Chery Omoda 7 – C-segment SUV teased ahead of Beijing debut on April 28, a more stylish Tiggo 7 Pro?

When Chery introduced the Omoda sub-brand, it confirmed the presence of not just the Omoda 5 but also the upcoming Omoda 7 and Omoda 9. Now, the company has released a teaser of the first of those derivatives, the Omoda 7, which will be revealed in full at Auto China in Beijing next week, April 28.

Given its name, the car is obviously one size larger than the Omoda 5, and while the latter’s design is a vague approximation of the Nissan Ariya, the Omoda 7 has an altogether more mature look. The familial traits are of course still visible, these being the clamshell bonnet, upswept window line, glazed D-pillars and contrasting black roof.

Elsewhere, you’ll find sharp headlights, wraparound taillights and flush pull-up door handles that are similar to the BMW iX1‘s. You also get a hexagonal pattern grille as well as an interesting graphic in the bumper corners, which light up at the edges.

Expect the Omoda 7 to arrive in global markets next year as a more stylish alternative to the Tiggo 7 Pro, likely featuring the same multilink rear suspension (the Omoda 5 uses a torsion beam), 197 PS/290 Nm 1.6 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine and seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission. We doubt it will go on sale here, however, given that the Tiggo 7 Pro and Jaecoo J7 will leave little room for it to exist. Instead, Chery Malaysia will be pushing ahead with the larger Jaecoo J8 and Omoda 9.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• newme on Apr 18, 2024 at 4:19 pm

Don’t forget to give buyers a BREAK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • Newbies on Apr 18, 2024 at 4:30 pm

learn your English before comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
      • newme on Apr 19, 2024 at 8:51 am

Why must it be BRAKE? How can you give someone a brake?

You mean you never hear “Give me a break”? Learn English konon.

• @newme also could mean there are too many cars launching lately, give us a break to digest lol

• Learn to appreciate — or even identify — a pun first before commenting.

• Ahcong on Apr 18, 2024 at 10:42 pm

It spelled BRAKE..BRAKE..get it?

• Pro-Palestine on Apr 19, 2024 at 9:07 am

Brake lagi. Sudah basi la that fake news and you still stuck with old news. You outdated dinosaur la. Hahah.

• newme on Apr 19, 2024 at 4:01 pm

You must be old Proton staff. Bahasa sama je… sudah basi, come out of cave. Everyday hoping people to renew their trust with them.

• Pro-Palestine on Apr 19, 2024 at 5:28 pm

Tambi newme apa ko merepek ni? Mabuk ka?

• hazri on Apr 18, 2024 at 11:17 pm

brake der

• Hunter on Apr 22, 2024 at 7:04 pm

Pity u bos. A lot of people dont get your super spot on pun

• Hong Yee Hong on Apr 18, 2024 at 4:32 pm

What is the reason behind a lady shouting and crying while recording a video by the highway side? Let’s discuss, seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Wayang Kuat only….. if happen like Honda Takata airbag issue someone was die then only make story lah.

• Mayb that lady forgot to switch off the vibrator.

• Dah Menang Semua on Apr 18, 2024 at 4:32 pm

Think of Chery
    Think of Brembo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Ben Yap on Apr 18, 2024 at 4:32 pm

this time the brakes are ok right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • hazri on Apr 18, 2024 at 11:18 pm

side profile looks like harrier