Ssangyong Actyon SUT pick-up truck in Malaysia

We suddenly have another player in the pick-up truck game – the Ssangyong Actyon SUT. While most of you may have seen the Actyon around the internet in SUV form, there is also a ladder frame pick-up truck that local Ssangyong distributors Competitive Supreme have decided to bring into Malaysia.

With a power output of 141PS at 4,000rpm and 320Nm of torque between 1,800rpm to 2,700rpm, it is not class-leading as the Ranger TDCi has it beat at 143PS, but it is still one of the more high powered pick-up trucks over here in Malaysia and has the Mitsubishi Triton and Nissan Frontier beat at 138PS and 133PS respectively. But what’s different about this pick-up is 141PS and the high torque is achievable from a 2.0 litre displacement engine, while it’s competitors all use 2.5 litre and 3.0 litre engines. This means road tax savings especially if you register the Actyon SUT as a business vehicle.

Actyon engine torque curveThe XDi 2.0 litre engine is a commonrail direct injection engine based on Mercedes Benz technology, and uses a variable geometry turbocharger. It’s gearbox is a 4-speed unit, and has a low range transfer case, switchable between high and low ranges via push buttons.

The interior looks very passenger car-like, plus there is plenty of creature comforts such as electric powered front seats, steering wheel-mounted audio controls, and a black leather interior. It’s definitely looking like good value – good equipment, plus a Mercedes Benz-based engine with a lower displacement to save on road tax.

The Ssangyong Actyon SUT will have a price tag of somewhere in the RM90,000 range, and will be assembled at Competitive Supreme’s plant in Pahang. Look after the jump for more photos of the Ssangyong Actyon SUT.

Look after the jump for more photos and a video.

Video: Ssangyong Actyon SUT pick-up truck

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:28 pm

OMG! This took over the position of guppy/flowerhorn fish status from Honda City. Its as horrible looking as its previous Musso Pickup. No doubt they are using Merc technology but they seriously need to improve in their design department. From their current line up, it looks like they have gotten a yatch designer to join their designing team.

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:50 pm

Ssangyong has the reputation of making ugly cars that makes it unique on the road. But its interior quality is respectable.

This Actyon has short rear cab, for sure the storage capacity is limited compared to its competitors.

• kody (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:04 pm

wahlaueh…

from the 1st photo, it looks great from that angle, subsequent photos reveal its' weirdness. over outlook score a bit tend to ugly… but for me, it stills can be accepted lah…

Interiors not bad, & the back row seats express a quite comfort sitting angle for rear seat passengers.

• Cire (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:05 pm

The Koreans are one daring lot indeed. But at least they are putting ideas into production, not like our locals who's still dreaming of such designs.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:10 pm

very fugly design.

• san_j (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:12 pm

u.g.l.y….

• digiman (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:16 pm

whoah… futuristic.. i like.. 90K?

any idea when the sales will start? or can we order now?

• McPadey (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:17 pm

WOW!!!…. thats UGLY!!!

• timber8115 (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:21 pm

the front look like gold fish with mouth open….

• Charger (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:36 pm

The grille, reminds me of this!

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/4/4a/MP_…

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:46 pm

"Company executives pointed out that Actyon Sports boasts at least four "firsts" in the pick-up segment. It is the first SUV-based SUT, the first two-litre SUT, the first SUT with SUV ride height and comfort and the first SUT without leaf spring rear suspension"

Erm does this means better ride comfort for a pickup truck? Without leaf springs? Wonder if it really able to carry heavy loads.

• avanza (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:53 pm

One word. EEEWWWWW!

• mosfet (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:10 pm

to me it's not ugly .. it's different ..

• acbc (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:18 pm

Yucks! They chopped the Ssangyong Starvic rear off! But, if it's cheap… I guess people will buy them anyway.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:31 pm

hmmm…they always come with ugly looks but creative also. It's the Korean attitude. Anybody in e first time will say ugly or aomethin, but sooner…they will accept it..

For me, the silver skin one was saving dis korean creation:)

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:31 pm

I don't really like it, but somehow attracted to it's polarising looks; people will either love it or hate it like the Multipla I guess. Not bad at all, in fact I think the interior is aesthetically pleasing, even better. Must be a good addition to our roads!

• figo (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:38 pm

Overall this is a very practical car as compared to the real pick-up which is too long , too high, too small for interior.

(i) Big interior especially at the back seat.

(ii) 141 HP is great.

(iii) Exterior look good.(like mit triton)

(iv) Diesel for fuel economy , durability & tough

(v) Interior look luxury.

This designer make a practical car and incorporated the disadvantages on the market pick-up and look for those people like to upgrade from sedan car to pick-up. GOOD.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:10 pm

Nice interior though..!

• drM (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:11 pm

this is not possible. i mean, this is not a pickup truck or the same range of vehicle as the Ranger/ Triton.

the back is not that long to even put my dad's back-carried-mesin rumput, isnt it?

and the face….owwhhh…i might be sick.

• protonsucks (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:18 pm

yierk……gaowek

• digiman (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:28 pm

i think they could have done better with the rims…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:52 pm

wierd…….see me post at mazda……..

• J (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 8:06 pm

look like mean machine !

The front grile is large enough for a dog to sleep there.

• zanggief (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 8:16 pm

Quite tough to compete with hilux,ranger,frontier or triton but the price may be competitive….

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 8:54 pm

@Charger

What anime is that from? Pokemon?

This country will soon become like US: obsessed wit pick-ups or other big vehicles. You need just 2 criteria to sell well in this country:

1. Cheap

2. Anything bt Proton.

And this SsangYong, met them both. Sigh…….

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 9:33 pm

What's the purpose of buying a pickup truck or SUT when people seldomly use the rear storage space. Unless if there is free roofline accessory.

Competitive Supreme should bring in the Actyon SUV instead and price it below RM100K.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 9:47 pm

Pls lar..dun even mention P1 here…is suxxk!

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 10:18 pm

My god is that the biggest steaming pile of crap I've ever seen. It look even worse than…. Stavic!!! I dont understand these British designers (SY cars are designed by an ex-brit professor from Royal college of art, and by the look of his handiworks he was prolly fired from there).

• lowprofile (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 10:18 pm

i think their designer is keith or kenneth green from uk. he probably has a fetish for yachts. wonder if our local designers can redesign the front grille to be less yacht like while retaining the front lights which look quite ok. in all, the car looks pretty good for a pick up truck. it's just the hideous jutting out front grill that spoils the whole picture. good effort made bad by a few wrong strokes of the mouse.

• Paul Tan on Jun 07, 2007 at 10:27 pm

there is another yacht pickup truck…

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/03/04/edag-luv/

• kennhyn (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 10:31 pm

Not long ago, I saw the lorry carrying this car at night, and I though is Triton without front grille, never though it will be a SsangYong. I really like rexton, this look not bad too, for a pickup truck.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 10:55 pm

normaluser said,

June 7, 2007 @ 9:46 am

“Company executives pointed out that Actyon Sports boasts at least four “firsts” in the pick-up segment. It is the first SUV-based SUT, the first two-litre SUT, the first SUT with SUV ride height and comfort and the first SUT without leaf spring rear suspension”

Apparently Ssangyong forgot about the Ford sportTrac which was the first SUV-SUT, not to mention the Cadillac EXT (or whatever it was called – the name somehow escapes me now)

As for Ssangyongs, if it aint odd (or ugly if I were to grade it), it aint a ssangyong.

• scottaliano (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 10:57 pm

as ugly as it gets.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 11:02 pm

Atleast the EDAG LUV looks more decent. Has a familiar looking Chrysler 300C front. I agree with normaluser that they should bring in the actual Actyon SUV. But then again its like the same category of the Kyron released not so long ago.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 11:58 pm

I like SsangYong interiors. It’s better looking than that drab Ford ranger thou. . . . malaysians are sooooo damn mediocre that anything that was radical or drastic would be deemed UGLY.

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 12:40 am

canggih, model baru, pembuka pintu chrome, lampu kristal cerah, kemas dan mantap, sungguh bagus

• ynnad (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 12:49 am

i think the rear would look a lot better without the watchamacallit sunsshade thing at the rear window and it's triangle post..

Or maybe I am tyring to convince myself it isnt that bad after all…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 1:18 am

the rear jus looks like its been cut at the last min…looks like a SUV bt last min decided to chop off the rear….it looks nice i mus say,bt if it drivers like a typical korea car then wont do that well….somehow it jus doesnt look right…incredibly fussy n messy in details

• gokibin (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 1:38 am

Looking at the first pix, I tot it looked great. Nice aerodynamic modern lines n shape etc. As I went thru the other pix, I quickly realised the really big gapping mouth up front. Wat a shame… Everything else looks just nice, but lo n behold… it has an ugly, ugly, ugly grille… I'm even more surprised to read the comments that it's designed by a Brit! Hey… wait a minute… now I'm not surprised after looking at the London Olympics logo. Ha ha ha… Neways, Ssanyong must really look for a better designer. Stavic was extremely ugly. Ugliest car in motoring history bar none.

• crackho (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 1:41 am

Oh dear… what a vulgar looking thing… however, some may like it, some wont. Sweet engine though.

• owaief (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 1:54 am

i wanted to be positive and say (more like type…) "looks are subjective", but god, this is ugly!!

• shuz (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 1:55 am

OMG!!! The front looks like a mutated GEN2

• shuz (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 2:05 am

OMG!!! The front looked like a mutated GEN2…

• arcana (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 2:51 am

toyota says…..truck must feel and look like sedan

ford says…..truck must remain like a truck

ssangyong says….truck needs new design hence we got a yacht for u…..or rather a fishhead? lol

• transformer (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 4:14 am

its damn ugly !

same 2.0 inside Kyron which sucks….

• szw (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 4:16 am

if the front grill is smooth out the SUT would look just fine.

overall wise i like ranger better compare to this SUT .

• nmh (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 7:57 am

i tot its sumthin from states…pontiac or saturn

• jedkoh (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 9:48 am

I am actually interested with this truck, but I really hope the front has a chrome grille like an Escalade or even a 300C.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 12:40 pm

not bad… its good for those wanting to be diffirent… tho i dun think those serious about lugging stuff will get this, the loading bay abit short… mayb this will be a bling-bling vehicle… all Ssangyong hve to do is give a couple to Too Phat/Ruffedge/Poetic Ammo and ppl will follow suit… or maybe not.. hehe…

• farizal13 (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 4:22 pm

nice looking but at back short…

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 5:59 pm

omg …. the world most …. xxxx Dcab … y they degine like this …. oh this will sell in malaysia ??? … i don;t think got ppl say pretty …. how about the sorento Dcab ?? erm sorry SsangYong ….. better change the looks b4 u sell in market ….

• floyd (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 7:05 pm

something different? Yeah right! 4 to 5 person will buy it and that's it. Mission accomplished – you want difference, right!

I bet with my nails that this wont sell in large volume if launched in Malaysia.

Looks like the ugly Musso in front and ugly Arena at the back..LOL

• BigCar (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 7:28 pm

the ugliest car in the world…

• longdongsilver (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 9:30 pm

If they start selling it here, would it be the first production car locally with VGT? Cool stuff. I think the secret to the high power output from small displacement would be the VGT.

• badsoulfly (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 11:59 pm

really ugly…at first sight…

but unique at second sight…like a SHARK

• waja_fr3ak (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 2:23 am

omg…tiz car qualified 2 nomite for 2007 ugly car of the year !!!

• Melvin CSSB (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 4:21 am

Dear Contributors,

My name is Melvin and I am the GM of Competitive Supreme Sdn Bhd (Sole Importer and Distributor of SsangYong Motor Company) and the Project Head for the Actyon Sports.

I thank you all for your frank comments on the Actyon Sports and take this feedback positively as it will help us to gauge the general public’s perception of our product.

I noticed that a lot of your comments seem to be on the subject of looks and as looks are subjective I am not going to harp on this subject.

It is really a truly capable vehicle and believe me it is a capable off roader as I have just found out during an off road drive in Penang.

The standard payload is just under 900kg and this can easily be upgraded if need be to just over 1,000kg with a higher spring rate and up rated dampers which we will be offering as an option soon.

The rear deck can accommodate 2 square metres of cargo so you should get everything including the kitchen sink in there.

The real beauty of the vehicle is the way that it drives, but don’t take my word for it, let me know if you would like to try it for yourself individually or as a group.

If you would like to know more or take a drive you can e mail me: [email protected] or call me on 012 3027338 or 019 268 7338.

Once again, I would like to Thank You All for your interest in the Actyon Sports.

Best Regards

Melvinder Singh

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 7:28 am

ALAMAK!!! copy cat again!!!! the front similar to Pontiac Aztek….

Kyron vs. Actyon, 2 ugly creatures……

Want SUV? then better buy CRV, Escape, Harrier, Murano etc.

Want a REAL pickup truck? then must get a Ford Ranger!!!!!!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 7:32 am

btw, can we drive or own a Hummer in Malaysia?

if can, what is the price? insurance? road tax?

(just curious)

• nmh (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 9:17 am

yup u can drive hummer in malaysia….saw yellow hummer in Bukit Antarabangsa and red hummer in Valencia(near sg buloh toll plaza exit)

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 4:08 pm

This car is not really beautiful, to me its ugly. Try looking at it in real life from front profile, can see a bit like guppy fish with big head

• lexa79 (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 6:03 pm

this pick up got lots of proton touch, the tail light is like arena, the headlight got a lil bit of gen 2, the interior is so plasticy like a typical proton. any collaboration btwn proton and ssangyong??

• jee sheen (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 7:24 am

on the contrary, it is a 2 litres turbo diesel ,i guess similar xdi engine concept as rexton 2,with almost equivalent power and torque that matches frontier 2.5litres & lowered tax ,lesser cost ?worth reconsidering?.But how good is its team services as compared to toyota? economy and maintenance vs isuzu dmax? luxury feelings as toyota hilux/triton? thats will totals up.Ssangyong's team had a reputation of having very few repeat customer,..why?so different with toyota or even nissan, maybe follow proton method?besides being @@@@@ as per the other sibling likes stavic/kryon/..plus support team & services likes P1,we hope we are wrong

• transformer (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 6:51 pm

sometimes back there some post mentioned "the flying vaginas" on Subaru Impreza… i think theres a new owner for that crown!

My dad had comeback from an overland trip from Bolehland to China, a Kyron is apart of this 29days convoy….. There are Pajero, Fortuner, Hilux, Land Crusier, Prado & etc… My dad are a 4WD enthusiast, when i asked about Kyron, guess what his reply …. "Forget it" (just can't imagine as there are about 7-8 car in that convoy only…)

hope SsangYong can involved in more 4WD outing to prove they are built tough…. or shall we say, "reliable"…

• BW (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 12:19 am

I notice all ssangyong cars are all so ugly… But at least this one looks better than the other models… But still ugly… The ugliest model is Ssangyong Stavic… Me and my friend always classify that car as a coffin car.. But i must say the interior is superb… I meant Stavic… But sayang the car is so damn ugly hahahha

• BW (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 12:21 am

Oh yea… And also the new rexton is also very damn ugly… Especially the break lights… Looks like a 2 lanterns hanging there..

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 12:36 am

but they got great techs on their sleeves…

• figo (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 5:39 pm

Dear Melvinder Singh,

Thanks for putting your write up at the Pualtan blog and willing to accept comments for improvement.

One think for sure, I would like to congratulate CCSB for bring in the Actyon pick-up under RM95K budget which will be head to head fight with the Hilux and Mit Triton, Ranger.

As a potential customer, I would like to provide my comments for your improvement on this aspect for this car and hope we can see this Actyon everywhere in malaysia road.

(i) Your salesman lack of knowledge on the service parts cost. As you are aware, all the budget trucks users (below 95K) very concern about the maintenance cost and parts cost like air/fuel/oil filter or …etc. You should train your sales rep on how to convince the buyer by providing this info.

(ii) Limited Colour (White, black, grey) – Why don’t come out with the easier maintain colour like silver?

(iii) Canopy design – Please provide more design options for the canopy. I’m sure all owners want to know the design and cost before purchase. If possible, provide free to purchaser to boost sale.

(iv) Hand brake – Why your hand brake is located at the left side of the gear console?

(v) Provide free maintenance for 2 years to boost sale.

(vi) Try to price this car below RM 90k OTR for auto to get more buyer to know the Ssangyong brand and quality. If not, maintain the current price at 94K plus free canopy.

(vii) Provide the manual version and price below RM 85K.

(viii) Look – very subjective but acceptable for me. (SHARK MOUTH)

Conclusion, this is the first car by CCSB that price below RM 95K and hope you are able to make the Malaysia road full of “ACTYON”.

Like the Honda CEO MOTTO during the launching the City DSI on 2003 “ He lower the price for DSI and want to make sure that Honda's car can be everywhere in Malaysia road”

• BW (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 6:20 pm

Yea… Great tech… But sayang so ugly….

• najibest (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 7:56 pm

i tested this car yesterday and it was really great. i would seriously recommend other people to go and test drive the car to see how well it performs. of course i won't comment on the looks department as it can be very subjective :)

• redragon (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 12:11 am

It really is a fantastic vehicle. I just bought one. :} Looks ? It looks a lot better in metal. I love how flat and wide the cargo bay is. Unbeatable road tax at less than rm 450…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 12:31 am

hmmm a thumbs up from an owner…..

• xg9 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 9:17 pm

if i could afford this, i'd buy one myself… i currently have blue actyon suv as my desktop wallpaper… i think its pretty… im the kind of person who like something different..

mr melvinder, how come you dont bring the suv version here?

• redragon (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 1:42 am

xg9, they did bring in 2 units, 1 red and 1 blue.

• Melvin CSSB (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 2:07 am

Dear xg9,

The SUV market here in Malaysia is very crowded and we really wanted to put our full effort into the Actyon Sports which is in a different segment.

We do indeed have two units of Actyon here in Malaysia which were used for evaluation and customer clinics. These are now up for sale at RM 128,000.

We have also sold 1 black unit to an end user based on a special order and are willing to bring in more if there is a demand.

Regards

Melvin

• figo (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 10:12 am

Well,

The price at RM 94.5K OTR is the highest among the pick-up truck with unknown reputation, high maintenance cost and well known high depreciation cost for Ssangyong car. After installing the canopy, the car will hit 100K.

They should sell car at below RM 90K OTR for Auto or RM 94.5K OTR with free 2 years maintenance and canopy in order to hit the market with a “surprise” pricing and rebuilt the Ssangyong reputation in Malaysia and export to other SEA country.

They need to think big and go all out to surprise the market instead of providing another brand just to attract few buyers from the pick-up truck category.

• figo (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 10:16 am

Well,

The price at RM 94.5K OTR is the highest among the pick-up truck with unknown reputation, high maintenance cost, less service centre and well known high depreciation cost for Ssangyong car. After installing the canopy, the car will hit 100K.

They should sell car at below RM 90K OTR for Auto or RM 94.5K OTR with free 2 years maintenance and canopy in order to hit the market with a “surprise” pricing and rebuilt the Ssangyong reputation in Malaysia and export to other SEA country.

They need to think big and go all out to surprise the market instead of providing another brand just to attract few buyers from the pick-up truck category.

• cyberx11 (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 12:54 am

is there any non sport version here in malaysia?

• tarek jabban on Dec 01, 2009 at 1:57 am

kindly i need the contact details for the sales office

• Edward on Jan 18, 2010 at 3:20 am

I actually think that the Actyons look really good!! Heard a lot of good comments from owners also. I'm planning on getting one after my old Nissan gives up.

• Gavin Teale on Apr 11, 2010 at 12:42 am

Hi. Ive had my pickup for two years. I can honestly inform you that they simply
    drive fantastic. Ive never seen another one in the UK. I purchased mine in France. Ive done 60 thousand miles and not one ounce of trouble. Many ask what is it!. It feels great to drive it around.