New Toyota and Lexus CBU models by end 2006

new_camry_taiwan.jpg

UMW Toyota gave us an insight into their plans for the rest of the year at their AGM yesterday. There are plans to introduce the new 2007 Toyota Camry by year-end 2006, and also bring in the Lexus marque in CBU form.

However to proceed with these plans Toyota requires more Approved Permits (APs) from the government. Even with the current situation with three CBU models (Yaris, Wish, RAV4) there are not enough APs to go around, so sales of the Yaris and Wish could not be pushed as much as they would like to, but still manageable.

Looking at Toyota Japan’s line-up and the current grey-import market in Malaysia, the new CBU models would likely be the Toyota Harrier luxury SUV and the Toyota Estima large MPV.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:00 pm

AM i 1st? Well well well… we only get the TAIWAN and AUSSIE (ISSIT?) VERSION this time around. I like the US version better. This one doesn't looks sporty enough.

http://camry.toyota.com.tw/

I was waiting for the LEXUS IS but then again… its more towards luxury than sporty.DAMD

http://lexus.jp/models/is/index.html

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:26 pm

i think the new IS is sporty and feels luxury…better than the old own..spot one in naza a few months back…i dunno the displacement for that IS but the price is 300k and above…and the GS is above 500k…but i quite shocked of the IS price…mahal ma…i think maybe that one is IS250…and IS350 should be more xpensive…damn xpensive…

better wait for a alfa 159…better than this car but still between the 3 er…the dsg..way ahead of 3 er and IS…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:31 pm

'better than this car but still between the 3 er'…

ooppps…sori…not between..but behind…

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 6:47 pm

Well seems like Toyota is aiming for high end markets nowadays as we can see the previous launching of the Wish n Yaris costs nearly rm10k and above… n the Camry, Lexus, Estima and Harrier all are high prices here… is it that there's too much competition for lower price vehicle markets? But this Camry in the picture looks good to me… from this angle…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:01 pm

this camry is quite nice..not like b4…not proportion..this one seems nice…rear end look like the lexus GS…which version is this??paul??isit a us version or wut??

• Paul Tan on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:05 pm

the camry above is not the US version.

• Initial D (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 7:12 pm

aiyo….AP problem again……sei la……alwaz APs……….shud abolish the AP long time ago!!!!

Not surprising if toyota doesn't want to push 4 more models to malaysia…..if stil nt enuf APs….

Anyway, the camry rili looks nice……………beautiful!!!!!!!

Cheers!!!!!

• stephenstreets (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 9:40 pm

LOOKS BEAUTIFULL, i do hope i could afford it, i really like the front bit,looks very sophisticate and big

• revver (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 10:30 pm

gursy looking new camry. looks tougher than us version. really hope they'd improved the interior. really hate the previous one. boring looking i say.

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 10:40 pm

Yup overall it looks better than the US version IMO.

This grill is much better than the US version. Subtle diferences but somehow feels so much nicer here.

Headlights look a bit plain here though. I think I prefer US version headlights instead.

• Charger (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 10:48 pm

This Camry looks so much better than this ugly pie down here.
    http://paultan.org/archives/2006/02/25/2007-toyot…

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 10:59 pm

Wow, love the design of the IS250 and 350, both are very elegant and sporty!

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 16, 2006 at 11:04 pm

this asian version of camry looks more elegant and classy than the us version..

again.. i believe this beuaty will cost us around RM135k for the entry level of 2.0L. welldone toyota, please bring more models into malaysia.. abolish those stupid APs…..

• szw (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 6:50 pm

its still a camry no matter wat dey do .

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jun 17, 2006 at 7:18 pm

Not BaD….. But i WISHH….OnE dAy LeXuS n tOyOtA Will CoMbInEd DesIgn A SpeCiAl eDiTioN……

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 18, 2006 at 1:55 am

wut do u mean by combined and special edition…they hv combined it…ok…for lexus IS…it is toyota altezza…for lexus GS…it is toyota aristo…for lexus rx…it is toyota harrier…for lexus sc….it is the soarer for toyota…already combined…but the high tuned…they jz using the toyota version….not the lexus…it is wut they doned to the altezza,soarer,aristo even harrier for the special edition and tune up version…

• KingKong (Member) on Jun 18, 2006 at 1:39 pm

"this asian version of camry looks more elegant and classy than the us version.."

Foreign carmakers build their car based-on regional perspective.

they conduct survey and found out that asian love elegant design more than sporty design compare to european & american.

for american & european, they prefer the 1st version of Camry.

plus, they're smarter than us becoz asian only judge a car by the design.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 18, 2006 at 9:39 pm

Camry 2007 commercial

http://youtube.com/watch?v=EtFpbfh6TH0&search…

• raverus (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 5:18 pm

asian ONLY judge a car by design? ahahaha, tats a individual preference mate, and that doesn't even mean we are any less smarter. Everyone got a choice to buy btw a giordano jeans or a levis jeans.

• kendo (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 6:49 pm

NOT ENOUGH AP WAH?

HOW MANY U WANT?

1 AP X RM30K

10,000 AP = RM 30 MILLION

I CAN GET IT FOR YOU

FROM

FAT LADY'S GANGS" LAH!!!

• kendo (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 6:51 pm

(UH, ….)

1 AP X RM30K

10,000 AP =

RM 300 MILLION!!!!!

• kendo (Member) on Jun 19, 2006 at 7:05 pm

so, i can use that EASY MONIES

to build

naza2, potong3

• V_NoZ (Member) on Jun 20, 2006 at 8:23 am

the new camry look fantastic.. might give the accord run for its money. i notice that the camry has a host of new features and toys compared with Accord. iam sure it will do well here. its almost like lexus size and almost at huge as the new S if iam not mistaken.

• king (Member) on Jun 21, 2006 at 7:48 am

asians judge by design?? the current camry is so FUGLY inside out and yet i see it everywhere.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 5:55 pm

yeah, but still the new camry looks elegant enough to capture the accord market. but still no live example of the car, so no idea what it would look like in real world. got conned already by few commercial before hehehe…

just for tot, hyundai have their new azera and sonata 2.4 in the stable. looks good (as usual), but not very much on the road. more accord-like me think, with almost in the same price category…

• faisal7379 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 12:29 am

so far, this is the best Camry. The front and rear kooks great. Better than all the Camry's before. Either the front looks good and the rear look ugly or vice versa. This time its perfect I would say..Good job Toyota!

• muhammad ahsan on Nov 21, 2010 at 2:23 am

i like this camry very fantastic shape

• muhammad ahsan on Nov 21, 2010 at 2:24 am

i like this camry