Nissan Pivo 2 to debut at Tokyo 2007

Nissan Pivo 2

Nissan will be displaying an updated version of their Nissan Pivo concept, rather straightforwardly called the Nissan Pivo 2 concept.

It continues with the original Pivo’s fully rotating cabin design which makes the concept of reversing your car obsolete. The Pivo 2 adds In-Wheel 3D motors for the car’s four wheels. These wheels can turn 90 degrees to allow the Pivo 2 to move sideways like a crab as well as the normal forward and reverse movement.

The little robot thing you will see in the photos after the jump is what Nissan calls a Robotic Agent, which can communicate to you everything from basic vehicle functions through to the nearest available parking and can have conversations with you in Japanese and English.

For readers who are in Japan, you can see the Pivo 2 displayed before the 2007 Tokyo Motor Show on the 13th and 14th of October 2007 at the Nissan Ginza Gallery in Chuo-ku, Tokyo from 10am to 8pm.

More images and a video (thanks to LittleFire85) can be viewed after the jump.

Video: Nissan Pivo 2

Nissan Pivo 2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 3:28 pm

Although the design look like toy, but i like the function and practical of this futuristic car. Huh.. future car like this? Beyond 2000 always shows this during the 90’s, but it’s still not in production. People to scare to buy. hehe..

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 3:37 pm

HUHU..CUTE LA… IS IT COME WITH ABS??EBD??? SRS

AIRBAGS???HEHEHEHEHE…OR TURBOCHARGED…..>>???:):):):):):):):):)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 3:39 pm

its a really cute looking concept.. but strangely, concept cars for the future usually always show very small city type cars.. they’d probably think people wont have a big family in the future?

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 3:45 pm

yeah yeah yeah..! a very cute design for Hello Kitty.
    Where’s the luggage/boot?
    Love the idea (very practical to go in and out) not the design.

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 3:49 pm

Let me see..looks like jukebox.washing machine,vaccum cleaner,sotong,…like something made for marine purposes, …and wait this car can move sideways..and thats something new…Japan is now going towards robotic technology,and they really spent a lot of money for research,

• cutester (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 4:02 pm

So cute….the car looks nice in Toy Story…. Hehehe

• I my (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 4:21 pm

Oooo what’s that robot head for??

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 4:21 pm

idea from this digger

http://www.countrypursuits.uk.com/images/heros/360_digger.jpg

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 5:19 pm

I would buy one and do what Jeremy Clarkson did to the Kelisa. I’m so evil..w00t!

• szw (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 5:27 pm

japanese hav too much free time

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 6:20 pm

How the hek are you going to get out if you’re involved in a head-on collision? Kick the window from inside?

• wong (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 6:29 pm

1 seater,1 door,..and colour combination reminds me of a toilet…

• arcana (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 6:34 pm

hmmm 3D motors for the wheels…..in the future no one will know how to park their cars be it side parking or any other type.
    so can these wheels change direction so that noobies can drift the car? that will be fun.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 7:27 pm

Yeah i’ve seen this PivO thing aired in Japanese news yesterday. Quite interesting though. The egg-shape body can rotate 360 degrees on its statical wheels. Perhaps a toy for the future school girls…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 9:40 pm

the start to cute cars…

• transformer (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 10:53 pm

Nevermind!

• mzfnd (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Make sure you dressed like George Jetson before hopping in.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 2:28 am

I think this can sell in Japan, but will not work rest of the places. The door is too big, so if you open it you might clip some other car.
    I don’t see the engine, or the point of having a car which response quite slow.
    Also I noticed something else. Is that a myvi? behind the x-trail or something else?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 11:17 am

saw this little baby on many newspapers….

CUTE!!!!

• gepochai (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 11:45 am

its a nissan march, not myvi lah. :P
    i think the car is a really good concept for city driving, no more reversing and no more parking problems. but the design is only suitable for girls.

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 11:00 am

that’s one of the coolest cars i’ve seen so far… but they might need to speeden up that parking process, malaysian drivers aren’t so patient, sure kena hon dah…

• napps (Member) on Oct 11, 2007 at 11:17 am

Why oh why must the Japanese churn out all this needless sissy cars???