Volvo C30 optional decorative film

Volvo seems to be really pushing the Volvo C30 as a fun hatchback, but I think this optional feature is abit too whacko. Stickers as decorations for cars are quite common-place – Proton has been quite notorious in the past with its compulsory optional stickers that cost a few hundred ringgit, and Naza has recently announced a new line of Edisi Grafix stickers for the Naza Suria.

The Volvo C30 is now available with a choice of about 20 designs which include things like the rainbow pattern above, polka dots, zebra stripes and many more. These designs are actually an applique film, which is removable, and also serves to protect the car. The film is designed to last about two years, after of which it can be replaced with a new design or removed completely.

Each designs cost about 2,000 Euros, or about RM10,000 ringgit. Check out three more designs after the jump, or click here to view all the designs available!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• abtm (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 7:14 am

YUCK!

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 7:30 am

Looks like the design is created for the females. Men dont find this car sporty or masculine enough. No racing stripes or sporty vinyls.

• zidane (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 7:57 am

muahahahhahahahahahaa…
    muahahahhahahahahahaa…muahahahhahahahahahaa…

• azrai (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 8:00 am

Mengarut!

• kjryth (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 9:00 am

macam henpon la pulak!!!

• hamster (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 9:00 am

hmmm..interestin idea..but i doubt its gon b popular tho..reminds me of those ‘commercial’ vehicles tat cruisin down da road tryin to make ppl notice..

• sweilim (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 9:09 am

eeee! so nice! i want the rainbow one! think i can get one of those done on my Kelisa?

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 9:16 am

err.. i dont think thats legal in malaysia. U need to be able to declare the color of ur car and that color need to be at least 60% of the car color

• keeekeee (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 10:24 am

to wrap all over a car cost abt HKD5000-6000 only which is abt rm3k. after done , have to go so called JPJ in malaysia to update your car information and is free in HK.

• local (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 12:03 pm

if you ride this car in zoo…animal will laugh at you…especially zebra
    hahahahahahaha…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 12:26 pm

hhmmm… the ugliest thing ever!!! only 3 choices that i find acceptable… flames, hood stripes & sport… (& still the best 3 not that tempting).. why on earth?

• the stik (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 12:27 pm

volvo 3310.. leh tukar housing, 3 for rm10 only.. hehe

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 12:46 pm

i personally kinda like the #1 pic color one.
    but.. the other one is nightmare :D

btw.. is it legal and pass jpj test :D

• iamisiamwhatiam (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 12:49 pm

Real men wears pink… Really :D

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 1:46 pm

iamisiamwhatiam said,
    April 8, 2008 @ 12:49 pm

Real men wears pink… Really

—————————–

u mean SHE-MAN? LOL :)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 3:20 pm

creative, but certainly not for me……

don’t spoil the design with ugly stuff……

• Xoomie (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 4:57 pm

what bollocks!

• Parrot (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 6:02 pm

April Fools came a bit late for us.

• mockviper (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 7:12 pm

it will look better if theres a military cameo design.

• ilmondo (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 8:05 pm

i personally think that Volvo is trying to position this car as youthful as possible in its line-up. While this car has its own positive characteristiscs – when unfilmed, Volvo is trying to give this car more CHARACTER. Just like Mini, Fiat 500, Smarts.. CUSTOMIZATION! In short, making it a fashion item. And being a fashion item, looks are just very very subjective. Paris Hilton may love it, Pink Panther perhaps..

Well, i may sound like a Volvo fan, that is because i am(ALFA as well – hello raybrig85!). Just my opinion tho.. and i also like to share a thought: Volvo has low resale value here, if we think positive, they are just offering safety for all walks of life. LOL

just my thoughts!

*reminder-weather is just too unpredictable(at least in my place) check you wiper condition kay!

happy motoring!

cheers!

• szw (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 9:08 pm

its obvious to spot our car if we hav 1
    if kena stolen can find it easier…
    another way 4 anti-theft.

• joe203 (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 9:35 pm

I do like the ‘wooden’ design though.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 10:38 pm

After two years, take out sticker, car still looks like new with paint being “shielded” by sticker?

• KelvC (Member) on Apr 09, 2008 at 9:34 am

I’ve checked the Volvo site and i must say i am intrigued with the idea of customizing the C30. What i found is you can choose an external patern template (i.e. zebra strips) and choose the colour of your liking (gray, savannah green, prairie brown) and choose a skirting color (gray, black, whatever). After that is completed, then choose the seat color of your choosing and to top it up, you can choose the front console of your choice. Awesome!

There are many drivers out there will want to differenciate and willing to do so with a premium, and Volvo spotted it.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 09, 2008 at 1:16 pm

hahahahha..the first colour scheme looks like paddle pop ice cream.

Kids will like the rainbow colour combo. hmmmmm, i can even taste the creammy goodness!!!

• car_craze (Member) on Apr 09, 2008 at 2:11 pm

If i am not mistaken BMW did it first by commissioning artists to paint their cars and each one became an ‘artwork’. But it is a one off and not done on a commercial basis. Maybe Volvo is trying to explore a niche market where some people like to ‘personalize’ their car, and expressing their ‘true colors’. (pun intended.)

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 09, 2008 at 11:26 pm

its like a joke…it makes the car looks cheap…