Significant improvement with E-Class quality in J.D. Power Initial Quality Survey

E-Class

You could say the most recent Mercedes Benz E-Class model spearheaded Mercedes Benz’s new reputation for bad quality control, something that many international members of the automotive industry have been talking about. A pity though, as my uncle-ish taste (I drive a Perdana don’t I?) is fond of the E’s looks.

The boys at Stuttgart did an amazing rebound recentty though. After years of what some call a humiliatingly low position in the J.D. Power Initial Quality Survey, the recently redesigned Mercedes Benz E-Class has come up tops in the premium mid-sized category of the most recent IQS! The new S-Class also topped the large mid-sized sedan category, but in a tied position with the Audi A8.

“Mercedes-Benz shows dramatic improvement, particularly with its newly-redesigned S-Class, which improves 63 PP100. Overall, Mercedes-Benz improves its nameplate rank by 20 positions—the greatest rank increase of any nameplate in the study. All Mercedes-Benz models in the study improved substantially, and the breadth and speed of these improvements demonstrates the Mercedes-Benz commitment to quality,” said Neal Oddes, director of product research and analysis.

The Mercedes Benz brand itself moved up twenty places up in the rankings for overall model quality. Combined with it’s recent disposal of the bleeding Chrysler group, there’s definitely reason for Stuttgart to be patted on the back.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 10:42 pm

One explanation that I can give is it's preoccupation with Chrysler. Now that the mill stone is off their neck, Daimler Benz can go back to making very good cars.

In Malaysia though, it's mound has now got to be shared with the likes of BMW, Audi, Lexus and Jaguar. Gone are the days of Mercedes being the sole supplier of luxury cars. Even the 'towkays' have been buying non Mercedes vehicles. I think this is due to their exposure to the vast array of alternatives seen during travels abroad. Some 'foreign educated towkays' just want to be different, and some know their cars well and are not letting one brand influence their choice.

• c-klasse (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 11:20 pm

I have to agree that they were pre-occupied with Chrysler for a long time and consequently "dropped the ball." It's good to see that they've rediscovered their touch. It can only be good news all-around for it inspires other car makers to also further improve their respective products.

Yes… healthy competition is a very good thing indeed. More choice often results in better quality products and better value for money for us, consumers! :-)

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 11:34 pm

Actually, quality is not so much an issue here for our buyers. Their preoccupation with the badge is paramount in their decision.

Quality is more of a European obsession. You can see that even with lower levels of quality, MB still sells well here. The brand name is super strong, irrespective of the quality. It is the perception that matters.

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 12:26 am

marmite crab:

I agree with you that there are some things that are an obsession with certain sectors of the motoring public.

For example, most reviews are carried out (as they should) by car lovers who like to drive cars. So handling becomes an obsession. BMW will always win hands down when handling becomes the main criteria. However, Lexus has other philosphies, ie it's cars must be comfortable, safe and even if does not handle as good as an F1 car, it's OK. Not that Toyota cannot make extremely good handling cars.

Also I think reviewers read other peoples' reviews as well. So when the I-drive by BMW was launched, it was heavily cricised as difficult to use, cumbersome etc etc. …and it was nearly the same with all the reviews, as if no one knew how the darn thing worked. Had they tried learning the manual for even half an hour, they would have been experts and appreciate BMW's revolutionary contraption.

Then Mercedes and Audi followed suit, and now the criticism has died down.

Even the funny boot of the 7 and 6 series were criticised, but now the S class and Lexus L460 also sport the bulging boot and it's all quiet again.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 12:50 am

longjaafar,

You're very funny but you're right, though. Many new technologies are often introduced in the motoring world and they more often than not get criticised.

I remember when ABS was first introduced and the people who reviewed them complained about the juddering felt at the pedals and said it would contribute to the accident more than prevent it as people would lift the foot off the pedal instead of press harder.

As we know, it is widely used now.

• clutch_plate (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 1:14 am

Congrats to Mercz. I hope our PROTON will follow what Mercedez do – Improve the quality when it's have a complain to achieve the customer's satisfaction. Don't buat deekkk je… Wake up la PROTON! You can do laaa….!! Don't tido-tido anymore! Pleaseeee make us proud with U… Do something…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 1:28 am

what this indicates to us is that, even the biggest brands in the world can mess up after dominating for so long. Most importantly, when you are knocked down, is how you take it and get back on your feet like how mercedes has done.

proton is probably at the lowest point in its history right now.. its now up to a collective effort of everyone involved to see it climb back up again, and I believe it can.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 1:37 am

Its always easier to maintain leadership in a market segment than trying to climb ontop of the heap and reduce market erosion. They should have realised that earlier. Instead they were too preoccupied with the merger/acquisition and the baggage that came with it. Clearly the Brand will need to maintain this kind of quality and improve perception for a few years to get back to No.1.

• szw (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 3:18 am

not nice…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:31 am

wait, I thought Daimler had plans to bring be on top of the reliability list when chrysler was still apart of it. Like more than 3 years now. They invested 2/3 of the profit back into QC to make sure that merc cars produce have the same reliability as the merc cars of the 80's. Someone correct me if I am wrong, but I really think its this way. I think in top gear Season 5/6 there was a mention about this thing

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:20 am

Good for Mercedes Benz. Every car manufacturers also have their own quality issues. The matter is either how bad or how good. Still remember when BMW 5 Series launched. The cup holder also kinda flimsy and some material used. So every manufacturers always work hard to correct the issue. In the recent J.D. Power Initial Quality Survey, Ford won 4 awards. Toyota drop behind Honda.

Proton also did do their work. Don't say no lah. Look at the current Waja, Gen.2, Savvy and Satira Neo…. these cars look so much better in qualities such as the fit and finish and plastic used. Much better. No matter what, they must improve soon and recover to their reputation and be competitive. Don't let people bash you again!

• BW (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:27 am

Actually Proton should follow this good example… since their quality fall from bad to worst

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 4:51 pm

Well BW, I'm not the Proton supporter. However, I want Proton to do well and competitive. Let us hope the upcoming 4 models that we know (BLM, Gen.2 Sedan, Gen.2 CPS & Satria Neo GTi) last but not list Waja CPS (only new CAMPRO CPS engine, don't think much changes in other areas) will come with good quality, fit and finish, plastic meterials used inside the cabin.

Cheers….

• digital marketing agency on Feb 09, 2018 at 8:05 pm

At this time, your PPC campaign is an essential weapon inside your armory.

Marketers will always be in search for first time and effective ways to
    reach the target market prior to competitors.
    ll locate them a concerned lot and though they are going
    to probably have numerous cases, do provide a try.