Top Gear Prodrive P2

Top Gear tries out the Prodrive P2, Prodrive’s first entirely self-developed car using a Subaru Impreza turbocharged flat-four engine. The Prodrive P2 went from concept to a full working model in only 9 months. It’s a 2 seater, and features all wheel drive. The boxer engine gives it good power figures of 349PS and 575Nm of torque for a 1100kg car. And something I didn’t know, the Prodrive P2 was actually based on the Subaru R1 chassis. Check the video out after the jump!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:22 pm

Muscle yes, look yuk.

• Tracks (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:40 pm

Amazing cars with an excellent traction systems. Since Prodrive doesn't want to build it, perhaps proton should hire them and buy-over the tech & design to build it instead. But then, quality would be questionable subject again. definetely a great handling car especially when it was able to beat my favourite car, Mitsubishi Evo FQ-400.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:40 pm

hhmm…quite a big margin at the lap time…is it a really new technology or others makers already had similar like that???paul…hv any idea…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 4:42 pm

that system is similar to traction system but is it anything special with that system or really similar to the traction system??

• KY (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 5:02 pm

I actually read PERODUA. hahahahaha.

• scudracer (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 6:02 pm

Based on Subaru R1? Isn't that a joke?

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2006 at 6:22 pm

scudracer: not a joke! it's really based on the r1.

the traction control is prodrive's own ATD (Active Torque Dynamics) technology. Prodrive also has ATD for the subaru impreza and a front wheel drive version for a ford focus rs.

• cyborgx (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 9:19 pm

this car here can easily take over an Evo. Evo Replacement Model! lol

• E s s h i g e (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 11:14 pm

JC is a joker. i enjoy his show tho. funny antics.

one thg abt sport cars like tis is theyr to dream only rather than more practical road driving with four doors the latter one is more appealing, myb its jus me. like the evo power handling performance, bmw m3 sleek, luxury, comfort, yet easily deliver 200NM torque at 2L these are much much more desirable.

additionaly, u don really utilise the power available in the sport car. given a m3, if u can really strut to the maximum 200torque thts equally impressive on our road.

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 3:30 am

Wow… superb car there.. it got great handling there. But it wont be in production anyway.. JC really good, can drive nearly all the cars produced and not produced. Really wanna be like him someday… He drove every super cars in the world! oh my gosh…

• jzkzlz (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 4:46 am

Cool…..

Nice Engine & BOV sound.

I hope we hav such rally engine transplant to proton..

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 8:02 am

Cool car, too bad it's not gonna be built, not that I can afford it :p

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 8:13 am

thanx 4 the info paul…

• tanyeehou (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 3:13 am

I was reading some engineering journals that I got from Monash's online archives and its stated that they use some form of recirculating exhaust system to boost low end torque. I'm not sure if its applied in this case as they were saying the transition (of what I don't remember) is too brutal.

• tanyeehou (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 3:18 am

OK I just watched the video and heard about the 'anti-lag' Anyway, if anyone wants the journal do contact me at [email protected]

• DAN (Member) on Jun 10, 2006 at 6:54 am

i love this car!. hope it will come to bolehland

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 1:19 am

Unfortunately this car isn't in production so it won't be here…