New Hyundai Accent 5-door Hatchback

Oriental Hyundai, the distributor of Hyundai’s CKD Accent, Elantra and Sonata models in Malaysia has launched a new hatchback Hyundai Accent today.

The new 5-door hatchback Hyundai Accent will be available from December 2005 onwards, and Oriental Hyundai has received 100 bookings for the car so far. The new Accent will be available in Knight Black and Sunbeam Silver. There is also a RX-S bodykit for the new 5-door hatchback Hyundai Accent called the RX-S5. The bodykit will be on sale for a promotional price of RM1180 from November 2005-January 2006.

Hyundai cars in Malaysia are distributed by two companies. Hyundai-Sime Darby distributes the Atos, Matrix, Getz, Hyundai Coupe, Trajet, Tucson, CBU Sonata and the Santa Fe while Oriental-Hyundai distributes CKD versions of the Accent, Elantra and Sonata.

There’s also a 3-door hatch but it’s not available in Malaysia. I think it’s pretty misleading to call it a hatchback. It’s more of an aeroback to me. Prices start at RM60,000 for the manual and RM64,000 for the automatic. This excludes insurance and road tax.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 60k??? wah.. but have to see it in person 1st

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 27, 2005 at 12:33 am

hmm….

the design looks old…

not that stylish..

• karim alias on Oct 27, 2005 at 12:37 am

I thought we should get the new one isn't it? this is the old model. the only different is t is a hatchback. so what happen to the new accent model?

• karim alias: the new accent is still under testing even in the US. the current accent sold worldwide is this one.

• melted-H on Oct 27, 2005 at 12:55 am

another day. another pc of crap.

• karim alias on Oct 27, 2005 at 1:09 am

thanks paul for the info

• see fat on Oct 27, 2005 at 1:24 am

the new accent looks worse than the current one..just like the new sonata

• aksMs on Oct 27, 2005 at 1:39 am

Paul…something off topic. How come Smartcar sell like hot "karipap" here?

• Michael Chua on Oct 27, 2005 at 1:48 am

I think this Accent was launched in Singapore quite some time ago, if in not wrong. In fact, it was launched in late 2003. I suppose maybe it has a different engine.

• SEE FU on Oct 27, 2005 at 1:49 am

Wah! very OLD fashion lei!! What is THAT!!!

Is a Car,…no,….Is a Van….no,….Is a shit from………Hyundai!!!

YAU MO KAU…….CHOU!!

• Edwardo on Oct 27, 2005 at 2:01 am

The new Accent will launch within next year, it's worth to wait than choosing this 'soon to be old' model…. seems like Oriental is helping Hyundai to clear off this batch of Accent…..

• driver on Oct 27, 2005 at 2:17 am

The new accent model will not come to malaysia as fast. Anyhow, this one has been in singapore for quite some time. it's a nice car to drive anyway. way much better drivability [plus without rattling!!!!] compared to ******. Good alternative for those who cannot afford honda or toyota.

Personally i think this car looks good. Better than the new model.

• E-nabill on Oct 27, 2005 at 3:01 am

junk,design is absolute 80s…

• wiraone on Oct 27, 2005 at 4:05 am

Do you know why it looks so 80ish? Because this model is for the European market :) .. You'll not believe how ugly most of those budget european cars look like :)

• keniji on Oct 27, 2005 at 4:15 am

Old 90s JUNK,

"potong strategies gangs!

heh, is kah motor selling NEW NF sonata?

or SIme darby selling it?

guess what,

only RM90k for new Sonata NF 2.4L at china!

we are ripped off by Moooooooroon national auto policy"

• Andrewhtf on Oct 27, 2005 at 4:51 am

well… design may be old, but then again i'm sure it is not anymore older than Wira and Iswara right?

but compared to Gen2 H-line and Waja, do u all think which is a better buy? after all it is roughly within the same price range… plus if i'm gonna get that Accent, that bodykit is a must.

• Well between this and gen 2 ( around the same class ) i will deffinately deffinately deffinately buy the gen 2. It may have minor qc problems but at least gen 2 looks 1000000000 times nicer.

• gegaoff on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:43 am

giss… what a pc of shit over here…

hyundai now almost become brother gang with POTONG.

well done…

cheers…

• abe pie on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:23 am

HUH!

i have seen this design when hyundai use this model WRC 3 or 4 years ago.looks like the same model i think. .

design …not interesting. . jx. if true, ur choice are right i think.

• driver: I agree with u

• KhakoMan on Oct 27, 2005 at 4:40 pm

yeakhsss.. ugly…

• it's fugly.

• Prices start at RM60,000 for the manual and RM64,000 for the automatic

this is good price compare to Proton Waja…. careful…. Proton advisor will make a lot of public speech soon. :)

I would like to check the spec, if this car is as good , why not consider this.

• MyBoy on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:12 pm

It looks less ugly from rear.

• epalhead on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:53 pm

it hideous!

• rafreez on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:55 pm

ugly and if u see the WRC model, the front look espesially the headlamp is different…at their showroom they will display the WRC model pic side by side with the standard model pic…I didnt see any similarities…anyone feel the same or is it just me…

• December on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:07 pm

As always, fork korean cars man. Period.

• Selipar on Oct 27, 2005 at 10:19 pm

don't post any 4LWs here please…mind of other peoples sensitivity

I've been searching this particular model in malaysia web…thanks to paul for bring up this topic..i need feedback from others for my judgement in buying my 2nd car..

for the malaysian market, it has been advertised the engine used is only 1.5l SOHC instead of 1.6l DOCH fuel injection…i think better look for in person and asked the salesperson in detail the technical aspect though….

what i like the basic feature is, there is no keyhole at the door for security reason…my present car has been broke-in so many times via the front door keyholes using screwdriver

• Is this the "Accident" that May and Clarkson absolutely trashed on Top Gear?

• travis on Oct 28, 2005 at 12:28 am

ed:

yup, james may once drove it (the diesel version, 3 cylinder and even more underpowered!) and called it the ACCIDENT lol!!!

Top gear also awarded worst car of 2004 to the accident!!!

• eMalaysian on Oct 28, 2005 at 1:23 am

Buy proton wira better lah. Look better and also cheaper.

• blackhead on Oct 28, 2005 at 1:39 am

eMalaysian : wah proton really need people like u, to help them clear their backyard.

i think the 1 from mitsubishi done the business with proton should reward him a best deal of the century.

• driver on Oct 28, 2005 at 2:11 am

wira better ka? hhheehehheeehehe

• see fat on Oct 28, 2005 at 5:49 am

buy potoong wira? r u mad? r u employed by potong to try to sell all those junks waiting 4 suckers 2 buy? who in their right mind would pay rm52,000 4 a car with more than a decade old technology and platform?

and yes, keniji, the malaysian goverment reaaly sukks our blood coz they purposely taxed all those foreign cars so high…btw i never liked korean cars..designs too bland…the new sonata is worse than a camry in bland rating

• Nameless on Oct 28, 2005 at 4:55 pm

Another simply do design car,ppl dun expect much enjoy of car can consider it.This design doen't suit malaysia style, ppl in Malaysia prefer outstanding in design.But,for this one,not bad-quite standard car.

• eMalaysian on Oct 28, 2005 at 5:57 pm

Its just that all the Accent I see on the road looks yuck. Ok lah. Don't buy wira. Buy gen2 lah. Both look better than accent anyway.

see fat,

I think proton will improve wira's old tech and platform. They buy VW platform mah. Then got gen2 engine already. Put them 2 together lah, and then get new wira with lotus tuning some more woh.

• benunited on Oct 28, 2005 at 8:11 pm

wtf..looks like a metal cow…4/10…but the price is, hmmm…..

• proton crap on Oct 28, 2005 at 9:35 pm

64k for that ugly car….. MAI TOLONG LA. design not that nice.

• outspoken on Oct 28, 2005 at 10:17 pm

in termsod design, proton cars are much better.. but i do not know the true quality . can anyone who owns korean cars give their thoughts?

• MAt tOUGH on Oct 28, 2005 at 11:17 pm

eMalaysian, fyi it is in your dream that Proton can ever improve be it in 20 years from now. As long as the sucker adviser is still alive, he will make sure all Malaysian drive a Proton EXCEPT for his sons.daughthers, grandsons, granddauthers, cronies and UMNO counterparts can drive Mercedes, BMW, Lexus, Ferrari, Honda Accord, Toyota Camry etc.

If we all M'sian don't buy Proton, what will happen to "his cronies" who supply the parts, doing sales etc. Thay why he get so mad when his Apprentice got kicked out recently. Maybe the guy has protected all his cronies since he became the Chief Extra Ordinary (CEO) for the last few years.

• eMalaysian on Oct 29, 2005 at 1:47 am

Oh! I thought all those ppl drive proton. I didn't know that.

• MoMoSosicko on Nov 02, 2005 at 9:11 am

I guess you just a piece of shit MAt tOUGH.. DRM do drive a national cars..dont talk cock if aint no a shit! .. dont beileve? why dont you wait in front of his office in putra jaya u will c him been driven in perdana or if you seen him driving then it will be his fav kembara..

i bet ifs not for him most of average malaysian wont be able to drive an affodable car..

Korean car aint no better then the malaysian make at least you dont c the majotity of malaysian cars broke down after a year of usage .. but i see korean car broke down everday..

thats why am proud to own a malaysian car

• benunited on Nov 02, 2005 at 6:43 pm

MoMoSosicko: u r so true…DrM do drive proton…i saw once..

MAt tOUGH: ur half true man…all DrM chronies drove mega-machines such as Merc, bmw etc…shit…

fyi, Proton has provided DrM 7 luxury cars for his personal use…but after his 'apprentice' got kicked out, he returned all the cars to Proton…and all the 7 cars were not Proton cars…i only know one, VW Toureg…pelik kan??..shit..

• Just a passer-by on Nov 09, 2005 at 2:40 am

hey guys..

try not to be prejudis on Korean cars… their tech is catching up. at least faster & doing better than potong. those who r condamning korean cars badly…face ur ignorance…

Drive an accent and compare it with wira waja & gen2… feels the difference in quality… then u comment. :> at least no cheappy looking PVC stuff inside, ok.

the design is old 90s from european market for sure.. but with its quality, for RM60k in malaysia, what better car u can get? gen2? if u want a leaking roof. waja? suit urself. toyota & honda? get urself another 30k before thinking about it.

Sonata looks ugly? no way man… the old sonata we have in malaysia looks ugly.. the new one that is in foreign market looks grand!!

world is changing… but some people's mind remain & continue to rott…

• Just a passer-by: yes, I agree with u

• sunni on Nov 11, 2005 at 7:45 am

hyundai accent betterthan potong car

• Hyundai accent design for me is so-so with current Wira. Maybe their interior is better. But I like the Optima, looks cooler than PV6.

• Hacker on Nov 11, 2005 at 8:36 pm

want buy it, go for it..

no buy it, what the hell talk much here…Shitt

• Anti Hacker on Nov 12, 2005 at 6:41 pm

To Hacker: so do you, talking siht here, lol

• Saudaramu on Nov 21, 2005 at 9:10 am

FYI, I have saw the new sport edition RXS in show room recently, look nicer and not expensive. My friend brought the standard version last year and found the condition extremely good. The maintanance and parts are cheaper than Proton cars. The passenger seats also better than toyota VIOS.

• Strider on Dec 11, 2005 at 9:06 am

d accent well…d design may not b all that great but d RX-S version looks better. If u wanna choose between waja,gen-2 n accent well i say d accent will b d rite choice coz d pakkage that u get wit dis car suprises u 4 d price they r offering wen check it out at dealers . d built quality,ride n handling, NVH is as good as japanese cars or better which r on our road currently in M'sia….The transmission is smooth… no lag. Do u 1 2 suffer wit proton cars n spending all your money till u get sick n tired of fixing d problems d cars throws at u tat is actually not rocket science?? i dun think so…

• Tachi on Dec 24, 2005 at 6:27 pm

Ok, this is the ugliest Accent of the lot. Just to clear up any confusion, this is what I'd call the mk3, and just to refresh your memories, here are links to mk1 and mk2 (copy and paste them seeing as I dunno if HTML will work and can't be bothered to write it out if it doesn't):

mk1 Coupé (presume this one's an American 'cause of all the added orange bits) – http://www.autoguideniagara.com/tic-tac-towing/ca…

mk1 (mine!) – http://myspace-775.vo.llnwd.net/00328/57/78/32846…

mk2 – http://www.autogazeta.com/g/371/Accent.jpg

mk2 WRC model (TASTY!) – http://www.ottawahyundai.com/oh04/news/images/aut…

Ok, I don't know where you guys are from but have you seen these before or am I just being patronizing here?! It doesn't take a genius to see that the latest Accent is UGLY and the 2006 model, although featuring curves (not seen since the mk1!) just looks… wrong! The SR however – MAKE IT!!!!!

Just my two cents.

• Tachi on Dec 24, 2005 at 6:36 pm

Oh and one other thing, I wasn't even aware that we still had Protons in the UK until I visited www.proton.co.uk – I've never seen any of them!!!

And enough of the Korean car bashing.

• badak on Jan 01, 2006 at 8:35 pm

Dear friends,

Please have a look on the comments from a car users of Hyundai Accent:

http://blog.kslim.net/?p=26

• Cool Freedom on Jan 01, 2006 at 9:52 pm

From what we see is Proton cars' quality 20 years no changes… but other cars are keep enhancing. So, I will go for New Hyundai Accent!

Drive it and feel the difference on the Road…..

• Boycott P1 and (mayb on Jan 02, 2006 at 10:47 pm

I have personally test-driven the Hyundai Accent b4, so those Korean Car bashers can BACK OFF!!!

That day I drove my old el cheapo 1994 carburetor 1.5 Wira auto to the Kah Bintang showroom to test-drive the Accent. The moment I sit inside I was like, "Better than ANY Protong car!" No cheap-looking plasticky dashboard here!

The handling is superb and when cornering at moderate speeds, the bodyroll is minimal. The greatest of all is when I purposely drive over a few potholes and under-brake when passing a road hump. The result? I hardly feel anything!

Hats off to Hyundai. Plus, the Kah Bintang saleperson (Jacky) is so helpful and courteous even on the day when I told him that my mum has finally decided on the MYVI, which I am STILL waiting for today, after 6 months!!!

• yazid on Jan 07, 2006 at 1:10 am

no fight pls.we're harmonious country.

pro's & con's

proton accent

air bag w/out air bag

low quality better a bit

old fashion (10 yrs model?) new released ma…

others…?

anyway…where shud i go for Accent RXS

• Rafiq accent evo8 (Member) on Feb 12, 2006 at 12:07 am

i have change my engine 1.5sohc into engine mitsubishi evo8 with turbo garret from apexi and intercooler from HKS… and it take with a new bhp (350BHP). everthing i change! only the body still remain the same RX-Sport bodykit. for u info.. my car body can carry the mitsubishi evo8 engine without get any problem at all. only the blind and still follow the kampung style see the accent look like a old model car but for me… it's still the best car i have…. call me if u want to try it at drift or drag….. or want to challenge my car…0127285629! i dare to challenge u all

• eugene jk (Member) on Jun 05, 2006 at 10:58 pm

hey Rafiq, u make me jeolous la.. so can Accent (FF) really drift?? I hav a GLS version. It definately feels yummy to have 350BHP under the hoot :D. Feel free to share with us in this forum www.myaccentclub.com

Opps, btw, HYUNDAI ACCENT ROCKS..

Those ppl who keep on bashing on Hyundai cars, don't think that Accent owners like us had never tested on Proton cars before. Maybe you guys have never tested on Accent before but only ur Proton cars.

• peromyvi (Member) on Aug 04, 2006 at 5:40 am

This accent is an outdated model with 1.5 SOHC engine. The new replacement are sold as Hyundai Verna in Singapore with 1.4 and 1.6 engine DOHC engine.