New Toyota MPV: details of the new 3-row compact that Perodua will also build!

New Toyota MPV
Left: Artist’s rendering, Top-right: Mag-X thumbnails

We finally have some pretty solid but unofficial details on the upcoming compact 3-row MPV that Toyota and Daihatsu have been working on, scheduled to be launched next year. This is also the same vehicle that will be the base of the new Perodua MPV to be launched in Q3 of 2009, just in time for Hari Raya.

The word is that the Toyota version will be called the Toyota Passo Sette while the Daihatsu version will be called the Daihatsu Boon Ruminous, and will cost between 1,380,000 yen to 1,880,000 yen in Japan.

The Toyota version has a front end and headlamps that are very similiar to the current generation Toyota Vios. In classic Toyota style in knowing exactly how some Japanese love individuality and customization, the Japanese version will also get an alternate front end that is more sporty and aggressive. The Perodua version will naturally have its own front end, with a new grille, bumper and headlamps.

Toyota also has an existing compact 3-row MPV called the Toyota Sienta so it would be fair to compare this new MPV to the Sienta, and also the Passo/Boon/Myvi. And why not throw in the new Honda Freed into the mix. Let’s have a look:

Dimensions New MPV Sienta Wish Freed Myvi F/L
Length 4180mm 4100mm 4650mm 4215mm 3750mm
Width 1695mm 1695mm 1745mm 1695mm 1665mm
Height 1620mm 1670mm 1600mm 1715mm 1550mm
Wheelbase 2750mm 2700mm 2750mm 2740mm 2440mm

From the table above we can see that the new MPV is wider as well as longer in both length and wheelbase compared to the Sienta and the Myvi. A 2750mm wheelbase is impressive – that’s as long as the Subaru Exiga, which is quite a big vehicle!

It’s also quite obvious from even photos that the new Perodua MPV will be between the Sienta and the Myvi in terms of height as the Sienta is quite tall, but this new MPV loses some of that height for a sleeker profile that is generally more acceptable outside of Japan. After all, Indonesia is expected to be a production center for the car in ASEAN.

Something also very interesting is the fact that it is equal to the Wish in terms of wheelbase but significantly shorter and also narrower. Another key difference between this new MPV and the Toyota Sienta is the fact that the Sienta has sliding doors for the rear doors while this car uses conventional swing doors.

The primary engine for the Japanese market will be the 1.5 litre 3SZ-VE producing 109 PS at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque, but a 1.3 litre version could be available for the ASEAN market since the Avanza 1.3 was accepted quite well here.

The Japanese market interior will feature a dashboard with a centrally-mounted speedo and also a dash-mounted shifter (CVT for FWD, 4-speed auto for 4WD). ASEAN versions could see this shift lever moved to the area between the seats instead as we’ve seen this happen before with the Myvi (Passo) and the Nautica (Terios).

toyota-mpv-interiorFrom the Toyota product photos of the interior leaked by MagX, the second row looks like it can either fit 3 adults but I think 2 adults and 1 child would be more comfortable. At least it comes with 3 headrests, though this may be omitted in our market for cost cutting. The third row is a strict 2-seater.

The second and third row can be folded down for a flat loading area. The loading area is 1330mm wide at the rear-most area but when you fold down the rear seats, this width reduces to 1045mm because of the rear wheel arches protruding into the cabin. The loading area height is 858mm.

So, there you have it. There’s no telling at the moment which market will get the new Toyota compact MPV first, but it’s either between one of the ASEAN countries (Indonesia in particular), or Japan. One possible unveiling schedule could see a more “sophisticated” (dash-mounted shifter, option for DVD player, etc) Japan version unveiled first, then a low cost ASEAN version, and finally the Perodua version in Q3 2009.

Look after the jump for one more side profile shot of the new Toyota/Daihatsu/Perodua 3-row compact MPV.

New Toyota MPV

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 3:35 am

Kinda weird with it’s extended version of MyVi!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 3:38 am

‘The Perodua version will naturally have its own front end, with a new grille, bumper and headlamps’

WOW , such hard work for perdua to do that !

looks like the size of honda jazz…some how im not getting buzzed….that ugly viva is always in my head !

• farhitech (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 3:54 am

Wakaka …

MyVi – Limosine Version . Hopefully better than Mini Coper Limo

• Mini_Mack (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 6:22 am

…let’s see what the bashers of P1 would say about this MPV plak..ayooo…

Tak boleh ke see the good side of things first?

• tunomura (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 6:26 am

Not really interested to buy this car because it is not a really a mpv…
    Guys, if you want some picture, you also can go to J Blog (type in “J Blog Perodua MPV” on your search engine)

Same as Myvi, the next perodua next mpv is totally xerox from this Toyota/Daihatsu model. The different is exterior look and some interior design which adapted to Malaysian taste… The front bumper is same as Viva but with bigger emblem(just like latest edition of Myvi). The headlamp is just like Gen-2 profile (tiger eye) but it is not exactly same.
    The interior mostly look alike Yaris..

*Peace*

• Realeyes (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 7:35 am

Why don’t you guys rebadge the Wish or caldina and sell it for 60-70k. Is that plausible?

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 8:17 am

Front look like mini Wish, side look like Honda Jazz and the back side look like Viva. Expected the size will be quite same as Nisssan Livivna(not encounter the data of wheel base). It look weird for me for this crossover design…..

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 8:49 am

Such a cramped car… Less than 4.2 metre…

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 8:49 am

And if not mistaken the 1.5cc 3SZ-VE is the same engine block with K3-VE which is using by myvi curently, yet with logger stroke. Curently using by Daihatsu Boon 1.5cc in Singapore, Taiwan and etc….

• DRC (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 9:15 am

Interior roominess should be similar to GL and better than Avanza. If pricing similar to Avanza, this is likely to give strong competition to both GL and Avanza. Likely we will be dihina oleh Japanese/Perodua again; by stripping off this and that. Exteriorwise, better than the Pininfarina-designed Matrix. BTW, why Hyundai built such an ugly car?

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 10:29 am

Was going to chop some impressions based on these photos seen here. But it seems these photos are not getting much favour.

Maybe I’ll reconsider about chopping the MPV impression.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 10:36 am

this looks a lot better than the proton van

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 10:47 am

wow, myvi + viva + yaris…..

no comment, lol….

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 12:07 pm

Looks a lil weird… some hints of MyVI, and it does have that funny rear pillar that Daihatsu has been fond of lately. Size wise it seems small, and the Proton MPV’s spyshots do seem to have better aesthetics with the bulging arches and sleeker front. We’ll just have to wait and see :)

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 12:09 pm

Oh, forgot to mention that the rear bumper is almost flush with the tailgate… eeks… wouldn’t wanna bang dat, reminds me of the facelifted Kancil’s rear bumper…

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 12:19 pm

Nothing much different la. Just a slight strech of myvi and put 1 extra seat. cant believe this

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 12:20 pm

Perodua’s and Proton’s MPVs are not meant to compete with each other, they are different in size and category.

When both launched MyVi and Savvy, the same comparison is made, when obviously the Savvy’s (then) competition was Kelisa, then Viva.

The coming Perodua MPV, if you must, should be compared to Toyota Avanza, Inokom/Hyundai Matrix, or even Suzuki APV.

You guys should know what the Proton MPV is competing with.

I personally think it’s fine if the Perodua MPV’s initial rendering suggests it looks like Myvi and Viva. It’s not easy for any car manufacturer to “craft” a familiar/family look across it’s range.

Why are most comments seem… so… discouraging? Are you guys setting high expectations from Perodua?

Come on guys, cheer up lar! Happy Deepavali by the way.

Will chop my impression of the Perodua MPV, with… *sigh* GREAT expectations for it to be bashed/criticised brutally.

• shamel (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 12:28 pm

T-Chin:

Ractis
    Manufacturer Toyota
    Production 2005–present
    Predecessor Fun Cargo
    Class Subcompact/Mini MPV
    Engine(s) 1296 cc
    1496 cc
    Transmission(s) Automatic
    Length 3955 mm (155.7 in)
    Width 1695 mm (66.7 in)
    Height 1640 mm (64.6 in) – 1660 mm (65.4 in)
    Curb weight 1395 kg (3075 lb) – 1475 kg (3252 lb)

Toyota-Daihatsu-P2 mpv definitely a elongated Ractis’ wheelbase and definitely Proton will have hard job to convince buyers to opt for them though those with 3 kids or more will choose Proton’s if space is their issue.

Interior-wise Proton did offer good value compared to many big names, Toyota and Nissan include. New P2 mpv compete with Freed rather than anything else.

Alpina, you really hate P1, huh? l never put proton in my evoke set but give them a room to breath. They deserved.

• szw (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 12:46 pm

alpina , dis is a total rubbish ok ?
    u think u can afford a BMW so wat ?
    can u fix one ?
    dis is a VAN proton’s wan is a MPV

• ignas (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 1:17 pm

isnt MPV stands for multi purpose VAN? so ur saying proton’s one can be multi purpose while perodua’s cant?

• ignas (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 1:26 pm

i do agree with alpina, this one looks better than proton’s mpv, at least from all those pictures available la. proton’s looks too bulky to me, ya someone will come shooting me saying, that is the purpose, bigger better.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 1:52 pm

Mini_Mack said,
    October 25, 2008 @ 6:22 am
    —-
    The problem is… I don’t see any good thing!.
    They (perodua) don’t even build it!

ignas said,
    October 25, 2008 @ 1:17 pm
    isnt MPV stands for multi purpose VAN? so ur saying proton’s one can be multi purpose while perodua’s cant?
    ——
    No! M.P.V stand for Multi-Purposed Vehicle .
    You’re seem lack of knowledge!

ignas said,
    October 25, 2008 @ 1:26 pm
    i do agree with alpina, this one looks better than proton’s mpv, at least from all those pictures available la. proton’s looks too bulky to me, ya someone will come shooting me saying, that is the purpose, bigger better.

Then you’re also had a problem with your eye. Go to eye specialist asap.. before it’s too late.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 2:20 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    October 25, 2008 @ 10:36 am

this looks a lot better than the proton van

you are weird man!!and too biased..why compare since they are not frm the same class??

i just think you like the attention..i mean you are a attention seeker..that all..

• droll (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 2:37 pm

good people mover i suppose. but in typical ho-hum fashion – it’s a toyota. nothing to be excited about but it gets the job done moving homo sapiens from one point to another in the 3rd and 4th dimension. LOL.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 2:43 pm

Toyota is just using perodua to sell their car…Perodua is becoming/already became like Naza..why our government is allowing this??stupid right??

The G only rugi on tax…or force 80 to 90% local component on these perodua models…even petrol tank filler caps has daihatsu logo!!

perodua is just does not take the effort…atleast produce the chassis by yourself…not just modify lights,bumpers and etc…that Ah beng shop pun boleh…

lucky proton will have about 6 months to gain an advantage of sales…

and i bet perodua cant price it cheaper than 60K..and i heard proton is trying to price their MPV just below 70K which is about 68K or 69K as their baseline model..so perodua will have another flop like nautica…haha..oh god i m becoming a perodua basher…

actually i m not…but i am just diappointed with perodua..instead of working with proton and helping our country automotive R&D they instead killing the market and let a japanese company to gain profit and making our country poorer and backward!!

imagine perodua dont even produce a petrol filler cap themself..even that their engineers cant do!!the only thing they know is facelift,bumpers,headlamps and etc..so so lame!!!

come on la…join venture with proton built a compact engine ranging frm 1.0 till 1.5 with supercharging or turbo charging capabilities..then share platforms..since perodua has stop exporting cars(anyone realise that??)and export it to indonesia,china,philipines,vietnam and india…help each other since we are all frm malaysia…not those japanese which eat you up and use u till they can!!

why perodua choose to sell nautica at 90k??because they dont want it to sell…because if its any cheaper Rush which is cheaper to produce since it not 4 wheel drive will be not able to sell…

Stop supporting the japanese!!

• szw (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 2:44 pm

if MPV is multipurpose VAN , den u expecting SUV to be sports utility VAN ?

• normaluser (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 3:14 pm

The wheelbase is similiar to Exiga, but then the seating arrangement is more cramped (just look at the space for the 3rd row). I bet the space for the 1st & 2nd row to be as small as the Myvi.

I hope for Perodua to price this B-segment MPV below RM65K. Or else I foresee that the bigger engined Livina, Proton MPV and Citra Rondo will be the better & sensible choice.

Paul Tan says: Yup, because vehicle length is not very long. The four wheels are at the edges of the vehicle.

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 3:36 pm

MPV stands for Multi-Purpose-Vehicle ;)

• shamel (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 3:50 pm

If l’m in the market for MPV now, P2 mpv should be the one if l not really looking for true 7-seater. Their T-sourced engine really reliable BUT P2 quality in service department nowhere close to Toyota or Honda, or even minnow Nissan.

P2 should have at least true 3S or 4S in order to get better satisfaction in car ownership. If they willing to do this, P2 easily can strengthen their position.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 4:20 pm

definitely better effort…..
    nice job perodua….. the car still have dat “perodua” kinda instinct !!!

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 5:54 pm

you can’t compare this to the proton mpv as the proton mpvs that were shot are taped up test mules which are meant to look ugly. if you don’t believe me look at the taped up satria neo pics before it was launched, it looks ugly but the real car looks nice. BTW we should have higher expectations for this car as it is only a rebadged model of another car so perodua don’t have to start from scratch and can look into more minor details than proton as proton has to start development of their cars from scratch now.

just my 2 cents

• ignas (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 6:11 pm

bmpower said,
    October 25, 2008 @ 1:52 pm

Then you’re also had a problem with your eye. Go to eye specialist asap.. before it’s too late.

duh! i made an obvious pretty common sense mistake k. you can say i wrote rubbish, but hey, tats pretty shallow minded to judge ppl lack of knowledge you even hardly knew. guess your the smartest a$$ around here, eh?

dude you got a problem with me? Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. like that i also need to check my eyes? then i suggest you better have your retarded brain check too for your baseless comments rather than assault ppl. too late for what? what you gonna do? assault my skin color next? my famliy? what a bias idiot.

anyway, i thanks other for the MPV correction. careless mistake, sry.

• ENZO (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 6:14 pm

MPV=mini perodua/proton van

hahahahahahaha

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 7:36 pm

Make a more aero dynamic rusa, then it will sell.Make it look good too in the process

• claxxion (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 9:54 pm

It will be an interesting competition for our car manufacturers next year. Two MPVs. Two different sizes. Two different class. But people will automatically believe that the oval badge is better, regardless of what the price tag is.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 10:57 pm

Is this to replace our Avanza and fight with Livina? Interior dashboard seems uprated. Doubt it’s legroom for the 2nd and 3rd row at the back.

• csv (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 11:37 pm

1.5 liter only, enough power anot. its toyota engine leh. not Nissan or Mitsubishi or what.

and the livina already quite cramped sideways, not sure if this will be wider. but the myvi is good tho, look small but spacious.

hope this mpv same thing too.

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 11:51 pm

This mpb is for smaller families.
    That’s it.
    Keep Proton outta this.

And mind you all, the pricing is also going to be a tad different.

• szw (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 12:03 am

oval badge better ?
    sorry man…
    thats wrong.
    they are not better , cause they can’t even being consider a car maker in the 1st place.
    they are known as an assembler ok…
    they are just assembling toyotas…

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 12:03 am

Looks like a giant honda jazz/viva. Dont like viva design so much.

• V8 (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 12:37 am

Awful car. hi alpeena bmw. :p

• car_craze (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 12:44 am

probably replace the Avanza cos they are in the same group and similar price bracket. The IP is too simple and cheap looking. But then it is meant to be cheap! I think the price would be withn 60-65k here.
    Design wise it’s just so-so. Nothing special.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 1:08 am

Now.. Perodua should close your shop lah. close your factory.
    you brought shame to malaysia! . such a loser.. you not even build a car.. now not even assemble a car.

You’re absolutely only Japan kao li (kuli).

You’re (PERODUA) established since1993, that was 15 year already!.
    And sadly… You not even build you own body design!. You such a loser.. You such a shame using ‘Perusahaan Otomobil’. You really don’t deserve it!

Building your own engine? Hell never!

Close you shop!

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 1:09 am

well… it’s fun (being basher as well :D ) bashing perodua… as the real loser..

• peYno (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 3:24 am

prrrfthh
    perodua has totally changed
    before : japanese car assembler
    now : bodykit and logo fabricator (even brothers shop can do better)

anyway they still hold the record.. most unsellabe car in Misia…. perodua notica…prrrfthhhh

• peYno (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 3:34 am

There’s no telling at the moment which market will get the new Toyota compact MPV first, but it’s either between one of the ASEAN countries (Indonesia in particular), or Japan. One possible unveiling schedule could see a more “sophisticated” (dash-mounted shifter, option for DVD player, etc) Japan version unveiled first, then a low cost ASEAN version, and finally the Perodua version in Q3 2009.

===============================
    they oso gonna sell it in Indonesia , and of course the car will be assembled in Toyota Indonesia..

haha.. so what a diff. btw perodua n toyota assmbler/plant in Indonesia..??
    as it is will be a dowgraded version of Japanese Toyota/daihatsu

toyota indonesia .. they r not pretender..
    perodua malaysia..claim as “national car”.. change logo, remake bumper and relocate plate no ..

prrrfthhh

• naikmotoje (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 12:36 pm

wah… 1.5 only? cukup to pull out 7 people inside?
    i wonder if proton mpv 1.6 pun orang kata x power gak… :p

• willpower (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 3:24 pm

why are we still enduring these pains..?

1. Too pricey for a small MPV
    2. Too outdate/ simple design for a nation brand
    3. Do they really think Malaysian buyers are water-fish (pengguna bodoh)?
    4. When are we going to have value-for-money vehicles?
    5. What happen to the liberalization of AFTA?
    6. What are the next steps of National Automotive Policy?
    7. We had enough. Enough is enough. That’s enough.

• RizalHardy (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 3:39 pm

erm, looks similar with the mpv inside video shot for the proton mpv in previous post….ermmm…..

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 3:56 pm

bmpower said,

October 25, 2008 @ 1:52 pm

Mini_Mack said,
    October 25, 2008 @ 6:22 am
    —-
    The problem is… I don’t see any good thing!.
    They (perodua) don’t even build it!

ignas said,
    October 25, 2008 @ 1:17 pm
    ——

ignas said,
    October 25, 2008 @ 1:26 pm

—————————————————
    no you should get a brain checkup

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 9:29 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    October 26, 2008 @ 3:56 pm

====

No .. IT’S YOU those need to get a brain check up.
    I believe.. many here will agree with me too..

and please.. also check your genital , i think you’re confusedly either you’re a man or woman too..

• juicer (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 11:40 pm

total disguise .
    pls stop render , so headache seeing it.
    total junk .

• clover leaf (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 1:29 am

major depressive disorder?
    why not visit a shrink?

• Wisdom (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 9:09 am

Utter nonsense car.

Now everybody want to built an MPV…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 8:55 pm

bmpower said,

October 26, 2008 @ 9:29 pm

ALPINA BMW said,
    October 26, 2008 @ 3:56 pm

====

No .. IT’S YOU those need to get a brain check up.
    I believe.. many here will agree with me too..

and please.. also check your genital , i think you’re confusedly either you’re a man or woman too..
    ————————————————————–
    don’t need to check. i know myself, just because you have genital problems doesn’t mean people have too

• claxxion (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 9:35 pm

Boring! We had enough of those myvi-viva looking cars on the road edi!

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 27, 2008 at 10:29 pm

gosh.. keep the arguments at bay..

Well, i’m not buying ’em.

• Wisdom (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 2:17 am

Toyota, as usual u can stripped the car to as empty as you can. It might weigh as light as feather and who know it could be more fuel efficient than your version too. And don’t forget to reduce the panels thickness as usual. Then advertise it as ‘pedestrian friendly’

Daihatsu, hope your engine can cope with the empty, naked body plus 7 person on board. Please be careful with the valves seals. your engine been smoking quite bad and a bit noisy lately.

Perodua, nice bumper, lights and emblem satu!

=Another candidate for ‘basic spec, premium price, specially formulated for malaysian market’.

Thanks again Perodua. Yeah rip us summore.

• peYno (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 3:23 am

i have one question.
    If Toyota can utilize the Toyota plant at Indonesia to product this MPV for ASEAN market (of coz Low cost version), Why we need Perodua??
    look at Avanza and Toyota Rush those r assembled in Indonesia, we in malaysia can buy them at cheaper price compared the car which assembled in Perodua..
    Malaysian have to pay a royalty to Japanese so that our “national car perodua” can rebadge , change bumper and logo and sell it to us ???

• Bbingbong (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 4:29 am

yay, im proud to have local bumper, lights and emblem maker, perodua, yay perodua boleh, i hope in the future perodua can be global bumper, lights and emblem maker in the world…. =D

• xstan (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 8:59 am

There was this interview with the CEO of P2 appears in Paper..I think in Business section & he mentioned the new MPV will be 1.3L & seats 6 adults only. Couldnt recal the date of teh inetrview but certainly 3 weeks back.

Its 1.3L & 6 seaters MPV…duly confirmed by CEO.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 9:38 am

1.3? oh hell.. that was a true coffin car!
    we will see many people died in underpowered so called MPV later.
    omg omg omg.

• car_craze (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 12:13 pm

Let’s see which crash test they “claimed” to have met with this MPV. Bearing in mind this car is specially made for the “Malaysian market” . (Read: lowest spec, minimum safety, maximum profit).
    Then again, the Toyota heritage claim could fool most buyers into buying a ‘quality product’.

• adunadun (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 12:57 pm

do bif family in malaysia need MPV? ermmm,mmmmmmmmmmmmmm…

i think the right word should be…malaysian need 7 seater vehicle,,,,, that what proton do,,, also toyota avanza did the same thing, but for commercial,,,do you want to call it 7 seater vehicle? or MPV?

i dont mind what ever do you call this vehicle, as long as it serve my purpose.
    :P

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 2:13 pm

adunadun said,
    October 28, 2008 @ 12:57 pm

Ok. then i call it a lorry. Drive with happy.. TQ

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 10:25 pm

Looks a lot like myvi stretched…and in typical p2 style, change lights n bumper. But in essence, yeah….

1.3 to pull 6 ppl? Ahahah, n ppl hv been concerned whether 1.6 campro CPS can pull 7 ppl. Ahahahahahhahahahaha, thnx p2, u made me laugh for a long time ahahahahhaha. That said, whatever proton mpv may be, it’ll definitely be better than p2 mpv power-wise. ABSOLUTELY. Then there’s of course the value-for-money, styling (I have great faith in azlano’s work), practicality, ride & handling (tuned by lotus, yeahhh!!) So let’s see now….the score’s 5-0 for proton mpv. Hahahahahahaha

• samsung (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 9:14 am

seems many here have no faith for P2 mpv success, but time will tell, im not a P2 or P1 fan, but the public perception of P1 Bad Quality still exist…i`ve ask many person , especially uncles and aunties..(its them that have the most purchasing power compare to most yuppies here)
    like..Savvy – young generations
    Myvi – for uncle & aunties
    unfortunately , the uncle & Aunties have the most purchasing power ..and ended up with Myvis and vivas that are scattered around compare to savvy..
    anyway i wud say this small sized MPV will make it , if they priced it right.

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:03 am

bmpower said,
    October 28, 2008 @ 2:13 pm

adunadun said,
    October 28, 2008 @ 12:57 pm

Ok. then i call it a lorry. Drive with happy.. TQ
    —————————————————————-
    hahaha..!!! a lorry with fully accessories, bodykits and spoiler… u should say.. Drive with carefully as it have a bad handling!! hahaha… :D u really makes me laugh….

samsung said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 9:14 am

seems many here have no faith for P2 mpv success, but time will tell, im not a P2 or P1 fan, but the public perception of P1 Bad Quality still exist…i`ve ask many person , especially uncles and aunties..(its them that have the most purchasing power compare to most yuppies here)
    like..Savvy – young generations
    Myvi – for uncle & aunties
    unfortunately , the uncle & Aunties have the most purchasing power ..and ended up with Myvis and vivas that are scattered around compare to savvy..
    anyway i wud say this small sized MPV will make it , if they priced it right.
    —————————————————————-
    And now, u can compare myvi and new Saga… new saga already attract a lot of uncles & aunties to their side…
    *New Saga- young generations + uncles & aunties
    *Myvi – just uncles & aunties…..

uncles & aunties have the most purchasing power to buy new saga nowday + the youngsters bought the car for going to college, university and that will make Saga sales like a hot cakes… i also think new proton MPV will make it if their priced was right…

• GL3n (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 3:00 pm

perodua??? HELL NO!!!

• corollaaltis (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 5:36 pm

bmpower said,
    October 28, 2008 @ 9:38 am

omg omg omg.
    —————————————————————-
    Avanza oso 1.3 why no people died ??

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 8:13 pm

cos people are still in process of dying

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 8:28 pm

corollaaltis said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 5:36 pm

bmpower said,

omg omg omg.
    —————————————————————-
    have u ask Avanza 1.3 owner about performance of their mpv?? my uncle was 1 of the owner of avanza 1.3 and he said that mpv was underpowered.. it’s will suffered if going up hill with full loaded..

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:15 pm

—————————————————————-

Agree with u… all people will thk negative side rather than positive side…

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:18 pm

————————————————————-

U want bigger, buy Alphard la, bigger ma…

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:23 pm

if MPV is multipurpose VAN , den u expecting SUV to be sports utility VAN ?

————————————————————-

MPV – multi purpose vehicle la…

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 29, 2008 at 11:35 pm

Now.. Perodua should close your shop lah. close your factory.
    you brought shame to malaysia! . such a loser.. you not even build a car.. now not even assemble a car.

You’re absolutely only Japan kao li (kuli).

You’re (PERODUA) established since1993, that was 15 year already!.
    And sadly… You not even build you own body design!. You such a loser.. You such a shame using ‘Perusahaan Otomobil’. You really don’t deserve it!

Building your own engine? Hell never!

Close you shop!

————————————————————–

Wah so angry ar? i suggest u be the director lor…

• shamel (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 12:29 am

P2 definitely not up to Proton’s level as a car manufacturer, BUT the lessen the degree the better from customer’s perspective. You got a Toyota with cheaper pricetag. Like in Naza Rondo=Kia Rondo.

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 9:37 am

God.of.War said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 11:15 pm

—————————————————————-
    Agree with u… all people will thk negative side rather than positive side…
    =============================================
    not agree with u.. if the title is all about proton, u will have a negatively thinking rather positively thinking.. u want people judge this mpv with a fair comments but, u being unfair if u throwing comments about proton..

God.of.War said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 11:18 pm

————————————————————-

U want bigger, buy Alphard la, bigger ma…
    See.. did my statment above was true? still comparing heavily taped proton mpv with this mpv?? yes bigger was better… but it’s doesn’t mean if we want “BIGGER”.. we must buy alphard.. if proton mpv is bigger with affordable price… buy Proton MPV maa… no need to waste ur money to buy such a rare model in malaysia… that mean, the sparepart also rare to find maa…

God.of.War said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 11:35 pm

Wah so angry ar? i suggest u be the director lor…

U play ps2 game to much…no need to be director maa.. he also like u maa… want to complain this, complain that… just like u want a high quality car like bmw but the price want to pay like kancil maa…. what he said was true maa… perodua act like 2nd national car manufacturer…. but it’s doesn’t have itself personality (owned by toyota maa)… just know the design copy this…and the engine copy that… becoming japanese kuli.. if proton benchmark wish, people will say proton copy wish… haiya… benchmark “pun tak tau apa maksud ka?”…

• samsung (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 2:22 pm

what the fuss P2 copy toyota design + using toyota engine + using toyota method of manufacturing -kaizen la..kanban la + try to preserve toyota quality level ?
    As long as we customer get toyota quality vehicles (almost la) + toyota engine + no need to pay as high as toyota cars..ok la..me no problem at that.
    nevermind as people said P2 is not a true car maker..just assemble only not like P1 a tru car maker (really aar?)
    as long as the car i bought never give me headache in the middle of hiway..its ok with me..

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 7:56 pm

fuck this, but the hyundai starex, its rear wheel drive, like bmw

• corollaaltis (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:10 pm

aenz81 said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 8:28 pm

corollaaltis said,

bmpower said,

omg omg omg.
    —————————————————————-
    have u ask Avanza 1.3 owner about performance of their mpv?? my uncle was 1 of the owner of avanza 1.3 and he said that mpv was underpowered.. it’s will suffered if going up hill with full loaded..
    ———————————————————-
    Toyota did not suggest you to drive fast up the hill.

• peYno (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 9:24 pm

samsung said,
    October 30, 2008 @ 2:22 pm

what the fuss P2 copy toyota design + using toyota engine + using toyota method of manufacturing -kaizen la..kanban la + try to preserve toyota quality level ?
    As long as we customer get toyota quality vehicles (almost la) + toyota engine + no need to pay as high as toyota cars..ok la..me no problem at that.
    nevermind as people said P2 is not a true car maker..just assemble only not like P1 a tru car maker (really aar?)
    as long as the car i bought never give me headache in the middle of hiway..its ok with me..
    ===============
    the problem is..
    why we need Perodua if other Toyota plant in Indonesia or Thailand can produce it much2 cheaper??
    look at Toyota Avanza assembled in Indonesia..
    the price is much chepaer than Toyota Avanza assembled in Perodua..
    just because to pretend to be a “National car” malaysian have to pay much higher than similar toyota/daihatsu car assembeld in Indo/Thai??

• tokmoh (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 10:38 pm

today’s toyotard quality is laughable compared to the gud old days’ ones. making money is all they want today, not making cars. A veeery deep word: “cars”.

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 9:12 am

corollaaltis said,
    October 30, 2008 @ 8:10 pm

aenz81 said,
    October 29, 2008 @ 8:28 pm

corollaaltis said,

bmpower said,

omg omg omg.
    —————————————————————-
    ———————————————————-
    Toyota did not suggest you to drive fast up the hill.

—————————————————————-

since when u know toyota did not suggest people drive fast up the hill?? as i know, toyota also test their prototype going up the hill for engine realbility testing… we dont need to drive fast going up the hill.. but we need to maintain the speed with high gear for reducing fuel consumption… every peoples mention about a good engine to pull a big 6-7 peoples mover for easily to climbing up hill… if the car/mpv size and power doesn’t bother people in here, buy urself kancil indeed.. why bother to search for MPV??

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 9:20 am

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    October 30, 2008 @ 7:56 pm

fuck this, but the hyundai starex, its rear wheel drive, like bmw
    —————————————————————-fuck Kia Carnival also with front wheel drive but suprisingly nobody’s bother about that…

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 9:47 am

peYno said,

October 30, 2008 @ 9:24 pm

–are u asking this question to our government? i think u should.

• tec96248 (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 9:56 am

samsung said,

–agreed with u. me just dislike car always breakdown. especially emergency or in hurry. i always believe in having a reliable car will bring me more opportunity and fortune too. that i consider it good car already.

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 1:28 pm

samsung said,

—————————————————————-

toyota design.. ok different angle, myvi with plastic dashbord and door trim/panel.. that was toyota quality?? then with similar prices is persona, with leather dashboard and door trim/panel is still not good enough?? ya.. ya.. i know that was proton quality…. and yet, viva also with plastic interior is still better than saga even though saga is bigger and cheaper?? oh ya again.., toyota still better maa..

people always assuming that proton was a tin milo car, but u will dissapointed when u slamming perodua cars door and will get similar sound and result…

haha.. maybe people think owning a perodua car will make them feel like getting a cute sexy japanese girl with mini skirt and be able to show to people how her bodyshape look alike… and maybe if owning a proton car will make people think they are getting a unsexy cute malay girl in baju kurung with kain tudung but they don’t realize how perfect the bodyshape that she had…. so, people still can’t see the quality improvement for proton car… and this mpv?? i dont have any comment for this mpv… wait until perodua launch and i will visit their showroom for test drive… still early to conclude how this mpv will perform…

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 01, 2008 at 12:05 am

aenz81 said,
    October 31, 2008 @ 1:28 pm

,people always assuming that proton was a tin milo car, but u will dissapointed when u slamming perodua cars door and will get similar sound and result…’

————————————————————-

not similar sounds. the sounds on perodua is worst!! the sounds way worst than ‘dub’ or ‘dug’. its sounds ‘tang’!

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 01, 2008 at 10:51 am

yes Wisdom, u r right…even though perodua is worst than proton, peoples still assumming proton as tin milo car… maybe they think perodua was a tin coca cola.. even though it’s never get rusty, but it’s will easily dented… hahaha…

• want_diy (Member) on Nov 01, 2008 at 9:17 pm

Haha…yeah…malaysian people always like this..not enough with wut they already have…for me…i’m proud of both manufacturer..there is no tin milo or coca cola…actually,it is imported coil or sheet meta from oversea lah.malaysia still can’t produce their own sheet metal for otomotive industry yet….but i heard that upcoming proton model oso not come from their own design…hehe…

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 11:02 am

hahaha… yeah… but perodua was 90% foreign design!! i’m not really sure if i’m proud of it…. which one upcoming model that are not from proton design?? MPV?? i’m also not very sure about that…hahaha…

• nuajon (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 1:39 am

rear look like atos light from side heheheheheh

• aenz81 (Member) on Nov 05, 2008 at 12:03 pm

nuajon said,
    November 3, 2008 @ 1:39 am

rear look like atos light from side heheheheheh
    —————————————————————-

mungkin ni adik kepada atot kot?? hahaha….

• wheregotcar (Member) on Nov 07, 2008 at 4:45 pm

want_diy said,
    November 1, 2008 @ 9:17 pm

“….but i heard that upcoming proton model oso not come from their own design…”

is that a rumour or actual truth? i’ve been following the other thread on P1 MPV and this topic have been discussed extensively. Do u consider design collaboration with a consultant mean that the design is NOT P1’s?

i get confuse by these statement, im sure as would others. Please do not rob them of their dedication and sheer hard effort. Same goes for P2 guys, im sure there are extensive effort in sourcing & assembling car locally – its not an easy job! (manufacturing ppl would agree to this)

• Ghostfreak Syaqi (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 3:48 pm

keta MPV buatan malaysia akan mengalah kan MPV toyota nissan honda MAYBE ??????? :)

• The Fact on Mar 05, 2009 at 9:38 am

The bad experiences that Proton gave me really a nightmare for me. Trying to buy a cheaper car in the market, but end up with continuous reparing. I could actually buy a better & reliable car if I use the reparing money to top up into the installment. For people that are low & middle income, we do not have much choices. But unfortunately I would say that Perodua is better than Proton eventhough my Myvi hot exhaust issue has yet to resolve. Proton is a car manufacturer, proton should be able to offer lower price compare to Perodua which is a car assembler. If the price of the Proton MPV is like RM70k, I rather buy Livina.

• richard lai 1812 on May 09, 2009 at 10:13 pm

produa mpv see by the photo ok loh what its hard 2 see the tird back seat like a seat of a train and how many air bag included

• shootx2 on May 20, 2009 at 4:34 pm

I agree with you "The Fact Said",

i will rather buy other whatever brand except PROTON. Suffering repair either in under warranty.

Yeah, some of you guys believe Proton have improve a lot. Improve on what? Material? Go find some who drive a Proton & perodua in comparison repairing and maintenance.

Proton Persona last 1 to 2 years.

Perodua Myvi last ( what do u think? )

and find the market value within this 2 models.

• tommy on Oct 14, 2009 at 1:06 am

still copy???? when we can make our own car???? tireeddddd…..

prices very high…. quality eeemmmhhh unknow???? toyota or daihatsu????

don't change panel gear… why? wanna low cost???? continuous bad habit… remember all people not blind…..

one thing… jazz price only 70k++

why become 90k~100k????

wake up… wake up… young boy….

• tommy on Oct 14, 2009 at 1:12 am

u said support… we support…

u get what u want… we get fool….

• October on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:52 pm

Toyota Passo Sette looks great. For sure Perodua will do a lot of cost reduction. But whatever it is, hope they should keep the original safety features untouch including the original vendor. Thorough realibility test should be carried before localised safety related parts like brakes and its control system. Safety features like airbags, vehicle stability control (VSC), traction control, Dynamic Support Headrests which reduce the risk of rear-end collision whiplash, and finally ABS brakes.

• who said,,perodua is 100% BUATAN MALAYSIA…….PERODUA!!!! COPY PASTE TOYOTA /DAIHATSU LA 80%……LOOK AT MYVI=SURION/PASSO,,VIVA=DAIHATSU CHARADE,,MANY MORE LA…..KALAU TAK PERCAYA DATANG MIRI,,,YOU ALL PERGI BRUNEI AND YOU WILL SEE THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Azman on Oct 29, 2009 at 4:29 am

ignas: MPV stand for multi purpose VEHICLE laaa not VAN ….plz do your research … sorry just to correct it…

• najay on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:19 am

u all got the points. but let not get emotional about it. p1 has the experties & experience to manufacture, so they can make their own cars. p2 on the other hand only know to assemble them. so be it. p1 was also an assembler prior to waja. no problem.

national cars price is to protect their existence. not only m'sia do this. open up ur mind. korea do the same. almost all koreans use their own kia, hyundai, sangyong etc. bcoz govt policy is same with us. p1 starts with mitsubishi chasis&engine. so did hyundai. that makes p1 & hyundai cousin, but hyundai since then hyundai had grew globally. but not p1.

NAP is to protect our auto industries, if we are open like US or UK, then we'll only become consumer, not manufacturer. money will flow to oversea and cant be channelled to the goverment. govt wont have enuff money to spend to build school, hosptl etc. UK car manufacturers were sold or died bcoz they cant compete with japanese hondas, toyotas. that's why lotus is owned by p1. land rover by tata india. they dont mind bcoz UK is rich. their GLC's is getting lots of money. japan too. but not us.

• najay on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:21 am

bh

• aelegg on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:49 am

kereta solong pun ade harga ma..

• I'll vote for Proton Exora

• I drove Toyota Avanza1.3 auto. I find it adequately powered. problem about ppl complain about under power issue is: They do not know how to use the "Overdrive" button. I go up Genting 2x in this T.Avanza 1.3. By using overdrive, & gear 2, can still overtake some higher powered car.

Just booked this new Perodua Alza, Premium (Full specs), With dual airbags for driver+ passager, 15" Sport alloy rims. side impact door bars, No DVD, panel gear shaft+ leg parking brake. Heard the manual version will have floor gear-stick & hand brake.

only 500 units are to be launch on next week 23 Nov2009.

• vauxhall on Nov 18, 2009 at 4:56 am

mungkin pemintaan pro2 mpv tinggi berbanding proton exora…harap pro2 bersedia untuk permintaan yang tinggi dari pelanggan…kurangkan kpd tempoh menunggu…GOOD LUCKY TO PERODUA

• james on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:22 am

wahwahwah….

what the fucking shit of that car….

aku rasa better ambik exora or avanza….

• james on Nov 19, 2009 at 12:30 am

I’ll vote for Proton Exora 2

• exzora..lepas beli, simpan kat rumah pakai kelambu..pegi keje naik motor kapcai..raya 2 kali setahun baru buka kelambu…dah exzora minyak kuat..!! parking pun 1 hal nak parking masuk kl?? keta besar utk famili besar..so test ORANG-ORANG TUA jer beli exzora ni..murah harga dan kualiti yg 50/50.KLU nasib tak ok masak layan problem. KLU nasib ok, selamat aku !!.. tapi tang makan minyak sakit hati wooo…sedut petrol mcm minum air.

ORG zaman 2010 skg nak pakai keta stylish, compak mcm mini wish..boleh pakai pegi keje, tak besar dan ala2 sedan. lagi perodua alza 1.5 mpv 7 seater ni jimat minyak..rm 10 auto boleh pgi 70km, manual 80km dah test.

tesmoni pakai saga blm 1.3 adik aku seminggu blm rm 10 boleh jalan rm 50km..klu isi rm50 x 50 km = 250km jer… ?? . Myvi 1.3 manual rm10 boleh jalan 90km. so rm50 x 90 = 450 km woo. korang dah jimat 200 km….biar betul ? korang try ler pinjam keta myvi,saga jiran famili, rasai dan alamilah sendiri.

patutlah 3 tahun berturut2 perodua menang kete paling laris jualan di m'sia. pakailah keta yg rakyat malaysia banyak guna, agar tak menyesal nanti..NI BELUM KES turun harga klu nak trade in ker….naah !! bertapa jimatnya perodua.

• TheTitan on Nov 20, 2009 at 6:50 pm

Hi all especially p2 fan here,

actually i really like the type of sedan car or mpv the biggest is [email protected] machine in my budget.

But i can't accept the small car indeed. but it's ok for spare car for short distance running.

i would like looking for the nice family car,which have good handling,luxury look,safety,technology and comfort and it to be used long term. and the importand is not too expensive.

However,when i was looking for the new p2 mpv i'm lil started fall in love with it.

i like it interior most most better look than Exora poorest design.but exterior of the p2 mpv have little ugly just for my opinion.

I still wonder why the p1 company can't make it nicer look since model of Tiara,savvy,new facelift of Waja,Gen-2 and the latest Exora.

A lot of europe or jdm car they can copy the design which most better nice look from exterior to interior, and i don't know why the p1 still not making the luxury car to replace Perdana.

I'm sure if p1 company revenue few luxury cars it will become global brand.

• MPV yang lebih bercirikan vagon tetapi harga dalam lingkungan rm40k patut di keluarkan untuk golongan berpendapatan rendah ke sederhana. Mereka ini amat produktif dalam memperbanyakkan rakyat tapi kurang di beri keselesaan untuk anak anak yang telah dihasilkan. Syarikat patut berperanan dalam memberi keistimewaan kepada golongan ini sebagai khidmat sosial. Harga MPV Perodua patut dalam lingkungan ini saja.

tq

• pok yant dungun on Nov 26, 2009 at 4:12 am

org hk kutuk keta msia nie memang bodoh, di ulang sekali lg memang bodoh. dulu mula2 protn keluarkan saga mcm2 org kutuk, buat dari tin milo la dll.tapi bila perhati betul2 org yg kutuk tu la yg mula2 beli. bila tanya, jwb dia mudah je, saje beli nk test tgk keta msia nie tahan lasak tk[berlagak mcm org kaya,walhal sebab tk mampu nak beli kete import.beli saga tu pn habis harta pusaka di jual]. senag cita la,kalu tak mampu beli jgn kutuk.duduk diam2. kulu mampu beli,beli la setakat yg termampu dan jika terlebih mampu…. beli la yg import n jgn bandingkn dgn keta msia(tp setahu aku la org yg pakai keta mewah tk pernah banding kn sbb dia tahu modal yg d laburrrrr)

• raiden on Dec 04, 2009 at 4:00 am

betul pok yant dungun,banyak yang negatif je.diorang ni pandai komplen je.nak kete best2 harga murah cam basikal.minyak nak jimat tapi power ble bawak satu keturunan.Mangkok ar diorang ni.Guna otak la weiii…Ingat copy paste xpayah kuar modal ke.sbelum komplen banyak tengok poket dulu la,layak ke x nak bersuara.taste lain2,kalau sama xkan la ada orang nk beli tiara,savvy ngan juara.harga alza murah camtu pun cakap mahal.harga ezora yang lagi mahal 2 xde plak nak komplen.mujur khazanah nasional banyak duit je,kalau tak,lama dah bebudak proton takde kerja.

• pat mat tempe on Dec 13, 2009 at 6:18 pm

very expensive car and to small if compare with the other mpv….

• Proton Mpv – 100% from malaysia touching. Produa Mpv – 95% Toyota&Daihatsu – Japan touching

• guys which one u choose

• for safety…i'll choose toyota. coz body ( GOA BODY ), high protection from xcdent impact. Think safety and price first..

• S.Roma on Dec 14, 2009 at 7:50 am

Dear All,

I prefer Exora

Because, with same price tag, can get bigger MPV, more HP, more metal, more comfort and etc.

For me, the slogan that P2 shud use is "ALZA – Kereta, & juga MPV"

The, ppl will not be confuse.