CKD Swift and two new models for 2007

swift_sport_front.jpg

Suzuki Malaysia Automobile Sdn Bhd intends to go forward with it’s Suzuki Swift local CKD assembly plans, expected to begin in Quarter 1 2007. Also in store for the local car market in 2007 is the Suzuki Swift Sport (which is supposed to have a tuned up 1.6 litre engine) and a 4X2 version of the Vitara, which will appeal to those who do not need all four wheels to be driven – there are obvious cost and fuel economy advantages with a two wheel drive system instead. I’m also hoping that the upcoming Suzuki SX4 sedan might somehow find it’s way here to give us an alternative to the City and the Vios.

Talks of Suzuki Motor Corp Japan taking over a controlling stake in the local distributor have also been ongoing, and while nothing is confirmed, it’s been agreed upon from the beginning that a stake transfer will be involved. Though the exact percentage has not been decided on yet, at least a 51% stake is expected.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• h2k (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 5:21 pm

can't wait for the swift sport….and way to go for taking over from local distributor…the current structure seems…lousy

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 5:24 pm

A very welcoming news for all but not for other local car manufacturers especially Proton. Hopefully the CKD Swift will cost us less RM 10k or more from the existing price.

• sewell (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 5:47 pm

i don't think suzuki can have a good sale in malaysia after they localise the switfh, vitara and SX4. suzuki market share are relative low in malaysia. they cannot compete with other. swift vs myvi. SX4 vs vios vs city. which 1 you will choose?

• whodz (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 5:57 pm

Hmm, what will be the price? is it 69K..better take city or vios..

• J (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 7:12 pm

Anyone know the price of Swift Sport ?

• RM (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 8:44 pm

Price drop needs to be tangible to compensate against lack of "local" support for Suzuki. Not easy to regain brand status with the state of competition now. I can't see Suzuki breaking into the mainstream which suggests low market volumes. The car's good so value may hold up in first 2-3 years. Not surprised Jpn wants in now as the Swift is a really desirable car. When a 5-year old (my son) says its a nice looking car, then its nice looking car. Try rebadging it a Honda, and bet they wouldn't need a CKD programme. Cars are seriously big ticket items here which makes the m'sian mart one of the toughest in the world.

• haroldz (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 9:21 pm

i know some1 here who had to wait half a year to wait for his suzuki spart parts.

then again we live in swak the richest state but with the least development.

Swift is way overpriced in msia due to taxes.

where's dat kenari RS story ar??

ehheehhe

• Cire (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 11:02 pm

Swift priced at rm55k, would make a good deal return to Msia. For a compact to be priced at rm69k and is a localised unit, I do not think it will take off well. Look at Naz's bestari. No charting up astronimical sales isn't it?

Anyways, Suzuki should look at localising more of its parts so that it could offer the Msian public at an affordable compact price – rm50-55k.

If they could do so much in India, why not Msia?

• tishaban (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 11:33 pm

Come now, the Swift was never targeted against the Myvi, the Jazz and Yaris are more of its competitors from driving dynamics point of view.

The SX4 is also relatively unique compared to the standard Vios and City. It would be a welcome change to our shores.

• hazremi (Member) on Nov 03, 2006 at 11:49 pm

myvi vs swift.i'd take swift anyday,why wanna buy low built in quality like myvi when u got swift

• mymyvi (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 1:58 am

hazremi said,

>myvi vs swift.i’d take swift anyday,why wanna buy low built in quality like myvi >when u got swift

low built quality in Myvi? Then how do you explain extraordinary sales of Myvi in Malaysia compared to a few Swift?

Swift is priced around the region of Vios and City, but again Vios and City is doing much better than Swift. Suzuki is not known to built parts that last, on the other hand you can definately see alot of old Toyota cars on the road compared to Suzuki.

P2 for your kind information is linked to big brother Toyota if you still don't know it yet. Myvi is known as Toyota Passo in Japan, Passo is also selling like hot cakes in Japan. The masses in Malaysia will go for a Perodua anyday.

I know some people who owns the new Swift and are awaiting spare parts for months. So much for built quality. P2 has always been market focused, knows what customers in Malaysia wants. They deliver affordable vehicles for the masses with good quality. I for 1 am not impressed with Swift's plasticky interior and interior space.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 3:00 am

MUST MUST MUST MUST BRING IN SWIFT SPORT PLEASE! Paul Tan pls post the video from their website.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 4:13 am

mymyvi, I have to comment on your off-key comparisons with the Swift:

Extraordinary sales = MyVi is simply the best value car in the market now. There is no other car below 50k with such a spacious interior. It's like those days when Kancil were selling like hot cakes coz they were the cheapest car available. You can't use this as comparison with the CBU Swift.

Vios and City are CKD, and they are sedan. Locals ALWAYS prefer sedans so again, not the right comparison against the hatchback Swift.

P2 is partnering with Daihatsu, which is part of Toyota now. Suzuki's best success in Malaysia was the Vitara. During those days, Vitara outsell Daihatsu's Feroza probably 10 to 1. If I'm not mistaken, Swift was never sold here so obviously you don't see many on the road. If you were to check in Singapore, you would know that there's a huge following on the Swift, particularly the GTI version.

Waiting for spare parts has nothing to do with built quality… it means the current distributor is not rich enough to keep enough stock. That's the main difference with buying a CBU car. But I've been told that even though Naza has been doing CKD for so long, their "Kia" spareparts still need months to replace so not all local manufacturers can have fast turnaround.

Even though you love your car very much, you should give merit where it's due. Swift has a rich history in motor racing, not here (yet) but Japan and Singapore. Those who want an enjoyable drive will definitely go Swift, as surely as someone who wants a spacious and comfortable car below RM50k would choose Myvi. Both good in their own ways, but they can't replace my 4G63 powered ride. ;-)

• hazremi (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 4:17 am

KL-ATR just explained why swift is forking hell better than myvi

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 5:00 am

CBU or CKD, I still support Myvi…..

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 7:10 am

MyVi is a "safe" buy, though QC problems are creaping up.

Swift is an alternative to the popular brands. It is better in some aspects, but there are also many kinks that GM needs to sort out. Then again, Swift is a global car while your Vios and City are ASEAN cars (though City is now sold in Japan). Except for Vios, the rest are based on new platforms.

Swift thrives on its fun-to-drive manner and affordable pricing (does not really work here due to our "creative" gazzetted prices). Those who buy the Swift put more focus on the FUN word. Its a fashion thingy to put it in simpler words.

The Swift Sport on the other hand runs on its strong history in rallying. Priced around RM105k and should be launched in Q1 next year, the 5-door 6-speed manual hothatch is targeted to a niche market. Those who want to buy the Swift Sport will usually be different from those who think MyVi is the best car around (hint hint). The sporty Swift Sport can only be appreciated by those who love to drive. If you think driving is a hassle, buy the Myvi.

The CKD Swift however is in a limbo. Management says the market is not ready yet. They want to play safe.

• normal_user (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 8:14 am

mymyvi, i dont think i agree with you. You're comparing an apple with an orange. the swift is fully imported from Japan & its built quality is superior than the myvi. tell u what, our myvi's quality is not that good when compared to Passo or Sirion (Jap CBU).

If the Malaysians are given a choice either to buy myvi or swift if both are priced at the same range (RM50K), i'm sure 99% will prefer swift.

even motoring journalists in europe & aussie picked swift when compared head-to-head with the sirion. Suzuki swift's ride & handling, styling, interior and powertrain is better than sirion. if the sirion (which interior material quality is a lot better than myvi) loss the battle, i can't even dare to imagine how myvi will compare with the swift.

the thing that i disagree most is the way you said that myvi has better quality than swift.

myvi's interior is even more plasticky & harder than swift. so far lagging behind the quality of japanese built quality. you can feel from the palm of your hands the harshness of myvi's interior door panel plastics. i can find more gaps in interior panels of myvi compared to swift. i can say this because i've driven & test both cars. not one but many since i got friends who owned both models.

malaysian vendors are so far behind in producing quality components. thats why most CKD cars are not good in interior built quality. i wonder if Swift CKD will end up having bad quality materials.

for reliability, i think myvi may has the better edge than swift although still unproven.

so sorry for myvi owners, this is my frank opinion. i wish myvi's interior could be the same if not better, than the Japanese built Sirion/Passo.

• king (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 10:54 am

sewell said,

swift vs myvi????

you gotta be joking….shows how much you know bout cars…

same goes for you to mr. mymyvi….just bcos u own one doesn't make it the best car in the world. a junk is still a junk

• hazremi (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 4:21 pm

i think mymyvi is proud of having a car that has some connection with toyota although he owns a downgrade version.

peace

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 04, 2006 at 9:19 pm

haiya…y u compare swift with city and vios???swift is in d same class wit the jazz and yaris…and most of journalist still prefer d swift than d yaris and jazz…

btw…many ppl own myvi coz myvi is value 4 money if we compare to others in its class….n i agree wit some of u if myvi and swift in d same price…many will choose swift…including me…

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 12:06 am

swift is better equiped and a better drive than its competitors. havent sat in one yet but i see tons of them on the road. they certainly look good.

good female students car. guys should get the sport version. even though it would still look like a girls car. the same way the jazz is a girls car. but it looks so nice that you'd want to borrow it from a female friend for a go.

quality of course better than myvi but it still entry level car so you will still get the entry level look interior wise. not sure bout feel yet.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 1:18 am

TYIPICAL japanese car……..

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 8:58 am

That i have to agree..both are typical japanese econobox but the Swift has more pizzas to it. The Myvi is, well…sad to say, a boring car to drive. A good runabout vehicle no doubt but it has a personality as exciting as a tadpole. If fun factor is the deciding factor, I rather the Savvy.

• jeanloo (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 12:52 pm

Ya,ya , Myvi is such a boring car to drive around. U know why Myvi and Avanza selling so well? Typical Malaysian Kiasu attitude comes into the picture. When they buy a Car, they want to buy the biggest car (in size) for that price range. Don't even compare Swift with Vios or City. Swift is more superior than both.(even though city's FC is amazingly low and drive is really smooth,have to give credit for that)Both City and Vios is design and target for South east asian country. They are only to offer a cheap alternative to other models of Honda and Toyota.

• jeanloo (Member) on Nov 05, 2006 at 12:55 pm

If i got the money, I would definately go for a CBU Swift (made in Japan) rather than a Vios or City (which is built in south east asia). All three cars are in the same price range right?

• szw (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 3:46 am

when swift sport will arrive ?

• jeanloo (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 4:46 am

An interview with a Japanese:-

"Sir, can you give us your opinion on thses four cars?"

Passo(Myvi), Vios, City and Swift.

Passo?- Buy and throw away car. Buy, drive for 2-3 years and then throw away.

Vios?- What the heck is a Vios?

City?- Isn't that a Honda made in Japan? I think I would stay away from that.

Swift?- Good car, Great value, Fun to drive.

• jeanloo (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 4:46 am

Sorry i meant Honda made in Thailand?

• oversight (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 4:49 pm

ALO jeanloo, you think your taste so great ka? Swift FC like a thirsty pig la.

you so knowledgeable about car? create your own car first la, and view to public to judge. if you succeed then you can critic others. so arrogant la you.

• mymyvi (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 4:50 pm

KL-ATR.. I was in Singapore the last weekend, had a fun drive around the entire island for 2 days in my trusted Myvi. You got me thinking, come to think of it, I failed to see any Singapore registered Swift, if it had huge followings there would be loads of swift driving by… but I saw more than 50 VW Golf GTI's zooming around, which failed to show me that Swift has a huge following in Sg. I certainly saw alot of VW Golf GTi's and Beetles :)

The comparison for Myvi and Swift was because both cars are of the same class or segment, well when I do make a purchase all factors such as built quality, durability and parts replacement or after sales service make a huge impact of my choice in buying a car, I failed to see it when I visited the local Suzuki dealer in JB.

If I would want to pay 80K plus for a swift, I might aswell cough up an additional 20K for a Forfour, nothing comes close to a Forfour in terms of built quality, ride comfort and handling. If your behind the wheel of a Forfour feels like your driving a sports car an awesome feel. Afterall Forfour is the same class as the Myvi & Swift. Anyway, I'll wait for the new version of Forfour in 2008 as the current engine in Forfour is same as Mitsubishi Colt, mitsu is not known for reliability even in Japan.

Cheers.

P.S : Hazremi, if you need to write a comment here please brush up your English, looks like you have limited vocabulary of English.

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 5:05 pm

although the four four is a great drive, and has excellent handling, i'll definitely stop short of calling it a sports car(I wonder what your definition of sports car is)

• mymyvi (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 5:07 pm

Well you guys can say whatever you want about the Myvi.. it still is the most affordable car that gives peace of mind. I dont see why I need to pay alot more for a car installment when I can have the luxury of reduced monthly payment to ensure my Myvi is taken care of well, when the service is due take it back to Perodua for servicing, no compromise, unlike other makes, it cost alot more to pay for instalment, petrol & service. So you guys can take your priced Swift and service it behind some unknown alley to reduce cost.

Well I'll take my family for a overseas holiday with the extra savings, and tell you guys all about my holidays and the cars I see on their roads.. ;)

Cheers…

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 11:10 pm

mymyvi, relax la bro. dont have to get all personal, and serious about this. if people who dont own your car, or have not testdriven it, can make all the comments they want about it.. end of the day, you bought it, and you enjoy it.

don't fall into the same game like what you've said in your last paragraph. because the argument could be, "people who buy swift, can still afford to go on a nice holiday with their family, and eat lobsters for dinner everyday, blah blah.." and the argument goes on and never ends. this is a very subjective discussion matter, and there is no wrong or right.

cheers

• hazremi (Member) on Nov 06, 2006 at 11:54 pm

to mymyvi,if u dont have any point to go against me,stop attackin me personally when ur english is not 1st class also like ur myvi.

peace

• mymyvi (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 1:52 am

for your info in Japan .. Suzuki doesn't have a big following. So I fail to understand whats the hype about?

Don't just say or put P2 down just because its local, P2 is doing a good job which 100,000 owners of Myvi would agree, cheap & reliable. At least at below 50K we finally have an option of air-bags and ABS on the car. P2 has set the benchmark in deed a tough act to follow.

If Myvi does cost around 80K plus (which defeats its objective) then the car would be a different class all together. How many of us would be able to afford it? … The finishing level of imported Passo compared to Myvi, Myvi is far better
    http://paultan.org/archives/2006/09/08/the-hamste…

This view was also shared with me by my Japanese friend who happens to own a similar class vehicle Mazda Demio. The built quality of P2 is much nicer than Passo in Japan. Don't just comment blindly without checking your facts, if like KL-ATR says its popular in Singapore then why there were more VW Golf Gti's speeding by then any Swift.

Well, all I can say is I'll safely put my bet on P2 to come up with better stuff anytime.

As for Proton, grow up, we are fed up with old models running around our roads.

• floyd2006 (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 9:01 am

Until such time that CBUs and local P1 and P2 cars compete on a level playing field, one would never be able to make fair comparison. Even export models of P1 has different specs with local versions.

Eeehh..how come Naza didnt rebadge suzuki cars aar?

• king (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 9:10 am

most car experts will agree to the following order:

swift > jazz/yaris

jazz/yaris > sirion/boon/passo

sirion/boon/passo > myvi

but the champion here thinks his 1st class myvi is better than swift.

according to his deduction, it would mean a proton iswara is better than a 530d. pure ignorance/stupidity.

• mymyvi (Member) on Nov 07, 2006 at 4:05 pm

King I think you drive an old rust bucket Iswara thats why you are sore that Myvi is doin much better. Yes for you maybe your iswara is better than 530d. You can go on and bark like a dog but you cannot change the fact that Myvi sales is doing well. So much for your beloved Iswara. The fact remains, Myvi is practical for the masses.

• king (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 6:17 am

myasshole….pls go back to school and learn some manners ok. if you dun like what i said about myvi den just ignore it. i dun drive an iswara and i was just giving an example unless your puny pathethic brain can't understand just like how you can't understand how cheap and lousy is your piece of shit tin can car better shuff it up you asshole.

if you shut up nobody will know you are an idiot.

• king (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 6:22 am

oh….i forgot if i speak to a donkey how can it understand? what a waste of my time…

• hazremi (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 6:35 am

i pity that guy la,he is just driving a myvi and he criticize other people who drive iswara.hahahahhaa..a myvi owner want to criticize iswara owner,like myvi is so god damn cool that give him a license to kutuk other car.

come on,it is just a myvi,a bulky car with cheap interior inside but good practicality.

• mymyvi (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 4:45 pm

Well .. King & Hazremi .. you two are the biggest clowns around, sorry … I think King your the Donkey King here. You said it yourself.

Before you guys make any comments please enrich your vocabulary because in the english language there is more fulfilling words than mere vulgarity. If you cannot speak or write well then don't bother to fill this comments space up with your "longkang" english. It just shows how shallow you guys are. I bet you guys are both very miserable people with nothing going for yourself. Just bunch of losers.

King you should rename yourself to "King Of Ass", since you need to school your asshole anyway. Stop clowning yourself guys, you guys look silly.

• Maranello_575 (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 6:11 pm

i agree with you, king. da swift definately a better car than myvi. myvi got lots of problem i see for myself in SC when i service my wife's kembara there.

Some ppl just talk and support blindly.

• nizam80 (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 11:41 pm

The swift styling and design is fantastic to me till now. I've never test driven one but i'd love to one day. However, the passenger's cabin seems a bit cramped to seat 3 comfortable, don't u think?

As for the Myvi enjoying chart topping sales, i can only comment on 1 thing: Typical Malaysian Judgement. Sorry, but this is only my personal opinion. Lets see: we often rely on other individual's view on how good a car is. For the Myvi, this is the case… Spacious, Cheap to maintain, airbags, ABS.. blah blah blah.. But, what happens when people view a car like the Proton Savvy:… Renault engine, expensive parts, a bit small, no Airbags, no ABS, terrible design. U see??? We often listen to others without even finding it out for ourselves whether a car is REALLY good or not. I think the Myvi is OK if i'm a passenger. But when i'm driving it, i think it honestly feels like an oversized kancil. No offence Myvi owners. Anyway, white color Myvi looks nice.

Sorry, out of topic. Anyway, Swift looks waaaaayyyyyyy better than Myvi.

• hazremi (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 4:24 am

maranello, u just said the truth,some people here support blindly bcoz they own the car,i dun blame them though.

• oversight (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 7:28 am

hazremi and king,

i think you guys need to be calm down. for me you don't have to critic so MYVI car so badly if you don't like the car. for some people their myvi is like part of family. how do you feel if someone critic your car so badly and so mean? i think you also gonna be mad. one more thing is unfair and stupid to put MYVI in same class as Swift. Swift should compete with toyota yaris and renault clio.

• king (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 8:04 am

oversight,

i am just trying to put things into perspective here. if you compare myvi with iswara and say myvi is better then by all means. but what i can't stand is ppl simply talk without logic and say myvi is better quality than swift, yaris, vw golf gti etc… i think you are aware about the quality issues of myvi as well…just go to their myvi fanclub website and hear their cries.

hazremi…..dun waste time arguing with donkey. no point one. especially one that worships myvi day and night. we go for a drink at starbucks better. where do you live?

• hazremi (Member) on Nov 23, 2006 at 6:41 am

i live in seri kembangan and work at bukit jalil

• Jamz (Member) on Jan 21, 2007 at 3:53 pm

If your looking for a Suzuki Swift Owners club, i found http://www.swiftowners.co.uk to be a great help when i got my Swift Sport!!

• p_nut (Member) on Mar 05, 2007 at 10:37 pm

I'd agree with the fact that the Myvi is bar none the most value for money car in Malaysia.

I own a Swift, but have nothing against the Myvi or any of the other cars. Opinions are just opinions. If you like it, it's your perogrative to buy it and enjoy it. If you can't afford it, get something cheaper. Whatever floats your boat.

Lastly, it is pointless to compare classes of cars in Malaysia due to the artificially inflated prices.

• kyosho (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 2:32 am

i will get one swift if the price is cheap…. regardless of the brand in market, i always think even though local assembled, the design is still much lovely. price is always the concern in local market for middle range income folks.