Kia pro_cee’d Concept at Paris

proceed1.jpg

We’ve seen the Kia cee’d five-door hatchback, Kia’s C-segment competitor for the European market. Kia announced that soon after the 5-door hatch is launched, a station wagon version as well as a sporty 3-door version will be launched. This is the Kia pro_cee’d hatchback, to be shown at the Paris Motor Show later this month alongside it’s production 5-door cee’d brother.

The Kia pro_cee’d concept was developed by Kia’s team in Russelsheim under it’s design chief Gegory Guillaume. The concept comes in a colour Kia called Cashew – which is somewhat like a flat brown but with a small percentage of metal flakes to give it a little sparkle. The pro_cee’d has a roofline 25mm lower compared to the production 5-door cee’d, to give it a sportier image. Further enhancing it’s sporty image is the huge 19 inch wheels that fill up the wheel arches, wrapped with 265/30/R19 tyres.

More images after the jump.

proceed2.jpg

proceed3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aileron (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 3:58 am

this is a seriously good looking car,

hopefully the production car based from this concept car will be the same.

even the interior looks all classy and modern

the curves and the design cue is dynamic and sporty, looks like a high

end expensive toyota or lexus, really good indeed

• szw (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:04 am

da exterior looks nice but da interior too over design

• nmh (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:19 am

i like murano-ish rear

• yientau (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:29 am

yeah, the interior is over design…hope they can simplify it. Then it would be perfect !

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:35 am

Good looking car, no doubt about it. But I see a little Honda-ish steering design there. ^^

• AMG (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:51 am

This concept car is quite cool. Butwhy it's rear look like the Swift?

• J (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:13 am

Wow ! Now the new 3 months old Satria NEO seems out dated !

Looking at the history of Proton new model launches, I think NEO should be around for another decade :)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:51 am

J – beyond 2020, when our country achieve developed status and hopefully 1st mentality as well. But P1 will remain 3rd world design with 3rd grade product.

Back to topic, the tail light look like has Harrier DNA". But the steering look like proportionately big…

• kevyeoh (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 6:12 am

yeah…i think the interior should be much more simpler…

else…not bad at all for this car…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 6:32 am

audi steering no doubt..nice design..hate the chrome panels

• malayman (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 6:34 am

that is soooooooooooooooo not a kia…..

how to see that coming from the same guys who made the crap rio??!!!

whoaaaaaaa!!!!

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 6:41 am

Seriously nice car, too nice to be put into production anytime soon I think. If it is produced, I think it will look more conventional and not so futuristic-ish. I think the interior could look better without the silver bits.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 7:01 am

i wont hold my breath. but i hope they make it. push the bar up a bit. more expensive brands have to deliver better as well.

like the audi type steering wheel

• nutsaboutcars (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 7:06 am

though it is understandable that this is the sportier 3-door version, i think that it lacks ample outer view when seen from inside, especially when you're sitting at the rr seats, due to the rr door's relatively high b-line and small rr quarter glass…

and the inst panel is out of the question, no doubt… too much chrome-plating!

front grille looks plain simple, nothing much to talk about, but the h/lights thankfully balances everthing…

overall, 7.0 for exterior, 3.0 for the interior!

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 8:10 am

interior quite similar with 2007 civic type R…

but this one seems too much over design…

something like space craft or…star trek…

and alot of bling bling stuffs..

• armandd (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 8:17 am

of course all concept cars usually have high waistline, low roof, xtra large wheels etc to look good. i think the production version will be made with less extreme design.

• Jason (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 8:21 am

No shit, looks great la!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 8:43 am

Wow, is it me or is it that Kia cars are looking better and better by the year. Even I'm interested in the Kia Rio hatchback thats been roaming our roads lately. Agree with the trim being not so overdone if it is mass manufactured. I'm pretty sure they would tone it down.

• asimo (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 10:08 am

the rear lamp looks like wift,the front looks like yaris,the whole body,hmmm…..

• asimo (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 10:10 am

swift sorry….

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 1:50 pm

Rear end curve line reminds me of the new Focus ST. If it comes into production I think they will lose the chrome lining on the exterior. Yeah, a bit overdesign for the interior. But until we get to see more pictures of it, nothing much to say though. Paul, what's that on the roof? Is that a sunroof? It looks very small.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:19 pm

whats with the malaysian automotive public?

Almost every post of a new concept/new car, we always get , "..oh this looks like that car, that looks like this car".

I'm sure we can comment on a higher lvl than that. I can see some posters get the idea and thats what makes the difference.

When I see a new concept, I try to see the emotion and purpose that the designer wanted to convey. Often, pictures do little justice to a concept. No designer in thier right mind would want to copy another car.

Of course, I'm not naive to ignore some rather blatant copies around (ie. some chinese cars).

• w_lighter (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:42 pm

I seriously love the car look. Change the rim to a less bling2 one. Advanti maybe… mmm… delicious lookin car. The interior a little to much crome for my taste. But still the layout is still fine. Love the stearing tho… overall.. thumbs up

• kitman (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:54 pm

umm nice looking car but not much originality in design, the side profile especially the windows ripped from saab, from lights from acura rdx/mdx, rear murano/swift. ummm no wonder it looks good haha.

• kitman (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 4:55 pm

oh forgot to add, the steering wheel looks like it's from civic

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:12 pm

Total diferent design from Korean cars. Very continental look, muscular and sharp edges. Impressive.. Naza.., please bring this model into Malaysia :)

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:16 pm

wow, really nice car. kia has come a long way to come up with this baby. love the huge rims and the intergrated exhaust. however, they bling this up too much with the 'chrome here, chrome there….chrome everywhere la!' and also the dash looks messy because of it. would prefer a more garang front and mebbe a better colour than this cashew. prime colours (or their mix equivalent) or shade or black is still the way to go to make cars look really sporty for me.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:21 pm

huh, interior all black, sure wud hot like hell in msia, if park outside.. btw how ar to pronounce its name??.. name so weird la.. why not just "Proceed" instead…

• rexis (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:49 pm

Wow, although there is nothing super innovation or technologically advanced about their engines, Korea makers surely know how to play with sexy curves ;) They made really sexy cars.

Remind me of the malaysian couterpart…

• Xoomie (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:57 pm

That is sooooo not KIA !

How on earth that they can "concept" a car like that.

Check out the interior!!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 5:58 pm

sorry out of topic but still if this car do arrive to msian shore see howthe agent do the business

.G. TAN of Cheras is upset that Naza Motor Trading Sdn Bhd had refused to repair the defects on his new BMW735i.

“When I bought the car from Naza in June 2005, a few faults were noted upon delivery but they were rectified a week later. I was assured by the sales manager that the car comes with a one-year warranty.

“But last May, some faults appeared again, among which was the airbag fault that was noted in June last year.

“I obtained a quotation from Naza’s appointed workshop the same month, but it took Naza one month to tell me that they cannot approve the repairs. The reason given was that the warranty covers the engine and gearbox but not airbags,” says TAN.

Surprised and furious, TAN says he wrote to Naza on Aug 9 explaining the situation and requested that the company make good on their promise and warranty.

He says on Aug 16, Naza replied ‘Without Prejudice’, reiterating that their warranty covers only faulty engines and gearboxes and that repairs won’t be made.

“The amount for repairs is RM1,200, which I can afford, but to be cheated out of a warranty is unacceptable.”

NAZA Corporation Sdn Bhd senior executive for client management division, Dennis Michael, said the company has approved a goodwill warranty amounting to RM1,200 for TAN.

“The customer has has agreed to sendthe vehicle for rectification,” he says.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 6:10 pm

Huh? Which Korean car is sexy? It takes a German team to make it sexy. And Germans are not. Italians are intriguing. French is classy.

Nice renders. What did they use? An SGI running some obscure yet technically excellent rendering engine? Being a concept car, I wonder which part of this concept is going into final production. If Paul could show a concept and its production brethren, we could have a historical comparison. Because of the Teutonian input, its gonna cost a wee bit coz Kia have to pay for these designs.

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 6:22 pm

malayman said,

that is soooooooooooooooo not a kia…..

how to see that coming from the same guys who made the crap rio??!!!

whoaaaaaaa!!!!

Because some people have the desire to improve, while "others" just wait for handouts!!

Peace, man!

• xg9 (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 7:19 pm

nice weird rims

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 7:41 pm

Naza Motor & Naza Kia are two different companies within the same group. How can you throw in a BMW customer's allegations in a KIA discussion? Focus … focus … Yoda says.

Do you like it or not? Do you want it or not? What engine size? What pricing? What features? If so write down here so hopefully their R&D can read and take note.

• december (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 8:27 pm

Technically it's still the dog eating Korean crap. Sheesh gimme a break.

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 8:30 pm

I bet the car would not reach the shore of BolehLand as to protect the interest of P1.

• Khairy bin Tengku Ma (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 8:30 pm

It looks just like Nissan Sports Concept!

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 9:22 pm

usually for the autoshow concept car they'll put big2 rims, flashy bodyline profile, futuristics interior, big2 screen inside etc2, but when it comes to producition line there you can see 14' rims, flat bodyline, dull interior bla bla bla… must wait for the release version.. then can tell.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 9:58 pm

"december said,

September 20, 2006 @ 12:27 pm

Technically it’s still the dog eating Korean crap. Sheesh gimme a break.

"

Wow…thats mature….really really matured…..

Before you hand out such a blanket statement, some reasoning is warranted. Why do you think its that bad?

I've driven quite a few of them and even the last generation Korean cars would embarass P1's build quality. True some of the cheaper models may be built to a price. It feels cheap…but the thing is, it IS CHEAP. (and please dont use m'sian prices to compare, its artificial)

• african (Member) on Sep 20, 2006 at 11:24 pm

Stylist good looking car, I wonder what is it inside the bonnet ? Internal looks over complicated.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 12:06 am

Koreans really going out on all fours over the last decade.It is amazing to see them growing from nothing to a world ranking auto maker…Wish that our P1 & P2 can do likewise…

The designs? cant say much…they have their own taste…(pretty radical lately..) but they still sell out of Taxland/Bolehland..just cant understand why some ppl "shun" Korean cars..Maybe they should be behind a wheel of one first,then they know what they missed..( as i did..)

Anyway,-This car,(if it ever get into Taxland..) will certainly turn a few heads to see them on the road..

p/s i am driving both a P2 and a Korean car…

• Kaboda (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 12:17 am

Totally the case all the bling bling chrome interior makes it look bajet. Though the exterior is great for a Korean car. Guess one south east Asian country is moving forward with their car industry :)

#

szw said,

September 19, 2006 @ 8:04 pm

da exterior looks nice but da interior too over design

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 2:15 am

I remember reading that they headhunted a lot of Audi, Opel, etc. engineers to fill up their new European design studio. Looking at shape/size/concept, I think they are targetting VW Golf GTi, Honda Civic Type-R & Peugeot 307.

Got this from Car Design News website:

Frankfurt, Germany's financial capital and the geographical centre of Western Europe, is an area already home to design studios from GM and Honda, Hyundai-Kia, Mazda and Mitsubishi. Following in the wake of the recent announcement of GM's new studio there, the city will now also become home to another one from Kia. The state-of-the-art design centre will be fully independent from its sister company, Hyundai Motors, marking a significant change in strategy as all their other studios are jointly operated. With its separate facility, Kia Motors aims to further strengthen its goal of designing high quality vehicles, delivering Eurocentric style and performance in line with the needs and desires of European customers.

These latest plans signal Kia's continuing commitment to the continent, which this year became Kia's largest export market. The construction of the integrated building for Kia Motors Europe's new headquarters and design centre is expected to be finished by February 2007, while interviews are already underway to fill it. Curr¬ently, the jointly operated Hyundai-Kia European R&D Center is located just outside Frankfurt in Russelsheim, close to GM.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 3:34 pm

dis car is gorgeous….brla best…rear look influence by swift and murano…good job…

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 1:15 am

Hey…,,wait a minute…, NAZA,…when is the "MALANAZATION" date for this one…?