Mitsubishi Triton sighted in Malaysia

tritonmy1.jpg

The aging Mitsubishi L200 or the Mitsubishi Storm, as it was called before Mitsubishi Malaysia refreshed it is due to be replaced soon – and it might be sooner than we think! CBU stocks of it’s space age looking successor the Mitsubishi Triton has been spotted in port holding areas. More photos after the jump.

tritonmy2.jpg

Gundam-like lights, and an intercooler peeking out from behind the grille.

tritonmy3.jpg

The new pick-up will be called Triton.

tritonmy4.jpg

Another shot of the front.

tritonmy5.jpg

Integrated foglamps.

tritonmy7.jpg

Car-like interior.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• It's me! (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 3:02 pm

This Mitsubishi Trition was launched quite long ago in Thailand,now only we get it?So outdated is our country…..The Thais don't really buy it,they like Hilux Vego more…the new Hilux…

• ilmondo (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 3:30 pm

nice! but dont really like d back tailgate. not tough enuf 2 me.. frontier has better rear. interior is nice! fog lights 'frame' do look like satria neo's air cond vent.

• siacw (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 4:22 pm

The side look weird. It's like the trunk bed and the car can be separated into two.

• Tracks (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 4:24 pm

Looks very sporty yet still macho. Looking at the side profile, the rear compartment looks more spacious to accomodate rear passengers far better than any of its competitors. Interior looks very car like too. I read that the engine is a gem too offering good power, torque and fuel economy. Lets see how Triton would do in our market.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 4:42 pm

Overall, the best looking "new" pick-up truck… except for that detached looking cab and trunk section. Real macho front and nice looking interior. Any on-road review coming up, Paul?

• Mayonaise (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 5:26 pm

Looks good to me, though not as tough-looking as the Storm. But nothing that a few off-road accessories can help to "soup-up" the macho looks. New Ford Ranger is launching soon as well, supposed to be this month according to a friend of mine who is handling the A&P for Ford Malaysia.

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 5:58 pm

ok what???.. radical new look for a truck.. but i must agree, the new hilux look great oso… btw, i like trucks… but now diesel price is not much different.. and road tax….errr still high… this is sure a good news for sarawak & sabah people…

• daze (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 6:08 pm

SIde view just look wierd…

nice interior BTW..

but still no match with Hilux…pretty sure ppl would prefer to go for HILUX..

• pirate (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 6:24 pm

"….an intercooler peeking out from behind the grille."

Plus a nice and modern car-like interior. Good-looking steering wheel.

Heard that it's got the highest engine output for a diesel pickup in its class.

Any power and torque figures, Paul?

These alone clinches it for me over the downgraded (vs Thai spec) UMWT Hilux!

• shaif (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 6:41 pm

The dashboard looks good and indicate airbags installed. Good job Mits.

• drM (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 6:49 pm

TRITON? As far as I can remember, Triton is the express bus company with blue and yellow paint on the body. I was a regular customer, having to travel to KL from Melaka twice a week.hahahahaah..okay, lets move to more serious note.

the interior is excellent. I mean, its almost sitting in a car which has been jacked up about a quater meter. There is centre console, and fantastic. The face also become more handsome and the tail also look menacing. but the load compartmen at the back is quite insufficient actually. Wonder how my mesin rumput would fit into that small space (my mesin rumput is the one we can carry on the back, with long handle)

How much is it, paul? hovering around the price of the old L2? Everything is very well, apart from the load space at the back.

ps-gundam looks? ;)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 7:03 pm

best looking pick up truck by far…i hope manufacturers get sensible n lower the ride…its freakin too high….wen 99% of buyers use it as a normal car on normal roads…i find it strange to stil keep the car so high up the ground , thy should have to versions…..

• h2k (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 7:04 pm

The star paper yesterday i think has an ad on launch of new pickup….just shows the silhouette of the truck…so its this truck huh?

isn't sale of pickup truck not as popular like few years back?

• Celicazz (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 7:22 pm

look like it can be split into to and form another machine which I called transformer… haha… will it star in the movie next year?

• msmar_453 (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 7:29 pm

The TRITON truck should be appreciated by Star Wars fans.

Why? Just look at front view ( Sorry Paul, it's not like Gundam for me)

• karheng (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 7:44 pm

Mitsu has to fight with strong Toyota Hilux segment. Not a bad contender I must say!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 7:52 pm

Seems like most 4×4 design concepts nowadays are catered towards looks and comfort compared to the old days.

I guess its the change in times that contributed to this. The centre console looks commanding which contributes to the macho factor I must say.

Gundam-like lights ROTFLOL. Reminded me of the original Gundam eye design.

• Paul Tan on Nov 08, 2006 at 7:53 pm

msmar_453: ure right, like stormtrooper also!

• DtG (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 8:03 pm

I saw this model launched in the UK LAST YEAR!!! anyway, it's one cool pickup. Should be launched soon, i saw a Mitsu ad today in NST and it was clearly hinting that they're gonna launch a pickup.

• acbc (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 8:05 pm

As usual, Mitsusbishi always dished out the best designs… better than Honda (except EP3 and DC5) or Toyota (with exception of Fortuna and new 2007 Camry).

• cacing (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 8:36 pm

australian version is a 3.2 L, diesel intercooler turbo, punches out 118 kW. in comparison, the frontier's variable geometry turbo gives out 128 kW, for a 2.5 L engine. In tests, Toyota's Hilux returns the best economy, at 8.5L/100 km, compared to 9.1L mitsubishi, 9.0L frontier.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 8:38 pm

wonder the front stick nicely with its back,

looks like 2 seperate things GLUED togather!

• waimak (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 9:58 pm

Saw the ad recently.. yeah, I 'see' stormtrooper too!

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 10:22 pm

roundish bulldog look to me… not so favour about the front evo 8 design on the grille there… but wonder how the engine goes? btw, kinda like the interior… looks comfortable!

• carenthusiast (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 11:41 pm

Actually i saw this Triton truck park in front of my school (Puchong) about 2 months ago and it was lightly camourflage. Unfortunately i didn't have a camera during that time. If i have, i sure snap it already.

• KY (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 12:29 am

don't quite like the side profile though..

• xg9 (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 12:45 am

take out the rear and shorten the front, you'll get atos!!!! amazing huh?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 1:06 am

Right exterior, right interior, but wrong wheels again!!!!

The current L200 a.k.a Storm is not good when it comes to the engine and performance, and the Ford Ranger XLT is better and more powerful.

But anyway, where's the Ranger replacement model??? Can't wait to see it!!

• megadisc (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 1:07 am

Not as aggresive as the toyota fortunerer . . .

but looks as good lah !

• carenthusiast (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 1:47 am

i like the front and side profile a lot! I just realised that the fog lamp is very sporty with chrome around it. The rear overhang is so high up and that makes me wander whether a car which have a low front will stuck at the bottom of it during collision.

• J (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 2:35 am

Wow… looks nice and futuristic la… I imagine with black color cat, it will look fantastic.

But hey guy…how come no body ask about the price ? Any price range guess ? :)

My guess 85K

• kacman (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 3:16 am

yikes, looked like a katun to me. hilux looks far more superior and macho, imho

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 3:42 am

The front does look like a Gundam, but the whole car looks neither macho nor sophisticated; it just looks like a stuck between. I like the interior though.

• acbc (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 5:52 am

Buy this and put the following mods…

1. HIDs

2. 20" chrome wheels

3. Hella foglights

• BobMarley (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 7:52 am

Ugly. imo… Too many curved lines! every line is curved.. but it might look cool with some knobby oversized tires!

• justng (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 8:08 am

Seen the single cab version… looks far better IMHO.

I was fancied single cab pickups… lowered, bling rims and nice tinted windows.

• p_nut (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 3:59 pm

they should just call it a Mitsubishi Storm-Trooper. heheh

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 5:00 pm

If you have seen the real car and drove it, you will LOVE it from the TOP until the tires. Cheers!

I have done already, comment: Superb

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 5:05 pm

If you have time please watch the following video lah. I am loving it.

http://www.mitsubishi-motors.tv/index.html

• szw (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 4:11 am

i saw 1 moving towards eon plant in glenmarie when i was heading home frm work

• FriqoAdie (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 7:19 am

front end looks extremly hardcore….

back end…urghhh i hate it….

• yasith (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 10:01 pm

Face of the dakar rally pajero evolution has worked well for tha L200. Real sporty looks for the offroader , Tough looking L200, Great!