Hydrogen-powered Hyundai i-Blue Concept

Hyundai’s i-Blue concept car will be the Korean car manufacturer’s first non-SUV hydrogen experiment, instead as you can see it is based on a crossover car-like platform, most probably a tribute of sorts to the Toyota Prius form factor.

The i-Blue was developed at the Hyundai technical center in Chiba, Japan and runs on Hyundai’s third-generation hydrogen cell technology. Not much details have been revealed at this point on what exactly this third-gen hydrogen cell is. We’ll have to wait until Frankfurt 2007 to find out.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 9:48 am

Korean cars are famous in high fuel consume. Well this one eats Hydrogen! Does it will be the same??? High Hydrogen consumption??? LOL! Actually Hyundai not the top high fuel consume.. ITs KIA MOTOR is the top one… So when KIA will come out its “High Hydrogen Consumption” ?!

:P

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 11:13 am

Wow the looks…so amazing.Hyundai has proven that it’s something that others can’t look down upon in the automotive world.I can feel the new breeze…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 2:17 pm

like watching cartoon network!

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 3:06 pm

hawt design..

• transformer (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 6:42 pm

i thought BMW had dump thier Hydrogen project and now Hyundai had been researching it…

Hope Hyundai can show the world what really Hydrogen can do!

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 10:22 pm

I believe Hyundai can make it somedays! Hyundai i love u!

• szw (Member) on Sep 01, 2007 at 10:37 pm

which part is blue except 4 da lights ?

• ab (Member) on Sep 02, 2007 at 9:07 am

ooooh those wheels, i dun dig the korean blingness

• mzfnd (Member) on Sep 02, 2007 at 11:28 pm

Hydrogen powered, eh. Does it have water molecules splitting engine or do we have to feed it with hydrogen in gaseous form? If it is the former, I’ll get ready to sell my car.

• wildthingz (Member) on Sep 03, 2007 at 8:45 am

hydogen powered huh…why dont used palm oil powwered its ez lol u just go near the palm tree then just pull the nozzle and ur tank is fulll hahahahahah
    i think there will be a car based on nuclear power soon

• KL-ATR (Member) on Sep 04, 2007 at 9:51 am

At least the Koreans admit that they’re still not there in terms of car designing and leaves that to the experts like Giugiaro. This concept looks really beautiful and is up there to compete head on with the established Japanese.