New second generation Honda Jazz details

Update: New Honda Jazz S and V launched in Malaysia!

The new second generation Honda Fit – known as the Honda Jazz in our local market – has been officially announced by Honda and here are the some initial details of the car.

The new Honda Fit is longer than the previous generation by 55mm at 3,900mm and has a longer wheelbase of 2,500mm which is 50mm longer, but it’s height remains the same at 1,525mm. However despite this, interior height has increased by 10mm to 1,290mm. The new Fit is also wider than the previous generation with wider front and rear tracks. This enhances stability and the increase in exterior width also improves cabin width by 30mm to 1,415mm. Driver visibility has also been improved – if you look closely you will notice the A-pillars are relatively thin – they’ve been made thinner by 20mm each compared to the outgoing model.

There are two engine options for the Honda Fit in Japan – one is a 1.3 litre i-VTEC engine putting out 100PS. This is mated to a CVT which now comes with a torque converter. The higher grade Fit called the Fit RS (apparently stands for Road Sailing) with a larger 120PS engine. You will be able to see torque curves for both these engines after the jump.

Like most hatchbacks these days, the rear uses a torsion beam setup to help reduce suspension intrusion into the cabin, while the front uses MacPherson struts.

A trademark Honda Fit/Honda Jazz offering are the Ultra Seats. The Ultra Seats are back with this version of the Fit and they have four modes: a utility mode that increases luggage space to a flat length of 1,720mm, a long mode which places the front passenger seat folded flat down for a further increased length of 2,400mm, a tall mode where you fold up the rear seat cushions to fit in a tall item (as mentioned before, interior height is 1,290mm), as well as a refresh mode where the front seat headrests can be removed and the front seats can be folded down to create a long stretched rest area within the car. This front passenger seat also hides a storage compartment.

The Ultra Seats tall mode has been achieved by moving the centrally mounted fuel tank which was previously under the rear passenger seat to below the front passenger seats.

Something new is the Ultra Luggage system which has a regular mode, a tall mode and an upper/lower mode which divides rear boot space into two levels of storage. You will be able to see diagrams explaining how this works after the jump. However because of the new Ultra Luggage tall mode, the car no longer has space for a spare tyre so it will be equipped with an emergency tyre repair kit instead.

Look at more photos and diagrams after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fairozee (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 1:30 am

First!

Nica looking Jazz! Hope the price will drop a little!

• bugbear (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 1:56 am

wow~ many useful compartments… thumbs””

• Vengeance (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 1:56 am

Dunno malaysian market jazz will have side air bags or not….
    the paddle shifters are yummy, plus the i-vtec seems powerful!

• whodz (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 2:13 am

Wow, 1.3 vtec can put up to 100ps @ 98hp. Paul, is another version (RS) using 1.5? Double wow!

The previous jazz design is better. But with CVT, stick shift, driver-side arm rest, it’s a perfect city car with power!

Will 1.3 version to be brought down to our shore? Hope the price will decrease more!

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 2:24 am

for 1.3 i-vtec,its is sohc engine or dohc?cvt+vtec..this will produce good power with good fc..good job honda..always bring the latest technology to their model

• F430CS (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 2:30 am

Wonderful city car! I like every bit of it.

• halfclutch (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 2:37 am

This is the perfect car for ‘parking’! Look at the front seats folded back with blanket and pillow..I wonder what they are suggesting there..haha. That particular function will be further complemented if they had some sort of ‘pencegah maksiat’ or ‘skodeng’ detector.

• aliBaPa (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 3:34 am

look loke A class, but i guess no many changes, isn’t a good news.
    no matter how not broken a car is, still should be fix.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:29 am

Fab looking car. I especially like the bit showcasing the back of the passenger seat with the “Fantastic” magazine put into the magazine/misc holder =)

• kington (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 8:22 am

Looks nice.. a slow but careful design upgrade unlike the Vios.

Space wise, no doubt that the Ultra Seats are useful, but the current ones are pretty hard especially for long journeys.

• waimak (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 8:49 am

A lot of cubbies, great.

• jamsbong (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 8:50 am

I find the front of the car looks so ugly. They could have easily up the style a bit, like Civic and not have to worry about being better than Civic as they are 2 different class of vehicle.

I really like the interior though, very smart is putting cup holders and sqeeze space in places one would never imagine possible. Things like relocated fuel tank, very foldable seats. I know this is not new to Jazz but still worth mentioning coz its still remains a brilliant idea.

Now, I guess they should up one level by putting suicide doors.

• jermz (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:03 am

wonder if the version that comes here will have the removable cd player instead of the dashboard integrated one

• kinwawa (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:19 am

great interior! Love it! When can v have it????

• tinjon14 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:36 am

Wow, damn cool. Can’t wait for the sedan version, 2008 Honda City?

• jehutyz (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:47 am

I like it.
    Better than current one. Current one also damn nice this one is much better. Exterior and interior also nice.
    Wonder when it reach here how is the interior will be. What will be taken off…….
    The dashboard so cool!!!!
    Is a keyless go. Good one.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:51 am

the City ought to be good to, when they, uh, slap on a boot onto the Jazz….

yes its true, proton arent the only manufacturer to do the so-called “boot extension job”….

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 10:06 am

wow..it got the european front grill from the civic!! nice

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 10:08 am

Nice. This is what I call – car. Unlike….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 10:16 am

looks like a very nice package.

• abtm (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 10:22 am

i’ll call it a facelift

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:04 am

It is new jazz and it is so so much better than the current one, exterior, interior, engine, all better, and new jazz is wider, longer, and higher insidd the car. New i-vtec engine is impressive…………….sweet

Cannot wait for the new city…

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:05 am

Compare to current new vios….I like jazz better, and I think the city will look very good to in feature, space, engine power….good job Honda!!!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:20 am

Eh, Why the lights look like Viva headlamps…:P

I would prefer the manual version of 1.5L. Must be fun to drive around.. hehe.

• aaron_38my (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:22 am

Impressive! Now this is how a new car should be. A model better off than the previous one, unlike the new Vios (really,sorry to say these, new Vios fans). I think this Honda should be known as Honda Pocket, with all the available spaces to put your stuffs in, ranging from canned drinks, Ipod to a mountain bike! Overall this new Honda Fit/Jazz is impressive even its engine. Nice curve. Good job, Honda!

• KY (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:48 am

it’s a nice car, but the price is a bit… ughh

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:21 pm

Very nice update! Larger overall but they managed to maintain a compact design with angular cuts. The new ultra seat and boot space is awesome! Honda sure knows how to maximize all available spaces with storage areas all over. The current Jazz is class leading in terms of interior space. With the extra length in wheelbase and width, they’re creating a new record again. Way to go Honda!

• tinjon14 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:36 pm

Notice the card holder in the golve box. Cool!!!

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:52 pm

Still facelift! No new model?

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:52 pm

small car but big price

• BW (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:55 pm

Wow!! Nicer than the old jazz…. But the price surely nice also 1 la…. Yet it don looks as spacious as Myvi

• justice (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 12:58 pm

Bigfish,
    This IS a new one. Read the dimensions of the car.

• farmcow (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 2:02 pm

well, its a good car but its look reminds me of the flying squirrel

• pycazu (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 2:30 pm

This car is fun and cool! Good for traveller, lots of joy to ride on it!
    The amazing Jazz is the only few cars can be painted with any colours. It looked pretty cool even in pink, but not really feminine.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 3:15 pm

impressive!!!

two thumbs up!!

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 3:29 pm

from the picture the some plastic look a bit shiny and ‘toing’ ‘toing’

-correct me,

• Xoomie (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 3:46 pm

I wonder if next gen Honda City will inherit all the nice features..

• dzat46 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:03 pm

KL-ATR said,
    October 22, 2007 @ 12:21 pm

Very nice update! Larger overall but they managed to maintain a compact design with angular cuts. The new ultra seat and boot space is awesome! Honda sure knows how to maximize all available spaces with storage areas all over. The current Jazz is class leading in terms of interior space. With the extra length in wheelbase and width, they’re creating a new record again. Way to go Honda!

—————————————————————-

Yep, agreed….gud job Honda….everything this Fit/Jazz have & with the additional of a boot, the new Fit Aria/City will be even better…

• Xylan (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:11 pm

nice car.But what will it price be?

• drebar (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:12 pm

a little bit odd the shape… feel like Citroen Picasso.. lolz…

fortunately it did not inherit ugly nose of the new CR-V… hahaha…

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:26 pm

nice car honda…keep up the good aftersales service in malaysia

• ganz (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 4:41 pm

waiting for the price tag..:D

• McPadey (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 7:19 pm

This is what they call …..’ The Power of Dreams ‘ great engine, 1.3 can make 100ps wow…a big power from a small engine, i hope that the new honda city will be as good as this honda fit….5 star…

• szw (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 8:05 pm

the front light reminds me of DC5

• nuajon (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 8:07 pm

face simmiliar like viva…bored. most of new cars same face dif a brand.

• altis_fan (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:35 pm

From certain angle, it looks like Ninja Turtle. Ha ha ha….

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 10:47 pm

A lot of nice and useful features….nice…

• neoracing87 (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 11:22 pm

Honda Colt haha nice but would look better with a spoiler for the back like the old jazz’s. will it win tuner’s choice award again?

• sunlamp (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 12:02 am

NOT bad!
    quite good and many thoughtful ideals built in this time
    but how come not iDSL engine???

Btw, Paul, how come no VIVA review after so many months?

• rugaxp (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 12:39 am

i love this car..from its outer look till its inner interior plus the new engine variant which product good and fun driving factor.i’m not so into CVT since it would be less fun unless they have develop a better one to withstand and perform to par when the car is driven sportier.maybe get the stick version :D

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 2:48 am

they should dump the city and just price this at the city price. jazz should be an entry level model for honda worldwide.

that should effectively demolish the sales of the vios. price it lower alot more could kill off proton sales as well.

btw……watever u do….dont leave the ipod there.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 8:12 am

topgunthang, its common knowledge in the industry that sedans sell better than any other model. if you kill of your sedan and only sell a hatchback, you will be committing sales and marketing hara-kiri. Selling a hatchback cheap doesn’t mean you will convert a market, they’ll just buy more Vios or something else with a boot. You might want to rethink your strategy a little.

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 11:49 am

HEADLAMPS LOOK LIKE VIVA’S…..THE DASH DESIGN QUITE WEIRD 4 ME…THERE BULKY EVERYWHERE… THIS CAR IS MORE FITTY THAN JAZZY

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 12:15 pm

HEADLAMPS LIKE VIVA LA…..AYYOOOO….

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 12:15 pm

TENGOK BETUL2 MA….

• leongylun (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 3:59 pm

overally…better looking than Merc A class. but most importantly, how much will t sell in malaysia and when will available in local market? if above 100k then only can say bye bye to jazz with fewer spec and higher price..don’t use “try” to protect previous buyers this kind of excuse la…plz.

• BuLaiEn (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 4:18 pm

nice lookin jazz, i especially like the yellow car on the second pic after the jump..

and i see a manual!!! which probably wont come to m’sia but what the heck, should be much nice to drive than the power-sucking cvt.

hope it’s priced nicely, preferably under 100k tho, especially if it’s still gonna be assembled in thailand. i don’t see the point of a >100k CKD jazz..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 4:39 pm

we arent getting the fit rs,are we?

• kaka811 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 4:45 pm

nice car, well built, well design, and well function. but the price lil bit not really well. :)

• lpost (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 5:00 pm

Look nice..If the new jazz are produce in Thailand or even in Malaysia, the price should be same as City. tell me why it should be higher than city, all features are almost the same (only because it is an outdated model-city). Is it bcoz of our mentality that the price should be high? if the new jazz priced RM99k and Lancer rm115, which one will u choose??

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 5:23 pm

The yellow one look nice. But safety wise, it is rather worrying to see the image of the frontal crash test showing very obvoiously the leg area being totally crushed at maybe 80km/h. The package drawing also shows that the driver and the front passenger are very vulnerable during frontal collision.

• hetfield85 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 6:32 pm

Not so many differences in design but i hope the price will lower than the current price as it’s too expensive for a small car

• izaman (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 9:08 pm

“However because of the new Ultra Luggage tall mode, the car no longer has space for a spare tyre so it will be equipped with an emergency tyre repair kit instead.”

any comment regarding this. for me, it’s quite scary since not all driver know how to repair their own tyres.

• kaka811 (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 9:51 pm

agreed with izaman :)

• king (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 11:57 pm

abtm said,
    October 22, 2007 @ 10:22 am

i’ll call it a facelift

pls get ur facts right… its completely new with a brand new engine

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 1:19 am

No space for spare tyres? that’s weird..no wonder it’s called Jazz..

• arcana (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 7:31 am

all hatchbacks, fastbacks areobacks or watever u name it is always more expensive compared to the sedan siblings……its not the mentality but its becoz more work needs to be done on the shorter sibling like reinforcement of material to improve structure rigidity since it does not have a boot to withstand crash impacts . thats probably 1 of the reasons i can remember but there are other alterations if someone can point it out.
    conclusion is….less metal doesnt mean lower in price. same theory applies for tyres i guess….

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 9:20 am

SO WHERE THEY PUT THE SPARE TYRE???? UNDER ENGINE KA???

• ckengyo (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 10:50 am

mugen already developed range of products 4 new fit. http://www.mugen-power.com/street/fit/index.html

• transformer (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:48 am

when will Fit/Jazz comes with a diesel burner! when?

• lpost (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 3:06 pm

If we compare the prices between sedan and hatchback for same model in other country, we will find the prices are the same but in malaysia vice-versa, hatch back prices are higher (maybe bcos of low volume produce/import and the price goes up) but the basic thing is, sedan or hatchback should have same price. For jazz, the prices should be almost the same as City.

• lpost (Member) on Oct 26, 2007 at 8:27 pm

I mean jazz 1.5.

• syanas (Member) on Oct 28, 2007 at 8:44 pm

suitable for aweks la

• fandango (Member) on Nov 02, 2007 at 4:47 pm

i’ll seriously consider buying one if the price is between 80-85k tops.

• Jie (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 7:25 pm

lpost said,
    October 24, 2007 @ 3:06 pm

If we compare the prices between sedan and hatchback for same model in other country, we will find the prices are the same but in malaysia vice-versa, hatch back prices are higher (maybe bcos of low volume produce/import and the price goes up) but the basic thing is, sedan or hatchback should have same price. For jazz, the prices should be almost the same as City.
    ———————————————————-

Yeah, but if they reduce the price below City, the volume might increase, wont it? Anyway, I wont buy it if City is still cheaper.

• jaygan (Member) on Jul 03, 2008 at 1:36 pm

So those i-DSI engine is screwed ?? (for real good)

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 4:36 pm

nice car

• ariev on Jan 12, 2010 at 11:19 pm

god car..

• ariev on Jan 12, 2010 at 11:22 pm

my dream car.