2010 Mazda 3 Sedan: official details and photos!

2010 Mazda 3 Sedan

The new Mazda 3 Sedan has been unveiled at the 2008 LA Auto Show and if this is how Mazda’s new corporate nose is going to look like, it looks like giant smiley grilles like the Peugeot 308’s grille is the new “in thing”, replacing the trapezoidal shield grille of Audi fame. In fact, the new Mazda 3 is so smiley that forumer Mizzoustud from the Mustangworld forums created a new smiley for it.

Anyway jokes aside, the new Mazda 3 is based on the old Mazda 3 chassis and even they admit this but Mazda claims it has made “subtle yet comprehensive” refinements to it.

For one, the electric power steering now has a 3-point mounting instead of a 2-point mounting to allow reduction in stiffness of the steering gear bushes. This can reduce vibrations transferred through rough pavements. The unibody joints on the chassis have been improved to reduce the transmission of road and powertrain noise into the passenger cabin.

The chassis also has improved suspension anchor points, welding and adhesive techniques and a better door design. The rear monotube shocks have also been recalibrated, and the front and rear antiroll bars have a new more substantial mounting arrangement. The lower control arm bushes, subframe bushes and mounting bushes have been stiffened to improve steering feel and response as well as cornering grip.

2010 Mazda 3 Sedan Chassis
Click for enlarge image

On the rear, a redesigned crossmember is lighter and stiffer, also contributing to better handling. The braking system also gets an improvment – a new vacuum booster for better pedal response.

The car has a drag coefficient of 0.29 cD and despite the huge smiley front grille, Mazda claims its actually 20% smaller to minimize the mount of airflow into the engine bay to only the amount needed for intake and cooling purposes – this improves aerodynamics.

Two engines are available for the American market – both are inline-4 units. One is a 2.0 litre unit producing 148hp at 6,500rpm and 183Nm of torque at 4,500rpm, while the larger one is a 2.5 litre unit producing 167hp at 6,000rpm and 228Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. The power figures are slightly lower for models sold in states like California where emissions rulings are stiffer. Both manual and auto trannys are 5-speed units.

Look after the jump for a whole load of photos and a video of the new Mazda 3.

PHOTO GALLERY: 2010 Mazda 3 Sedan
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:153]

VIDEO: 2010 Mazda 3 Sedan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:41 pm

Mazda not bad…

• lambov12 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:43 pm

the front looks like toyota vios plus mazda rx-8 ..
    and the back looks like the nissan slyphy …

• KakiComplain (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:49 pm

Does it come in yellow? That’ll make a nice smiley looking car :-)

• kinwawa (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 1:50 pm

wow…nice….when can v have this :P

• schizomoriya (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:01 pm

paul, glad to know u enjoy the starbucks coffee at montkiara, keep up the good posts ;)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:04 pm

really AWESOME looking…very original design..APPLAUSE !

• Jaybond (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:05 pm

Nice exterior, looks like most of current Mazda line-up are very stylish.

If only they can spruce the interior a bit.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:15 pm

like a dugong got a brother… slimmer one… haha

• si-fu (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:26 pm

OMG!!!! What happen to Mazda’s stylist? They gone dry in idea or what? It looks like a chop job! The old Mazda 3 had a SUPERB styling que, i always admired it….but this….the front has the dugong vios’ish’ look, the rear has the mitsu lancer’ish’ look….aisey man….dissapointing la….for me personally la…

Cheers!

• whodz (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:45 pm

Now that’s the car that smile. It’s one of peugeot 407 sibling. peugeot 407 is the elder. But the second sibling (Lancer X) is not that happy. :)

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:46 pm

i think this even looks better than the civic, should sell well if they bring it here

• normaluser (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 2:55 pm

The giant smiley grille is designed better compared than Peugeot. I always admired Mazda designers for their ability to think ahead of the competitors. It looks like a 4-door RX8. Since the previous Mazda3 is based on the same platform with Focus & Volvo S40, no wonder they stick to the original with some modifications.

If the previous Mazda3 is a head-turner, this latest one is a hella eye-popping car!!! Handsome looks, good powertrain, class leading comfort & handling, this car is a winner (except for the badge value & after-sales in M’sia). If my 1st impression of test driving the latest Mazda6 can be related to this car, then I can only say… Well done Mazda!

• DRC (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 3:23 pm

Mazda 6 is much more beautiful. This one is quite pretty except the rear bumper. Vios is far behind, mainly due to its headlight, front grill and rear lamps.

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 3:24 pm

omg.. o_0

its too big…the “smile” i think…
    previous one looks more handsome la…

other than that..well done Mazda..

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 3:43 pm

Nice car frm Mazda, my favorite automaker. Combo with a killer spoiler and a wicked bodykit will make it look out of this world. :)

Not sure abt the engine though, seems like 2l and 2.5l??!?? For Mazda 3!!!

I think they should offer 1.6l and 2l for malaysia. If price around RM80k will definitely give the Vios a run for its money.

• cutester (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 3:52 pm

So cute and friendly looking. A big smile with dimples at the side. Nice looking car!

• Nakal (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:03 pm

sifu, u think why some manufacturer now like that ‘dugong style’?
    Few weeks ago i read bout the ‘new’ NCAP-pedestrian impact test.. its related, i means ‘that dugong style’ n the safety of the pedestrian.. something like the manufacturer need to ‘kembungkan’ the hood so that it can reduce the impact if hit the pedestrians…maybe soon proton also use that style ha?

• arayko (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:16 pm

amazing…. hope it can be launch in malaysia too, boring with civic n altis sort of c segment cart

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:25 pm

brilliant design :-)

beauuuutiful…..!

• adil2008 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:34 pm

Finally, the mazda 3 is here, very good looking car, good design, admire this MAZDA brand since i have a first look of Mazda 6, hope Bernaz can bring this model in to the M’sia market. The silver blue colour look more elegance.

• arcana (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:38 pm

ohhh…..thats 1 happy looking car……
    fantastic design, gotta test drive this babe next year (or is it for 2010?) for sure.
    very impressed with my friend’s current mazda 3 after testing it…..i’m sure the new 1 will do better.

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 4:48 pm

Looks awesome. Cool rims, too. I wonder how it’ll be priced here.

• tanasi (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 5:34 pm

I’ve driven the old and new 3 at PG track. Excellent dynamics I must say. I’d say it has the best electric power steering of all the EPS equipped cars I’ve driven. A bit muted on the feel though, but cars nowadays seem to associate this quality with refinement and NVH. But still, a good driver’s car.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 6:24 pm

Designed with RX-8 in mind… yummy!

• ignas (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 7:48 pm

it looks so good! almost as good as mazda 6 since the design cues are taken from it. hmm why say it looks like dugong, because it has a smiley face? maybe change the bumper a bit might fix it. luckily it didnt has a nose as big as the real dugong.

• David9988 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 7:48 pm

definitely reminds me of vios.

• szw (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 8:47 pm

i prefer mazda den among many other jap car companies…

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 10:51 pm

actually i like the old mazda3. the new mazda6 looks great, this one needs getting used to

• narrowband (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 11:10 pm

I really like this car… It’s beautiful work.

• red7 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 11:50 pm

ugly… they spoilt the rx8 looks, now they ruin mazda3
    omg!

• dp (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 12:53 am

very mavelous looking car. those design is like the design of genius in work. wondering wat the price will be like…it will be nice if there is a ckd version to go head on against toy-otak dugong and new city…..maybe even the korean cars……i guess we’ll wait n see……………

• xatomic (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 3:17 am

when can we expect to have this in Malaysia? am waiting for thisss

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 9:53 am

Guyz… they gonna take over the automobil market soon !!!!! infact looks better than toyota and honda !!!!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 10:19 am

but then mazda sure cbu, the pricing…

• williaml (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 11:58 am

Pricing might slightly higher than current Mazda3, due to currency rate.

Zoom Zoom…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 12:30 pm

This car would definitely put a smile on your face! =D

• torque (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 5:16 pm

“Poor” man RX8 I’ll say but then again, Mazda’s new cars here ain’t cheap either. Still, I think the front fascia will trigger two type of opinion…kinda love n hate thing. Just depends on that person taste and criteria. I think it’s not that bad n regarding the ‘smiley’ front…nothing that aftermarket bodykit can’t solve. It’s not a biggie! Congrats to Mazda for coming out such good cars n hope to see it more in the future…the Furai maybe? Hmmm…look’s like I gonna have to work extra hard before it come here then…

Cheers everyone!!

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 11:56 pm

lovely! this is a happy car, whoever drives it will feel very happy indeed… smiley… i guess The Joker will definitely love this car…

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 23, 2008 at 12:41 pm

Beautiful !!!

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 23, 2008 at 4:47 pm

The new Mazda tagline should be Mazda..made to smile.. :D

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 23, 2008 at 7:28 pm

this should put a stopper on the sales of the civic. only problem is that they havent told you the fuel cosumption so there is potentially a catch there.

the one shown is problably the sport model.

• zac_crix (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 12:41 am

Well, honestly i think a lot of Msian’s are uninformed on Mazda’s current situation in the market. I agree that the emblem wasnt strong but thats due to C&C’s negligence of the brand. Now that Bermas has taken over were in a whole new playing field. And if u research properly u will find that the resale value is comparative to its competitors, a mere difference of 2-3k? To prove Mazda’s worth as a brand and a car, drop me a PM….i’ll have something arranged for those in doubt….test drive mayb?

• hidrogentank (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 12:28 pm

all the good things that can be said bout the “3” perhaps has already been said on this forum,handsome,smart,dynamic………i’d just like to add ‘holy momma mazda'(mazda fan!)

• alamak (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 2:35 pm

omg i like the smiley animation!

• kingv6 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 3:51 pm

the car is smiling at me!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 6:39 pm

if same price as honda civic then ok

• adrian on Mar 21, 2009 at 6:20 pm

Does anybody know when the new Mazda3 will be launched in Malaysia? I was told its gonna be around June 09. What about pricing?

• adrian on Apr 14, 2009 at 12:06 am

I heard the model will be launched around June or July this year. Pricing around RM 130K for 2.0L model. Good pice for the design and specs on offer. Will surely give the Honda Civic a run for its money.

Can anybody confirm?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jun 16, 2009 at 4:02 am

very good pricing..i bought one

• Mazda 3 Lover on Jun 21, 2009 at 9:31 am

I'm buying this soon. Just love the interior and exterior design. Drool…………

• so so nice car with much options . I bought one.