Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X GSR and RS

Lancer Evolution X

Mitsubishi Motors Corporation has unveiled official details on the new Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X ahead of it’s official unveiling at the 2007 Tokyo Motor Show. There are two models: the Evolution X GSR and the bare bones competition-centric Evolution X RS. The manual version will be launched first, with the Twin Clutch SST version to be available towards the end of November.

The Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X GSR comes with either a 5-speed manual gearbox or a 6-speed Twin Clutch SST dual clutch automated gearbox. It also includes the S-AWC all-wheel drive system. The standard wheels are Enkei 12-spoke 18 inch cast alloy wheels with 245/40R18 tyres, but there is an optional premium package which upgrades these to 18 inch BBS lightweight alloy wheels.

The other noticeable difference on the exterior is the oversized rear spoiler on the GSR which uses a twisted-section wing panel with different attack angles at its ends and in the center portion to match the airflow over the body surface.

On the interior, you get Recaro full bucket front seats which also host the optional SRS side airbag. There is also a leather package which uses genuine leather combined with Glanluxe, an artificial suede-finish leather made by Seiren Co Ltd. The steering wheel is of a small diameter for smooth operation and is wrapped with genuine leather. The left steering wheel spoke either hosts the S-AWC mode selector or audio controls depending on what spec levels you choose.

The instrumentation cluster includes a multi-info display which provides the driver vehicle status information such as fuel remaining, Twin Clutch SST mode, and S-AWC operating mode.

The new engine is of course the 4B11T, a 280PS 2.0 litre inline-4 DOHC engine with MIVEC varaible valve timing which has more torque than the previous 4G63 unit – 422Nm at 3,500rpm. It is 12kg lighter excluding auxiliary equipment thanks to the usage of a die-cast aluminium cylinder block, head cover and chain case. The new engine now uses a rearward facing exhaust manifold which improves exhaust and emission control efficiency and allows the engine to be mounted lower as there is now no need for the exhaust piping to pass underneath the engine. This reduces center of gravity.

While the standard suspension is already a sporty setup with MacPherson struts at the front and a multilink setup at the rear, there is an option to take this a step further with a high performance packagew hich includes Bilstein single tube shocks and Eibach coil springs. The standard Brembo brakes are replaced with 2-piece versions which save 1.3kg at each wheel. Tyres are also replaced with ones with stiffer walls and better grip.

Mitsubishi plans to sell 4,000 units in Japan this year. More photos after the jump.

Japanese Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Brochure
Production Lancer Evolution sighted undisguised
Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X’s new S-AWC system
Mitsubishi reveals Twin Clutch SST gearbox

Lancer Evolution X

Lancer Evolution X RS

Lancer Evolution X

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• geejun2 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:23 am

errrr…. not as cool as expected…..

• F430CS (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:36 am

Not that evo feeling, prefer the evo6 more than this.

• ob8 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:50 am

the evo and the lancer of the X is not that different compared to the prev generation. so I think that’s why you got less the evo feeling.. i think.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 2:45 am

nice looking car there

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 3:35 am

white looks great,i hate the rear….bt it has stonking torque numbers !

• mza02 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 6:01 am

mitsubishi really should re-design the whole rear end…its ugly as a baboon rear end…

• azrai (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 6:59 am

Rear Waja 3rd brake lamp with Persona’s rear bumper reflector + Gen2 speedo meters.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 7:51 am

The interior is not hot at all…

• ab (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 7:53 am

who needs a ferrari?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 8:29 am

azrai said,
    October 2, 2007 @ 6:59 am

Rear Waja 3rd brake lamp with Persona’s rear bumper reflector + Gen2 speedo meters.

—-

Yes yes..we know…. don’t forget, it also has 4 round wheels, like the Gen2 too.

The launch of a new Evo has always been anticipated news. I don’t know if mitsu should continue to stick to 2.0. I mean going with a larger engine would be so much better (ie. The Impreza 2.5). Imagine the torque number that engine would generate. The car looks more balanced than the reagular unit, due to its wider stance and lower body…the GS/GT just ends up looking top heavy.

Nice big 245/45/18 tyres though. Dont think grip will ever be an issue, my old AWD had 205/55/16s and grip was never a problem.

I’m fine with the EVO looking more toned down. Driving a showy car is stressfull, may times I wish i could just blend in (like a E36 M3 Sedan, or Audi S4) and not attract unwanted attention, especially from the traffic police.

• ganz (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 8:36 am

nice… :D so nice… RM??..

• acbc (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:08 am

Nice.

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:21 am

4G63T DSM:

But doesn’t the car need to be 2.0 litres to compete in rally? Homologation rules, or has it been changed? Sorry for being slow :p

Hm, overall the Evo X looks a lot more toned down and not as aggresive, but I like it this way, it looks more civilised and can still be menacing. Love the Alfa butt too, only weak point is the uninspiring interior.

• Dogster (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:33 am

Love the X Rs edition. :) Looks like its being forced to the floor with a strong magnet!!

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:35 am

The white color one look nice and easy in my eyes. But the rim not match and look too small.
    but HEY!!.. Who gonna say the interior is ugly and using the same as kutuk2 GEN-2 BRA SPEEDO METER!?

Poor mitsu.. stealing gen-2 speedometer.. Design your own-lah!

• motberg (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:17 am

droool…. now if only i can afford it, i would die a happy-happy man.

to those who keep comparing parts of this car to Gen-2, Waja, Persona, etc, PLEASE GROW UP!! why not say the nose look like VW Rocco / Audi, the air con vents look like Vios, the side mirror copy BMW, the red colour look like Gen-2, so Mitsubishi just do a cut & paste job! look at all the cars and you will find some similarity even in Merc, BMW, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, etc… car designers are influenced by the things they see around them, so it is NOT surprising. just stop comparing it with Proton for crying out loud!! Please don’t give credit where non is due…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:26 am

less WoW factor..prefer old model which more aggressive look.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:49 am

Homologation rules are still 2.0. So you are still correct.

All it says is that you have to make and sell XX number of 2.0L for homologation. Does not say that all of the model line needs to use the same capacity engine.

Perhaps, have the GSR as a 2.4 for lower state of tune and more reliability (or for extra headroom for enthusiates to tune up), and the Competition spec RS with a higher tuned 2.0L. Problem solved.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 11:04 am

the X RS (white one) is supposed to be this pared down version of Evo…

i guess the reason for its puny rims and absence of spoiler is to cater to track drives whom will put in their own set of racing wheels and GT style wing… so cheaper for them than if they were to buy the standard version then swapping the parts…

nice, but im a Scooby lover…. shame about the looks of the new Scooby tho….

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 11:48 am

ermm… the rear does look weird to me… maybe need time to get used to the new evo rear design… when mitsubishi launched their evo7 with totally new rear design where the plate number had been moved to the bumper, i didnt like it at all… then the evo9 rear design is a stunner… hope this new chasis can last for the next 2 generation of evos?

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 11:58 am

Don’t look as menacing as the concept but I’m sure they will fix that with a limited run of RALLIART version! *Drool*
    The amount of torque this baby can produce… man… incredible!!! Time to start buying them lottery tickets boys! LOL!

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:08 pm

tak best lah only 5-speed manual .even MINI got 6-speed manual

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:01 pm

i still think it looks as outrageous as all Evo’s before it, albeit in its own way of course.

I also think it maintains its “aggresive” nature well as what an EVO is always known for.

“All it says is that you have to make and sell XX number of 2.0L for homologation.”
    this only applies for homologating the car for GrpN, or now known as world production car class.. for WRCars, they only need to build a min. of 6 complete WRC cars(late time i checked the regulations of course)

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:10 pm

TIRU TIRU!!!

Useless mitsubishi only know how to copycat. Now come up with car so similar to the std edition every ah beng is gonna own a car that looks like an Evo.

The back is almost exactly the same as the old Mazda2. The sloping rectangular headlamps. More similar than the gen2 to the megane. What a disgrace mitsubishi!

hehehe, in teh typical way ppl bash proton.

* im being sarcastic cuz i know i cant afford one… :-P

• chongsw (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:57 pm

If my memory serves me correctly. This 1st time I saw this dashboard design was in a Alfa 156. Then, the same design can be seen in Mitsubishi Airtrek. Then only we see it in Gen-2.

• nmh (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 2:39 pm

plastic interior…i think many and many more auto manufacturer start to use palstic interior to reduce cost maybe.

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 2:44 pm

This Evo look so tame evethough the design has aggresive looking because we already get normalized by Lancer GT that was launched here.

No more wow factor. But the technical should be suprising.

• wong (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 3:53 pm

prefer this than the previous one

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 4:24 pm

MINOR CHANGES ONLY (FOR SKIN)
    EXPECTED TO BE MORE EXCITING DESIGN COMPARE TO STANDARD LANCER..

• richnet_campro (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 5:07 pm

hopefully the older model can be cheaper..
    then i can get my hands gatal again.. time to change car?? hahaha

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 7:05 pm

agree with f430cs…evo6 is the best looking evo till now..why some of u said dis car tiru gen2??peerrrgghh…actually dat dsg oredi exist ma b4 gen2…so…gen2 is nt a pioneer here…gen2 also tiru…

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 8:05 pm

so .. IF PROTON = you can compare with other car lah? proton copy this.. proton copy that. But … IF MITSUBISHI = Oh!! all hell great!..

What double standard and selfish some people here..
    5 speed auto only? Not enough for this car.. should be 6 or 7.

This Evo X really disapointed me…
    Evo should be 100 times better than lancer…

• szw (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 8:20 pm

it looks real nice , but don’t know how it appear in the real world .

• mild7 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 8:39 pm

i found the WHITE evoX picture got a bit like GTR R34 veilside bumper image ler!!!!! this car will be launched by oct/nov at brunei!!!!

• mild7 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 8:41 pm

the automatic gearbox will better than manual???? VW golf GTI’s automatic is faster than manual oh!!!

• fastcx (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 8:56 pm

front remind me of volvo, overall the car is acceptable for me, just the rear is abit tall and flat -.- performance i bet can compete vf previous evo, because duno about the weight of whole car, engine is 12kg lighter, but how is the car body?

• Ralliace (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:31 pm

We’ll see lots of the recently launched Lancer 2.0 being converted to the Evo X!! Mark my words! :)

It will be soon enough we’ll see Brother’s selling the parts for convertion.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:55 pm

evo x looks a little up right,
    the front big opening means the engine really ‘hot’

previous evos have a low positioned headlamp giving the buldging like of the front hood as if reall stuffed up with engine, means ‘power’

• flizzardo (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 10:40 pm

damn the red color is just too sexy

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:04 am

this evo prototype is good laaa… cant wait to see it on the road.

Worry is that evo no warranty only. And read some review about tuned evo… the MR version with 400HP… the engine is not going to last over 4000miles… haiz… force it too hard… die so fast.

So, when choosing a fast car.. double confirm its warranty and also life span. :P

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 9:48 am

its common that all high powered performance cars have shorter warranties, due to the fact that the parts wear out quicker and are put under more strain. Even the BMW M3 has shorter service intervals, with more parts changed(at higher cost) than your regular 3 series. You dont buy a high performance car expecting family city car maintenance and warranties!!

btw, you are all wrong on the Meter cluster “hood” design. It wasnt alfa that came up with it first. It’s Lotus. and they are the ones who helped design the Gen.2.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 3:25 pm

not much suprise since this was expected by most ppl…..

is it possible to put in 255/35R20 ???? (used on Concept X)

still deeply in love with Evo IX…..

• Allan (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 1:11 pm

fastcx said,
    October 2, 2007 @ 8:56 pm

front remind me of volvo, overall the car is acceptable for me, just the rear is abit tall and flat -.- performance i bet can compete vf previous evo, because duno about the weight of whole car, engine is 12kg lighter, but how is the car body?

Whilst the engine block is lighter by 12kg, the overall weight of the car has risen by around a hundred kilo’s due to its bigger and stiff body. Apparently they decided to go with the 5spd manual instead of a 6spd manual for two main reasons: one being to “performance differentiate” the manual and the SST versions. The other reason is that the 5spd manual box is about 15kg lighter than the 6spd manual box. Anyhow, i think this car is sexy as hell.

• Allan (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 2:28 pm

Whilst the engine block is 12kg lighter, the overall weight of the car itself has risen by around 100kg due to the bigger and stiffer body. Apparently they decided to use a 5spd manual instead of a 6 spd manual box because of two main reasons. One is to “performance differentiate” the manual and the SST models. The other reason is that the 6spd manual box is around 15kg heavier than the 5spd man box…so they picked the lighter option. Anyhow, i think this car is sexy as hell.

• Allan (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 4:30 pm

Oops…sorry for the double post. I thought the first one didnt go through, so I typed in another response.

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 10:07 pm

The rear end looks like Alfa Romeo

• chee kong on Feb 16, 2009 at 11:04 pm

it look hot.but how about the price?