Assembly line for Suzuki Swift CKD ready

swift_sport_front.jpg

Somehow I missed this piece of news. The 4 robotic welding lines for the upcoming locally assembled Suzuki Swift has been up and ready to run since the end of February. The welding line is involved in assembling the Suzuki Swift 1.5 litre for the local market. Production will begin by the end of April, with an initial run of 300 units a month.

However, low usage despite high capacity is a tell tale of a weak market. DRB-HICOM group managing director Datuk Mohd Khamil Jamil said Automotive Manufacturers (M) Sdn Bhd (AAM) assembly plant in Pekan only put out 12,000 units assembled last year despite a ready maximum capacity of 60,000 units.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 7:49 am

and the price wil be??

• sloth (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 8:05 am

yeah.. how much izzit gonna be?

how bout the 1.6 sport one?

• NEUSS64 (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 8:35 am

Hoping the price should be reasonable and competative..

• armandd (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 9:30 am

i think it should be around RM65-75k.

• kendo (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 4:53 pm

65k like

NAZA 206

is a reasonable price!

• kendo (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 4:54 pm

NAZA 206

is a reasonable price!

• normal_user (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 4:54 pm

If DRB managed to price it at RM60K, it will be a real bargain… say hello to swift & bye-bye to bestari/yaris/jazz. Supermini should always be affordable to the masses, and not more than RM65K.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 5:00 pm

If Swift priced at RM65K, sure it will be a big hit to Toyota Vios and Honda City. But I doubt it… I think DRB-HICOM won't achieve the max capacity of 60k units per annum as long as the Proton still around..

• ergo_etc (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 5:25 pm

at 65K, I'll take one!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 6:29 pm

errr PROTON around nor for long, say bye-bye Proton, bye-bye to 'open door when pay tolls'

I just hope that the SUZUKI people have a guts to sell it at real price, b'coz the G WONT ALLOW THEM TO SELL CHEAP. again bcoz of stupid proton.

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 6:42 pm

Ya wor no price is announced?

Then CBU will have more discount since now also having discount alr.

• Hikaru (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 6:53 pm

Just take off about ten to fifteen percent of the current price and i feel we are closer to what would be the actual pricing of the car. (i.e. 80k? Might as well go for Vios/City, what's the point? 3000 thousand a month? Must have under table discount)

At 65 i would also consider changing to swift. Maybe Suzuki should listen to the opinion of the consumer then maybe they will sell more. However, they can't sell at a lost and they probably have a whole raft of restriction on the pricing of the car. I think i can only dream of driving a Suzuki.

• I my (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 7:16 pm

to price it at 60 – 65k is a bit susah for DRB w/ what the CBU spec hv…. may be 70 -75k, why? I think we all know the reason…. hmmmmm

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 7:59 pm

For 1.5L I would expect above RM70K. More expensive or slightly cheaper than Bestari. Just look at Getz 1.4, It is just a few K cheaper than CBU. :( Surely they won't let it be a threat to Proton.

• Ricc (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 8:07 pm

If 65k, i'll consider.. and wait if toyota will slash their price.. :D

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 8:08 pm

I saw it at IOI Mall last week end the Suzuki CKD price tag at RM 6X,XXX.00.

So the price wil be RM 60K to RM 70K!

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 11:02 pm

the 2006 CBU is selling at RM77k…

if the CKD swift is going to be priced somewhere near RM73-77k, it would cause frustration to potential buyers… because buyers expect CKD to be cheaper (at least to have the price difference gap felt in monthly installments)… else, we would all buy the CBU units if we knew…

it needs the price tag to be below RM70k to have an impact on the market… if its priced somewhere RM68k, i would definitely get one!

its more fun compared to the bestari 206 at that price… bestari is way too underpowered and i need a japanese engine to keep maintenance level low…

• kailaash baabu (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 12:48 am

Good to hear from DRB Hicom.Then how much will be the suzuki swift?

• transformer (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 4:50 am

Great to hear another new player comes into our protected auto industry!!!

Welcome Suzuki!

Bye Bye P1 !!!!!!!!!!!

Bye Bye NAP!!!

Bye Bye Tax!!!

M'sia BOLEH!!!!!

• pekan (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 7:46 am

correction paul, it's AMM..

AAM stands for Automotive Association of Malaysia..

(^_^)

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 1:24 am

50-55k is reasonable for a swift.

206 for 65k is overpriced. considering its an old car. and lousy engine.

• mel5582 (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 4:47 am

If DRB-Hicom is gonna sell the Swift for RM50-55k, I can guarantee our Suzuki Swift Club members would bring up a fuss, as most of us paid RM80k and above. With a significant price slash like that, it will be a big mistake.