Perodua Myvi and Proton Satria Neo featured in Top Gear Season 13 Episode 3!

Top Gear Myvi

Malaysian cars have only appeared on Top Gear a few times in the past, and they haven’t exactly been portrayed in a very good light most of the time.

We all know what happened to the Kelisa, and the Waja was used as an example of a car with not very good crash safety in comparison to cars like the Avensis. The Proton Savvy did appear on rival show Fifth Gear and did well on the hill climb test they had. The Satria Neo is a regular feature on Top Gear Australia.

Jeremy ClarksonIf you’ve been following the latest Season 13 of Top Gear, you would have already watched Episode 3 which has two of our cars in it – one from each manufacturer.

The Perodua Myvi (it’s rather odd how British people pronounced Myvi) and the Proton Satria Neo are featured in a segment where the team have to go find the best small “cheap and cheerful” car in the UK. Being priced at the lower end of the various car segments, the Neo and Myvi are natural candidates among other cars like the Chevy Aveo.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jul 06, 2009 at 9:33 pm

They should simply pit all the SIX cars + FIAT 500 together… then again, that wouldn't be interesting, would it?

Something has to be sacrificed or in this case butchered in the name of entertainment.

For those of you that only watched partial of the show, i advise to see the whole show/episode… then you'll know that they have decided on the FIAT 500 is their pick from the minute one.

• zx2rr on Jul 07, 2009 at 12:35 am

First! Proton & P2 should take positively the comments made by Jeremy – just look where the Koreans are now…hiding behind G's back in order to survive the industry isn't exactly an all time good strategy in the long term

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 07, 2009 at 12:43 am

Thanks Paul for the link.

Salam..

• any link that i can Download the video? not stream it? coz my download speed is faster than streaming speed

• st power on Jul 07, 2009 at 12:46 am

WOW

• RoboCar on Jul 07, 2009 at 12:51 am

Myvi Owner..take that… Jeremy already shows how boring drive a machine named Mai vai <–how they pronunciate it..haha

• kemosabe on Jul 07, 2009 at 12:53 am

I don't think survival was their priority.

The Koreans could move forward as such an aggressive pace simply because they wanted too.

Proton could have done the same if only they wanted to.

Producing a car may not be an easy technological feat, but its not Einstein science either.

How difficult is it to produce an interior that won't fall apart?

I heard the Campro engine was bought from an Australian company and not exactly developed by Proton as claimed.

• gugusan melur on Jul 07, 2009 at 12:58 am

muka tahan berak maa…myvi mcm mangkuk jamban bagi jeremy tu hahahahahahaha

• Head Hunter on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:10 am

Hehehehe.. Build cars which us Malaysians can be proud of. Not something generic. Malaysia patut boleh. hehehe..

• Danesh on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:12 am

hahahahha…………….. goood review….

• Prem3377 on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:18 am

as predicted..stupid reviews..they are more towards a show for the TV viewer than a honest car review/preview programme.

jeremy..you were asking all those wrong people for views…people who drive your so called cheap car are most people who cant afford to buy anything more than that…and owning a car is already a luxury to some..so it would only create smile on their face everytime they seat in those cheap cars!!

you should be shameful of yourself and your country because you dont even have a large enough production car company and sold all you had..and your country will always be hit hard during recession and etc!!

developing countries and their people cant afford cars which you think are great or good enough..i mean the majority..only the rich few can..

think before you talk craps…cars are already luxury items in a developing country and having its own automotive industry which sell cars to developed countries like yours is already an achievement!!!

sooner or later we will produce good cars and those malaysian cars has put smiles on many faces who own it with their hard earn cash!!

• True true, agree with jeremy, even i have a myvi which is 2 years old, i kind of hate to drive it for nearly a year. reasons? 1st, on the highway (like what Micheal mcintyre said), driving a small cylinder car ,the steering wheel shakes as well as the car. I have even brought it to the service center a couple of times, made a couple of changes to the car with their recommendation , still the problem persist. thus, i have given up. Then the acceleration is good only when the air cond is switched off :( 3rd, with the skinny tyres, i dont have the confidence to even do a small left turn fearing the car will topple over. :S

• Tiadaid on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:27 am

Prem3377 said,

July 6, 2009 @ 5:18 pm

as predicted..stupid reviews..they are more towards a show for the TV viewer than a honest car review/preview programme.

jeremy..you were asking all those wrong people for views…people who drive your so called cheap car are most people who cant afford to buy anything more than that…and owning a car is already a luxury to some..so it would only create smile on their face everytime they seat in those cheap cars!!

you should be shameful of yourself and your country because you dont even have a large enough production car company and sold all you had..and your country will always be hit hard during recession and etc!!

developing countries and their people cant afford cars which you think are great or good enough..i mean the majority..only the rich few can..

think before you talk craps…cars are already luxury items in a developing country and having its own automotive industry which sell cars to developed countries like yours is already an achievement!!!

sooner or later we will produce good cars and those malaysian cars has put smiles on many faces who own it with their hard earn cash!!

———————————————————

When it comes to Jeremy Clarkson, it's best to just take whatever his views are with a grain of salt. Improve on things that can be improved, but take the rest as a rather mean-spirited joke….

———————————————————

kemosabe said,

July 6, 2009 @ 4:53 pm

I heard the Campro engine was bought from an Australian company and not exactly developed by Proton as claimed.

———————————————————

Where's the proof? Hearsay does not mean its true!

• Tiadaid on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:28 am

alan said,

July 6, 2009 @ 4:44 pm

any link that i can Download the video? not stream it? coz my download speed is faster than streaming speed

————————————————————-

You can try TVFreeload.com

• kemosabe, Proton did make their own engines called campro now with IAFM, then CPS which is as good as Vtec and Variocam and soon to be…. probably light turbo. Proton made them in a record time of after 19 years in existence which is better than the Koreans.

• Absolutely right Prem. This guy has turned out to be just another stand-up comedian. He's going for the ratings for his show.

You get good and honest review from Fifth Gear, but we only get 'Jurassic' seasons.

• farghmee on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:37 am

top gear?

i won't take it seriously ;)

• @ Prem3377

"you should be shameful of yourself and your country because you dont even have a large enough production car company and sold all you had..and your country will always be hit hard during recession and etc!!"

We cant be proud either with our local car companies, protected by the government with our tax money. Without the protection, proton would be dead a decade ago. Infact I applaud the companies that got sold for the better of the compay itself. They gain more technology injection from the parent company, but the take over might go the other way… ie Lancia.

The only car company in the world that i respect (IMHO) is FIAT!

• ahmadmckk on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:47 am

Poor those cars, not only mocked and vandalised, but also used for meaningless demos and left behind like trash

• ahmadmckk on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:48 am

i know clarkson knows how to spell myvi appropriately, he just deliberately misspelt it for fun

• rally_fan on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:50 am

zx2rr "First! Proton & P2 should take positively the comments made by Jeremy – just look where the Koreans are now…hiding behind G’s back in order to survive the industry isn’t exactly an all time good strategy in the long term

"

everything you've said, is a very accurate description of the korean car industry, about 20 yrs ago(yes, most of the koreans have been at it for more than 40 yrs, as apposed to proton's 25 odd years in existence)

they had problems with quality, stuff falling apart.. and practically all korean car companies went bankrupt, and had to be bailed out by their govt and or other korean companies..

hopefully proton can evolve as the koreans did.

• bmpower on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:53 am

luckily perodua not naming it Cyvi (now pronounce it in brits) :D :D :D

uh..

myvi is boring car.. knew it already.. but some people just dare to die not accepting it.. huh! .. T fan…

• not_ah_beng on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:59 am

"sooner or later we will produce good cars and those malaysian cars has put smiles on many faces who own it with their hard earn cash!!"

Not from Proton we wouldn't……………

• afhstingray on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:20 am

i think some people are missing the point. firstly, this show is mainly for the UK domestic market, so dont compare it with people in developing markets where imported cars are taxed heavily…. and with the amount of choice we have here in the 8k-11k GBP range, you'd have to be insane to go for one of those cars.

The point they were trying to put across was, if you're already gonna fork out 8k for a car, you might as well spend that 500-1k more to get a much better built car. you'll have to watch the whole episode to understand,because in part 2, they review cheap and cheerful cars that they actually like.

• theanswer on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:21 am

wow how ironic! when p2 fans trying to bash p1..p1 fans will sed p2 got no cars at all..all p2 cars are rebadge..no r&d..not like proton. but now..they sed as if p2 produced myvi. they should blame toyota and daihatsu..not p2. because p2 only rebadge the car..hehehehe~

• afhstingray on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:23 am

oh and one more thing, there isnt really anything wrong with the way they pronounce the name of the car.

to pronounce it the malaysian way, it should be my-vi separated. They pronounced it Myv-i (miv-ee). Since the brochure joins it together "myvi" it could go either way, unless you hear someone say it before you cant really tell.

• theanswer on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:23 am

u guys spend more time to do some research then u know why jeremy bash p1 and p2…especially the price of p1 in uk..almost the same(or even more expensive) compared to the other brand!

• I have 4 protons in my stable. They put smiles in my wife's, my son's, daughter's faces and me.

• Caddilac Wong on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:34 am

www.finalgear.com can download and i just finish watching it…

Although they might be a bit exaggrated, but many of their point are truth… Especially the satria neo is stupidly priced even more expensive than the Hyundai i20 so how many stupid would go for a Satria in UK???

As for Myvi, although it is relatively cheap, most of the fit&finish are quite poor in today's workmanship. So malaysia still got a long long way to go… By the way Chinese car have also leave malaysia car behind so the future is gloomy…

• Thomas on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:42 am

Prem3377, do you work for the government? You sounded like 1.

• zero_gravity (Member) on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:57 am

proton managed to make allen headed bot out of plastic!!

• zero_gravity (Member) on Jul 07, 2009 at 3:01 am

perodua me vi

• After 25 years in existence what I find their lacks is the design flair and the technological adaptation. IMHO proton suffers model identity. None of proton cars so far carry a unique identity that symbolize the true proton. Gen 2 and persona is basically a same car but yet the naming is confusing as they only have few differences.

First proton need to speed up their R&D. Let the designer design the car and let the engineer transformed that design challenge into real car. Then start designing a unique design elements that represent each of the car category as not to confuse in a future development. Saga supposedly always be Saga even though there is going to be a new Saga. Waja supposedly Waja too with unique features that always can be identified that is Waja.

Proton don't have to be a big player but what they need is a good car with aesthetic, functional, technologically advance.

Question? How many people buying a car because of what they cannot see? How many people buy a car because of the first impression of it? Wow factor is important and that what Korean is doing right now. Putting a wow factor into their design car with quality manufacturing process. Proton cannot say that they have done many things in the past 25 years because 25 years in 50 years ago is relevant but 25 years for today car manufacturer is a long time enough to evolve. In today world where everything need to move very fast it means 25 years in business, proton should already established their design and engineering expertise as par as Korean counterpart.

If what predicted is true that Waja replacement is going to be a Mitsubishi Lancer, I personally be the one who disagree. Taking someone design and technology and re-badge it is not going to give anything to your designer and engineer. These two entity only works wonders when design challenge and engineering challenge been given to them. Adapting on shelf technology (e.g ABS, EDB, BLISS etc) is nothing wrong but re-badging car is bad unless you are the same entity. Even Hyundai and Kia doesn't produce a same design car even tough the platform is the same. Kia Fotre use a same platform as Hyundai Elantra, Kia Rio use a same platform as Hyundai Accent, but they look different.

Anyway this is just my humble opinion. Someone who expert in car might know better. But if someone ask me about how do i buy my car.I will say the first thing is I will look at the design or the aesthetic of it. Then I look at the fit and finish, then only I look at the engine and so on.

Probably it's just me. :)

• megotnosupakar on Jul 07, 2009 at 3:04 am

well, coming from JC means nothing. Top Gear are more like a comedy show than a show about cars. Known for bias towards supercar for the riches. Fifth Gear is something better and more honest IMHO. my wife been driving MyVi for four years without any problem. maybe i'm lucky to get a problem free car.. but still.. based on my salary MyVi is worth it. Korean car? oh pleasee…..

• hitman on Jul 07, 2009 at 3:17 am

ha ha ha…

good luck lah

exports will certainly double this year.

• Archer on Jul 07, 2009 at 3:19 am

I have owned since the start of Proton a total 8 of their cars of different models, none of them gave me any issues, except the Waja, had issues with the ABS failure light appearing randomly, which Proton dragged on and on to replace after several attempts to fix it, until the warranty elapsed (problem started towards end of warranty period) and then they informed me that I have to spend 2K to replace the system.

I decided to fix the Waja, sell it off in 2007 and move on to some other foreign makes simply because the competition had better quality build and value for money.

However this Top Gear show about the Neo and Myvi is a little bit over the top making comments that is in bad taste and unfair in my opinion.

I never seen Jeremy Clarkson give an unbiased opinion about anything including himself, he is known for that, Top Gear is not a show about car reviews, it's a COMEDY about cars reviews and usually the cheap low priced cars are the butt of his jokes. As some say, you get what you paid for, it's purely a matter of perception after all.

• LORENZOOOOOOOOOOOOOO on Jul 07, 2009 at 3:21 am

Take the criticsm !!!

Our local car company need to study every detail of the comment given !

Because ???

Other company car maker have their RnD with successfully result.

How about our car maker??

DONT SAY OUR LOCAL CAR MAKER JUST IN 20 YEARS OLD only !!!!

Just compare their prices with practicallity, quality, power, tech, and advance RnD than any other importer brand such as Honda, Toyota, Lexus, Acura, and etc..

Our goverment ACTUALLY very rich..Think that.

• The absolute truth!

• painsama on Jul 07, 2009 at 3:34 am

Dacia Sandero… woops

• Littlefire on Jul 07, 2009 at 3:37 am

I think the worst hit is the P1 Satria Neo… See the rubber went off from the door… Besides that, the space is really cramp for tall people…

Anyway simple finalization for these 3 dull cars is: Too much cheap plastic…

• newbie on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:06 am

If you see the next top 3 cars of their choice, one of them is a Rover roomster, its hideous, so underpowered and its britain. Which makes me feel curious and I thought they deliberately choose a made in UK car in their selection to retain their pride. Jeremy knew that the Fiat 500 is much better option, but the reasons he gave is that he "forgot about it",otherwise he would picked it.

I wonder if they Top Gear had intend to take down our National cars from the market by rubbishing it. As you see, Top Gear is a show from BBC and BBC is the Britain's national TV channel like TV1 here in Malaysia. My opinion is that the brits still hated us for the actions our former PM took such as " Buy british's last" and later, the acquisition of Lotus.

• ambipur on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:07 am

if anyone who is a follower of the top gear series should know that they have a certain criteria towards cars. the way they are made, the quality, design, engine etc.

honestly speaking, p1 and p2 are not bad cars, build quality wise, way behind in any other manufacturer especially the plastics. drive a daihatsu sirion or a toyota passo, by comparison to the build quality p2's plastics are way down on quality eventhough they are the same cars in general.

p1 plastics are getting flimsy as new cars come, campro? huge disappointment unless its in high rev.

bear in mind that the range is 8-11K GBP, there are a dozens of choices of cars in the UK,why they choose this three who knows. as a follower of top gear since the first series, any car that the show mocks or frowns upon, the manufacturer improves them. if any p1 or p2 execs should watch this they should improve the quality of their cars.

im an owner of a p1 wira and p2 kenari. these 2 models have the japanese dna and the build is way better than a gen2,waja or a myvi, viva.

• bmpower on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:24 am

i think the rubber not from satria. it's from chevy.

the next after it was myvi. the hood had no stripe and the door shape.

i think.. to settle the neo not enough headroom matter is simple.

add low and height adjustable seat.

but it has to make the seat slimmer.

and richard hammond saying something nice about it too.

the loser surely myvi.

horrible knocking door sound. very plasticky.

• peYno on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:31 am

hahaha

MYVI

Ride like RUBBISH

seat like RUBBISH

knock like RUBBISH

yaa totally RUBBISH car

• painsama on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:38 am

>>bmpower said,

i think.. to settle the neo not enough headroom matter is simple.

add low and height adjustable seat.

but it has to make the seat slimmer.

and richard hammond saying something nice about it too.

=======================================

Yes he said it's nice when it's moving as you tend to look outside, but it's horrible when it stops as you look at the dashboard. Not really a compliment.

• kakikereta on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:39 am

another malaysian cars in top gear….there is always room for improvement…keep it up!!

• peYno on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:47 am

dog said,

July 6, 2009 @ 5:41 pm

We cant be proud either with our local car companies, protected by the government with our tax money. Without the protection, proton would be dead a decade ago. Infact I applaud the companies that got sold for the better of the

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/06/perodua-my…
    ===========

yeah without protection Perodua would be dead a decade ago..

why??? Japanese uses perodua to produce their car because it is supported and get special scheme by gorv as "NATIONAL CAR"..

yet if gorv stop supporting perodua… they may go to Indonesia and assemble their Daihatsu cars in Indonesia which is more attractive and can get more profit

• CARing on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:50 am

I won't take it seriously…because these 3 clowns only know how to appreciate those expensive, unaffordable luxury or supercars. I'm sure these guys will soon or one day will own such these so called "lousy" car if the BBC goes bankrupt and they are left jobless.We should know that Britain no longer owns car makers like the MINI, Rolls Royce, Bentley, Jaguar and Rover.So as a Malaysian, even though I'm not a P1 or P2 fan but I'm proud that these 2 car makers are still standing. I have faith in both car makers that they are able to achieve success one day.

• peYno on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:55 am

dog said,

July 6, 2009 @ 5:41 pm

We cant be proud either with our local car companies, protected by the government with our tax money. Without the protection, proton would be dead a decade ago. Infact I applaud the companies that got sold for the better of the

===========

ya.. anyway it is much better than

Ride is RUBBISH

Seat is RUBBISH

knock is RUBBISH..

i really hate when ppl call "RUBBISH"

prrrfthhh

• limbu1 on Jul 07, 2009 at 5:23 am

malaysian 05 best selling car is da shyt .

:D

• Prem3377

1) Jeremy disses most car manufacturers even the reputed ones. if those manufacturers can take it , and our p1 & p2's cant , does it mean we're way better?

2) we would have cheaper cars if it werent for p1. some more of us would be more luxury car owners if it werent for them

3) they still build cars even if they dont have controlling stake anymore them. i applaud them for putting practicality over pride. guess thats why they've got developed country GDP (even in the worst recession) while we dont.

4) how did we do it? all by ourselves , no foreign help ? with that much taxpayers' money poured in and that kind of of "achievement" i think we could have done better.

5) your hard earned cash is in the p1 p2 quagmire. again if not p1, my hard earned cash might get me a toyota/honda . hence my sometimes inferior complex of trying to "outdo" the occasional city/vios , which is their nearest thing in price to my p1.

then again its good that p1 & p2 is improving. but again if they were assets of truly private MNCs, at the sluggish 2 decades rate they take to "improve" this far, they would have been dropped.

of course it would only be fair to compare cars of the same price range. over here, at p1& p2's price range its indeed better than others in some areas. but is it the same in UK? what else can they get at 8-10k quid?

• mystvearn on Jul 07, 2009 at 5:38 am

Well, any kind of publicity on TG is good. Lots of people are watching the show.

• mystvearn on Jul 07, 2009 at 5:39 am

testing.

• react on Jul 07, 2009 at 5:58 am

The members of proton club uk decided to email topgear and show some challenge/ defen ,,,, for ur junk car guys.

here one of their msges

Hello Top Gear

Well, having heard from Proton that you would be reviewing the new proton Neo on sunday 5th I tuned in eagerly to see what your trio would make of it.

Now being an avid viewer of your show i was well prepared for the usual Proton bashing they give out " made by farmers in a jungle clearing etc" but was sorely disappointed when it fastly became clear that they weren't even trying to review the car, Clarkson and co and simply picked three cars from companies they had slated in the past and used them for the predicable cheap laughs instead.

The whole part was supposed to be credit crunching cars; instead they finally plumped for cars that on average are 3k dearer than the proton, how's that a credit crunching deal??????

So after many years of laughing along with Top Gear everytime they predictably said something funny about the Proton Marque we at the Proton Owners Club have come up with our own credit crunch challenge for you.

What we propose is you have a £1000 challenge. Jeremy, Richard and James can buy any car they can for under that value and we will pit one of our Protons thats worth less than £1000 against them and we will see how we get along.

Feel up to the challenge?

looking forward to hearing back from you all.

Kind Regards

Richard

Chairman

Proton owners club U.K
    www.protonownersclub.co.uk

• S.Roma on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:04 am

Dear All,

Why i cant open the link? oic, coz i am surfing the internet at office, they blocked the link, lolx.

• fastcx on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:09 am

"Littlefire said,

July 6, 2009 @ 7:37 pm

I think the worst hit is the P1 Satria Neo… See the rubber went off from the door… "

pls go to show room n check out neo's door for ur so called rubber stripe -.-" geez, wonder how smart r these ppl who comment without even know what they r talking

• Littlefire on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:10 am

You guys should check the part 3, which include the people opinion about our car…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ejniu2OVFuQ&fe…

This is when they told a lot of stupid design of P1 satria neo (seats and fuel cap)… and cheap plastic of the 3…

• fastcx on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:11 am

if u dnt understand my previous statement, it means there r no rubber stripe on d door, its on the body only, not both parts

• bmpower on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:16 am

Don't worry.. TG's present not yet know how much Neo will make in Rally.

Satria neo s2000 was a real challenger.

They might be eat their owns words back someday.

I saw JC pick all high person to enter the neo. Not all brits as tall as them…

just like not many of us as tall as… Paul Tan.

:D

• limbu13 on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:18 am

top seller in malaysiaa is actually shyt :D

• awg1031 on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:19 am

topgear is crap,bias in every way..that's why i don't watch it

• limbu123 on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:28 am

rubber on satria neo compare to myvi knock,ride and seat like rubbish who your choice guys

• Fuiyo time attack challenge from Proton club UK against Brit car

• Fifth Gear review of Perodua Myvi:
    http://fwd.five.tv/cars/supermini/perodua-myvi

Fifth Gear review of Proton Satria Neo:
    http://fwd.five.tv/cars/supermini/proton-satria-n…

IMO, before any reviewer reviews a car, he/she will have a certain amount of expectations of the car before testing it. An example, i have came across 2 UK car websites reviewing the Satria Neo. The first reviewer expects that Proton cars are built with cheap quality, poor durability etc.; but after he tested the Satria Neo, he said, "hey, this car isn't that bad!" thus he gave 3 stars. The second reviewer reckons that the Satria Neo should be a reasonably priced, and – since Proton acquired Lotus – have better handling and good built quality; but after testing it, he was disappointed and stated that there are better alternatives. He gave only one star.

The brits have more options for a given price point when buying a car, especially for mini and supermini cars. So, it's natural if they want to compare the quality, durability etc. so that they can get the most value for their money. Imagine that in Britain, Perodua Myvi is priced in the same range as Fiat Panda and Ford Fiesta. I'm not sure if Malaysians can get a Ford Fiesta with the price of a Myvi… haih~

• farhitech on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:53 am

kemosabe said,

July 6, 2009 @ 4:53 pm

———————————————————

No heard – heard la .

Go to Lotus Engineering website … u can found everythings 'bout campro engine .

• nisern on Jul 07, 2009 at 7:02 am

satria neo rubber on door compare rubbish myvi brake , rubbish knock and rubbish seat .lol.

look at the face of jeremy , memang tahan berak …

• henry on Jul 07, 2009 at 7:04 am

I think it's about lifestyle..

a rich man owned a 5-series then got his hands on Myvi, seriously it's ridiculous to get use..

just like us, if we get our hands on Tata Nano, we're going to say the same thing.

I don't find any trouble with the video, it's just their 2 cents as those who drove a supercar/luxury car before.

• eshan on Jul 07, 2009 at 7:13 am

haha..all d best coming to malaysia!!..though i doubt they'll ever be bothered…immigration wont allow them to come to malaysia…i quite be cool if they could make a top gear special in malaysia

• peYno on Jul 07, 2009 at 7:30 am

Littlefire said,

July 6, 2009 @ 10:10 pm

You guys should check the part 3, which include the people opinion about our car…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ejniu2OVFuQ&fe…

This is when they told a lot of stupid design of P1 satria neo (seats and fuel cap)… and cheap plastic of the 3…

=============

lucky he didn't say

RUBBISH RIDE

RUBBISH SEAT

RUBBISH KNOCK

like he refered tomyvi RUBBISH CAR

prrrrtfhhhh

• Jarum on Jul 07, 2009 at 7:54 am

Nothing to be proud off la. He (Jeremy Clarkson) had nothing nice to say about the Myvi and the Neo.

But what really matters is the sales of both cars. Anyone wants to comment on that? Any of the Proton model can never beat the sales of the Myvi.

So go figure.

• Luve TG….think & think again the other way, tats the way

anyway myvi rides booringg

• hitman on Jul 07, 2009 at 8:22 am

sometimes u need perspective like this to really put our malaysian car companies in their place. the very least, it takes them off their high horses.

call it a much needed wake up call from time to time to remind them they are still way off the mark in various areas.

nothing wrong, just keep improving.

• hitman on Jul 07, 2009 at 8:27 am

cheap and cheerful…maybe not in the uk or europe but you can certainly call it that in malaysia.

i'm surprised the neo falls under this cheap category.

cheerful on the other hand is a very subjective matter.

• Lolipop on Jul 07, 2009 at 8:42 am

————————

SETUJU SANGAT!

• Lolipop on Jul 07, 2009 at 8:48 am

HAHA.. do you all think that the best 3 cheapers cars were really the 'BEST' for them? Take a look at the video again! YOU MIGHT WONDER, WHY THEY CRITICISE MORE THAN p1 and p2 it is because, OUR CAR HAS NO DISADVANTAGES! CAN OUR MYVI AND SATRIA PUT IN A DOG EASILY AND MAKE A LAP LESS THAN 3 MINUTES? OF COZ! CAN OUR MYVI OR SATRIA EASILY ACHIEVE 50 mph? OF COZ! CAN OUR CAR PARK EASIER THAN THE BEST 3 CARS? OF COZ! THEY ARE JUST NO IDEA OF WHAT TO BASH TO OUR P1 an P2 and to think about it, it turns out the other way round! We got the cheapest car and the best cheap cars anyway!

• Holly F on Jul 07, 2009 at 8:51 am

Littlefire July 6, 2009 @ 7:37 pm

I think the worst hit is the P1 Satria Neo… See the rubber went off from the door… Besides that, the space is really cramp for tall people…

…………………………………………………………………………………………………..

The rubber that went off from the door wasn't a Satria Neo, do check properly before you comment something next time.

• Prem3377 on Jul 07, 2009 at 9:05 am

thomas,

i hate the Goverment..unless they offer me to be the prime minister..then i would consider working for the G

why do you think so first of all??

• nabil on Jul 07, 2009 at 9:06 am

this is more like enterttainment show rather than a proper road review shows like Fifth gear….but thy all look dumb and stupid , in a brtitish kinda way !

• IMHO, We spend quite some time in a car, probably a part of our lives in it. Since we spend that much time in a car, why cant we have a local cheap car that doesnt make your face fown like JC. Would u turn up at work everyday with your mood as sour as a sour fruit? I like to turn up at work feeling relaxed with a nice interior, confortable ride which helps you destress, each and everytime u get in…

• roti naan1 on Jul 07, 2009 at 9:35 am

again, everything the was P1 or P2, sure get bashing here and there. hahahaha

I enjoy this very much (of course, for the sake of constructive discussion).

• Prem3377 on Jul 07, 2009 at 9:39 am

arc said,

July 6, 2009 @ 9:32 pm

Prem3377

1) Jeremy disses most car manufacturers even the reputed ones. if those manufacturers can take it , and our p1 & p2’s cant , does it mean we’re way better?

2) we would have cheaper cars if it werent for p1. some more of us would be more luxury car owners if it werent for them

3) they still build cars even if they dont have controlling stake anymore them. i applaud them for putting practicality over pride. guess thats why they’ve got developed country GDP (even in the worst recession) while we dont.

4) how did we do it? all by ourselves , no foreign help ? with that much taxpayers’ money poured in and that kind of of “achievement” i think we could have done better.

5) your hard earned cash is in the p1 p2 quagmire. again if not p1, my hard earned cash might get me a toyota/honda . hence my sometimes inferior complex of trying to “outdo” the occasional city/vios , which is their nearest thing in price to my p1.

then again its good that p1 & p2 is improving. but again if they were assets of truly private MNCs, at the sluggish 2 decades rate they take to “improve” this far, they would have been dropped.

of course it would only be fair to compare cars of the same price range. over here, at p1& p2’s price range its indeed better than others in some areas. but is it the same in UK? what else can they get at 8-10k quid

1) i am not representing proton or myvi..so how can you conclude that proton and perodua cant take it??unless there is a official letter from proton or perodua then you can claim so..

2) what makes you feel that we would have cheaper cars if proton or perodua werent there??do you think honda city,or toyota vios is would be priced at the current price is there is no proton or perodua?? if those foreign makes can double their profit by selling a single car..they would choose to do so!!!atleast with proton and perodua we can see those foreign makes and their local distributors taking effort to lower their price to compete..if there is no proton and perodua..i guess they would price their car as much as they are doing now..and people wouldnt have cheaper alternative!!!the G will tax those foreign makes no matter what!!before 1980's were we tax free???i mean those imported cars???so on what basis are telling those cars will be cheaper???

3) whats the use building cars if you dont have controling stakes??its like driving a car with the steering wheel..and about british having a developed country GDP…its a long story..dated well back during those barbarian and viking,robin hood and etc…even in modern era they did rob our natural wealth and etc…we were only free 52 years ago!!remember that.

4 &5) people who always claim its tax payer money being wasted and etc you guys have to find a better reason to bash malaysian made cars…firstly let me answer you..proton or perodua didnt do it all by themselves..thats for sure..

again back to the tax payer money…first of all instead of starting of proton/the automotive industry..what would you suggest the G to invest on which have good potential and return in future??tell me atleast 3 good businesses/industry…

secondly..if you think the G is wasting their money by simply giving our automotive industry..then you are wrong..if they did so…proton wouldnt even show losses in their acc…secondly what our G has invest on proton is lesser that those korean G or japanese G invested on their homegrown automotive industry..i guess its not even 20% of the current bail out of the US automotive industry!!!proton does sell cars remember…they dont just build cars!!!and they sell most of their cars..not dump it into the river or sea!!so they do make profits by selling those cars!!!so dont talk crap by say its a wastage..unless if you as a taxpayer suggest something better!!and as a taxpayer you have every rights to ask the G the public servant..and they are answerable to you!!!

and thirdly,let me ask you a simple question,the G has been subsidising the lower and secondary education..which comes from the tax payer money..

lets say each year..about 500000 students enter standard one and about 300000 plus finishes form 5 and about 100000 further their studies and about 30000 become professional and and only about 5000 become those really briliant people who really contribute to growth of the country and

become those ceo,minister and etc..all those top post people..so just for those 5000 people the G has to invest and spend(tax payers money) for 500000 student over the next 13 years..to filter out those 5000 people..or maybe less…

so do you think its good investment or a bad one??and how to do measure the profitability of this invest??

and do remember every year education has the bigger share in budget pie!!!

• This is full of crap. Brits only good at criticizing. I wonder how they felt when those bankers are driving German cars.. Err… where is MG Rover? Rover? Jaguar? Go find them in China and India.

• CocoBear on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:42 am

Honestly, what Jeremy commented on Mivi is spot on. I am grateful to drive my Mivi everyday, but I am sick with the seat and the car's quality issues. Driving a Mivi is like sitting on a tall stool controlling a soulless steering wheel.

Nevertheless it is still a better choice than a Proton Sat Neo. The interior is rubbish. I have to cramp myself into the 'sporty' car and sit on a plastic toilet bow, surrounded by plastics and impractical designs. In the end, I book a Mivi. If got money, convert to JDM Passo. Hahaha.

• I wonder why people get so worked up with TG. "Biased, don't watch it". "JC is crap." So on. TG calls themselves automotive show but for those who have been following it, you know that deep down, it's purely ENTERTAINMENT.

If you want reviews, go watch the slightly more boring Fifth Gear. You need to carry the proper mindset when you watch each TV show. So for TG, you have to take everything they do as petrolhead fantasy. How many TV shows can you see people trashing cars we might never be able to afford?

As far as I know for JC, everything he does is just him. You can hate him and so on. Some of you might not even understand his sarcasm and took it as an insult. How many TV presenters you see actually does condemn himself and take other's criticisms like he purposely asked for it?

People watch TG for a good laugh on how they treat the cars that appears in their show every time. You can say they are biased. You can hate them in every way. But mind you, they are the only automotive entertainment TV show that really tells you what it feels like to be in the car they review every time.

Talk about passion, car behaviour, characteristics etc, all the things our naked eye don't see. This is why TG is fulfilling. They actually reach out to people who could only dream to be in an expensive car and gave them a thorough insight on what it's like being in one of them.

And that is the purpose of TG. Not how it should mind about MALAYSIAN pockets and why all of us settles for a Myvi. In fact, the way JC reviews how a car FEELS often is spot on to many manufacturers. He can be biased but it's all for you to laugh. All he does is tell what he FEELS. Like how you all FEEL TG is biased. Same concept.

I can see people who get the point of TG here hitting all the proper explanation on why watch TG. Those who don't see TG's point will just condemn it like it would have killed their beloved dogs if they had watched it. Fancy getting so worked up on JC's comments. His comments only affect the UK market. We, only need to listen, analyze his satire and laugh (if you do understand).

So, stop saying it is an achievement for p1 p2 so on. How much we COULD have done and so on. Stop being so proud of something really in fact is a kick to our nation's bullocks. It only makes us look weak! Take the criticisms and work harder!

TELL P1 and P2 to wake up already!

• PROTON PERODUA owned on Jul 07, 2009 at 11:28 am

PROTON and PERODUA better improve themselve after watching TOP GEAR Jeremy clarksson comments.. it should be a "motivation" to move forward..

or else all Malaysian can burn a CD or DVD compile it with all TOP GEAR reviews on it, then send it many many copies should be millions copies of TOP GEAR reviews to PROTON CEO and MALAYSIA PRIME MINISTER.. or at least jam Malaysia radio stations play that quote of rubbish cars..

who want to owned rubbish cars and very uncomfortable cars?? you tell me..

you can't just do fake smile.. that's hurt customers but what car manufacturer like PROTON and PERODUA cares only money money and money only!!! while MALAYSIA GOVERNMENT only collect tax tax tax only.. don't want to improve better close shop! WHAT A SHAME TO MALAYSIA COUNTRY!!

• blo0d on Jul 07, 2009 at 11:44 am

haha jeremy.. he said our cars are impractical. and boring. so are aston martin that good? i read all top gear magazine telling that Aston martin v8 vantage (one that jeremy bought for his wife.LOL) are suffering from built quality problem. he always says that their car (british cars) are good but they are the same as ours . i mean got problems.

• peYno on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:08 pm

Jarum said,

July 6, 2009 @ 11:54 pm

But what really matters is the sales of both cars. Anyone wants to comment on that? Any of the Proton model can never beat the sales of the Myvi.

==================

Conclusion

Malaysian love a RUBBISH car???

pppprrrfthhh

• FREE PROTON and PERO on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:41 pm

I wonder why TOP GEAR focus so much on PROTON and PERODUA not that Chevloret.. and damn they condemn it like an the cars is really idiot..

small, cheap, plasticky and RUBBISH!!!

Jeremy Clarksson so honest.. even rubber also go-off.. OMG! what a very bad quality!!!

PROTON and PERODUA if don't want to improve then better close shop.. it's better than Malaysia cars humiliated in oversea, and torturing the customers.. damn you PROTON and PERODUA!

• Jake02 on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:46 pm

I'm glad Top Gear gave them such a bad review, because they are bad cars! Once you learn how to make a proper car that doesnt have crappy plastic everywhere then maybe you might get a good review. Good car for Malaysia DOES NOT mean good car for everywhere else. Thank god Lotus was bought by Proton, if it didn't happen then Proton would have nothing to brag about!

• CRUDE on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Hi prem3377, what car r u driving?

• Darkness on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:55 pm

Littlefire said,

July 6, 2009 @ 7:37 pm

————————————————————-

Space cramp for tall people? I think you should know about what this call all about. This car is sport car man!

• bmpower on Jul 07, 2009 at 5:16 pm

Jake02 said,

July 7, 2009 @ 6:46 am

no plastic for a cheap car?

hahahaha lol lol lotfmao lmao lmao

make it all carbon right?

• wrongturn on Jul 07, 2009 at 5:23 pm

dont listen to these guys! They practically comedians…

If they think all cars should be able to do 0-100 in 6 seconds or less .. they are the ones who live in the dream world

Actually, if the brits are so smart…ask them to built equal vehicles with similar price bracket. Their results probably worse than us…period

• Nobody on Jul 07, 2009 at 5:26 pm

I think Fifth gear gives more realistic reviews but Topgear is probably more entertaining to watch. TV shows has to come up with various ideas to sell their programmes… even stupid ones…

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 07, 2009 at 5:35 pm

Malaysians are so narrow minded.

Sometimes if someone critiques you, thats the opportunity to learn. Granted Top Gear is for entertainment but the critiques are not without merit. When I first sat in the new Protons and the Myvi, I thought the interior was rubbish. But here, it is acceptable since anything else cost so much more.

Thrown into the same pond with better engineered cars of the same class and price, and you'd understand why they "kutuk" us so hard. You have to look at it at thier perspective. They have something that we don't. Choice.

A car is a car is a car, take national pride and protectionism out of the equation and you will see what it is, just a car. And that will be a benchmark to be used for or against you.

• proton cars is TUV-certified one wor…

how come so BAD one..

oh, audit in malaysia is not THAT transparent….

just take the auditors to lavish diners after office hours…

• kodok on Jul 07, 2009 at 5:52 pm

all cars are rubbish for JC…except if its from U.K!!!

• afhstingray on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:21 pm

1) Newbie: Its a skoda roomster, skoda is NOT a british car and the BBC is a great example of indepenent journalism. If you follow top gear for example, you'll see loads of episodes where they rubbish british cars.

2) Ambipur: There are 2 parts to that segment. They chose those first 3 cars because they were cheap, then they showed another 3 cars which they liked, that are only slightly more expensive. Basically they're trying to say, dont be penny wise pound foolish.

• EYESORE on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:33 pm

arc,

1. proton did not even said that they can't take JC clowns bashing… they haven't said anything…. and u ASSUME they can't take the comments just becuz some proton owner's are defending proton???? You know what… it takes -ve comments for you to improve… we at proton welcome your -ve comments and will do our very best to turn it into +ve…

2. so you think if proton does not exist u can buy luxury car cheaper?? in your dream…

• Then..

Naza..Inokom..Hicom ???

• p1basher on Jul 07, 2009 at 6:56 pm

perodua myvi is simply a perfect city car for the normal people who want to enjoy living in city, especially malaysia cities:

1. easy parking – checked

2. roomy space and hatch back design for you to brought back table, cupboard or even super long carpet (most roomy in the segment) – checked

3. soft suspension to go over frequently appear super high humps in malaysia with speed while teasing happily with the protons or mercs that just lost their "organs" while trying to compete with you – checked

4. good fuel consumption to save your wallet from overvomiting (as myvi manual owner, i confirmed u get 15liter/km or 12sen/km driving normally in normal condition) – checked.

5. extra large button for u to change ur radio station with ease while driving – checked

6. greater reliability like u don wanna "ter"pull out your door handle like proton waja when u open ur door – checked

people who said myvi boring just some morons who dont know why myvi is build for. want a fast car? get a bmw den. in highway? most cheap cars of course will shake, blm is way much worse then myvi in highway.

definitely the best budget car – well done toyota/daihatsu.

• Top gear just plain silly…For real car review & even bikes, prefer to watch Fifth Gear.

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 07, 2009 at 7:10 pm

I told you BMW better…

• Geoff on Jul 07, 2009 at 7:19 pm

newbie said,

July 6, 2009 @ 8:06 pm

If you see the next top 3 cars of their choice, one of them is a Rover roomster, its hideous, so underpowered and its britain. Which makes me feel curious and I thought they deliberately choose a made in UK car in their selection to retain their pride. Jeremy knew that the Fiat 500 is much better option, but the reasons he gave is that he “forgot about it”,otherwise he would picked it.

I wonder if they Top Gear had intend to take down our National cars from the market by rubbishing it. As you see, Top Gear is a show from BBC and BBC is the Britain’s national TV channel like TV1 here in Malaysia. My opinion is that the brits still hated us for the actions our former PM took such as ” Buy british’s last” and later, the acquisition of Lotus.

Newbie, there is no such thing as a rover Roomster…in fact theres no such thing as Rover anymore!!! The car JC was pushing was a Skoda Roomster, made in the Czech Republic, and owned by VW. Get your facts right, or clean your ears out.

Also, to correct you on the BBC, they have had a reputation for years of totally going against the government line, and flat out rejecting any interference from central government, whatever party maybe in power at the time.

Finally, guys, get a life, and stop taking the show so seriously. Its defined as 'light entertainment' not a factual documentary. Saying that though, some of the points made by the team have some weight behind them. Protons are still pretty crappy, and even though P2 should be making pretty decent cars by simply copying Daihatsu (and therefore Toyota), they still manage to make inferior products to the original. Think a copy of a copy or a copy. Never as good as the original.

On the other hand, the affiliates in VW group all use the same basic bodies, and all make equally good cars, or comparable high quality!!! Why cant P2 do the same?

• prolever on Jul 07, 2009 at 7:43 pm

hate this tv…

it always says good to big engine musle car, for the small little tiny car….huh

btw…….

hey guys , i heard proton want to lunch saga se in this week..

and 1 thing, proton will replace it waja with another car….. i know its mybe the lancer but proton says the smaller engine in that car is 1.8……….and wait, it also has a 2.0 l engine…..

• prolever on Jul 07, 2009 at 7:45 pm

hey julian lee,

why just u say foreign car maker is must more better

• damanda on Jul 07, 2009 at 7:57 pm

Truly a comedy show..hilarious..haha

• scgtimk1 on Jul 07, 2009 at 8:30 pm

p1basher said,

July 7, 2009 @ 10:56 am

perodua myvi is simply a perfect city car for the normal people who want to enjoy living in city, especially malaysia cities:

2. roomy space and hatch back design for you to brought back table, cupboard or even super long carpet (most roomy in the segment) – checked

3. soft suspension to go over frequently appear super high humps in malaysia with speed while teasing happily with the protons or mercs that just lost their “organs” while trying to compete with you – checked

4. good fuel consumption to save your wallet from overvomiting (as myvi manual owner, i confirmed u get 15liter/km or 12sen/km driving normally in normal condition) – checked.

5. extra large button for u to change ur radio station with ease while driving – checked

6. greater reliability like u don wanna “ter”pull out your door handle like proton waja when u open ur door – checked

people who said myvi boring just some morons who dont know why myvi is build for. want a fast car? get a bmw den. in highway? most cheap cars of course will shake, blm is way much worse then myvi in highway.

definitely the best budget car – well done toyota/daihatsu

You said Myvi suspension is softer than a proton and a Merc. hahahha you must be kidding then.

MYvi is better than BLM in highway???? huh another stupid statement.

conclusion can be made about you is that you are just a kid who only dream about driving like a pro driver or even worse your driving cannot even match the local carpark rally drivers.

Ask any real driver and ALL these people will say that MYVI handle like crap with Bouncy suspension and floaty in highway.

• You guys should just take it easy on that show, just for a good entertainment, why so upset just becoz JC said negatively about P1 and P2 that's his own opinion and we should just respect that. The most important thing is for P1 and P2 to continue improving their quality and design i think they should survive. I remember when the american were laughing at the japanese made cars when the japs started their auto industries back in the 50's/60's now look at the american auto industries ! The japanese never give up even send their engineers and designers to USA to learn from them. Learn from the japanese be humble and work hard thats the main thing.

• Still DL the full ver of this episode….

BTW, I take this Topgear Show a good Entertainment…. ie see them do some "funny" act.

• perodua myvi is simply a perfect city car for the normal people who want to enjoy living in city, especially malaysia cities:

3. soft suspension to go over frequently appear super high humps in malaysia with speed while teasing happily with the protons or mercs that just lost their “organs” while trying to compete with you – checked

6. greater reliability like u don wanna “ter”pull out your door handle like proton waja when u open ur door – checked

definitely the best budget car – well done toyota/daihatsu

===========

I disagree with some of your points.

Point 2 – NO WAY ITS ROOMY. ITS HORRIBLE FOR PPL WHO sits at the back WHO ARE TALL, over 5"10( with the front seat moved to the back).

Point 3 – SOFT SUSPENSION??? Its the TYRES, donk!

Point 5 – Extra large buttons?, Its for vision impaired people. ( I have destroyed that unit with TNT and installed a pioneer!! as well as the crappy sound system)

Touch wood, in an accident, i would die not because of the accident, but with the plastic shrapnel… :S The plastic is damn horrible… the same goes for viva.

Normal cars dont shake when on highway….

• that comment is @ p1basher

• bmpower on Jul 07, 2009 at 9:39 pm

p1basher said,

July 7, 2009 @ 10:56 am

you're the most blind monkey and moron . you made it by yourself.

Since when did myvi ride is better than saga?

Try! give a drive.. then you'll realized how did so many saga BLM very fast on the highway. They are so stable.. Even myself can't expect that before from a a cheap car.

Myvi? ride 120kmh is sooo scary.. what unstable and underpowered car…

• Lolipop on Jul 07, 2009 at 9:46 pm

dog said,

July 7, 2009 @ 1:34 pm

===========

Point 2 – NO WAY ITS ROOMY. ITS HORRIBLE FOR PPL WHO sits at the back WHO ARE TALL, over 5?10( with the front seat moved to the back).

Point 5 – Extra large buttons?, Its for vision impaired people. ( I have destroyed that unit with TNT and installed a pioneer!! as well as the crappy sound system)

Touch wood, in an accident, i would die not because of the accident, but with the plastic shrapnel… :S The plastic is damn horrible… the same goes for viva.

——————

1) No it's not. I'm 1.87 metres tall and i prefer to sit at the back rather than front even the front row was push to the back

2) No it's not. I feel comfy with the suspension

3) Up to u if u want to installed a pioneer. For me is sufficient.

4) plastic – i agree with u. Produa, Toyota, and Daihatsu so plastic. Fuck

5) No it's does not shake on highway if your speed is limited to 110km/h

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 07, 2009 at 9:58 pm

prolever: I just say foreign car better cos local car like perodua sux ma… plastics so cheaper wan. kancil worse like milo can

• Awesome local car bashing from Top Gear again! When will our local manufacturers learn?

• peYno on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:05 pm

p1 basher

your points are RUBBISH.. baseless

no wonder u drive a RUBBISH car (awarded by JC)

myvi is perfect car for city driving kunun.. but end up drive a MANUAL myvi..

RUBBISH

• Another note, Honda Jazz is actually a cheap car in many many other countries.

Only thanks to our money sucking gov, that this car became super expensive.

And at least I didnt hear anyone rubbishing this cheap car, compared to our "super" crap myvi.

• JC generally does not like Asian cars. There was once that he commented the following about the Kia Rio:

(i) My Mountain Bicycle has better suspension

(ii) Top speed only achievable when going down hill

(iii) Company was suprised that I requested for a review.

However, JC does have some respect (or only respects) the Japs performance cars like the Evos, Impreza and GTR. Other than that, hardly heard him or the TG show talk anything nice about Jap cars.

• p1basher on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:23 pm

bmpower said

you’re the most blind monkey and moron . you made it by yourself.

Since when did myvi ride is better than saga?

Try! give a drive.. then you’ll realized how did so many saga BLM very fast on the highway. They are so stable.. Even myself can’t expect that before from a a cheap car.

Myvi? ride 120kmh is sooo scary.. what unstable and underpowered car…

of course i tried. blm in 120 might shakes slightly less than myvi but rev so much higher, and i no need to be blind to feel it. myvi underpower? city car wat, u tot it is racing car? btw blm also just squeeze a little more power than myvi only.

————————————————-

dog said

Point 2 – NO WAY ITS ROOMY. ITS HORRIBLE FOR PPL WHO sits at the back WHO ARE TALL, over 5?10( with the front seat moved to the back).

———————-

point 2 of course it is roomy, try to put table or 5'10'' in blm or savvy and see.

point 3 it is suspension u nuts, myvi have a soft suspension, go study or feel it. tires is just for more traction and stability while compenssate it with fuel.DONK!!

point 5 ok i agreed pioneer sounds better. but button so tiny. so difficult for ppl to press. wat i want to say is toyota/daihatsu make the car more ergonomical with large button.

tounch wood, are u dreaming, p1 and p2 since when giving us touch wood?

shaking?? p2 is for city drive we might forgive them. p1 is for normal drive but it also shakes wat.

• xerocz on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:28 pm

hayaaaaa…

car makes for different market segmet….. u all compare apple with pineapple… mesti tak ngam punya…. itu idiot mat salleh compared Myvi with Neo!!!! Out of mind la mat salleh ni…

• peYno on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:28 pm

p2 is for RUBBISH driver

ppl drive AT for city driving..

kampung ppl drive MT

• p1basher on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:38 pm

to bmpower said myvi underpower

to add more, i am a myvi manual user, i am pretty sure if i really wanna accelerate, myvi actually accelerate faster than blm and savvy.

and for everone, i am not to say p1 is bad. p1 is improving and i am pretty sure it will gain back some market with its new cars. ppl who look for better car handling will choose p1 over p2 and p1 cars design just look way better than most of the car makers.

• p1basher on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:48 pm

peyno said

p1 basher

your points are RUBBISH.. baseless

no wonder u drive a RUBBISH car (awarded by JC)

myvi is perfect car for city driving kunun.. but end up drive a MANUAL myvi..

RUBBISH

point baseless?! it is my experience, ask other normal myvi driver other than some DUMB ASS power hunger like u.

well i dont take serious comment from jc or u.

so wat i like driving manual in city.

• MyviTo on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:50 pm

To those hate Myvi, do expected every Malaysian totally driving Ferrari or B-Merz on the road? Duh! Malaysian standard is Myvi –> the best selling car for 3 years, no matter u like it or not, that is the fact!

As for me, even I'm driving a Kancil it doesn't matter as far it can function as "a car". What do you espect for a machine which u can call it "a car"? Seat like a dreamland? speed like a bullet? engine sound like F1 racing car? body like ferrari or lamborghini?

Myvi never be a bad car, otherwise people won't buy it. Mostly Malaysian just love Myvi. Those are felt Malaysia still at "Paleo-world" level, just get lost & find other country for yourself! Shame on u, dudes!

…and i think Top Gear is a totally stupid show that made for retards "aliens" out there!!

• bmpower on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:53 pm

P1basher.

from your nickname already know how much biased you're

I bet.. in real life.. you never ever drive single Saga BLM.

you're just pretend drove already.

tipical basher.

• JEREMY CLARKSSON vs on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:53 pm

next time when PROTON or PERODUA want to make new cars model then must invite Jeremy Clarksson and all his Top Gear staff la.. if want to build Sepang F1 circuit can invite Michael Schumacher to give comments so why not ask Jeremy Clarksson in PROTON and PRODUA R&D process??

surely next time he will not bash PROTON and PERODUA very bad like this one.. I confirm you 100% because if he bash it, then he bash himself..

anyway JEREMY CLARKSSON ROCKS!!! He tell the truth about cars… so much plastic everywhere meaning not safety at all and RUBBISH!!!

• Nederina on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:55 pm

WHY DOES THE MYVI REAR CENTRE SEAT COMES WITH A THREE POINT SAFETY BELT??? AND WE MALAYSIANS WE GET THE TWO POINT SUICIDE BUCKLED ONES

• initial R on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:58 pm

If i want to see the entertaiment & stunt, Top Gear are the choice but for info i like to see 5th Gear coz it's compare & comment base on our daily routine journey even it boring a bit but still full of info & also not lease Zoom-Zoom also. Anyway, they just play around only. Tengok macam mana diaorang memalukan kereta yang diaorang uji dengan sembur cat seluruh kereta, pasang speker pastu pusing tengah london buat bising, tu berat sebelah sedangkan 3 kereta yang diaorang suka boleh plak masukkan segment "membawa Anjing anda Bersiar-siar". It's crap man (but i aggree with JC about Mie-bvi, totaly rubbish). some said that Mie-bvi are city ride, oh God please, go wash your face first before u said that. Savvy are city ride & also highway surfer. it's compact, easy parking, good FC, stable on road, even more safety than Mie-bvi. Satria Neo are built diffrance. It built for sport, Base on design & shape also u can see what the main target, it for young person that need small car but with sporty looks powered with high rev engine. so it not vary suitable in city ride (except malaysia that most driver like "tekan abis bila merah tukar hijau kat simpang". So for me batter they change Satria Neo with Savvy. :)

• p1basher on Jul 07, 2009 at 11:01 pm

peyno said

p2 is for RUBBISH driver

ppl drive AT for city driving..

kampung ppl drive MT

while jc and u so like to talk and write RUBBISH, i find out

well only REAL RUBBISH drivers need a very easy handling car to save their ass probably.

although i am from KL, i find out AT is just for lazy people who don really care/know how to drive or wat so fun to drive.

a REAL car lover will drive MT no matter wat car it is or where he lives.

• JEREMY CLARKSSON vs on Jul 07, 2009 at 11:18 pm

p1basher.. we need semi auto cars like the high performance racing rally cars.. just shift the gears on the steering.

PROTON and PERODUA.. the quality like rubbish and add more, the technology is really backward.. don't want to invest in high performance racing motorsports R&D.. that's the outcome of being unwise.. RUBBISH!!!

• p1basher on Jul 07, 2009 at 11:27 pm

P1basher.

from your nickname already know how much biased you’re

I bet.. in real life.. you never ever drive single Saga BLM.

you’re just pretend drove already.

tipical basher.

wat? i drive once. i know it is more stable than p2 in highway so wat? its handling is slightly better also so wat? and i also notice it revs so high so early and it drinks more fuel so wat? my point to bash p1 is not becoz i really hate it, just i always cant find a very good reason to buy it if compare with the same segment car. so i bash it.

• EYESORE on Jul 07, 2009 at 11:34 pm

ahaks… p1 basher trying hard to defend his me vee…..

1. savvy already proven can smoke myvi… even a race prepared myvi…

2. saga blm can smoke myvi anytime…. lol…

3. i remember in exora topics u said shud have more power, can't go faster etc… now for myvi u said no need lot of power it's not a race car… so exora is a race car meh?

4. soft suspension mostly lead to comfort… actually it's much better to have a great handling but not so much comfort… then a lot of comfort but bad handling… good handling give u more safety…. comfort does not go along with safety but handling does…

• azimat on Jul 07, 2009 at 11:40 pm

comment from peter solberg WRC champion

The Proton is a nice car, it's a very detailed car," – Petter Solberg, WRC champion with SUBARU "PROTON has already set its goal to run a racing programme similar to Subaru's in the WRC." –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8pYcrjH0oA

who said our car is rubbish???

• chiewwl on Jul 07, 2009 at 11:54 pm

british ppl are spoiled with choices..

• p1basher on Jul 08, 2009 at 12:02 am

p1basher.. we need semi auto cars like the high performance racing rally cars.. just shift the gears on the steering.

PROTON and PERODUA.. the quality like rubbish and add more, the technology is really backward.. don’t want to invest in high performance racing motorsports R&D.. that’s the outcome of being unwise.. RUBBISH!!!

r u sure? may b at that time it launch, mt ppl like me still want mt and at ppl will be too lazy to be bother to downgrade to semi auto. even worse scenario is perhaps at technology is so good, it beat semi at and mt.

p1 is at right direction now, developing its own engine. we shud wait it get a really good engine first then only develop other stuff.

• Maserati on Jul 08, 2009 at 12:14 am

Hahaha,so many Proton losers here.

So many Proton losers jealous about the fact that even though MYVI has been labelled RUBBISH,it is still MALAYSIA's NO.1 Selling car.

So sorry lah,the majority of the population in Malaysia are only interested in RUBBISH,you got a problem with that PROTON losers?

At least we are not interested in the GARBAGE that comes out from PROTON factories every year..

PERODUA is still NO.1 ,YOU GOT A PROBLEM WITH THAT???!!

• fastcx on Jul 08, 2009 at 12:36 am

isnt tat the worst loser is those tat copy but still come out vf inferior parts? n yet advertised as jap equivalent? :) n 1 more thing, if u really notice n stop inflating urself as malaysian thinks malaysian is smart. even with resources v have, I dnt see malaysian use them well, rather they waste it on useless activities.

n maserati, if tats not because its not a car marque, it sounds like miserable

• initial R on Jul 08, 2009 at 12:45 am

Maserati said,

July 7, 2009 @ 4:14 pm

So many Proton losers jealous about the fact that even though MYVI has been labelled RUBBISH,it is still MALAYSIA’s NO.1 Selling car.

So sorry lah,the majority of the population in Malaysia are only interested in RUBBISH,you got a problem with that PROTON losers?

At least we are not interested in the GARBAGE that comes out from PROTON factories every year..

——————————————————

Nahhh…. i don't have any problem for that, the fact is most are them like to buy toyota Passo or daihatsu Boon, but since the option only have rubbish Myvi so "Hentam sajalah Labu". Still to pay high extra price but get only 50% Quality than Passo & Boon". The silly is they go to kedai "Abang" to get Passo emblem to get other 50% feel Quality. But may be Proton are garbage coz Mitshu want pesona & Exora for rebadge also proton get Lancer for Waja & for No.1 best selling car are still like that waiting for new rebadge model. I think Garbage for you are Goldmine for Mitshu. :)

• p1basher on Jul 08, 2009 at 12:46 am

eyesore said

ahaks… p1 basher trying hard to defend his me vee…..

1. savvy already proven can smoke myvi… even a race prepared myvi…

2. saga blm can smoke myvi anytime…. lol…

3. i remember in exora topics u said shud have more power, can’t go faster etc… now for myvi u said no need lot of power it’s not a race car… so exora is a race car meh?

4. soft suspension mostly lead to comfort… actually it’s much better to have a great handling but not so much comfort… then a lot of comfort but bad handling… good handling give u more safety…. comfort does not go along with safety but handling does…

i feel bored to defense. actually i don say p1 bad, i just bash its weakness ok.

1. savvy is a good handling car, sure it can smoke myvi. but i tot it did smoke but it is not too far right. myvi manual accelerate shud b around 11-12s to 100.

2. saga blm where can really smoke myvi. muz b very close…most probably will smoke by myvi. and i cant believe we are discussing performance for these cars. want a better performance car, should go modify urself in satria neo.

3. exora is diff, is a family car, sure u wanna go faster in highway as u use it to travel around plus highway and other cars in same segment have bigger cc. i am not sure it is underpower, i remember i dint really say anything about exora bad wat, am i saying it is underpower??

4. exactly right, but don forget about the million of humps and holes place in Malaysia. hard suspension means u need to go over it slower which most malaysian dont want to do and soft suspension save ur ass. although in highway, soft suspension could lead to more shaky and dangerous situation. well proton always opt for better handling. nothing wrong it is ur choice but i dun wanna curse too much after hitting too many holes.

• initial R on Jul 08, 2009 at 12:48 am

Forgeting that Detroit also want Garbage from Proton for they electric car platform. So Garbage for you & Goldmine for others. :>

• peYno on Jul 08, 2009 at 12:55 am

Maserati said,

July 7, 2009 @ 4:14 pm

So many Proton losers jealous about the fact that even though MYVI has been labelled RUBBISH,it is still MALAYSIA’s NO.1 Selling car.

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/06/perodua-my…
    ==============

yeah some Rubbish malaysian like a RUBBISH car…

This RUBBISHsh car attrack RUBBISH ppl in the RUBBISH country

no wonder it is hot selling car in RUBBISH country but not in URBAN and CIVILISED country ..

only RUBBISH ppl know RUBBISH thingy

• legacy88 on Jul 08, 2009 at 1:24 am

HA HA did you see Hammond face? "Oh no horrible air vents, look at this that's not metal either". :) Oh yeah that's Proton todays, not wira, not saga, but a brand new NEO that just awfully assemble and how easily weatherstrip come off.

"This tunnel handles better than my car and interior a is lot more welcoming"

Richard Hammond.

Talk about quality for overseas export version HUH?

And Perodua were rubbish at anything! tsk tsk.

I Love Top Gear! :)

• Exa_Loops on Jul 08, 2009 at 1:32 am

lol….that girl in the vids is really stupid….'i don't think this car will have the acceleration like M3 does"….she is absolutely no-brainer….

• Zorro on Jul 08, 2009 at 1:32 am

i wish gomen can open the car market and reduce the tax for imported cars.

buyer already suffered much by buying low quality and higher price becoz of protectionsim.

i support proton, but protectionism is killing proton and perodua itself.can not compete with the foreign car.just jaguh kampung.

• p1basher on Jul 08, 2009 at 1:48 am

initialr said

oh God please, go wash your face first before u said that. Savvy are city ride & also highway surfer. it’s compact, easy parking, good FC, stable on road, even more safety than Mie-bvi.

dont get me wrong, savvy is good, its engine is good, its transmission amt is interesting. it did smoke myvi in competition. i was once need to decide the result savvy vs myvi too. but i wanna say actually these 2 cars is built in different objectives. savvy want to b a good handling city car and daihatsu boon(myvi) want to b a comfortable and convenient city car. just wan enjoy driving go for savvy, wan practicality go for myvi.

alright constructive opinion, put the facts it is better than myvi in website. better butt and better plastic feel (its plastic feel way cheaper than myvi no joke), promise cheap maintenance with competitive price will sure resurrect savvy.

• legacy88 on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:22 am

Savvy good? Yup.

Good engine big thanks to Renault. (no thanks to shiitty campro)

Jerky and sometimes problematic AMT thanks to Renault.

Handling and suspension tuning thanks to Lotus.

RUBBISH interior low quality hard plastic and 80's style textures

thanks to ====> PROTONG. sampah . :)

• ambipur on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:23 am

top gear reviews a neo an myvi and so much interesting comments.

fifth gear this week trashed a saga with tank and next week runs a wira on no engine oil. why do they choose these cars? its cheap and they do not even want to try to fix it but just destroy it for scrap.

• peYno on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:52 am

legacy88 said,

July 7, 2009 @ 6:22 pm

RUBBISH interior low quality hard plastic and 80’s style textures

thanks to ====> PROTONG. sampah .

============

but JC clearly mentioned.. RUBBISH interior is Mee viii

prrrfthhhh

• Johan on Jul 08, 2009 at 2:58 am

Does it take Jeremy Clarkson to tell us Malaysian our National Car project is a scam?

• JEREMY CLARKSSON vs on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:17 am

I think after this so many British movies.. maybe the next Harry Potter and James Bond movie will features alot of PROTON and PERODUA cars because it is cheap and RUBBISH!!!.. use it like diapers only la.. they will crash and burn all this PROTON and PERODUA cars in their next coming movies/film.. pity on PROTON and PERODUA.. but they deserve it!

JEREMY CLARKSSON and TOP GEAR RULES FOREVER!!!

• Tungkai on Jul 08, 2009 at 3:44 am

Haiyaa…rubbish here rubbish there. At the end semua sampah..If you don't like crappy car get a BMW,Jaguar,Merc..etc instead. We are not going anywhere by bashing each other

• if u're a guy dun drive Myvi,u'll look liked ah kua,lol..drive proton more man a bit but to some ppl,u're drivin a piece of crap cars with no quality.

• khimfoh on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:38 am

That's JC for ya…brutally honest… :)

• Yes myvi is horrible, neo is horrible,perodua and proton too. so there is nothing to brag about.

Unfortunately , I won a rubbish at some lucky draw. Now I am stuck with it. :P

BTW, WATCH THIS WEEK's FIFTH GEAR!!! U WILL SEE A RUBBISH PROTON SAGA GETTING SQUASHED BY A TANK!!! :D:D

BREAKING NEWS, JUST IN TODAY::::
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com.my/index.php/f…

:D:D

• antwill on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:14 am

my wife hates jeremy

• ken_Tank91 on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:32 am

I don't even bother dorang sume nak kutuk2 or puji2….

but I'm proud that my national car have take intention from BRITAIN….

is good for marketing right….

free lagi…huhuhuh

tak perlu susah payah bayar mahal2

pe2 pun good luck proton

• nipaa1412 on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:16 am

Now, if you compare TG review with Fifth Gear, they are more or less the same. They pointed out some of the problem with the cars. Because there are better car at that price range in Britain, naturally our national cars takes the bashing

• noeL Hafizul on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:38 am

da moral of da story is very simple ma friend..

for our local manufacturin' dun eva..eva..

cheat poor people money wit all da car component made of from plastic explosive unequal material for easy fast money!!

full story of Top Gear S13E03 n direct download links:

http://iwillsearch4u.com/top-gear-s13e03-ws-pdtv-…

http://www.rlslog.net/top-gear-s13e03-ws-pdtv-xvi…

• lantak pi r dorang… kutuk2 pon lotus proton punya.. huahaha..

neo tu slack dashboard je cam plasticky.. senang je.. cover ngan kulit suede dah nampak gempak dah weii….

• mystvearn on Jul 08, 2009 at 10:37 am

If you are all going to be patriotic about it, then I suggest you watch the latest ep of fifth gear (s16 ep 5). They blew and crushed a proton saga.

• And this is the link

http://fwd.five.tv/videos/tank-dogfight-part-2

• Probably the reason that we are all getting so defensive when a reviewer grinds the Malaysian car industry into the ground is that they usually don't have good reviews on P1 or P2.

On the other hand, not many Malaysians have the fair chance to sample cars in similar segments ie: Mazda2/Jazz/Colt/Fabia/Polo/Yaris to name a few. These cars mentioned as rightly pointed out by someone above is in the same class/price bracket in other countries, unlike the biased approach in the M'sian govt.

In Malaysia the only one that comes close to having a fair battle with P1/P2 is the Swift. Even then, it's fighting a class above with the Persona/Waja.

So. If you remove the biasness, I would believe even the most hardcore P1/P2 supporter will go for something better. I know I would :)

• CRUDE on Jul 08, 2009 at 5:18 pm

Savvy is yet another failure…. u can count them on the road…mainantence is way expensive for a budget car….

Back to Top gear…. watch the entire show…look at how Jeremy critize the SL Black… he butchered it…

N yeah Fiat 500 is awesome….the interior is so damn cool for a small cheap car….but of course a bread butter car like even Corolla is considered a luxury car in BOLEHLAND, so a Fiat 500 is super ex here.

• Prismo on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:35 pm

MyviTo said,

the best selling car for 3 years, no matter u like it or not, that is the fact!

—————————————————————-

yes that the fact.. but after new Saga's entering our market, it's already slowing Myvi sales and kicking Viva into the drain.. no matter u like it or not, that's the fact…

P1basher,

at 1st u said that MYvi is better than Saga blm at the highway.. that mean the Saga handling is worse than Myvi at the high speed, but when the others proven u r wrong, now u said it's not a race car, just for city driving.. then it's mean that myvi handling also a way better than Saga blm at the low speed.. what ur point anyways?? u mean Myvi's handling is better than Saga? oh man.. my siblings have both of cars, i know which one is better and i can test drive for a week if i want.. my mum has bought kelisa 850 2 years ago.. she said, just for city driving.. and now, the car just a decoration inside the garage coz nobody want to drive it.. i've borrow her Kelisa for about 2 weeks. Just wanna tested the so-called "quality car" from T&D dna.. The thing that very, very annoying me is, the manual window had a problem!! hahaha.. it's will stuck whenever i want to winding it up.. the engine is very noisy.. NVH is worse than my 6 years old Waja, the worst is dashboard vibration and bear in mind that this kelisa just 2 years old and 56000km on the clock.. the handling also suck for city driving, and it's only easy for my fuel bill… less fuel, less power.. it's underpowered.. no offense for kelisa 850 owners.. that the fact..

mystvearn,

they blew and crush the old Saga, but TG destroy a brand new PERODUA KELISA 850 that just drive out from a showroom..

Yo CRUDE… bro..

Nautica is totally a disaster, i dont even seen 1 on the road.. oh.. i'm forget.. i've seen 1 about a month ago, but it's just a test drive unit….

• Prismo on Jul 08, 2009 at 6:45 pm

Yes myvi is horrible, neo is horrible,perodua and proton too. so there is nothing to brag about.

Unfortunately , I won a rubbish at some lucky draw. Now I am stuck with it.

BTW, WATCH THIS WEEK’s FIFTH GEAR!!! U WILL SEE A RUBBISH PROTON SAGA GETTING SQUASHED BY A TANK!!! :D:D

BREAKING NEWS, JUST IN TODAY::::
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com.my/index.php/f…
    —————————————————————

hey dog..

the stupid basher from the malaysian insider just quoted the story and changed the title.. here the real link…
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/caradvice/mrm…

quoted:

1st this article not written by Mike Rutherford FOR malaysianinsider but some lazy so called journalist that love to read malaysiakini,chedet,jeff ooi,rockybru find nothing interesting to write today.. so what else to do so he/she find bashing proton is this the easiest thing to impress the boss..why?? because its GLC company…why no one bashing perodua eventhough we all know each time u go to top gear website u can see Jeremy photo on top of kelisa roof smash the glass…thats the real shame for malaysian but not to this "all day i think about politic" fan…dude seriously get a life…there's a lot of thing u can do besides read and blogging about politics…

here's the REAL LINK…
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/motoring/caradvice/mrm…

• firefox on Jul 08, 2009 at 7:53 pm

hhaha…i like this show…..low quality ..sorry…no quality and higher price.

• legacy88 on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:25 pm

Ha ha sore losers want to defend their makers. To Jeremy Clarkson please review other upcoming shitty product going to Britain ie Evora, eerrrr I mean Exoraass.

He didn't like people mover so hope for the best for pure bashing and hilarious entertainment.

I LOVE TOP GEAR! :)

• kimi_ on Jul 08, 2009 at 8:50 pm

JEREMY ugly like hell…

• shoryuken on Jul 08, 2009 at 9:09 pm

HAHAH, Proton sold 4 units only in UK! What an accomplish!!! well done well done, i bet Proton only can survive in Msia market due to this no-consumer-rights policy market.

• MyviTo said,

the best selling car for 3 years, no matter u like it or not, that is the fact!

—————————————————————-

yes that the fact.. but after new Saga’s entering our market, it’s already slowing Myvi sales and kicking Viva into the drain.. no matter u like it or not, that’s the fact…

========================================

The reason is, we as malaysian are not spoilt for choices, unlike britian. We live in an unfortunate country with policies that protects local interest at the cost of the citizen. Once u posses a good car ie, camry u will feel the damn difference…

@ Prismo said,

Yeap whatever it is, its still in the list of NO BODY WANTS LIST… It doesn't change the fact whether they change the title or not. Its still in the crap list unless there is a miracle, proton will stay in the crap list. PERIOD!

• Toyota Camry in Malaysia are made from Thailand… they are still having crap cabin if you may compare to the quality of same model from other region. Malaysian are definitely having more choice of cars than many years back, just that they are not cheap.

How it got up to the top spot for 3 years?

A huge interior space Myvi fit buyers requirement perfectly since most other car doesn't give so much space at so little money. And this also partly by word of mouth. If persona was launched at the same time or earlier than Myvi, it would have another winner on the podium today.

Malaysian go for value for money on anything they bought; plus point for good looking one, and in car ownership decision, cheap, plenty of space, cheap to run and not too bad looking.

British on the other hand, will look for, CO2 level, fuel efficiency, cabin material, equipment list, handling, safety. You would have notice by now, the journalist doesn't bother too much on the look from budget cars.

• cars2ry on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:27 am

Pada Jeremy memang la Myvi N Neo x bagus….apa yg bagus cuma kereta buatan negara dia.

Jeremy seorang yg kuat dari segi perkaumannya….tapi kita 1 Malaysia…..

Bagi jek la Merc ke Ferari ke kereta jepon ke dll…..memang semua dia kutuk…

• James on Jul 09, 2009 at 12:41 am

I thought the Top Gear group pointed out very clearly that if you buy the cheapest cars, ie. Proton and GM crap. It is not good value for money. Spend a tiny bit more money, then you'll get a great brand, fantastic interior, top-class safety and you won't have to feel embarrassed.whats the point of saving a few penny when you're gonna suffer so much?

put it another way, just spend a lil bit more and you'll get so much in return, so it is very stupid not to do it.

• alamak on Jul 09, 2009 at 1:22 am

Top Gear is automotive entertainment, they purposely need to create controversy so there is talk value…

I personally prefer Fifth Gear and their approach towards producing automotive review show..

• It is people like prem3377 who readily accepts mediocrity and disguises production of substandard rubbish as a prerequisite to greatness. The blind optimism and pseudo patriotism/nationalism, with the hope to follow the Japanese/Korea path to success, is sickening.

Less than 2 years ago Proton was still selling a car with a 25 year old platform! 24 f_ _king years is a long time to get your act together. Do you really think substandard local cars are all Malaysians can afford? If it was not for Proton we would all be enjoying much better and safer cars at a fraction of what they now cost.

Protons are not made to be affordable; just that imports are forced to be expensive. Idiot! It is the law of relativity.

• perotujuh on Jul 09, 2009 at 5:15 am

Malysian like rubbish car than funny car. ;) ;) ;)

• blo0d on Jul 09, 2009 at 10:35 am

wait.. i downloaded the full episode of that top gear. and the one that got problem with the door rubber is the CHEVY. not the proton.. dun bash without looking guys. paul? do u agree? the one that jeremy pull out is the one with james may. and i saw the girl inside the CHEVY. and the plasticky rims of the chevy is different frm the alloy wheel of the proton.

• anti-acai-beri on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:35 pm

It's a bit plasticky…. a BIT ??!!!!!

hahah…

coz our proton n perodua lack in volume, n i don't know why…

but, 10k pound for a plasticky neo and 7k pound for a boring myvi might seem too expensive for "oreng puteyh" ..

Like Passo in Japan, would only cost 800,000yen..which is less than RM30k!

Well, the reality is…Malaysians r paying more for a cheap n cheerful driving machines.

This reality would never change unless our people's mind, our national car co n the gov policy itself is changed.

• Prismo on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:40 pm

yep dog,

but not just Proton in the list mate…

• haih..comeon people.the points they make are valid.its just that they way they convey them is in blatant in ur face way.that is for the entertainment bit.do take it lightly.i myself when seeing neo in showroom felt that the interior was plasticky,esp. the aircond vent.look where hammond was pointing first about bad interior.and i too feel myvi is boring,handles badly etc,and look what JC had said about it.im sure many of us also see those 2 cars the way i see them and JC just made the points said outloud.i mean,if some malaysian living around limited choice of cars can spot the bads,what more can be said about brits' expectation who have plenty of better choices of cars in their country?yeah sure u wanna compare malaysia with britain which have no national car.but they're just people who love and have passion for cars,as only cars.take nationality and pride aside,u'll be able to appreciate cars like real enthusiasts do.u'll see mivee and satria as what they actually are.

• Nieto on Jul 09, 2009 at 7:00 pm

both vehicle also rubbish, roof not enough high already export to negara orang putih, like gen-2, even 180cm cant sit at the rear seat, how to convince ppl to buy??

• Again bullshit review from bullshit host…

• bot_tech on Jul 10, 2009 at 2:23 am

KEN BLOCK RULES!!!

• peYno on Jul 10, 2009 at 3:12 am

nieto.. ur comment oso rubbish..

u wanna complain mini cooper??? that car is produced by orang putih for orang putih… not enough roof space

• Paikah on Jul 10, 2009 at 3:39 am

What kind of society have we become that we cannot take criticisms? Put national pride aside and look at it with open heart. How many of us would buy a Malaysian made car if protectionism is removed and competitors are given a fair playing field? I admit I won't but I drive a Perodua due to circumstances, not by choice. Proton is still a very long way from producing a half decent car that's comparable to international standards and Perodua just re-badges other manufacturer's models. I'm not doubting the fact that it's very difficult to develop a perfect car. BMW and Mercedes gets it wrong sometimes too. It's a continuous improvements process. Perhaps some of us may have heard of "kaizen"?.

We have to be open to criticism in order to know what we must do to improve. Proton has fell far behind because it has been hiding behind 20 years of protectionism. True, we must protect our fledging car industry but there is no excuse for gaining little innovation and still unable to improve competitiveness after 25 years. Perhaps it's the way many of us are brought up that we are told what to do and scolded when we do otherwise discouraging "self thinking" and innovation? Or perhaps we'd been overly protected to shield us from the difficulties in life? A clear example is reverting back to BM for Science and Math because apparently it's too difficult for many to cope. When the going gets tough, we take the easy way out!

I could go on with examples of how we'd become a society of whims and whiners but it's not the point of my post. It is my hope that my fellow citizens stop hiding behind excuses and rise up over criticism for the betterment of the country and our future. I think some of us have done so already as Proton has been shaken into inching its way towards making a half decent car. ;o)

• James on Jul 10, 2009 at 5:42 pm

For you information. Top Gear Australia is the licensed aussie version of Top Gear program made by the local TV channel SBS. In the show, they use the Proton Satria as the car for the celebrity on topgear racetrack segment.

So, Msians can take it as a positive.

• initial R on Jul 10, 2009 at 6:14 pm

bad by brit, god for ausi.

• danial on Jul 10, 2009 at 7:43 pm

Zool said,

July 6, 2009 @ 5:32 pm

kemosabe, Proton did make their own engines called campro now with IAFM, then CPS which is as good as Vtec and Variocam and soon to be…. probably light turbo. Proton made them in a record time of after 19 years in existence which is better than the Koreans.

————————————————————

i am afraid you are wrong Zool! ;-(

Actually Proton are in 14 years rebadging the Mitsubishi

And 9 years in developing own engine and body, starting with the Waja in 2000.

And that makes Proton far-far better than Korean-Kia! :-)

• danial on Jul 10, 2009 at 7:46 pm

And Proton make it in just 9 years time :-)

• MYviSE on Jul 11, 2009 at 12:02 am

"It is not a real alloy!" haha…poor that Chevrolet car…

Haha… so my car seat is rubbish, driving is rubbish, seat rubbish and no cheerful at all… don't care….still loving my baby as it is the car that I buy using my own earning money working day and night…

But still, still love the TG as an entertainment…

Hm, I guess the Myvi is the 1.0 version rite? using rim cover, no fog lights..

and the Satria Neo…guess it is the 1.3 one…

• MYviSE on Jul 11, 2009 at 12:04 am

Haha….everything rubbish..

but I dun care about it….still loving my car which I bought it from my hard earning money..working day and night…

TG is really for entertainment purpose only…

• MYviSE on Jul 11, 2009 at 12:05 am

He's making that ugly face…hahaha

• tokmoh on Jul 11, 2009 at 4:16 am

danial,

Correct. In absolute terms, Kia may be better than proton now, but relatively, I think Proton is catching up quite fast, and we have to factor in the matter of support from local market. Koreans buy Kia bcuz they have pride in it, that makes their development smoother than ours, whereas here, msians always lament how proton has robbed their right to own cheap dugong, city, bmw, aston martin, ferrari etc. I doubt this is the general attitude koreans hv towards their kia/hyundai, maybe there is, but only a minority.

As many have pointed, TG is mainly entertainment. To associate with the telegraph news, mito n iq sold (2 cheap-n-cheerful cars they like) very poorly, just shows how their review has little relevance with the actual market preference in uk. Heck, they all even forgot the Fiat 500, it turned out to be a joke, which is what their show is all about. To make you laugh at their silliness.

IMHO, despite embarrassing, it is still good to know that TG are aware that satria neo n myvi do exist at all in their country.

• perolima on Jul 11, 2009 at 7:47 am

Aiyah, no one complain mini cooper because mini cooper was mini, if gen-2 and satria claim them are mini, then no one complain loh… no lie at all, mini gen-2, mini satria… if kelisa also named peti sejuk… hah…

• perotujuh on Jul 11, 2009 at 9:16 am

Thanks to our rubber tree, our car all made by cheap plastic. Even transformer toy made in China also made by plastic. XXXD

• perolapan on Jul 11, 2009 at 1:18 pm

waaa.. so many comments and many weird nickname..

so many want to be pero.. pero.. you think this is Malaysia TV station??

TV1 = PROTON a.k.a P1

TV2 = PERODUA a.k.a P2

TV3 = not available yet.. private/swasta station… maybe NAZA?

NTV7 = not available yet.. private/swasta station… maybe Boon Siew?

TV8 = not available yet.. private/swasta station… maybe Hong Leong?

TV9 = not available yet.. private/swasta station… maybe Paul Tan?

if we have many private automotive companies not GLC one then maybe no more plastic..LOL

• pulltea on Jul 11, 2009 at 9:40 pm

Watch Fifth gear season16 episode5, where they crushed the proton saga 1st generation, with a sherman tank! then blast it with a cannon.

• carneo on Jul 11, 2009 at 10:09 pm

Hi guys Campro can say is by P1 but the design are from old Lotus technology and add in some latest element, it just like roti canai with rendang chiken but this is still consider a new style of food. P2 is truly rebadges car i work with one of the suppply chain company for P2 each time when P2 come to audit it will come together with Toyota personel. TG is a good entertainment show as Jeremy show the Uk market score board are all in down turn actually he try to tell us it is a hard time he is very sorry to say bad thing to P1&P2 inorder to creat some joke to attarct more people to watch TG if not they will jobless. Event now they can't get any luxury car for test drive BBC cut the budget so they have to take P1&P2 to test drive. Now you all see how our cheap Rubbish car can survive when hard time, BBC event do free advertisment for P1&P2 via TG. When you poor you buy plastic watches if you rich you buy Rolex, you are safe to wear plastic watch in hardtime like this but i you wear Rolex …becareful your Rolex…and your hand. Can't wait to see how Jeremy jepodise the Exora ….it speel like E-xora or EX-ora or E-XO-RA.

• peYno on Jul 11, 2009 at 10:23 pm

Aiyah, no one complain mini cooper because mini cooper was mini, if gen-2 and satria claim them are mini, then no one complain loh… no lie at all, mini gen-2, mini satria… if kelisa also named peti sejuk… hah…

=============

neo is designed for sporty.( 2 doors).. so why u wanna complain ?? wanna better roof spce?.. get a saga or persona la

• yelaa u pakai honda on Jul 12, 2009 at 10:40 am

the old hag sang d same old song!!kudos for ur money-oriented show…xtually myvi & neo is designed for our fellow malaysians traffic scene…really true..because we always stuck in jams…and we love to hit each other…rempit love our side mirrors too…we can drive faster than a merc/bm/honda/toyota/nissan watsoever lah when we get ourself abit moody…its a cheap car n d quality is quite low everyone knows bout it but people still buy it..1 malaysia dude…everything counts hehe…

• peroempat on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:42 am

peYno said,

July 11, 2009 @ 2:23 pm

neo is designed for sporty.( 2 doors).. so why u wanna complain ?? wanna better roof spce?.. get a saga or persona la

I want the review of TopGear to Saga a.k.a Turtle and Persona before make any decision.

• danial on Jul 13, 2009 at 9:42 pm

Tok Moh,

Yes u r right, overall Kia wins now. The reality is they took longer time than proton to achieve what they have now..

• J Childs on Jul 14, 2009 at 2:59 am

Over here in England poor Jeremy is known for knowing nothing about cars nothing about mechanics has an ego the size of a house and is not taken seriously for his views. The programme is not watched by people who want correct information about cars only for entertainment value only. He is trying to be a commedian but is failing! The MYVI has had very good press reports over here.

• majavaz on Jul 14, 2009 at 11:42 pm

I have to agree with TG presenters… no more cheap plastic please… somehow I think that 15yo wira interior is better than satria neo in term of quality… If I have enough budget, I will go for better car.. for sure..

• Prismo on Jul 16, 2009 at 4:27 pm

pulltea said,

July 11, 2009 @ 1:40 pm

Watch Fifth gear season16 episode5, where they crushed the proton saga 1st generation, with a sherman tank! then blast it with a cannon.

——————————————————

itu saga burok.. saga lama warna putih.. but did u know that TG had destroyed a brand new kelisa 850 that just picked up from a showroom??

• I thought there was once where Hammond gave quite a good comment on Myvi?

• Lee Shuen Ray on Jul 23, 2009 at 7:04 am

Seriously, guys the issue here is simple. JC is stating the fact that you are not getting what you paid for. I respect those that love their car because they spent their hard earned money. But my questions is this… why would you spend you hard earned on a car that's not well thought off, would break easily (power windows anyone?) and has poor performance?

• those TG guys only like supercars.that's why…

• Uncontended Myvi Own on Jul 29, 2009 at 7:50 am

TG is an entertaiment show featuring cars. It is not an comedy show.JC point is that malaysian cars(and american cars) are bad in quality no matter what angle you look at it. Just because a car does not break apart does not mean it is not a boring souless machine design by machine for machine's pleasure.

In malaysia, these cars are popular since ppl are stuck with almost no choice.A Bad car remains bad no matter where it is sold. For those of you who said malaysian cars are good, you have not really look at other cars. Myvi is just a pretty face with nothing good in it. It is not even economical compared to Vios. You don't have to look far to find a comparison. Look at the (old)Getz, it is less than 10K more but it is more refined and better in a lot ways although it is still not a good car.

Some ppl argue that malaysian cars are catching up very fast. I agree partially. Proton has improved tremendrously in the past few years. Im sorry perodua still suck. However , we are still way behind the competition.Proton advancement is like our space program. It is almost equal to no progress at all but it still counted as something insignificant.

Please ppl do not be contend with cars you can afford in this land. Open your eyes and mind. So start reading and work harder. Or, if you are lazy, buy a saga. it's a less rubbish car than myvi.

P/S: Dont watch fifth gear, it's boring and the test drives are unreliable at times. TopGear is all you need. It test cars based on common sense and accurate measures not just souless figures and facts!

• TheKHAI on Aug 12, 2009 at 9:52 pm

They're mocking and humiliating our cars, but part of why they did those are known to us, and it is reality… Quite angry with those roasted-skinned Mat Saleh (who has been too pampered with driving expensive cars from big companies), but in the same time it is our faults…

Well, at least we still have our own National brands, while most of their brands are being bought by foreign companies, such as those from China. I really want to see Jeremy face and pride when driving china-made Jaguar…

• Abdul Qayyum on Aug 13, 2009 at 2:46 pm

baru lepas tgk top gear s13 episod 3.. yang cite pasal proton ngan myvi.. basically.. sebelum segmen ni diceritakan.. dier (jeremy) kutuk merc yang berharga 250,000 pound.. so.. xpayah la nak gado2 pasal kereta yang harga below 11,000 pound… buang mase je…

korang ptt enjoy je tgk top gear.. dun take it seriously… k?

• Lanjot on Sep 05, 2009 at 1:40 am

Should be have nationalisme..patriotic..but please la malaysians,DON'T condenm our automotive industries.Even the quality of japs car begin from their own citizen support their own product although at that time japs well known as a "copier" (currently China).Important is support national product.If we dont,who one else??.I admit that the quality of p1 and p2 cars quality FAR FAR away compared to japs car or brit car etc..my MAIN point is support our product and there is a room of improvement.

• I totally agree with that Top Gear is saying about the MyVI……

However, the brakes is hardly rubbish…. it's decent enough, although I skidded a few times when hard breaking. ;)

The seat is really rubbish…. my driver seat is probably gonna break one of this day……

However, I would say MyVI isn't really rubbish, but it's decent enough…….. just wished it isn't that damn expensive…..

• Mr Kia on Nov 22, 2009 at 7:49 am

well, coming from JC means nothing. Top Gear are more like a comedy show than a show about cars. Known for bias towards supercar for the riches. Fifth Gear is something better and more honest IMHO. my wife been driving MyVi for four years without any problem. maybe i’m lucky to get a problem free car.. but still.. based on my salary MyVi is worth it. Korean car? oh pleasee…..

—————————————————

Very sorry to say, the Korean car are now even better than Proton and Perodua. In term of quality, safety and comfort, even the fuel consumption . If you like to compare old type, one good example is the Sonata. I also driving the Sonata 2002 which is the most problem car in all Korean Car. Unfortunately (should say luckly , why I said unfortunately because I know that a lot of Malaysians boycott the korean car like to hear negative news more than our local car), my Sonata drive until today, never have any problem, can even better than Camry. Well, I don't like to compare with Japanese car because Japanese car has very good foundation in the car build. But Hyundai, in fact even younger than Proton, Perodua, still can do better than them.

Many people say Korean car very bad fuel consumption, but the fact is, if you take care the car properly, you can even do better than most Japanese car. See my Sonata, I even can hit 0.15 km/l record. For 2.0L car can hit this record, believe or not? Don't forget, the new Korean car CVVT are using similar technology with VVTI.

I would like to spend more money to buy Korean car, but save me a lot of on petrol, servicing. So those boycott Korean car should change their mindset.

• Mr Kia on Nov 22, 2009 at 8:06 am

Zool said,

July 6, 2009 @ 5:32 pm

kemosabe, Proton did make their own engines called campro now with IAFM, then CPS which is as good as Vtec and Variocam and soon to be…. probably light turbo. Proton made them in a record time of after 19 years in existence which is better than the Koreans.

?????????????????????????????

danial said,

July 10, 2009 @ 11:43 am

i am afraid you are wrong Zool! ;-(

Actually Proton are in 14 years rebadging the Mitsubishi

And 9 years in developing own engine and body, starting with the Waja in 2000.

And that makes Proton far-far better than Korean-Kia!

???????????????????????

I also afraid you are wrong too. Campro engine can be better than CVVT engine? Don't make people laugh please. Can Proton produce more than 2.0L Campro? Can Proton produce good fuel Consumption type like VVT Campro? The answer is no. Please spend some money go oversea and see what are outside the world, don't just sit the office and look at the map only.

Hyundai, Kia already make CVVT/CVVT-i which is better performance and good fuel consumption. That's why they become no.4 Car manufacturer in the world.

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 02, 2010 at 6:46 am

jeremy clarkson opinion on myvi-seat rubbish,break rubbish…………….

my opinion on jeremy clarkson-TOTALLY RUBBISH!!!

THIS TWO WORDS IS ENOUGH TO DESCRIBE THIS OLD FAGGOT.

• Indifferent on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:52 pm

Uncle Cracker

• still watching such outdated TG program? hahaha.

• nanamus99 on Apr 27, 2010 at 11:25 pm

keta malaysia memang low kualiti dan tercipta dari sakibaki produk mitsubishi dan daihatsu. masalahnya proton sentiasa bersikap sambil lewa dan syok sendiri dalam menghasilkan sesebuah kereta contohnya model persona dan satria neo. persona adalah gen2 yg dipanjangkan,memang bagus tp takde sebarang pembaharuan yg drastik disitu. satria neo pula mempunyai kekurangan yg menyakitkan hati handling yg bagus. ruang kepala pada seat depan sangat rendah sampai boleh tsangkut kepala. panel dalaman yg tlalu plastik mcam gen2 persona savvy,sedangkan model lama mcm satria gti pun masih bagus trim dan panel dalaman walaupun diadaptasi dari mitsubishi mivec. itu belum lg masalah gearbox,power window,peralatan elektronik,kipas radiator dan bermacam lg kerenah keta nasional kita. sedarlah wahai proton,jangan hanya berlindung pada kerajaan utk meneruskan kebodohan kamu,berani berubah,ambil pendapat org lain trutamanya pengguna proton,tegaklah di bumi yg nyata dan banngakan la negara kita dengan product2 yg berkualiti tinggi selepas ini. go proton!!!!!!

• alief on Apr 25, 2011 at 1:48 am

JEZZA YOU’RE THE BEST !!!!,really im 110% agree with this review because it should be look at the quality of this crap,the design,the handling,the engines which means they’re city car so they’re rubbish but unlike most of city cars for example VW Golf,the Astra’s,Renault Clio,Ford Fiesta and Peugeot 206.All of these cars still spicy or cheesy but these two cars I dont think so,they all rubbish.PROTON AND PERODUA YOU ARE HOPELESS !!!!!! I prefer Morris Marina or some Soviet cars than these two crap