Mitsubishi Triton – 138ps!

triton1.jpg

Some updates about the upcoming Mitsubishi Triton. The engine is an updated 2.5 litre twin cam commonrail intercooler turbodiesel making 138ps at 3,500rpm, and 314Nm of torque at 2,000rpm, effectively killing the Nissan Frontier’s claims of being the most powerful pick-up in Malaysia. The Frontier makes 133ps, but at a higher 4,000rpm, and it’s torque is lower by 10Nm. Price is expected to be at RM88,000 for the double cab manual, and RM93,000 for the double cab auto.

More details at Motor Trader, who were invited to the Mitsubishi Triton preview.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 8:37 pm

hmm… seems nice to me with this roundish bulldog…

• tokmoh (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 9:04 pm

The face looks like a Stormtrooper^^ RM88k for manual sounds very sensible :)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 9:38 pm

By the way, the current-generation Navara 2.5 churns out 174bhp, effectively making it the most powerful mid-size pickup here in Britain. And it's a truly good-looking truck – I'd say more 'macho' than any pickup truck I've seen on the road. Unfortunately, Edaran Tan Chong offers only the previous-generation Navara (known as Frontier SUT in Malaysia). Any news on whether they will import the new Navara/Frontier?

• Jack (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 9:42 pm

88k for manual sounds very good even though i don't really like the design.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 9:49 pm

This new Triton looks funky! Makes me wonder if Mitsubishi has any plan to build a replacement for the Challenger (known as Shogun Sport here in Britain). :D

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 09, 2006 at 10:57 pm

Only 88K, I believed it will sell like HOT CAKE soon.

Paul, when can we start booking it? Good luck Mistubishi!

• KY (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 12:13 am

the design is almost like a Kembara with a bed… -.-"

• J (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 2:06 am

one common problem of truck is the "straight-up" back seat and super small leg room at the back.

But from the design of this Triton, it looks like the back seat will not be so "straight-up" (sacrifies some bed space?)

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 3:16 am

the hi-lux had very very good rear space. as good as any regular sedan..from what i've heard, the triton matches it for space in the rear.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 4:01 am

This will definitely sell well, though the only thing that keeps people from buying it is the front face.

• szw (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 4:21 am

strongest 2.5l diesel pick-up in m'sia

• kacman (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 4:21 am

Akama

I've seen the Navara here in OZ. It stated the output is 113kw, dat means.. i dunno in bhp. It looks pretty boxy, not much different than the frontier. Nothing spectacular, imo. But still the triton looked like a katun to me meh

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 6:50 am

Check this out:
    http://www.nissan.co.uk/home/vehicles/4×4/D40/per…

I know beauty is subjective, so everyone's entitled to their own opinion on the looks of the new Navara. I don't know why, but I simply fell in love with it at first sight. It could be the Navara's muscular stance, could be its commanding looks, could be its comfy interior…heheh…oh well… :)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 6:54 am

Right…so that link doesn't seem to work…but it shouldn't be too hard to click on [Vehicles] – [4×4] – [Navara] – [Performance]…hehehe… ;)

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 8:10 am

OOOO, SOFT TUSH

• lowprofile (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 8:39 pm

113kw = 151.535hp. I think most (not all) buyers of the modern pick up buy it not for its load carrying capability. More for the macho image and to avoid being bullied by bigger vehicles. Also good for our increasingly pot hole ridden roads and regular floods and landslides ;) Also, the fact that it is diesel makes the deal even better due to the expensive petrol prices. 4WDs, Pick-ups, SUVs make sense due to the above factors

Small load area? Its oklah, just add a cover like the Ranger Extreme's and it is converted into the largest boot space.

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 10, 2006 at 9:01 pm

Best la this truck.. can consider one… if no excise duty, lagi best.. can sell like pisang goreng.. wait la, if my income near RM4K / month, i wud buy this truck as my 3rd car, without thinking twice!!.. with this babe, i can go anywhere… i want to roam in the swamp oneday…

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:11 am

* 2 thumbs up *

worthy challenger for hilux…

• DAN (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 3:51 am

not bad but not really enough performance for me in this car.

if there will b 2.8 cc that will b enough i think.

• kacman (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 6:01 am

whoa, 153 bhp, dats a lot man! if onli hilux pwr is dat many. and extreme, and isuzu and tata (what?!)

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 7:22 am

confused … the front and the rear look 'devided'.

oh.. maybe it can transform to Autobot transformer :D

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 8:50 am

Agree, auctioncenter2u!!

Sure will sell like Hot Cake, haha~

Few years ago, Ranger was the most powerful pickup truck in Malaysia, then came the Storm, Hilux and Frontier, but the Storm and Hilux are quite under power compared to Ranger, moreover the Storm is very poor at built quality, so Frontier claimed to be the most powerful pickup truck in our country based on the torque. Now, here comes the Triton with 138hp and 314nm @ 2000rpm.

But soon, the Ranger replacement model is coming, try to gain back its glory, hahahaha~

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 2:26 pm

All these models are classisfied as small/compact pick up truck in USA. So, our Bolehland mentality argument is "most powerful in Malaysia or in its class". For US consumers, this is the "kancil" size of the pick up truck. The most powerful may be 4.7L Toyota Tundra yet price start from USD 16K (rear wheel) and USD 22K (4WD). Just like some out there argue Savvy is most powerful in its class yet the reality is this French engine is old model used in Clio II that ceased production in 2005 but use by P1, sigh!!!!!!!!

Look like our standard of argument is based on "lower scale".

• motorhead (Member) on Nov 11, 2006 at 6:05 pm

Yeah..Most powerful in korupland lah (our korup index sliding).. if 4.7L truck cost hundreds of thousand here, who gonna / can buy??..

sigh.

• FriqoAdie (Member) on Nov 12, 2006 at 7:14 am

nice roundish looks….

looks even better than Hilux….

• rexis (Member) on Nov 13, 2006 at 5:35 pm

Yeah i think it looks good too, way too many hilux on the road, no personality already. Gotta get some triton, muahahaha.

• lowprofile (Member) on Nov 30, 2006 at 12:16 am

the rear screen can be opened in non-malaysian versions. wonder why it is not offered here even as an option.

• mutanz (Member) on Feb 17, 2007 at 5:40 pm

how much triton roadtax for a yr ??

• rumputrampai98 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 8:22 am

Paul,

Which would be a better buy.? Triton or a D max..?

• Anyone….kindly feed the + – of Triton,Navara,Ranger and Hilux. Thanks

• not a truck on Jan 09, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Paul and Danny, the Mitsubishi Triton sold in Singapore will be priced from SGD63,988 to SGD90,988 (Approximately RM153,354.92 to RM218,063.66), this is more expensive than in Malaysia. Why compared to Mitsubishi Lancer, the Triton is cheaper in Malaysia but more expensive in Singapore?