New Daihatsu Terios announced in Indonesia

terios_award.jpg

UPDATE: Perodua has announced that a new Kembara will be launched in mid-2008. It is expected that the new Perodua Kembara replacement will be based on the Daihatsu Bego/Toyota Rush. Click here for more details.

The production of the new Toyota Rush and Daihatsu Terios will start soon in Indonesia, and both will be produced in Daihatsu’s assembly plant. Selling the same model under two different badges in the same country seems to work well in Indonesia, where the Toyota Avanza/Daihatsu Xenia have achieved sales of 200,000 units since 2003.

Now that Indonesia has the new Terios, when will Perodua update it’s aging Kembara model? The new Terios was recently awarded 4X4 Magazines 4X4 Of The Year 2007 Award. I already have a few friends holding back their car purchases in eager anticipation of the new Kembara, if it ever happens. With it’s mini RAV4 looks, I’m sure it will be a runaway success like the Myvi.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• drM (Member) on Dec 02, 2006 at 10:51 pm

the wilder eyes..when they will announce that Kembara replacement model over here?

but, at that kembara price, I rather take myVi or that head chopping Neo.

hahahahahaa

• J (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 12:40 am

Welcome Terios ! Kembara is way way out dated.

• weili (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 2:47 am

can wait to jump on the latest terios/kembara.hopefully it will sell like hot cake…..waiting to get 1….

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 3:36 am

Is this car permanent 4×4? Kembara uses a lot of feul.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 3:49 am

Good, more choices if rebadge as Kembara.

• AMG (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 4:36 am

The New Generetion Of Kembara

• Protonzdead2me (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 5:07 am

This car will actually be bigger than the donor Toyota Rush, or the Daihatsu Be-Go concept (and is also going to be bigger than the Kembara). The Indonesian version is stretched a few inches and is designed to replace the famous albeit long serving 'Daihatsu Taruna' which has been on sale in Indonesia for about as long as the Kembara.

This is why there are still plans by some independent importers to bring in the Toyota Rush (CBU) from Japan.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 5:18 am

last kembara , long distant journey is a nonsense, justa an extension of kancil,

this one , dont know yet la ,wait for report…looks growing up and 5 series eye a bit,

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 7:49 am

Definitely nice looking! Hope it offers better storage space than the Kembara!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 7:52 am

Replace Kembara with this one…..

• Phisto (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 8:30 am

Both Toyota Rush and Daihatsu Terios is available in Singapore where i am working now. The Rush is parallel import while the Terios is official import so more of this version on the road. Both of them are 1.5litre and available in 2WD and 4WD versions. They are getting popular everyday and they LOOK GOOD! One of my friend got the Terios but i havent got a chance to meet him up yet… I heard the fuel comsuption is better due to more efficient and larger capacity engine.

Frankly speaking I am looking forward to Perodua version. I think Perodua done a great job with Myvi. They managed to minor redesign to the Myvi even more sporty looking than the original Daihatsu Sirion/Toyota Passo! Lets hope they use the same magic on the next Kembara.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Dec 03, 2006 at 9:09 am

Kembara sucks, price expensive compared to quality, design outdated, cheap interior, fuel sucker, ride and handling similar to Tata n Marutti, all time 4wd, higher maintenance, non-durable ( for a 4X4 )…..

Anyway, i will still buy it coz its a Toyota and it is not Proton……….

• jeanloo (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 1:07 am

After the success of Kelisa, Kenari and Myvi, ppl forget the actual facts that Kembara Suck. Ride is stiff, Space is limited, handling and stability sucks and the worst facts is that it's a full time 4×4 and high in fuel consumption. Not to mention that the spare parts are costly. I would rather get the old Suzuki Jimny rather than the Kembara.

• oranglulu (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 8:25 am

uncle 03 kembara auto still running well…but if perodua launch this…will consider replace it…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 11:48 pm

definately nicer looking than kembara…

can't wait to see the p2 version.. if the price tag around kembara i think it's reasonable…

• sQew (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 2:13 am

I have saw this model on road of this Toyota Rush/Daihatsu Terios in Singapore last 2 weeks. First i thought it was a RAV4 but why it's small :) hehe then i remember paultan's blog for Daihatsu Terios hehe

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 7:42 am

I live in Johor. I once saw a Singapore registered black Toyota Rush. It looks quite big. Definitely will make a BETTER Kembara if Perodua gets the green light from Toyota to rebadge it.

Yes, i agree. Price of the current Kembara is not a value for money. Plus, its AGING!!! Better go for Myvi.

• kumpit (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 12:48 am

It's better for Malaysia company perodua, to replace it's KEMBARA with this new TERIOS.The latest is the Kembara special edition,but it seems old edition for me becouse the interior space are just the same.If they lounch the new TERIOS by next year, i am sure to buy one for myself and i am sure others will follow.