Chery QQ Crash Test

I posted on China’s various imitations of western and Japanese cars a long long time ago. One of the most blatant copies have been the Chevrolet Spark/Daewoo Matiz’s copy. Meet Shanghai Automotive Industry Corp’s Chevy QQ. It’s pretty hilarious really how they managed to transform Chevrolet’s pet name Chevy into Chery. The Chevrolet Spark is on sale here in Malaysia with an 800cc engine if I am not mistaken.

But do the imitations perform the same as the originals? Do Petaling Street Rolex watches last as long as the original? It depends on your luck really, but thankfully in the automotive world we have something called crasjh tests so we can at least measure a car’s safety performance.

Here is the original Daewoo Matiz/Chevrolet Spark’s crash test, along with a chart displaying areas where the driver and passanger gets the most injuries.

cheryqq_daewoo.jpg

And here is the Chery QQ. I’ll let the photos do the explanation.

cheryqq_cheryqq.jpg

More photos of the crash test:

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 18, 2006 at 6:50 pm

wow, driver is in trouble when driving this car. passenger is much safer. who wan to drive a car like tat.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Feb 18, 2006 at 8:59 pm

aaa….i think this car …..aaa……. think first …….

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 18, 2006 at 10:43 pm

I was expecting the worst but the would be passenger in the Chery sustained less injuries than the passenger in the Daewoo Matiz/Chevrolet Spark. Nevertheless I wouldn't want to call shotgun when riding in that car.

Lets just hope that the speculated partnership between Proton and JinHua will not contribute to developments of cars like the Chery above.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 12:23 am

Less injuries compared to Matiz??? cbljkkj, try take a look again, this time look very, very carefully… what tells u that passengers in Chery "sustained less injuries" than the passenger in the Daewoo Matiz/Chevrolet Spark?

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 4:06 am

HatukNgkau ,

That is the conclusion shown on the chart. The passenger in a Cherry suffered less injury compare to the one in a Spark.

Look at the chart . cbljkkj is right.

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 6:51 am

when u get a chance to be in this car……….choose to be the passenger rather than the driver, if not, u r putting urself at a terrible risk.

• gowin (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 9:06 am

when got serious accident, sure got injuries…somemore this one is a small car.

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 11:06 am

I wouldn't even get close to one!

• Tourist (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 5:05 pm

Hi askMs. That is easier said then done. Would you still not want to ride in one if the other alternatives are taking a bus or walking in the rain? I don't think so and that's why there are so many Kancils on the road.

Often in life, we don't always get what we wanted, like Rolls Royce and Angelina Jolie.

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 7:04 pm

Tourist said,

———————————–

Nicely said brother…especially the Angelina Jolie part…….whew !!!

• outspoken (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 10:12 pm

i though red zone means serious injuries? in that case, cherry qq definitely fair worst..

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 4:17 am

outspoken said,

—————————————-

For the driver side , cherry definitely fared much worse.

But somehow , the passenger side indicate it is safer in a cherry compare to a spark/matiz.

• clark_kent (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 3:04 am

Guys, if you look at the pic carefully, the impact point is on the driver's side. From that itself, we can't conclude that the passenger's side would be safe enough to sit in right? The yellow/brown mamak stall-like thingy in the 2nd last pic. Agree not? But anyway, i'd still think that this car's a teeny weeny bit tougher than our kancil. Hehehe…

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 3:31 am

clark_kent said

—————————

The NCAP conclusion is that the cherry passenger may suffered lesser injury compare to a passenger in a spark. It did not specifically mentioned it is safe or no injury for the spark passenger.

As for the mamak stall-like thing , pls lah , this is the NCAP test we are talking here. Not some back alley garage owned by ah meng or ahmad lah.

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 3:47 am

Hello Mr Tourist,

I'd rather take other types of transportation than ride in one, thank you. Be it a beat up Kancil or leak roof Myvi or jammed door Gen.2. If the buses are too packed, I'll take a cab. As long as it's not a Cherry. I made up my mind. Don't take it personal.

• clark_kent (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 11:20 am

stevarac:

i did not say that it IS a mamak stall. It's just an expression to show which part of the picture im refering to, coz of the painting. Of coz i know its not a back door garage or what ever u were thinking… like DuH~!!!

What i would be interested is that what IF the test was taken with a direct head-on impact, that i believe would make difference to the entire 'injury- analysis graph' (dunno what's it called).

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 5:30 am

Oh my……HAHAHAHAA!!!

Now, that's very-very ambitious. Has anyone notice the tachometer of this Cherry? Read the top speed. 220km/h???? WTF??!! A car that size doing 110km/h already feels like swinging from left to right on the highway. Who are they tryin to kid?

• BOYBOY (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 6:52 am

hello everybody, I just have a question, the question is the crash test result for QQ is not published in the EuroNCAP official web!
    http://www.euroncap.com/content/safety_ratings/ra…

So, I want ask, is the result valid? if yes, why the EuroNCAP never put the result to publish on their official web?

does anyone give me the answer?

I don't mean that QQ is good or not. i just want the truth. DO NOT cheat me anymore..

• plumber2 (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 4:48 am

this kind of impact nobody can walk out without injure , i think China can make any specification that meet EuroNCAP want lah , just like China selling

those shoes in Europe country, this is another pretext use to kick away China products , they will set-up another standard or ..somethings to tell evry ones …….just to protect thier themself and thier market

• james81 (Member) on Feb 25, 2006 at 7:47 pm

here one point must be noted:

The CHERY QQ in this test is the version WITHOUT AIR BAG,but the martiz equipped, so the compare is unfair.this test is preformed in Russia according to NCAP stardand. that is 64km/h.although QQ is NOT EQUIPPED with air bag,the passenger is safer than the one in Martiz.the QQ has the version with DUAL AIR BAGS, if QQ in the test is DUAL AIR BAG version, the result will be much better.

• solomon (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 8:18 am

this is an unfair test. As I know, Chevrolet Spark cannot even pass the China national crush test either! But Chery pass the national test. here's the webiste:
    http://www.qxtx.com/newsshow.asp?newsid=528
    it's obviously business trap from Chery's competitors in China, and GM is most possible the bad guy.

Why these guys not to test with a Chevrolet Spark car? it's worse than Chery QQ! hehehe….

• egytuner (Member) on Mar 03, 2006 at 11:10 pm

well, here we go…

The chery QQ is based on the daewoo matiz, by GM. Which is called spark elsawhere… anyways.

EuroNcap Matiz crash test.

http://www.euroncap.com/content/safety_ratings/de…

Which states that on frontal impact:

" the driver still contacted the steering wheel with his chest which lost marks. Hard structures under the facia were hazardous to the driver’s knees, and the brake pedal was hazardous to the feet."

& i think this is exactly what we can see in the QQ pictures. So i guess they are both tipical . During what happened. ( for the driver ).

reply back :)

• nkhhenry (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 12:13 am

waw, the crash worse than riding a scooter!!!! is oklah cos china still hv a lot more people 4 accident die…..how can china govt approved QQ road safety control n standard?????

• kt71 (Member) on Jul 02, 2006 at 11:03 pm

Don't trust anything that is not 'yet' in EuroNcap official website. Chery managed to copy Spark, it might as well 'copied' the crash results too !

• mcch8855 (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 9:40 pm

how to proof this is true Chery QQ car??????

• taras (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 2:37 am

This crash test was performed in Russia, in NICIAMT passive safety laboratory; test was ordered by Autoreview magazine.

The car was bought anonymously in one of Chery dealerships.

The red car above is Daewoo Matiz built in Uzbekistan (rather popular car in Russia), and tested earlier in the same laboratory. It was not equipped with airbags (all Uzbek Matizs are not equipped with them).

The article and some data on this crashtest:
    http://www.autoreview.ru/archive/2006/01/CheryQQ/

• adamccl (Member) on Nov 28, 2007 at 10:14 pm

Simple conclusion =
    Aesthetics – Yes (Look at its cute front!), best for unique car collectors!
    Safety – I DON’T think so, Airbags only for body, legs surely recieve injuries.

• GremlinSA (Member) on Jan 24, 2009 at 6:05 am

“A car that size doing 110km/h already feels like swinging from left to right on the highway. Who are they tryin to kid?”

Well I purchased a QQ last month, and i’m no softy with cars, and have written of two cars (one twice). The Chery QQ has pretty good handeling, I’ve driven a Uno, and a Matiz, and neither felt as comfortable on the road as the QQ.. I’ve topped 140Km/h and there was no swinging or fish tailing.

The braking is also true, and sharp. On the day that we got the vehicle, some Blond Bimbo jumped a Stop in front of us, and to top it, the roads were wet after a heavy downpour. Needless to say, the QQ stopped on a dime.

For the Price, Fuel economy, look & Interior space, the car was a very good buy.. (Also i need something to slow me down)

• Hi Guys, I bought a QQ TXE last year in December. I drove with it 44 kms daily. It is a 1100 engine with automatic/manual, dual airbags. I drove with it, with me or 3 people in the car at 130km/s. ref counters sits on 4700. I know it is fast but that car no ways swing from left to right, it stays stuck on it’s 4 rims an ever go lucky all the way. I had issues with my airbag light, it cam ons a few times, took it in and found that the airbag plug under the passenger’s side was loose, was fixed and happen again. Agent fixed it once again.
      This car is excellent in traffic that runs grid locked 15+ km /h. The unfortunate is that is the traffic is standing still, and you get to go less t hat 15km/h, the poor car computer tries to compensate the for clutch grip all the time, but i have learned to cominsate negatively and it works for me. I have a Jaguar at home sitting nicely in my garage, I enjoy the Jag in open traffic, but the same with the QQ TXE in the grid traffic.
      My 2 cents

Br

• Fiona on Jul 05, 2010 at 8:27 pm

afternoon Hein, after your comment on this, looking at it two months down the line, do you still think it is a good buy. It is for my sister and them (who can’t even afford any new car!), so they do most of their driving in and around Pretoria area (on child of 10). so I don’t see why they really need more. I love speed and open roads, but the closest they get to it is when visiting me in Secunda, and with our potholes a whole lot of other issues pop up even with the smartest most expensive cars. And really on our roads, shouldn’t 120 km/h be more than enough for the average driver to be able to reach? Speeding maniacs are a scarry thing, especially if it is just people who drive cars that think they drive well!!!!!!!
        What do you think? For the around Pretoria purpose, once a month the 200km to Secunda, isn’t this all they should actually need?
        Hope you comment.
        Thanks
        fiona

• heinkoch on Jul 05, 2010 at 8:59 pm

Hello Fiona
          I am still very happy with this car. I bought this car because of it’s safety. It has the airbags for both the front seat and the driver seat. It has ABS. These are the safety factors i considered when i was looking for something small and decided to take the QQ.

Look the car looks terribly small from the outside, inside you are very surprised. It is spacious. I would advise you not to go lower than the 1100 engine. The 800cc you need to press it harder to get somewhere. The 1100 does just fine. For around Pretoria, wonderful. I drive mine ever 2nd day from pta to rivonia. And my speed is 110 in average. I have once or twice took it to 130, it feels okay with 3 full grown people in it. It does not tend to go from the left to the right and vise versa due to wind. It sits static. My airbag once or twice popped a warning light on the dash and i took it in and the little connection under the panel in the front passenger side got loose, the connector was just a bit stiff, now still good. My engine is semi automatic. Even driving in automatic by just pushing the stick forward it will allow you to change gears separately and then will correct it self. While in automatic you can let it go lower in gear if you need power without pressing the pedal through the carpet. Same if you feel the car take to long to to a better gear, it will allow you. Mostly i drive it with the automatic off, changing my gears on my own as i choose. When you stop, it will correct it self according to your speed by lowering gears. SO, you have a choice how to drive your gears. SO i believe the QQ is good and very practical. Getting to a crossing, you can simply touch the gear stick to the right, the car will go out of gears and you can free to your crossing, preparing to drive ahead, just step on the break and push forward with the stick and gear 1 you go. When idling at a intersection it is advisable to take it our of gears to help you clucth not spinning all the time against the gears, bigger cars does not have this issue.

My service spanner has popped on the dash , little red light at 5000 km, but it is due for service at 15000km. I phoned the agent and they confirmed i can still drive till 15000. Service centres are Pretoria mid town and Midrand and Sandton. Service at the midrand Oliefantsfontein is really good, professional. Fast. So i have not seen any negativity on this QQ yet.

O do not bother with road ragers. You will get them every where. Even if they chase you on your bumper, they still can not touch you, cause if they do, they will find them in with lot of problems from your insurance, police and attorneys :-) with lots of consequences up his way. But look , it is not only happening with the QQ, it happens with my jag as well. So, do not feel intimidated. Enjoy the QQ as it is the smallest best thing i have came across with a 1100 engine.

Best regards
          Hein

• tvtsolution on Apr 21, 2009 at 2:19 am

With above discussion, we should buy old car but more safer for driver & passenger or buy qq3?

• shepherd on Sep 09, 2009 at 6:33 pm

bull shit!

• Lucas on Sep 18, 2009 at 11:26 am

I drive a GM Corsa in Brazil. I happened to drive many other brands with a car quality offered in Brazil (which is terrible). Many car spare parts are produced in China, including tyres, machanical parts and screen wipers. I once bought a pair of windscreen wiper for the car and I got a damaged glass. The rubber detached from the metal part and scratched my windsreen. I promised that I will neve buy Chinese products again. Never!!!

• Andrew on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:42 pm

So, you dont have any more Chinese Produts in your house?
      everything is Made in China… just see the label.

• sorry about my spelling, at the moment not my brightest in a office of no circulation..:(

• look at the investment news in the QQ too,.
      isnt alot of foreign JV being added included Fiat and US manufactuer taken up
      some kind of this cherry into their small car segments.

does this company relied on those test mentioned here or they have
      thier own test .

I am sure these are better proof

• Waleed on Jun 01, 2010 at 2:15 pm

Dear !!!
    Allow to me at first introduce my self my name is Waleed, from Iraq – Mosul City, my old 24 years. I bought a car ( CHERY QQ ), it’s very good car according to my opinion but there is only a one problem, the problem is that I hered a noise in the gear and this noise I hered it in all the new car that I’m tried it before I buy…So how can I fix it …Please a nswer me it will be nice from you if you are learn me how can i fix it…..Yours Waleed from iraq

• This is amazing surprise B/c in this danger situation driver will be safe nice,

• henry on Oct 25, 2010 at 4:30 am

id rather have one than none :D

• NO ONE on Feb 17, 2011 at 8:25 pm

THIS CAR IS VERY GOOD, THE DIE IS VERY FAST, PEOPLE DO NOT SUFFER A LOT TO DIE!

• AMILA ALWIS JAYATHILAKA on Sep 22, 2011 at 7:12 pm

I think this is a good and ecconomical car.

• QQ, WTF?? on Jun 10, 2012 at 10:10 am

First of all… QQ, wtf?! Does the target group consist of 3 years olds or smth?
    Second… I lived in China well enough long to dispise a nation that takes pride in stealing and immitating others’ intellectual property, rather than creating its own.
    Third… I’ve seen Matiz and QQ along each other – QQ looks like a cute funny cartoon, almost making my heart cry with how horrifically UNCAPABLE Chinese engineers are in designing smth themSELVES, and as for the tech performance – I’d refer to the pic where the steering wheel penetrates clearly the driver’s tigh (of course, with an air-bag, you cannot spoil your make-up too much).
    Next – if a car’s cost is same as the cost of a key-holder, well, be my guest purchasing one wherever you need to. But plsss spare me the talk that since it moves on the road with above 100 and takes turns, it’s safe enough to drive! Just pray you don’t drive it in China – guys there can basically do only that, move ahead, take turns, and brake (to trow a NOISY spit off the window). See in YouTube if you’re sceptical!
    And next – how the hell would you expect a car of a size of a matchbox to swift erratically to left or right since it’s neither tall, nor heavy, nor speedy?!? Any knowledge of dynamics, forces, etc.? Try with a real car (SUV), not with Kindersurpriz! But I do believe though that Cutie Cherry performs better than a bike, sure thing.
    And last, to the author – I come along your post for second time now, first was in 2008… my due respects, whatever you see on that pictures, I see it too! They only prove what I believe I know by heart – that people, copying pioneers thru the undermining Chinese way (making cartoon cars with heart-shaped front lights and little grid-smiles and M-shaped moustaches, gaaaaash!!!!), can only copy for a price to fully correspond the product quality (given Cherry’s sold in Burma, not in EU, if I am correct). Man, I saw Chinese makers on huge ‘n lavish autoshow displaying cars with pittiful ordinary bouquet ribbons on the door handles, these toddlers, though rich, fall simply sooo far behind the Big Players of This Business… in an urge to sell Asian cheap chick where others sell HISTORY, WORLD-PROVEN QUALITY, LEAD-CLASS TECHNOLOGIES, AND TRADITIONS!! A handfull of rabbits with big pocket and flower ribbons, jumping around lions! :-D

And, yeah… to all of you. Pls have a look on how UNBEARABLY ugly Baidu.com is and what a blatant ‘n rubbish copy of Google it is, and then think again… is China really able to produce real vehicles, given that out of a billion and a quarter citizens, they couldn’t find just 3 to design better? ;)
    Cheers to all!

• Nanz Palican on Jun 26, 2012 at 6:22 pm

I think chery qq is quite accepted here in the philippines..good car for traffic drives and good car for small streets…well, anybody who runs 220 kms/hr will surely meet angels when accident happens..A responsible driver will not run a 220 kms/hr its just a matter of choice…
    Responsible driving attitude and keeping a prayer every time those wheels roll surely will be a safe journey..

• traficante on Aug 31, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Thanks a lot a whole lot regarding giving the following with you you know what you might be discussing! Saved. Make sure you likewise check with this site Means).. traficante We will have a very exchanging links design between people

• I Have a BMW and a Cherry 1.1, nothing wrong with the Cherry, drove it 140kms, no problem, spacious and ideal car to move around, people say its a cute car and it is reliable.