W204 Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG

07A1354

The new W204 C-Class now comes in AMG form as the Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG, a compact monster powered by a normally aspirated high 11.3:1 compression 6.3 litre V8 engine putting out 451 horsepower at 6,800rpm and 600Nm of torque at a high 5,000rpm – but this does not mean the 6.2 litre engine doesn’t have any grunt on the low end! At least 500Nm of twisting force is already available from 2,000rpm onwards.

Straight line performance is naturally good – 4.5 seconds from 0 to 100km/h through a fast-shifting AMG SPEEDSHIFT PLUS 7G-TRONIC transmission, which enables you to shift gears automatically or through steering wheel shift paddles. The shift modes include a Sport, Comfort and Manual mode. The engine and gearbox combo also features automatic throttle-blipping during downshifts.

The front axle has been redesigned to take all the new power. It has a new three-link front axle design which has a 35mm wider track, supplemented by flared wheel arches. The suspension has been upgraded to an AMG sports suspension. The rear suspension has a 12mm wider track, and drive shafts have been reinforced to take the increased torque.

Steering is via an AMG speed-sensitive sports steering, which might be disappointing to some as the whole perception with speed-sensitive steering is that you lose alot of feel, but AMG promises a direct ratio feel when you are driving spiritedly.

For safety, the car’s 18 inch or 19 inch wheels hide huge 6-piston caliper 360x36mm discs at the front and 330x26mm discs with 4-piston calipers at the rear. The Electronic Stability Control program is also enhanced with a 3-stage ESP program. You can pick from ESP ON, EPS SPORT, and ESP OFF, much like BMW’s DSC, DTC and DSC Off functions.

However, traction control logic is never completely off in AMG’s ESP software, even in ESP OFF mode. Brake pressure is still applied sometimes to create the effect of a mechanical diff-lock.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 1:41 am

fully sport stylish…

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 1:43 am

look at the metre display… 320km/h!!!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 1:48 am

gosh… can dream only… :(

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 1:52 am

what's the expected price-tag here???

• drebar (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 1:53 am

at the moment, it's still beyond my reach…

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 2:04 am

Maybe this beauty can be Autobot in Transformer-Next

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 2:43 am

If you say I hate Mercedes cars, you are right. But with this car, you are wrong. IT IS JUST AWESOME. Cool gearbox, great engine, excellent torque, you name it. HAVE YOU SEEN A CAR WITH 4 EXHAUST PIPE? WHAT A CAR!!

But i think many pipes doesn't mean the fuel consumption is low. Am I right?

• transformer (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 3:30 am

couldn't believe Merc allowed AMG to put that monster into a C-Class(W204)……

ITS UNBELIEVABLE !

just couldn't wait to hear/see any styling houses come out with a their own version, such as Brabus & etc…. Turbocharged Brabus?

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 3:42 am

wow… it looks cool! much better than the copy-cat Lexus IS-F

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 4:01 am

Holy goodness !! There you go big boy.

Unconsciously, my arse automatically sprang up the moment i saw this monster.

– 6.3 liter V8 engine…451 horsepower

-4.5 seconds from 0 to 100km/h…fast-shifting AMG SPEEDSHIFT PLUS 7G-TRONIC transmission

– metre display… 320km/h!!

Just purrfect…PURRRFECTO. Just wondering which one is cheaper, this AMG-tuned C63 or Porsche 911 Turbo ? In this case, certainly i'll go for the less financial burden and only now then, this C63 AMG is potentially to be replacing the Nine-Eleven Turbo.. to the top in my 'list'.

the Germans R 2 damN GeNiuS !!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 4:45 am

I guess Mercedes is finally strengthening the front axle to withstand all the torques. I hope the transmission has been tweaked to handle all the power too. I recall seeing an episode of Fifth Gear where the new S Class Brabus model breaking its transmission.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 4:51 am

this is crazy man!!!!!wonder why ppl need so much power?????but can it beat the bmw m5???

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 4:52 am

I really like the front and side profile of this Mercedes Benz C63 AMG. However, the rear profile is not quite aggressive. Perhaps Mercedes needs to change the rear combination light for their next C-Class facelift or even the rear boot design. Kinda like not really suitable for the whole package.

It happened just like the current BMW 3 Series design, the front looks nice but the rear combination light and rear designs is not suit the aggressive front looks.

• szw (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 5:21 am

7 speed AUTOMATIC ?

how to fight with BMW & speed manual ?

now some more come with dual-clutch already .

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 5:35 am

AMG fitted a monstrous 6.3 litre V8 in this compact sedan. I wonder will Brabus fit the V12 like the one in Brabus Rocket (CLS)…..?

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 5:58 am

i think merc have use the smoke lamps for the 1st time…dotn y'all c it?

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 5:59 am

and the hood creases looks out of place……

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 6:00 am

This has got to be the most-talked-about car on the internet today. I went to three different motoring websites and I see this latest official pictures. It's damn nice!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 6:26 am

one fierce looking merc, like alien taken over it :P

• mmcwei (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 7:13 am

this car will be as fast as the rocket!

• phas3r (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 7:33 am

not too impressive .. bmw m5 5.0 litre 507 horsepower….even non supercharge 760li 6litre v12 has 600nm torque

• phas3r (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 7:35 am

picked a wrong car for comparison..should look at the next m3, only 4litre can produce 420horsepower.. in a country where road tax is expensive, power output is important..u dun want to have a big engine with another car has smaller engine has the same performance as u

• phas3r (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 7:38 am

never seen a car with 4 exhaust pipes??.. all merc amgs, bmw Ms have quad exhaust mate

• tishaban (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 8:03 am

I wonder why they didn't put the 4Matic (4WD) system in the C63. It'll beat the Audi RS4's comparitively puny 4.2l V8 :D But the Audi comes with a manual transmission which the Europeans love.

• ruykava (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 8:04 am

small correction:

"However, traction control logic is never completely off in AMG’s ESP software, even in ESP OFF mode. Brake pressure is still applied sometimes to create the effect of a mechanical diff-lock."

actually, the C63 AMG marks the first time AMG will allow traction control to be *completely* switched off. this is according to Autocar. a very interesting development if you ask me – they are aiming straight for the M3 with this!
    http://www.autocarmagazine.com/CarReviews/FirstDr…

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 8:09 am

Despite the misleading 63 moniker, the engine is actually a 6.2 litre V8. AMG has been sticking this engine into just about all the models in the Mercedes range. In this, the C 63 AMG, the engine is actually in a detuned state. It can make a hell of a lot more than a mere 450bhp. Merc can't afford for it to upset its bigger brothers you see.

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 8:11 am

Oh BTW, forgot to mention that it looks brilliant. Love Merc's design language.

• arcana (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 8:44 am

of course this small boy can produce more than 450hp….but 450 already going at blistering 4.5 sec….its more than enuf to smoke plenty others.

not to mention that if they pump more than 500hp into the car, everything needs to be buffed more to withstand the power and force which means using more expensive materials and also putting the power on wheels…btw is this mean machine AWD? RWD?

• Paul Tan on Jul 06, 2007 at 9:57 am

ruykavai based mine on merc's press release.

• jimbet (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 10:15 am

I wonder why you guys expressing those ooohhss and aaahhss about the power of this car

arcana, 500HP?

in case if you don't know.. the old CL65 AMG got 650HP and 1000NM.. of course those AMG engineers have to detuned the engine so the torque reduced to 700++NM so the gearbox won't blow.

For me, I don't find anything interesting about normal merc with big engines. The power still can't be channelled to the tarmac properly.. all the power would be wasted.

About this car, look at the ratio of power output and engine displacement. I still find that M5 V10 is more interesting.

• Azuma (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 10:24 am

This merc looks younger. Dont have "uncle" look.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 10:34 am

jimbet:

The older CL65 AMG's never touched 650hp. The current one is only 612hp and the only reason it has 1000nm is because of the twin turbos used with the engine. It is a 6 litre bi-turbo V12.

I think the 650hp engined cars you might be referring to could be the SLR McLaren 722 Edition.

The C63 AMG pictured above is only a 6.3 litre V8 with no twin turbos and 4 pistons less than the V12 but still makes pretty decent power.

• phas3r (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 11:00 am

actually those 65 AMG engines can produce 1200Nm, detuned to 1000Nm to protect the transmission.. thats still a lot.. almost twice M5's torque but i guess horsepower is more important

• arcana (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 12:27 pm

yeah i do get ur point there….i'm just mentioning 500hp and beyond…..anything needs to be buffed to withstand such huge power…

all those crazy bi-turbos nowadays are scrambling at 600-700+ hp not to mention beyond 1000NM torque if that permits.

i wonder if the C class can even cope with bi-turbos given that is the smallest sedan in Merc's family. like someone mentioned….we'll just wait and see if brabus is crazy enuf for that.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 12:35 pm

arcana: we’ll just wait and see if brabus is crazy enuf for that.

There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that Brabus would attempt something maniacal if they ever decide to use the W204 C63 AMG ;)

• kimmy (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 3:29 pm

Flat bottomed steering wheel seems to be a must have in 'hot' cars these days…

Anyway, I don't quite like the looks of it. The front end looks a bit too messy and fussy. The interior is a bit to…well..dull. Great engine though.

• nyawere (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 5:14 pm

Very nice CAr..!!!!!

The technical specs is awesome…

The cockpit area is superb, love those seats…

BUT…

From the outside, asside form the fastastic 6 port callipers, it look as if the car is a bit unproportionate…. DOnt know why, but it does not have that sleek look that jives with the whole car.. Something is just not right… but dont know what…. Maybe the exaust is too big…! or maybe the lines of the car is too aggresive…

Really..!! this is just my opinion…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 5:49 pm

ermm.. there are many cars with 4 exhaust pipes ;) the M5 is one of them.. but then again, this is a c-class, its direct competitor is the M3(also has 4 exhausts), not the M5.

There is news that a 4 door M3 will be produced again. The last and only 4 door M3 was the the E36. would be an interesting match up.

The only problem with the AMG mercs when directly compared to their BMW counterparts, is the driving experience. The handling of their cars are still not up to par.

• nikanasz (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 6:01 pm

IMHO, i like high HP, but at low engine revs, high torque is more important for pulling power, so you don't have to rev high to move the car. that's why when comparing a car, besides looking at HP, i would look at the amount of torque available at low rpm i.e 1,800rpm to 2,000rpm.

• nikanasz (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 6:03 pm

oh yeah, in terms of BHP per litre, BMW is way ahead of Merc in terms of NA engines, just look at M5 and M3.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 6:36 pm

CRAZY fuel sucker ~ …. the bumper like japan style ~ … toyota altezza ~ ?

• superman (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 7:07 pm

The front bumper is similiar to other AMG cars. Look at the F1 CLK63 AMG Safety Car , and you'll see a similiar front end.

Awesome aggresion from AMG & Mercedes.The styling is truly BRUTAL!!!

Having Brabus shoehorned a 6.1ltr V8 in the previous C-Class to make the CV8S , MB/AMG decided to produce their own in hse effort..

The only tragedy is AMG don't make cars with a manual tranny. That's where they usually lose out to BMW M cars, in addition to the overall driving experience

• layman (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 7:17 pm

Even a monkey knows how to build a high HP engine by increasing the engine capacity. If you have to build a 6.2l engine to compete with the 4.0l engine, that is useless, especially when global warming, high roadtax, oil prices ……are in the rise.

• layman (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 7:24 pm

And BTW, this car looks ugly, try to copy BMW 6 series sleepy eye, but out of proportion -an aggressive looks with an sleeping eye like a sick gangster!!!

• proton GL (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 7:47 pm

rear wheel arch is tamed, (not buldging like the m3)

like as if they havent got a huge torque at the rear,

looks front drive,

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 9:28 pm

LoL, I'm loving the opposing point of views. Just for the record, the 6 series is mighty ugly and no the C isn't copying the 6.

BTW, BHP per litre is overrated. It doesn't tell you anything about overall performance or engine efficiency. In its full glory the 6.2 V8 easily exceeds 500bhp and weighs about the same (maybe less, forgot exactly) than the M5s 5.0 litre V10 thanks to its lightweight construction, with more torque to boot.

The difference between more recent AMG models compared to ones in the past, is the emphasis on better driving dynamics. Take the engine, for example, is designed to be NA and high revving in nature, unlike the previous supercharged V8s or biturbo V12s feeling of lazy effortless power.

IMHO, in terms of straightline speed at least, this C63 will spank the new M3. In terms of overall dynamic polish, the M3 will still probably be better. That said, it will be exciting to see how close Merc can get to BMW in that department with this car.

Looking forward to the group tests.

• Coltrain (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 10:24 pm

This really a MONSTERRRRR……

• jamsbong (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 10:38 pm

I agreed with silverfish

The BMW is really ugly. The only advantage I can see is a more engaging drive as BMW always tune their cars that manner. The Merc is always gonna be more comfortable. IMO, If i want engaging drive, might as well go for a Porsche of the same price range. The Porsche will eat BMW for breakfast anyday.

Merc is one car which can provide no other car can. That is, be lazy, Take it Easy and still be Monstering FAST. This is the ultimate muscle machine.

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 11:47 pm

I LOVE what they've done to the hood and also the fog lamps on the front bumper… This looks like the start of a new breed of AMG models, and it looks like they have done a fantastic job. I thought the BMW M3 was great, and I really liked the Audi RS4, and was even pretty impressed with the NEW M3… But this… This C63 AMG is just one awesome car… Anyday better than the M3! I absolutely cannot wait to see the future AMG models.

• ab (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 2:00 am

looks the business

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 2:43 am

jamsbong,

porsche and bmw are 2 different types of cars la. please compare apples with apples.

bmw and mercedes have always been traditional competitors.

but even compared to a porsche directly or indirectly, bmw's are no slouch in the handling department.

I would say a Z4M doesn't look too shabby even next to a cayman.

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 3:23 am

Actually, the Z4M has more power and is faster in a straight line compared to the Cayman. But, the Cayman fights back with world class dynamic polish and clinical precision to everything it does. The Z4M on the other hand is a wild animal.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 6:48 am

#

jamsbong said,

July 6, 2007 @ 2:38 pm

++

Merc is one car which can provide no other car can. That is, be lazy, Take it Easy and still be Monstering FAST. This is the ultimate muscle machine.

==========================================

Dear James Bond,

Concord ! You really got the point there..haha. Yeah i feel the same way about Merc. It seems slow and steady in its lazy mode, but when it comes speeding in 'amok' from far away..it'll be the monster of tornado. ZeuuoooOOOOSSSSS !!

Porsh, Merc, BM…"the Germans R 2 DaMn GeniuS" is proven.

• J (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 4:37 pm

Great looking car ! Like the front skirting.

This is the new trendy color. It seems now every new car offer this color (dark silver grey ?)

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 5:58 pm

Not just in reality, in dream also i can't afford this..SO DO YOU! hahahuahuahua..

• phylixng (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 8:15 pm

i think this merc c class will not too expensive. maybe it wil be quite affortable to most middle classes.

anw, she really look fierce and outstanding campare to other design in merc. i think this design is really launch to fight with bmw m3, base on the preformance and looks. with this design, is like a ice breaking for merc's impression that gave most m'sian. which is old man only likes car. hahaha!! cuz is stable and comfort. now i feel this car is kinda young.

• danoneism (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 8:30 pm

huh…wow…nice….

but i can only dream owning dis…. :(

• danoneism (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 8:33 pm

huh…i think m5 looks better…..

i think?…hoho

• layman (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 11:05 pm

Sure M5 looks better. inside M5 is the award winning engine. This is a…….

…..only an expensive junk. Just imagine 6.2l try to compete with 4.0l, is like a 25 years old man try to compete with a 15 years old boy ….and get beaten.

The only advantage this has over BMW is comfort. But If I want comfort I will go for Lexus which is less expensive and better quality. The Lexus will eat this Mercedes for supper everynight.

• jamsbong (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 11:58 pm

I might be out of topic here but personally, I think the 1-series BMWs are the bests for driving thrills and speed. The 1-series coupe will be out soon, it will be even better. This car definitely beats any cars that is offered by Mercs.

A powerful twin turbo L6 on a tiny Coupe. Droool….

• jitra motor (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 12:24 am

I like it, but………no money la…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 11:18 pm

looks okla than the standard one…standard ma…standard 1 looks org tue…transform to amg..looks ganas…btw…rs4 n 159gta 4 me…nnn…i rather choose m3….m5 and dis car???this car cant beat the m5…u know wut…b4 m5 reach the speed of 250km/h…its already pass the ferrari f430…n…the conclusion is…m5 still fastest…

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 7:38 pm

layman; thank you for sharing your bias and ignorance with everybody.

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 9:44 am

my family has owned MB's since i can remember, today my 02's320 is the worst MB i've ever owned…its pratically falling to bits plus the air suspension gone bust twice already..now airbag ecu and instrument cluster gone..i'm just about to break a family tradition and go 'LEXUS'.. i still got my old 124 model which i trully believe is the last real M.Benz..

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:55 pm

trustgtr; fret not. Mercedes has seen the light once again and have vowed to make bulletproof quality cars once again. You should read about the lengths they go to, to make sure the new C class is a proper Merc and not the joke we got in the late 90s and early 00s.

Lots of customers have complained, they've faltered in the JD Power ranking, and they sort of their lost their mojo a bit, especially in the States. And that has finally brought them to their senses.

• Ghostbusters (Member) on Feb 20, 2009 at 5:52 am

This car was built for two things specifically, speed and comfort. You can carry your mates and family members around AND still have enough juice in the car to make an M3 cry. A brilliant car in my opinion. Though, it wouldn't hurt to slap in a turbo I guess. AMG should have placed more thoughts into a turbo charged v8 engine rather than an naturally aspirated one. Gives the C class a better boost and a cooler look. V8-TURBOCHARGED.

• Ghostbusters on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:13 am

Lol, looks like my prayer was answered. New 5.5L V8 Bi-turbo.