New Ford Ranger with 5-speed auto in Thailand

newthairanger1.jpg

Ford recently unveiled to the new Ford Ranger Double Cab to the Thai market at the Thailand 23rd International Motor Expo 2006. Along with it’s 7-seater brother the Everest, this new generation of the Ford Ranger features Ford’s new Duratorq TDCi common rail direct injection turbodiesel engine. And while the Ford Focus in our local market goes around with only a 4 gear auto, the new Ford Ranger gets a new 5-speed automatic transmission – allowing better use of the diesel’s short torque band.

The 2.5 litre Duratorq engine is a DOHC 16-valve turbodiesel unit, featuring Bosch common rail direct fuel injection and a variable geometry turbocharger. It makes 141hp at 3,500rpm and 330Nm of torque at 1,800rpm, up from our market’s current Ranger’s 2.5 litre SOHC indirect injection turbodiesel which makes 121hp and 262Nm of torque.

With Mitsubishi recently bringing in it’s new Storm replacement, the Triton, and the D-MAX being facelifted quite recently, Ford Malaysia should be doing something about it’s aging Ranger pickup soon.

newthairanger2.jpg

newthairanger3.jpg

newthairanger4.jpg

newthairanger5.jpg

newthairanger6.jpg

newthairanger7.jpg

newthairanger8.jpg

newthairanger9.jpg

newthairanger10.jpg

newthairanger11.jpg

newthairanger12.jpg

newthairanger13.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• myviRS (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 11:32 pm

Looks awesome! Rivals like Frontier, D-MAX, Hilux & Storm should be ready by now. Interior looks quite simple but 'garang'.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 11:38 pm

look Garang but not much impressive for me.

Still like Mitsui Stormtrooper! Go Mitsu!!

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 06, 2006 at 11:43 pm

you can build this from lego bricks! ;)

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 12:33 am

finally ford got rid of it's really old-looking dash…. looks sweet, but triton still looks cooler

• transformer (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 1:08 am

overall still look not much diff from the current ones only larger dimension, new engine, new interior…

IMHO, at this moment i still go for Hilux… robust & spare part availability…

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 1:21 am

still looks 'light' but more 'thudd..'

nice dash,

suicide door can be functioned as an AIR BRAKE.

• ilmondo (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 1:37 am

trucks are getting nicer n nicer. its gonna b a big hit. new navara with 2.5 170++bhp is nice too..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 2:49 am

i mus say the triton is a seriously awesome option….looks great…very nice interior even beter than most sedans….n quite affordable…this ford ranger got to be really really good to topple the triton….n mus have the same price…at this moment no truck can rival the triton…i dont think thy should concentrate on the power output…i mean wats the point wen the truck drives like a ..mmm…a truck! thy should have a beter interior n mst importantly….handle alot beter and have a soft ride rather than a horrible hard bouncy ride wer ur own spine acts as an absorber!

• DtG (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 4:50 am

suicide doors on a pickup?! c'mon la…

• Japanese Car Fans (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 5:10 am

Anyway,good thn last time tht 1…

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 8:02 am

Wow!! Looks smashing. Especially the interior. Honestly, the Triton still looks better. But, Ford better hurry in bringing this new Ranger here. More competition, the better. I've never driven a Diesel Pickup before. Wonder whether the fuel consumption's better than any other supermini's?? Any owners here?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 12:32 pm

i stil dont understand y do thy stil keep cars like those so high up the ground…the ground clearance is is massive…i mean thy know very well 99% of ppl wil jus use thm like normal cars…y do thy even bother….wen wil we have trucks like those that really drive like how normal cars are….

• Tracks (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 4:45 pm

Engine wise, the Ford's TDCi 2.5L seems to be the best in terms of power and torque compared to what has been offered locally in Malaysia for pick-up trucks. Max torque comes early too at only 1,800rpm. Exterior looks decent and muscular much better than the previous version. Ford likes to promote its built tough image which is properly executed here. However, others such as Mitsubishi and Toyota went for sleek and sexy look. The suicide rear doors are unique but I don't think its practical. Buyers would have their own preference on what they like best.

The interior looks modern and the dash looks great too. However, the rear bench are too up right and the space seems very limited as well from the photo above. Therefore in terms of interior space and creature comfort, I think Ford Ranger loses significantly to the Mitsubishi Triton.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 7:10 pm

When will this new Ranger arriving in Malaysia??? Come on Ford, as a Ranger super fan and supporter, I can't wait any longer to see it in the showroom!!

The new Ranger can really @#$% off any other pickup trucks, including Hilux, Frontier, D-Max, Fighter, or even the silly-looking Triton. Sorry to all Triton fans, i'm a Mitsubishi fan too, but Triton is not really a tough pickup truck just looking from its exterior, and moreover Ford is one of the global leading pickup truck manufacturers, but not Mitsubishi…..

Lancer? OK!

Colt? OK!

Grandis? OK!

Storm and Triton? NO WAY!!!! Why? It has not remain any sense of a traditional pickup trucks, just a nice looking body built without any passion.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 7:15 pm

Ford M'sia will be launching it soon, hang in there, guys. I can't tell you exactly when as it is still P&C info. But I dun think Ford M'sia will be bringing in the 5-speeder auto version, I hope they would though.

• Ricc (Member) on Dec 07, 2006 at 7:18 pm

Triton outlook terrible la.. :(

This Ford outlook ok, but internally…… I still prefer Vigo

• jonjwlee (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 1:56 am

Those that are awed by those suicide doors should note that they have been on the previous-generation Ranger/Fighter in Thailand for years. There's no way they'll bring it here.

• al (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 5:15 am

Oh my God, why it came out too late. I already brought the Mitsubishi Triton last week……

• al (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 5:30 am

This may help you to find the powerful pick-up engine in Malaysia:

(if the new Ranjer came out soon)

1. Ford Ranjer 2.5 – 141hp, 330Nm

2. Mitsubishi Triton 2.5 – 138hp, 314Nm

3. Nissan Frontier 2.5 – 133hp, 304Nm

4. Isuzu D-max 3.0 – 130hp, 294Nm

5. Toyota Hilux 2.5 – 75kw (?hp), 260Nm

Followed by the Storm and old Ranjer.

Ford Ranjer has Commonrail & Duratorq technology;

Mitsubishi Triton has Commonrail tech;

Nissan Frontier has M-Fire tech;

Isuzu D-Max is an economic doublecab;

Toyota Hilux then is a very comfortable d.cab….

The other doublecab may just a cheap pick-up…(sorry)

• nmh (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 7:43 am

e-nabilll, have u seen thais pickup…very2 lowered…looks terrible.Our pickup looks much better

• transformer (Member) on Dec 08, 2006 at 6:09 pm

i think its very cool for those lowered pickup!

if i own one, sure i would send to THAI to lowered it! Fully adjustable one!

DAMN COOL! sure stability would be increase when the centre gravity is lowered! COOL! if swap in a 4WD RB inside! sure FLY!

saw in magazine, many-many years ago(early 90's), the japanese already done all these(lowering boxy landcruiser & pajeros)….. ITS SO COOL!

• Kash (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 5:09 pm

I need to change my 7 year old Ford Ranger. Can anyone help me out by recommending which truck I should get.

Anyone has any idea when the new Ranger comes out.

Is there going to be a new Hilux model or is the one being sold currently going to be around for a while more?

What about the Nissan Frontier?

BTW, I'm no expert on cars so I also need tips on what to look out for.

Thanks!

• acbc (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 8:12 am

Unfortunately, the interior is nothing when compared to Triton.

• henter (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 9:58 pm

i like it…cun ar……got power 16v then dohc engine also turbo, 5-speed auto…..i will buy it lar……then pimp it wit 20inch crome rims…..but i still like triton n hilux….

• I am looking for an option to cover the back of my truck, please advise, thanks.