Kia KCV III might enter production

Kia Motors America’s president Peter Butterfield is urging Kia to design and manufacture a two door two seat convertible to it’s US line-up in line with Kia’s supposedly sporty image as opposed to the more ‘uncle’ feel of Hyundais.

Butterfield mentions the car would ideally be stripped down to the point of roll-up windows for weight reduction and could possess superior handling capabilities and power to weight ratio. Sounds like a Lotus Elise competitor.

A potential base for this could be the Kia KCV III concept unvailed last year at the 2004 Detroit Auto Show.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yeah…. first to see this…. 1st on the comment list.

My wife wanted a open top car, I hope this car is coming in soon, and the price is affordable.

• Streamyx User on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:01 pm

WAH SO BENG. In my oppinion looks the headlights looks way oversized, too curvy.

• December on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:07 pm

Never seen anything more ugly than this, Korean cars suck. Period

• wah, i love to flash people with those headlights. Mesti blinding punya…

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 30, 2005 at 7:05 pm

KIA, still bad styling SUCKS!!

Hate the side view, looks like a RABBIT!!

Hate the door mirror, it was fixed on the A-pillar.

Hate the Head lamps, grille, ……Front face looks like IDIOTs Sucker!!

Hate the RIMS…..FAN shape??? Blow air!!

Paul, can you removed it? Just too ulgy……..Don't want to see it!

• Streamyx User on Sep 30, 2005 at 7:36 pm

Come to think of it, looks like peugeot exposed to radiation. wkakakaka

• E-Nabill on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:03 pm

ya,the design doesnt have any original theme to it…its so messy,i dont think the final production will look this ugly! it wil be toned down…n the rims are aweful,looks like the one on the SRM spyshot

• rafreez on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:08 pm

KIA is 'KAPUT I-SORE AUTOMOBILE' hahaha…never like their design even after NAZA done some touch-up…

• Jason on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:47 pm

The rims look like those butter cookies.

• Johan on Sep 30, 2005 at 9:55 pm

cool design….thats what we called AVANT-GARDE!

• Fan-look-alike wheel's actually advance cooling system for the disc brake! :wooo

• those rims design should be used in F1 to curb brake disc heating problem.

• Selipar on Sep 30, 2005 at 11:41 pm

from my point of view….doesn't really matter at all the design..at least they do have several outline concept cars to show up….but then why…why..why & why is so hard to see any our national car concept car preview? why..why..?

• the front remind me of Bugatti.

• karim alias on Oct 01, 2005 at 5:29 am

nampak macam peugot coupe yang dah diubah suai. anyway good try la..

• Sir Ferrari on Oct 01, 2005 at 9:33 pm

WOW… something very radical from KIA… i tot hyundai had gone radical with their coupe designs.. but damn i was wrong.. this is one hell of a car.. looks a lot like the 407 and the new 907… would really make heads turn when u drive one.. anyone knows the specs of the car??? it's really a cool design from an asian car manufacturer… :)

• Looks kinda good from the back, looks cool frpm the front, from the side… ugh. The shape kinda reminds me of ladies' shoe.

• frossonice on Oct 01, 2005 at 10:17 pm

Bugatti wannabe. Stop copying other people's design, you Koreans!

• cbljkkj on Oct 01, 2005 at 10:57 pm

Well, if this doesnt work out they could always rely on the Ria??

• cbljkkj on Oct 01, 2005 at 10:58 pm

Whoops… I meant Kia Carnival…not Naza Ria..my bad

• A feminist car…

• BBAAArrriiiiiaaaaNNN on Jun 21, 2009 at 5:38 am

i luv this car…it is gorgeous….and hopefully affordable……LLLLUUUUVVVV IIITTTTT…and think it is beautiful..

• Sam, Wisconsin on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:36 am

I Love it. I want to buy this one AS IS.

I'm 40, and sick to my stomach driving boring cars, with boring looks: Chevy, Ford, Volvo, Buick, Toyota. My two boys are 10 and 5 years old, and they love it, love it love it. They need to enjoy life when they sit in the back with something sporty.

Haters, eat your heart out.

KIA, go for it. I'm in the buyers line.

• Angelica.N on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:55 pm

OMFGooosh! I soooo love the cute little car. I would so buy the car if it was to be sold. It’s about time people start coming up with new designs. I have a 2009 Saab Convertible and trust me! I would soooo not have gotten it if this one was to be at the dealership. Yeay! =-)