G series also uses cast iron. They are heavy, but are very durable and can take as much pounding as your wallet can go.

Same case like Campro. I haven’t heard any case of blown engine from Proton owners with Campro, only leaking cases. The block is strong and durable, but not the supporting components.

So to those who said the Campro is shit, please reconsider the statement and get to know the facts first before bashing. I know the fuel consumption are not that good, but it needs a proper engine oil with correct viscosity to run nicely so the engine can be frugal. At least for my Persona, the FC is good after almost 6 years of ownership. Power is adequate for the running cost.

Owning a Proton with Campro based engine, you need to find a good mechanic to service your engine. And not all Proton service center are good either so do your research. I personally prefer a franchised service workshop over a branch service center. At least where I used to send my car, their service quality is excellent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • element-H on Jan 23, 2016 at 5:58 am

It’s not hard to spot racist pigs like you. Go back to your cave.

• IrizX on Jan 26, 2016 at 5:56 pm

So..your logic…sarahan gasket and tube and not Potong? That’s like saying not DELL’s fault for selling a gaming PC with an i7 coupled to a GT-730.

Customers don’t care which part is having problem. It’s not my problem. Whether the problem came from the iron cast or the tubes or the wires it’s PROTON’S RESPONSIBILITY TO SEE TO IT IT DOESN’T HAPPENS.

Learn to understand the term ACCOUNTABILITY.

• ben yap on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:16 am

say “no” to proton. as long as they keep surviving in malaysia, our car prices is insanely high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • old dog on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:32 am

can the engine CO2 emission allowed to be sell in Euro/USA?

else, its just a shiok sendiri in-country project regarding since the spec itself cant sell outside.

another con-rakyat project..(which we all know wont last already..)

• Milo la on Jan 19, 2016 at 10:56 am

Apesal nak wayang kuat utk milotin. Not enuff cheating ppl for more than 30 yrs…huhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Chamberlain on Jan 19, 2016 at 11:44 am

Seriously, Proton is going to suffer from another self inflicted wound by not sticking to their core market. They don’t need a politician like Tun M to be their chairman or leader; they need a strong strategist to first survive and then map out a plan to prosper. As it is now, they drag themselves down their very own complexity abyss by producing so many models for which none they can excel in in terms of designing, producing, marketing and then supporting it. Proton makes itself a fine example for how not to run a car manufacturing business.

• Andas on Jan 19, 2016 at 11:47 am

Rnh by lotus n engine powered by petronas f1 champs.. trust p1 have the right to use petronas name on their car..

• Oil Cooler Hose User on Jan 20, 2016 at 6:33 am

Better buy other car maker rather than Proton cause they make their customers as their experiment subject. We pay a lot of money for be one of their volunteers. And all we get was just a piece of junk..

• Preve's victim on Jan 20, 2016 at 6:53 am

Kasi settle dlu OCH pya issue la tun before nk buat experiment baru kat user.. New technology by Proton come new shit for their users..