ETCM announces price increase for four Nissan CKD models – Almera, Grand Livina, X-Gear and Teana

nissan 2016 price increase table 1

As hinted at last month, Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has announced a price increase for its locally-assembled Nissan models. While initially expected to involve six models, only four CKD models are affected by the increase.

These are the Nissan Almera, Grand Livina, X-Gear and Teana, with the price hikes ranging from 2.8% to 6.7%. The increase is effective from today, April 1. The company added that pricing for the Serena S-Hybrid, X-Trail, NP300 Navara and NV200 models remain unchanged.

The company says that the decision for this price adjustment is mainly due to the weakened ringgit, which has severely impacted the overall operational costs of the company. Having continuously sought and reviewed opportunities to hold the current prices of Nissan vehicles for the interest of its customers, it says it has no choice but to now do so.

“Over the past months, despite severe pressure from a weakened ringgit, ETCM implemented necessary measures to reduce the impact. However, due to the prolonged unfavourable foreign exchange and the persistent pressure of higher operating costs, selected models will have a price increase,” ETCM executive director Datuk Dr Ang Bon Beng explained.

The breakdown of the new pricing for the four CKD models is as listed above. The lowest percentage jump is for the Teana 200XE, which previously went for RM133,284 (on-the-road, without insurance), and is now RM137,000, the RM3,715 increase making for a 2.8% hike. In terms of the biggest percentage jump, that’s for the Almera 1.5E AT – originally priced at RM67,678, it is now listed at RM72,200, up by 6.7%.

The official Nissan distributor intimated late last year that it was mulling a price increase for its range of Nissan models in Malaysia in light of the ringgit’s depreciation, and reiterated it again in February. Thus far, Honda, Toyota, Lexus, Mitsubishi, Kia, Peugeot, Citroen, Audi and Proton have all upped their prices in Malaysia due to the weakening ringgit.

For sales and test drive enquiries, you may contact CarBase.my Verified Sales Advisors linked below:

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Aero (Member) on Apr 01, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Err… Almera 1.5E Auto used to cost RM167,678 ? haha But wait, it’s April 1st… so it’s all good guys ! :D

• OMG…good job…Let see who still wanna buy ur cars…

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:22 pm

What nonsense is this? Blame currency? But currency today gone down to 3.87. So, how can blame currency? Come on Tan Chong, don’t pull a fast one on us. In CBU form, the Teana is US$22k. In CKD form, the Teana will be about US12k to US15k.

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices? 3 whole years have passed. Najib promised 30 million Malaysians he would reduce car prices. But we see car prices going up, up, up and away. Like Superman.

Time for car companies to stop cheating Malaysians. Your margin is already one of the largest amongst country distributors. All this while you have been blaming Government and currency, but your margin per car is so fat and huge. Some car companies even make like RM200k per car sold. German brands mainly. Totally unheard of in the world. In overseas, the margin a country distributor makes only a few thousand USD. But in Malaysia, margins are so huge, that it now shows, car companies are getting greedier and greedier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
      • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:40 pm

I hope Malaysians stop buying cars for 2016 and 2017. Please continue to starve the car companies again this year. Try your best to use your old car. Spread the word around and tell everybody not to buy new cars in 2016.

You will see, these greedy car companies, will start to drop their prices.

It is up to all of us. If you want cheaper cars, stop buying them for a while. You can buy in 2018.

If you urgently need a car, go buy a 2nd hand car. Let us choke and suffocate these vultures.

Malaysians are fed up. Car companies pretend to blame the Government and tax for high prices. Government pulak blame car companies for high prices. Both pretend to blame each other BUT the truth is, they are doing a drama for the rakyat.

In truth, Government virtually owns ALL car companies in Malaysia indirectly. It is the Government that is screwing with us with high car prices but pretending to blame these car brands.

Let us do our part. Let us not buy any cars in 2016 and 2017

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
        • George Abdul on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Agree, stop the nonsense of AP system cronies…. Rakyat had enough of being slave by the AP and banks loan !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Boring Samy on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:44 am

Again and again copy abd paste all negative comment. No life meh budak

• Don’t don’t chunk time.

• policeman on Apr 01, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Haha semua kena tipu. This is an April Fool’s joke.

I just checked the price for Almera, it’s actually down RM4K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:48 pm

3 years ago, many cannot forget, the CEO of Tan Chong said he ws in favour of high car prices and high car taxes. Nobody can forget the day he said that. I guess, his wish has come true.

• Boring Samy on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:45 am

Thats the fact, what is that to argue. Again negative comment with motive behind

• anonymous on Apr 01, 2016 at 1:36 pm

typo spotted, last second paragraph when stating the original price of almera

• Now RM already up, still increase price?

• Trend Lead on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Their Just follow trend, but should add-on some additional kits.Safety?

• the only and most common ‘kit’ malaysia car co will add is…..drumroll…..so call ‘bodykit’ or lips and brand it as ‘sport’ edition

• Matchy on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:13 pm

When ringgit strengthen, price never drop pun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • JB_KIA on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:12 pm

My favorite models Qashqai and Juke are not in the list. Up laa all the ahpek cars, nvm one…

• then we keep on talking (typing)…. i’m guilty of not putting a dent into our ministers skull.

• and we keep on talking (typing)…. i’m guilty of not putting a dent into our ministers skull.

• leonardo on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:27 pm

So if the Ringgit strenghten to previous levels, will the car prices drop again?

• Honda Fa n on Apr 01, 2016 at 3:43 pm

This is in fact a sad news to many who plan to buy new Nissan cars this year. However, I still think TC has done better than the other including UMW, HM, Perodua, Proton etc that have all raised their prices much earlier.

• At the time of ringgit beginning to strengthen, now Tan Chong wants to increase price??
    Tan Chong, you are so slooooowww.
    just like how slow you refresh your models.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 01, 2016 at 4:23 pm

MYR gotten stronger against USD and they went ahead to increase the price…well done ETCM.

• Jobless on Apr 01, 2016 at 8:54 pm

How bout the Sylphy..i have not seen Nissan pomoting this model anymore..can see more Renault Fluence on the road

• camtakpro on Apr 02, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Sylphy is not relevant. Probably still have Sylphy stock from before the ringgit plunge.

• Why the food is increasing price but you don’t stop eating?

• Rocky on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:41 am

Almera. The ugliest production ever made. Thanks.

• higher the retail, the higher finance margin can apply, slowing down economy will have customers with less dp..soon we will see zero dp ads..