Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

smart forfun2

forfun2_1.jpg

Most of you associate smart cars with tiny little toy cars which don’t look like they belong on highways at all. This is something outrageous - introducing the smart forfun2! While there were talks about an SUV smart car called the smart formore, that project never materialised. Instead, here you have a concept car called the smart forfun2. It’s hard to put the smart forfun2 and the word tiny in the same sentence.

It was developed by 4X4 Rally Race champion Stefan Attart using a Mercedes Benz Unimog 406, which is actually a really huge truck. The Unimog 406 is given a smart fortwo body and a 5,675cc six-cylinder diesel engine. Ever wondered what those huge monster truck-style wheels actually measure? They’re 26 inches wheels with 140cm diameter tyres. Ground clearance is a high 65cm, while the entire smart forfun2 is 3.7 meters tall.

More photos after the jump.

forfun2_2.jpg

forfun2_3.jpg

forfun2_4.jpg

26 Comments »

1. chris said,

September 14, 2006 @ 12:47 am

MONSTER Attack!!!

2. acbc said,

September 14, 2006 @ 12:51 am

The turbo itself is huge! Can fit a whole head inside! WAH!!!!!!

3. aesthari said,

September 14, 2006 @ 1:02 am

Wow! Outrageous is an understatement for this tiny giant! Smart Forfun, a suitable name indeed!

4. blerkz said,

September 14, 2006 @ 1:03 am

wahh……lorry driver c his coming infront also will get scared. LOL

5. agnesia said,

September 14, 2006 @ 1:04 am

can fight with bulldozer or not?

6. malayman said,

September 14, 2006 @ 2:51 am

anyone knows how much? wouldnt mind oaying for this…imagine the fun!!! haha terrorize all those kancils on the road…

7. kimmy said,

September 14, 2006 @ 7:30 am

now thats smart!!

8. acbc said,

September 14, 2006 @ 7:52 am

Use it to squash a bunch of Mat Rempits! Muahahaha…

9. FarinaRacer said,

September 14, 2006 @ 8:11 am

fun…fun..and funny…but its real is it

10. rexis said,

September 14, 2006 @ 8:30 am

omg… see wheels only cannot see car.

11. whodz said,

September 14, 2006 @ 9:40 am

It has to be a great engine if you want to put that size of tyre in a tiny car like smart car.

12. drM said,

September 14, 2006 @ 9:45 am

this is NOT smart, but it is FUN! cheerrs!

13. giyzmo said,

September 14, 2006 @ 11:31 am

It would be cool to own one of these and be seen driving along federal highway hahahahha :P

14. KY said,

September 14, 2006 @ 12:16 pm

does it come with A/C?

15. Joe Ooi said,

September 14, 2006 @ 12:19 pm

This is just put the smart shell on top of this monster machine!

16. Jeffrey1977 said,

September 14, 2006 @ 12:48 pm

Hi all, if you think this is crazy, wait till you see the japs turn a NSX to a F50.

Have fun viewing.

http://www.6park.com/enter7/messages/gvk21098.html

17. Jeffrey1977 said,

September 14, 2006 @ 1:03 pm

Get a MYVI and transform it into a VW Beetle.. Hehe

18. amir said,

September 14, 2006 @ 1:52 pm

cooooooollll!!!!!!!!!=D
    i wonder how they look if its kelisa?…

19. Francis KethoN said,

September 14, 2006 @ 5:45 pm

The Body of the Smart totally hopeless…you can see the body just a decoration and this is mean the Monster Truck and run by itself without the body…
    The suspension is not attach to the body…Fuel tank and so on..my guess maybe 4 screw only is needed to attach the body to the entire structure of the vehicle… :D

But anyway…”Wah….” was my 1st tone….hahaha

20. Isamu said,

September 14, 2006 @ 5:51 pm

This is a Smart car I wouldn’t dare to bully on the road..

21. armandd said,

September 14, 2006 @ 6:32 pm

tiny car + 3.7 metres tall = roll over

22. szw said,

September 14, 2006 @ 8:46 pm

da ’small’ monster truck, hehe !

23. jzkzlz said,

September 14, 2006 @ 9:09 pm

any pic for this monster doing wheelie ??
    look at d giant turbo…fall in love with it..
    dreaming bring it to m’sia & hav a show jumping over the kancils..
    guest how many kancil could this little monster jump over???
    let us hav the fun!!

24. topgunthang said,

September 15, 2006 @ 2:00 am

this should be made into a remote control car.

25. FireAngel said,

September 15, 2006 @ 3:43 pm

holyshit get me one of those!!!!!!!!

26. Ricc said,

September 19, 2006 @ 8:35 am

Quoted : #
    acbc said,

September 14, 2006 @ 7:52 am

Use it to squash a bunch of Mat Rempits! Muahahaha…
    ===============================================

ROFL.. Anti Mat Rempits huh?? ;-)

previous post: Proton launches Satria Neo in Singapore
next post: Naza requests more land for Indian plant

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!