Impul Tiida – supercharged Nissan Tiida/Latio Sport

Impul_Tiida_Supercharger_2.jpg

Here is inspiration for any of you whose booked the Nissan Latio Sport 1.6 litre hatchback that went on sale recently. This is the Impul Tiida, based on the Nissan Tiida in the Japanese market which is basically the same car as the Latio Sport here in Malaysia. There is an Impul bodykit as well as a “shopping trolley” spoiler like the one on the Impul March, but what’s interesting is the performance enhancements.

The Impul tuning kit is for the 1.5 litre Nissan Tiida, but the only engine variant that is offered here in Malaysia for the Nissan Latio Sport is the 1.6 litre HR16DE. But perhaps the same supercharger kit can be fitted to the 1.6 litre engine block?

The HR16DE engine in the stock Latio Sport makes 109PS at 6,000rpm and 153Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. Impul’s Compressor kit (supercharger) boosts power up 35 PS, so the 1.6 litre block could end up with 144PS, the equivalent of a modern 2.0 litre.

The supercharger must be coupled with an Impul high power control unit (uprated ECU) as well as better Iridium spark plugs, and you can also fit a high flow Blast II design Impul stainless steel muffler.

Some other options to complement the car’s greater acceleration are better brakes – we’re talking about 6 piston calipers for the front on 282x21mm rotors fitted with Impul performance brake pads, which should definitely be more than enough for a 144PS car.

I am not sure where you can purchase this Impul forced induction kit for the HR15DE, or whether it can fitted to the HR16DE or not, but it shouldn’t be too difficult to adapt it.

Impul_Tiida_Supercharger_3.jpg

Impul_Tiida_Supercharger_1.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:46 am

Oh mine.. Supercharged! If i am rich i gonna get my hands on this! Change my Gearbox to manual six-speed.. Wow..

• F430CS (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:59 am

This supercharger kit is not that expensive if i were not wrong? Smooth acceleration and light kerb must be nice to be driven.

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 2:43 am

so nice…plus supercharger and 6 piston brake…it will be my taste if it is NISMO spec…haha…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 4:17 am

quite a good upgrade. Impul obsessed with that big spoiler, does not really suit the cars. not sure about aerodynamics function of it though.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 6:20 am

a far cry from the stock one! sweet man! im diggin' this! i take back my misregards for the latio…….

• chanlman (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 6:36 am

Singapore has Latio Hatchback Impul Series.. ONLY the bodykits. No supercharge or anything over there yet.

One thing… does anyone know why Malaysia getting 1.6L engine instead of 1.5L? I'm curious.

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 7:17 am

if it is under RM10K??

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 8:31 am

Last time i heard Datuk Ang mention that the 1.6L & 1.8L segment is like killing 2 birds with one stone. It just expensive then the 1.5L segment a bit, but can fight againts the Vois, city, Altis and Civic market.. Last time Sentra SE they also got sell 1.5L in Malaysia, but the numbers are little so they phase out the 1.5L and sell it the 1.6L. Even Thailand also using 1.6L as base model..

• schdmitz (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 12:35 am

dissappointed with the design!!!! too many french DNA…..killing the Japanese DNA…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 12:59 am

ala littlefir85..who wants 2 buy a car with dsg org tue car like sentra…n nt on d standard of vios,city…me also dun wan…bt i think they had made a good step by bringing dis latio in our country…sure boom..

• transformer (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 3:20 am

its just an old car for bolehland! nothing to hu-hah about!

still remember Teana ?

and the new Vios is coming to town…. consumer prefer T more than N…

only the new Navara, Sylphy and Livina would help!

• szw (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 3:47 am

i think latio is a very worthy car.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:32 am

Anywayz i have seen the new vios from singapore.. I asked the owner, he told me only the length has longer and more space on the rear.. The Engine and the tramission is still the same! So, new design only, technology still the same! Compare to latio engine, it's technology is more better then it.. VVT-i used during 97, CVTC 2002.. Which technology better? CVTC used 2 VVT, while VVT-i only use 1 VVT.. Latio interior also more better then Vios.. What Vios can do well it his pricing is more cheaper then latio in singapore. If latio price is the same with vios, a lot of SG ppl will choose it latio.. Anywayz hatchback is more selling in SG, coz got 1.8 CVTC selling over there in hatchback. Their Auto's are all CVT, 5-speed manual for 1.6L, 6-speed manual for 1.8L! Livina also 6-speed manual for 1.8L also! Malaysia market non! Why! I want a 6-speed manual 1.8L Latio hatchback!

• chanlman (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:51 am

For those who are really good in Chinese, please read this piece of news…
    http://www.nanyang.com/index.php?ch=7&pg=10&a…

Btw, Singapore Nissan Latio is a CBU from Japan. Can I call it, JDM cars? It's just so cool and feel more luxury than M'sian made. Been there, seen it myself.

Well, Msian will never get 1.8L, Latio Sport, 6-speed Manual. Wait till cows come home laaaah….

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 6:31 pm

yeah …. the selling point for nissan latio sport … now all young ppl will think about latio impul … after seeing this full bodykit with supercharge & 6 speed … nice drive man … bcare4 Jazz … somebody beside u …

• Infinitt (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 9:57 pm

Seriously i like this new nissan latio..plus this hmm..nicer

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 10:08 pm

Anybody had test drive Nissan Lation Sport 1.6l ? Comments appreciated. I was thinking of test driving next week only. How bout waiting list……??? 6 mths ?? 1 year ??

• chanlman (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:04 am

I'm also waiting next week to get a hand on Latio sport. Btw, if want good offer, i recommend Nissan Subang ss15. The boss is very nice person. I should be there on Saturday…. late afternoon :)

One thing still borthering me so much… Latoi Sport seat material is not that nice… Have to do my own leather seat later.

• jordanlee8308 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 4:37 pm

can i ask something… eveybody know where got impul body kit to sell
    i want to buy …. pls e-mail me in [email protected]
    TQ . all brother

• 081270 (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 11:27 pm

Bro do anyone know where to find the impul trolley spoiler in Malaysia????????????

• chanlman (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 10:19 pm

081270 … The impul bodykits will be made available in Malaysian market soon. If you have bought a Latio Sport, welcome to join us at http://mylatioclub.com There are more details about the bodykits in the forum :)

• chanlman (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 10:30 pm

you can get more info about the Malaysian released of iMPUL bodykits in our forum, mylatioclub.com.

Come join us

• desmond.kuek (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 12:19 pm

i like this latio hatchback.
    who one to see full upgrade from impul.
    may be u can look here from japanese site.
    http://www.impul.co.jp//products/model/C11_TIIDA_E.htm

• shamir on May 09, 2009 at 5:19 am

SUPERCHARGE/BOLT-ON +HR16DE + rear disc brake = perrrrfect machine

• Lavios on Jun 04, 2009 at 9:35 pm

i've vios and latio. latio much better in handling. the tanmission also better than vios.

• Samii on Jun 21, 2009 at 12:02 pm

Were do i find a tiida full exhaust with an extra exterior sound ?

• I have done a test drive on a second hand Tiida hatchback 1.5L 15M CVT from Japan.

Can anyone tell me what is the green light "sport" for when starting the engine.

Then the light goes off.

• Clement Chan on Jun 26, 2009 at 9:34 am

The "sport" light is similar to the Over-Drive OFF button which can be found in Malaysian Slyphy 2.0 CVT. I believe that is the CVT feature. A normal Latio 1.6 4AT does not have "Sport" light, but OD OFF instead.

• Thks Clement, Is it the small button on the right of the gear stick. Can i press and depress the button anytime when needed or is it for any specific reason example for overtaking rapidly.(I am new to automatic transmission)

I am planning to buy the Tiida 1.5L CVT. Do you recomend this car or does it has any problem.

My present car is a Toyota corolla 97 Ae110 1.5L. manual.

• Clement Chan on Jun 27, 2009 at 10:26 am

Auto transmission have good and bad points. Depends what is your need. 4AT with CVT is quite common in the market. Some says save fuel, some says lack of pick up power. Best you test drive a normal 4AT transmission and the one with CVT. That will help you make better decision.

• Ronald on Sep 24, 2009 at 11:11 pm

I drive a Tiida 2008. It is an exceent small car. It offers great comfort, fuel economy and speed. Previously I drive a Sunny. My wife drives a Bluebird 2000. We found no fault with Nissan cars. The problem though, I do the servicing on my cars but I cant find out how to change the spark plugs on the Tiida.

• Ronald on Dec 29, 2009 at 5:29 pm

How do I change the spark plugs in the Nissan Tiida 2008?

• akram on Mar 28, 2010 at 5:23 am

i want Supercharged of nissan tiida 1.6 in saudi arabia

• Finally i bought my Nissan Tiida hatchback 1.5L CVT from japan,a reconditioned one year 2006

The drive is very smooth i prefer it to my Toyota corolla manual. But there is a toc sound at time when i turn the steering wheel. I don't know where the sound come from. Did any body noticed this problem and what the solution.

• u can just send ur car to the nissan service centre they will fix it for u. mine just fix today.

• Greetings Latio fans,
    I from Malaysia and wish to get myself a Latio Impul, and I was wondering what did impul have done in the car as they stated Impul tune up?

• super charged 1.6 latio? yes.
    but how much would that be? rm120K?

better get a 308 turbo, 140hp, 240nm, RM114k, continental car.

• thomas lau on Jan 08, 2011 at 9:27 am

IMPUL COMPRESSOR KIT How much?

• lawmasai on Jan 11, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Years ago when latio from Singapore start appearing in Malaysia I put it in my pick list for future replacement of my wira. Do not know the real reason why sales of latio in Malaysia have tailed off so much – from initial of 2000+per month. I think monthly sales it is less than 350 unit, for sedan and hatch back combined. With rear spoiler & side skirting it is quite good looking for me. Driver”s seat is very comfortable – like seat in a french car. There is turbo version HR14 that gives out 130hp at 5800RPM let’s see if TCM will put it into latio’s and keep the skirting and rear spoiler as standard accessories. The current price of Latio sedan is about RM85k after discount and NCB deduction. If the TC version is kept under RM92k perhaps then latio can takes its fight back Vios and City.

As for me I end up booking a Nissan Grand 1.6A. I guess NGL have 90% of latio’s DNA, 85 to 90% of latio’s ride & handling but practicability is 120% of latio’s. Could not recall seeing any NGL with Singapore registration plate in Johor. I guess that most of latio buyers in malaysia are swayed towards NGL. If not for alza’s introduction i think NGL monthly sales could be >2500unit per month. The last bits – only if TCM could fit in, at least, the the front two seats from latio’s into NGL.

• Zaheed Manoo on Jul 28, 2013 at 8:24 pm

I need help in purchasing a engine fan belt for a nissan impul tiida hr15de with supercharger installed.

If I can get the size of the belt that connects to the supercharger compressor that would help me a lot.

• Fidel macaranas on Feb 27, 2014 at 8:46 pm

I want to buy the spoiler shown in latio version. I have a tiida 1.8 version in qatar. I want it to have a new look.. Will this big spoiler fit in my tiida 2006 model 1.8 ?