Honda Malaysia recalls 93,929 units for 12V battery – seven models incl. City, Jazz, Civic, CR-V affected

Honda-Malaysia-12V-Recall

Attention Honda owners. Honda Malaysia (HM) today announced a “product update” a.k.a. recall for 93,929 units comprising various models to replace the 12V battery.

Affected models include the City (2003-2014 YM, 2016 YM), Jazz (2009 YM, 2012-2013 YM, 2015-2016 YM), Civic (2010, 2012-2013 YM), Insight (2011-2013 YM), CR-Z (2012-2013 YM), Freed (2010-2012 YM) and CR-V (2013 YM). See the chart above for a clearer view of the models and year of manufacture.

UPDATE: We’ve contacted HM for clarification and the company says that the recall is necessary as the 12V battery fitted to affected vehicles “does not meet Honda Malaysia’s specific requirements, and it may lead to battery damage when the engine is started.”

The reason cars as old as 2003 are included is because some owners have continued to return to Honda service centres, and batteries might have been replaced at official facilities. These replacement batteries could be affected, and to be sure, HM has decided to recall and replace 12V batteries across the board.

HM says that there have been no injuries or accidents related to this issue reported in Malaysia, and that current selling models are not affected. Customers will be notified by a letter, which would include details of the product update. Upon receiving the letter, proceed to a Honda dealership for inspection. All parts and labour charges will be borne by HM.

Customers can also check their vehicle’s status by calling Honda’s toll free number 1800-88-2020.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tyler Durden on Mar 07, 2016 at 2:44 pm

For heaven’s sake…not again !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • This would be the third recall for my Honda City. First was starter motor product update, ssecond was driver side airbag inflator replacemet and third would be this. But im glad hey are recalling to fix problems. Rather be safe than sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 13
      • Many would have already changed the car battery la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • Still one reliable car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
        • We are still kept in the dark about the details. Hope some explanation by Honda would shine some light about the information.

• Latuk BN supporters on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Luckily dont buy Honda, go support local product Proton and P2 ! We only buy import Germany car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 82
    • hahaha on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:32 pm

and so it begins. looks like malaysia is not immune from recalls.

• hailthepurist on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:48 pm

better than none..

• Freeizit on Mar 07, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Cool free battery!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Say Kiat on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Bull shit!! No need recall.. Mine 2007 Accord airbag issue was recall by last year but still no further action even I keep follow up to contact Honda Malaysia!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • BCrap on Mar 07, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Exactly- my CRV as well since last year, parts not arrive was their excuse after 1 year. No action, a lot of bullcrap from Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Susukotak on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:17 am

kenapa saya punye senang jer. service adv tengok dalam sistem pastu tanya .. dia terus buat. tak perlu call 1800 pun.

• Gujimiao on Sep 25, 2016 at 2:49 pm

I’m consider Honda Jazz as my new car, is there any problem with this car?

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:02 pm

They are replacing battery with a new one? Did I read that right? Cos judging by year of manufacture, most of these cars may not even be using the original battery that came from the factory anymore, as it would have died and replaced with another. So would those who have changed battery to another brand, still be applicable for this recall?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Only those having Honda OEM battery from day 1 or those who got replacement at Honda SC involved in this program.

If you change at Ah Chong Battery shop, no need to do so

• not again.... on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:03 pm

12v battery as in the battery in engine bay ?

• Levin on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Dear Paultan,
    As we know, 12V batteries are only covered for the 1st year after purchase. By 2nd year, most of the owners would have long replaced the 12v battery.

Recalling a 12v battery for a 2010 model car… is this a joke? LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • not 2010 , is 2003 model… hahahah.. stupid recall by honda malaysia. the best joke of 2016

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Total recall.

• 13-year-old Battery? Seriously? on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:18 pm

YM 2003 battery also affected? Who still uses the car’s original battery after 3 years? Cranking the car manually like the model T meh? lol

• owner on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:27 pm

Haha…alrdy replace the battery -_-

• TZ1234 on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Not sure what is this recall for. 12v battery? How about those already change a new one?

• choonkeet on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:44 pm

YM 2013 for Honda City? can the car still running on the factory battery for 13 years? Normally battery can last maximum 3 years only.

• Is this a joke or what? 12V battery, most would have changed to a new one on their own after 1-3 years ownership of the car. U expect a 2003 Honda City still using the same 12V battery for 13 years? Wow

• bateri kong on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:46 pm

…meaning all this whule bila your bateri kong, can claim balik meh???

• Jason on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Does this mean that the car owners will buta-buta get a FOC 12V battery replacement? Not bad, will save them at least RM140++ :)

• Honda has had several recalls in the past 2 years, hardly anyone complained. Proton announces one recall, everyone starts bashing them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • PR Talk Only on Mar 07, 2016 at 3:59 pm

It has been almost a year since the last recall for the airbags. Honda service center say still waiting for the parts. Is this just a PR exercise or are they really serious about the recall.

• Now what could possibly be the issue with the car battery???

• Silthice on Mar 07, 2016 at 4:15 pm

After airbags recall now battery recall… Proton recall for hose everyone condemned… Anyway excellent execution for buyers safety….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Henry on Mar 07, 2016 at 4:47 pm

I am still on the original battery on my 2013 CR-Z. What is the problem with the battery?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • not fair, why only year 2003 city entitled for the free 12V battery replacement. Come on recall for all the Honda series being sold in here since dated 1970s, that’s what we call “value added service”…

• tishaban on Mar 07, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Danny, as a service to paultan.org readers would it be possible for you and other paultan.org writers to ask for details from manufacturers when there are safety recalls like this. I don’t even see anything mentioned in Honda Malaysia’s website as of this writing and there’s a lot of speculation in the comments already.

If Honda Malaysia says “there has been no injuries or accidents related to this issue”, I’m tempted to think that there could be a potential for injury or accidents related to this. All the more so to provide details rather than wait for a letter from Honda Malaysia or if they ever decide to update their website.

• What about Honda city 2015?

• policeman on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:12 pm

City 2015 look out for failed CVT gearbox. Call me when your gearbox fails. I’ll come over and take a selfie with you and your trash car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • And drive it into Klang river.

• girlie girl on Mar 07, 2016 at 6:14 pm

better replace the batt……if not kabooommm! baru tau….

• i just replace my 2010 civic battery at honda 2 months ago. Would i need to replace again?

• andrekua on Mar 07, 2016 at 6:57 pm

I’m just wondering. Could they suddenly found many fault with your car while performing battery check? Then tell you to fix this fix that.

• policeman on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:11 pm

What kind of amateur car maker is this? They managed to mess up simple thing like this.

What a disgrace.

• Honda Oso on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:39 pm

hehehehe….my honda kapchai battery need to change oso???

• I have replaced my 12v battery last year , is it still require to recall or get claim that on what i have paid for

• Pengutuk gila on Mar 08, 2016 at 6:29 am

I just replace the “defect battery” with my own cents a week before…..well in this case then i will install again the defect battery into my jazz and drive to honda service center to get a new spare of battery hohohooo

• engine bay battery…

• imaxx services s/b. on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:23 am

this morning, 8/3/2016, we called hm 1800 and spoke to a certain En Habin. he said only ONE unit of 2013 CRV is affected. And that hm has and know that particular number as they have the engine number and number plate. Do you believe this Habin? Is he trained by hm to parrot a simple answer and to q quickly brush me off? Do you beliebe that out of the XX00000 CRV sold in 2013 in Malaysia will only have just ONE unit CRV affected? And even if it was, Habin said they/hm know the number plate, the chasis number and they could have settled the problem of just ONE crv, but they didn’t…So, it begs the question: whats the real story?

• I have already faced this issue 2 years back and now comes the recall…….I believe the issue must be with the pan****** 12V battery where usually will face startup problems…I know some SC even changed the Starter motor thinking the problem was from there….:)

• dongster on Mar 08, 2016 at 11:26 am

Called HM and gave my car plate info (city 2013) and after checking I was informed that my car is not affected. So it begs the question which statement is true..

• azrai on Mar 08, 2016 at 1:18 pm

So what’s wrong with the battery anyway?

• My CRZ battery total kaput one week after taking the car and I have to gaduh to demand and got a new replacement battery. That was in 2012. One year later, I need to replaced the battery again, but this time they refused to entertain … Say battery replacement is only once that’s all. I just cannot believe the silly BS these people say whenever you try to claim for warranty. So I was “BETUL” to claim that their battery is DEFECTIVE in 2012. Anyway I NEVER buy the replacement battery from HONDA as there are plenty of choices outside. It’s just a normal 12V battery even though CRZ is a hybrid car. RECALL is just a PR exercise, they will NEVER fulfill your claims — I’m still waiting for my wife TOYOTA air bag, my BMW engine fix and CRZ front air bag recall. Don’t have too high hopes.

• TCLim on Mar 09, 2016 at 8:05 am

Agree. I faced the same issue with my CRZ’s 12v battery in 2012. I was ‘luckier’..because mine kaput after 3 months. After spending numerous weeks and calls , they replaced me with a new OEM battery. I asked for $$$ compensation since I already needed to get a new 3rd party batter to move my car, but they insisted it’s not their policy. Fine, so after 9 months.. that OEM battery kaput again ! I just gave up. My Cap Ayam battery from Ah Chong lasted me like 2 years without issues.

• MalaysiaMalaysian on Mar 09, 2016 at 11:09 am

so meaning that panasonic battery is not good lah?

• cuckoo bird on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:57 pm

This only affects those cars which has changed the batteries in honda service centers right? So this means it is a problem of the vendor (battery supplier to honda Malaysia ). Things like this do happen when there is virtually no automakers who produce every single component of the vehicle. Why the big fuss? Call them and check if your vehicle is affected and if so go and get your free new battery.

• Adrian on Mar 25, 2016 at 9:54 am

I bought my car last year.So far, i experience 1 time power failure and unable to start the car but the next morning i able to start car and clock timing already reset by itself.

Honda Malaysia told me that my car effected and have to wait for the letter to authorize change battery.

• Well, look at the bright side. Honda as a company acted as a professional and provide facilities to recall products to rectify an identified problem.
    Proton? if got problem they don’t even care even if it’s a manufacturer design fault.

• hahaha honda useless, kesian all this ah beng support this useless honda

• George C S Lim on Apr 22, 2016 at 12:40 am

I have a CRV since 2007 and recently bought a Jazz in Nov 2015. I am disappointed with them saying I cannot use my own engine oil when I have being operating a Shell station since 1984. All this while I have used Helix Ultra for my CRV and have not have any problem with my car. Now when I send my new Honda Jazz, I was told I cannot use my own engine oil which is Helix Ultra. Please comment.

• Alicia on Jun 17, 2016 at 11:20 pm

I didn’t aware of this and my car battery just exploded this morning! Luckily it happened without my baby in the car. The explosion really frighten me & I was like jumping out from the car immediately. (Honda City 2014)

• Balan Thiru on Jul 15, 2016 at 4:37 am

My car battery from Honda city 2014 model just exploded and I did not receive any letter on this!!

• Damond on Aug 18, 2016 at 8:41 am

My 2014 city battery also exploded, both side of the battery open and can see the plates inside.

• Gujimiao on Sep 25, 2016 at 2:51 pm

any problem with the latest Honda Jazz E ?

• Dear friend,
    My 2014YM Latest model Jazz also kena (exploded) this morning. Which i see the chart above which is no need to replace. Luckily im safe.