2007 Mitsubishi Lancer spotted on LDP

2007 Lancer Spyshot

[UPDATE: Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has launched the new Lancer. Click here for more details on the fully imported Lancer 2.0 GT that’s available in Mitsubishi showrooms now.]

Reader 280kmh managed to snap this shot of the latest Mitsubishi Lancer on the LDP highway while driving from Subang to Bangi. All of the rear badging including the Mitsubishi logo has been taped up, but one glance and you know that it is the latest Lancer because of it’s very recognisable design.

I previously blogged about how this could be the latest addition to our C-segment market earlier this month, and the next few months will be busy ones for the Malaysian car industry, with multiple non-national makes and even a new Proton lined up.

Just a short summary of the specifications that the Lancer has in overseas markets: it is powered by a new 2.0 litre engine from the Global Engine Manufacturing Alliance project, a joint venture between Mitsubishi, DaimlerChrysler and Hyundai.

The new engine carries the 4B11 codename. It is a 152 horsepower 2.0 litre DOHC 16 valve engine with MIVEC variable valve timing on both intake and exhaust mated to either a 5-speed manual transmission or a Sportronic(R) CVT transmission with a 6 virtual gears that can be shifted through steering wheel paddle shifters.

No official word yet on the specs that will be available in Malaysia, but there have been rumours of two fully imported CBU variants of the 2.0 litre – a standard spec and another with a higher trim level loaded with more goodies.

2007 Mitsubishi Lancer in Malaysia – Q3 2007?
New 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer specs and photos revealed
Mitsubishi Galant Fortis for JDM market

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 7:24 am

I think our country slowly becoming major hub for automotive instead of CKD one like Thailand. Just look at ‘camouflage’ cars nowaday. Not just from Proton, but Nissan, Naza, Perodua, and even Mitsu.

• acbc (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 8:37 am

Yeah! Can’t wait… was hoping for the full-spec Evo X though…

• ab (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 8:44 am

not to spoil mitsubishi’s party, but here are pics of the new corolla on sale in the aussie market:

http://www.toyota.com.au/toyota/vehicle/Gallery/0,4667,4267_1634_0_20,00.html

• MyBoy (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 8:50 am

azrai said,

I think our country slowly becoming major hub for automotive instead of CKD one like Thailand. Just look at ‘camouflage’ cars nowaday. Not just from Proton, but Nissan, Naza, Perodua, and even Mitsu.

CKD? Explain yourself please.

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:14 am

No big deal about this type of car that sold in open market as low as RM 40K in certain countries like US or UAE!

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:25 am

azrai, spotting of “camouflage” car on the road for this case is not under development stage, but preparation for launching of new model that is nothing to do with becoming auto hub but part of dog-eat-dog fighting strategy for market share!

CKD one like Thailand – that is misquote as more than 90% of Hilux, Vios, Camry etc from spark plug to body, engine etc is manufacture in Thailand! Thailand is the manufacture hub of auto industry in SEA, in no way Malaysia can catch up with them if we depend on our NAP and national car manufacturer – P1 & P2.

• tck306 (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:34 am

i saw the car as well myself last month at Cyberjaya custome office. 2 specs will be hitting Malaysia. 50 cars already here in KL, waiting for AP and clearence for govt. The GT version will be sold at 118K and i will book 1 myself soon. a bit dissappointed that they are not bringing in the full spec vesion as shown in the lanser website :(

• szw (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 10:26 am

how much ?

• AmSouth (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 11:01 am

I have been waiting Mitsubishi new vehicle and now the new Lancer is in Malaysia. Alright baby! Welcome lancer. Can’t wait to test drive the car. I bet this car is more powerful than Civic. What I heard this coming Lancer is equiped with 155 horsepower and higher N-m torque than Civic.

• AmSouth (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 11:19 am

To Honda Civic. Don’t think you are the best that you are dominating the C-segment market. More players, especially Lancer, are coming in to Malaysia. So pray hard!

• MyBoy (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 12:16 pm

BigFish said,

azrai, spotting of “camouflage” car on the road for this case is not under development stage, but preparation for launching of new model that is nothing to do with becoming auto hub but part of dog-eat-dog fighting strategy for market share!

CKD one like Thailand – that is misquote as more than 90% of Hilux, Vios, Camry etc from spark plug to body, engine etc is manufacture in Thailand! Thailand is the manufacture hub of auto industry in SEA, in no way Malaysia can catch up with them if we depend on our NAP and national car manufacturer – P1 & P2.

Thanks BigFish,

Azrai doesn’t seems to know what he is talking about. That is exactly why i asked him to explain himself.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 12:20 pm

Sweet looking car. Hey, i thought the N70 had a 2mp camera or something like that. Y is the pic so blurry?

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 12:38 pm

Wow…I am wondering what car of the “Reader” driving while snapping this picture? BMW or Merc? 280KM/H woh……

Do you guys think this new Lancer will be a BIG treat to Honda? Let say the Civic 2.0. Well I think UMW Toyota should move a little quickly for Altis replacing. Its VERY “uncle-ish”, dont you all think so?

There is once i saw an advert about new Toyota Axio in Astro star by one of guy whom i have been noticing few times in Astro “Wah Lai Toi” channel (usually he will be mc for shows), very short hair and thin,looks bit uncle-style but he is not tat old. Saw that adverd in Astro sports channel.

The car look exactly the same with JDM Toyota Axio. Have anyone saw tat advert?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 1:50 pm

talk abt mitsubishi la …y on earth talking abt toyota?

• rugaxp (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 2:13 pm

280kmh is a user name..like mine rugaxp..get it?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 5:45 pm

Wow! I am going to ORDER this soon. Watch out for the plate Number with 222, its mine.

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 6:34 pm

the car is registered with a number plate ?..what would be the type of car listed on the jpj and all that ?..i mean if the car has not been officially launched

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 7:32 pm

aside from topic, this will be the new sentra for our market i think… http://www.automobilemag.com/auto_shows/naias_2006/0602_nissan_sentra/

how do i know? well i suscribe to Reader’s Digest, and in one of the many contests that they send me, one offered a brand new Nissan Sentra as the price, with a pic of the new Sentra!

ok mayb it might only be just for show, but somehow i hv a feeling this will be it… looks really cool from what we already have…..

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 8:42 pm

it is cool……..:)

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:40 pm

I don’t think its a hub yet. Its more like testing new cars which are going to be marketed here. Or unless its testing for singapre, but then they don’t need to test it as their speed limit is 90KMh and they come here for speeding.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 9:55 pm

kinda tired with T and H brands… Welcome Mitsu!

Hope we can test drive this baby Galant soon…..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 11:44 pm

Already opened for bookings now, refer Guang Ming newspaper…..

• sysh (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 12:03 am

I saw the new Lancer sitting in North Port today, without any camouflage. Lots of them, well..at least 20 of them. Not sure what the specs are..but it had the wording “EX” if i’m not mistaken. My bro took a few pics tho.

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 5:44 am

This lancer looks very nice and really like to get one, but after I has owned 2 eclipse with a lot of problems, not sure I going to buy another mitsubishi again. This lancer has all aluminium engine with MIVEC, and mitsubishi motor has improved their new cars quality to regain customer confidence. Man, this car is beautiful but I am sketical about owning another mitsubisgi again…

• maestro77 (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 12:19 pm

The 2.0 engine has less horses than the 2.0 Civic (Lancer 152hp vs Civic 155hp) but the Lancer has more torque. Not sure how this will translate to actual performance. Also, the Lancer is heavier.

• digiman (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 10:30 pm

hei.. i saw it too.. but it was on the North South Highway…
    sweet looking babes.
    wonder whats the retail.. any idea people?

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 11:49 pm

Nice, now we wait for these to flood the streets :p

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 8:32 am

Ab,
    New Corolla is damn fugly, but people will still buy it coz its a TOYOTA………
    “old, boring, lazy, souless n reliable…….”

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 10:23 am

mits27 said,
    July 29, 2007 @ 5:44 am

This lancer looks very nice and really like to get one, but after I has owned 2 eclipse with a lot of problems, not sure I going to buy another mitsubishi again. This lancer has all aluminium engine with MIVEC, and mitsubishi motor has improved their new cars quality to regain customer confidence. Man, this car is beautiful but I am sketical about owning another mitsubisgi again…

———-

I have had 2 Eclipse (Turbo AWDs) and 3 E38 Galants and find them just as reliable as any 12-15 year old car would be.

Mitsu is offereing 10 years warranty on thier cars in North America so if the Company backs thier products that well, I’m sure the product wont be far off.

• HK ^_^ (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 2:26 pm

Open bookings for New Mitsubishi Lancer NOW~ anyone interested??
    Or anyone need more information about New Lancer 2.0GT,
    Please drop a message to me =)

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 2:12 pm

nothing special. any Caldina will tapau this Lancer with stock engine.

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 2:13 pm

If Lancer Evo X lain cerita lah :D

• tantart (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 11:29 am

HK ^_^ said,
    July 30, 2007 @ 2:26 pm

Open bookings for New Mitsubishi Lancer NOW~ anyone interested??
    Or anyone need more information about New Lancer 2.0GT,
    Please drop a message to me =)

im interested…drop me a mail at [email protected]

• i've already tapau subaru super charge with my lancer