ETCM to increase Nissan Almera, X-Gear, X-Trail, Grand Livina, Teana, NV200 prices by RM5k in April

Nissan Price increase 2016-02

Last month, Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) was reported to have stated that Nissan models were set to face a price increase of between 3-6% in mid-2016. The price hike has now been confirmed, and will happen before mid-year.

A photo of a communication bulletin on the matter was posted on the Nissan X-Trail T32 Club Malaysia’s Facebook group (thanks to AJ for the tip), and it lists the models as well as the anticipated increase in pricing each will face.

Six models, the Nissan Almera, Grand Livina, X-Gear, X-Trail, Teana and NV200, are all set to face an estimated RM5,000 hike beginning from April 1. The bulletin also states that there will be no change to on-the-road pricing of the Serena S-Hybrid facelift, which benefits from the hybrid incentive in place right now.

In October last year, ETCM said that in light of the ringgit’s depreciation, it was mulling a price increase for its range of Nissan models in Malaysia. Nissan now joins other Japanese carmakers – Honda, Toyota and Lexus, all of which has had its vehicle prices hiked this year. Even local carmakers have been feeling the pinch from the unfavourable foreign exchange, with Proton announcing a price hike in mid-February.

We’ll have the final revised prices of the six Nissan models when they’re announced on April 1.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• JB_KIA on Mar 04, 2016 at 4:42 pm

Go ahead, no problem. I will ask your salesman to increase the discount by the same amount….lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Aero (Member) on Mar 04, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Just like UMWT and HMSB in December, TCM will likely see a huge sales spike this month (March), especially for the Almera, and a sales crash in April.

I’m curious to see how UMWT’s sales fared in February, they may have overtaken TCM’s YTD sales, but TCM will probably overtake UMWT again for fourth place in March.

If I’m not mistaken, TCM does not locally assemble engines, just like UMWT. HMSB does though, they make Civic, CR-V, Accord, City and possibly even HR-V and Jazz engines here. This might explain HMSB’s lower price hikes.

Perodua is the only one in the Top 5 that hasn’t announced or already raised prices. But if they do, I predict the Alza and Myvi 1.5 might see the biggest hikes, because Perodua imports the 1.5 engine from Daihatsu Indonesia. Just my dua sen, Perodua may not even raise prices at all.

• Anak Saudara Najib Ali on Mar 04, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Don’t buy nissan car. material quite cheap.. price increase quite high.

After end of year will they will give discount more than 20k… because kereta sudah tak laku…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • that applies to almera only

• Consumer on Mar 04, 2016 at 7:59 pm

Depend which range of car. We canot expect a premium quality built at cheaper price tag too. But i do agree with you the year end promo, which typically applied on most of the brands here, just matter of how much discounts it is.

• Albert on Mar 04, 2016 at 7:09 pm

Remember,”when the buying(of new cars)stops,the price will drop.”
    Car prices are OVER THE HILL now.
    Buy used/preowned ones….plenty of good offers from car websites.
    Better to eat humble pie(be tied down to smaller loans)than tayang,showoff (with very high car loans)and get VSS,MSS,retrenchment soon.
    Giant Petronas chopping 1000 staff.
    Amazingly,Protong,UMW(Same Loor praying very hard)have not wielded the axe yet.
    2016 will catch you offguard and Ah Longs will be your option if you overcommit and cannot pay back loans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Ur sales drop 77% still got time come here troll kah? P1 only drop 5% bro.

• Nissan on Mar 04, 2016 at 9:57 pm

Good luck!

• Nissan on Mar 04, 2016 at 9:58 pm

Wander why Sylphy is not in the list.

• camtakpro on Mar 07, 2016 at 8:55 am

Because I can count a hand full of SuprimaS before spotting one new Sylphy.

• Jimmy on Mar 04, 2016 at 10:53 pm

5k out of 65k is 7.7%

5k out of 166k is 3.0%

• Then you won’t be getting my money. Can afford to sit this out. Hope many other can delay purchases as well. Let’s see who blinks first.

• Tamau itu macam on Mar 05, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Cheapo and plasticky interior cars…..still wanna increase prices??? hahahahah

• Rusmah on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:18 am

Strategy to boost their sales in early 2016.
    TC wanna tells you,
    you buy my current stock now, you get discount and saving price hike 5 K…

Comon TC, after increase 5K, your car not competitive at all. Especially your almera. Cheapo material, awful design, poor crash test result..

• sparcov on Mar 08, 2016 at 7:06 am

Almera quite a good car, i drove in Langkawi 2 months back.

• camtakpro on Mar 08, 2016 at 10:51 am

If the only cars you drove were Proton, then Almera definitely quite a good car.

• I don’t understand the price hike. Manufacturer claims they were badly hit by ringgit depreciation. I just asked last month on Nissan Teana, salesman can offer rm12K discount plus free navi. It seems they are still earning big $$$ despite ringgit devaluation.