Toyota A-BAT Concept pickup truck

Toyota A-BAT Concept

Toyota’s A-BAT Concept (Advanced Breakthrough Aero Truck) could preview the upcoming rumoured Scion light pickup truck in the US market. It was developed by the TMS Advanced Product Strategy group and Calty, Toyota’s North American-based, research and design center located in Newport Beach, California. The A-BAT Concept was designed for a buyer group with a unique combination of lifestyle activities.

The Toyota A-BAT Concept is built on a monocoque platform and is powered by Toyota’s Hybrid Synergy Drive, paired with an inline-4 gasoline engine. The rear has a 4 feet long bed, with a translucent roof panel that slides open to allow for tall cargo in the cab. A pass-through midgate can be folded down to lengthen the bed by an extra 2 feet.

The bed includes tailgate lighting for illuminating the load in the bed, a first aid kit and flashlight integrated into the tailgate, sliding tie downs, and an AC power outlet. The bed walls have lockable storage drawers. There is also a large sliding drawer beneath the bed, accessible without opening the tailgate.

The Toyota A-BAT’s monocoque chassis should provide for a more comfortable car-like driving experience, making the A-BAT a real urban warrior instead of an offroader.

More photos after the jump.

Scion might develop Scion xP pick-up truck

Toyota A-BAT Concept

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• namiabeeR1 (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 4:05 am

looks like a bigfoot to me..
    but hot..

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 6:43 am

Wow… look like can use this for war… it really look like tank la…

haha… still a nice car… maybe ironman can use this car…

• azrai (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 7:12 am

The Hilux answer to Triton. I bet this gonna be the next Scion. Look Scionish to me.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 7:36 am

ini untuk pegi bulan ke….

• kjryth (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 9:22 am

WHOAAAAAAAAAA i see ultraman’s next ride, this will surely be the team’s car in the next ultraman series.. so big and so robotic looking, i’ll buy it if it ever makes it to our shores….

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 9:33 am

put black colour and its a bat mobile…. so many bat mobile stail now lol i think all the designer is batman fan that why all car design similar to bat mobile…………

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 11:04 am

Dang!!! This looks way better than Triton! Got some nifty ideas but doubt any could make it into production. The stowed rear seat is a page out of Honda’s Jazz. I’m sure they will use this in the next Terminator movie. Hehe…

• mytouch (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 11:20 am

If u looks carfully,its like a Mitsubishi Lancer X is attached to a pickup truck…i smell copy-cat…Miaw!!!

• Realeyes (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:02 pm

I thought Mit Evo X, has copied the front end from Skyline GT R34!?

• deepthroat (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:09 pm

too bad Proton doesn’t even know how to copy a good thing. If this is the latest Proton model. it will sell like hot cakes. but there is too many ifs around. If Mahathir never comes to power, there will be no Proton… ?!! nah…..

• longdongsilver (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 2:13 pm

Looks like an imitation of the Honda Ridgeline.

• Noorizam Shah (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 2:18 pm

saya suka topik ini, menarik.. :)

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 2:34 pm

looks very futuristic…and the seats like it made from a puding jagung, but trust me your your life will be shorten if u sit at the back…

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 2:58 pm

2020 Hilux ?

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 2:59 pm

i think proton should build arena like this in first place……rear seat only for kids or “orang kurus” meh same as ford ranger tooo sempitttttt …..

• nmh (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 3:39 pm

It looks like a big truck…maybe for american market

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 4:04 pm

Hilux is cheapor version for this region, ABAT is the US.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 4:07 pm

I like the interior and exterior, when are we to get the best truck from the best of the best manufacturer, crap to NAP again.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 4:08 pm

The design is Truck + SUV

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 10:27 pm

It’s got everything hidden everywhere. Some slide open, some fold open and even drawers too. Before you buy anything like this make sure you check everything. Most likely there’s a Decepticon insignia somewhere…

• szw (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 11:18 pm

next hilux ?

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 1:56 am

interior is futuristic
    nice
    but for me
    too “thick” d the whole truck

• pengawas (Member) on Jan 09, 2008 at 1:21 pm

la.. that is Toyota.. i thought Mitsubishi… hmmm…