Prodrive P2

I previously posted on the Prodrive P2 Concept back in mid-December last year. What we had before are only concept drawings, but these are photos of the proper 2-seater sports car, which went from concept to a fully working model in just 9 months. Stunning development time!

The Prodrive P2 is a 2-door, 2-seater sports car and uses a Subaru flat four boxer engine tuned by Prodrive to propel it to great speeds. Perfect for those who love the power and sound of Subaru’s boxer engine but want it in a proper sports car body, not a rally sedan.

The Prodrive P2 also uses Subaru’s all-wheel drive system and gearbox with enhanced with Prodrive’s ATD system. The ATD (Active Torque Dynamics) system basically uses an active centre and rear differential to adjust torque split between front and rear wheels. Nothing too high tech and pretty common these days in high performance cars but it does do it’s job! Of course, it’s optimized by Prodrive. Data is fed to the ATD through numerous sensors like yaw, steering angle, and wheel speed sensors.

Another enhancement to the car’s performance over a stock Subaru boxer powered car is Prodrive’s ALS system. Prodrive’s ALS is an anti-lag system (guess what ALS stands for, hehe) that keeps the boost up even at low engine speeds and during gear changes. This results in better throttle response. None of that cursed turbo lag when exhaust flow slows down during gear changes and low RPM engine speeds causing the turbine to slow down. If you translate this to figures on the paper, it means almost double the engine torque at low RPM speeds compared to the same Subaru boxer engine with the Prodrive ALS anti-lag. The ALS was adapted from Prodrive’s pure rally cars and suited to normal road use, as rally driving and road driving has different throttle behaviours.

The Prodrive P2 ends up with good power figures of 349PS and 575Nm of torque coming from it’s 2.0 litre 16 valve DOHC boxer engine. Considering the car is only 1100kg, that’s much more than enough power to give you a thrilling driving experience. Plus in a 2-door 2-seater, it gives you the proper sports car feel for those who doesn’t like sedans.

Top Gear tests the Prodrive P2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DAN (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 8:49 am

we love this car !

• johan artistry (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 8:50 am

hmm nice ooneee

• Isamu (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 8:51 am

Great car! Nice work Paul.. I think this car has one thing in common with the MG XPower, they both look utterly BRUTAL..!!

• chuamike (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 4:11 pm

Lovely :)

• rexis (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 5:06 pm

When i first see P2 i thought of…

• lance (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 6:04 pm

This one looks good and with Subaru engine & drive train – i think it will drive well too… Looking forward to this … if it ever comes to MY (yeah, and at what cost to us … sigh… so sad)

• pycazu (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 8:13 pm

yup, rexis… it's baffled me, really a shock when d photos was lauching.

But, sigh, all excitement gone with d wording "subaru".

btw, this is really damn handsome power house to me, near to 400PS, man!

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Jan 27, 2006 at 12:48 am

I went to the Birmingham Autoshow the other day when this car was unveiled to the public. Really have to say it was one of the eye catchers of the show. To be honest the pics doesn't reallydo justice for the car, it's a bit more flashy in the flesh.

• aesthari (Member) on Jan 27, 2006 at 7:04 am

Love the tail, the car looks so bare on the outside, no-frills.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 28, 2006 at 7:06 am

the front grill and lights are a lil fussy dun ya think? might date fast, but it's a real looker all the same :D

• vic (Member) on Mar 10, 2006 at 10:25 pm

the body of the car looks straong, powerful engine and futuristic interior. Great!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 02, 2007 at 10:19 am

Why can't anyone here manufacture this!?

• Anyone knows what mods have been done to the p2 so I had mod my s t I to make the sick squirrel noise