Volvo C30 2.4i coming to Malaysia!

Volvo C30

Volvo Car Malaysia will be launching the new Volvo C30 hatchback this Monday the 23rd. Initially only the 2.4i model will be offered, which features a 2.4 litre inline-5 engine producing 170 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 230Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. This engine is mated to a 5-speed Geartronic transmission. It will retail for RM215,500 OTR without insurance, fully imported. More details on Wednesday.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 7:04 am

Another car to add more colours to our raoad. Do you realize that in our country Merc prefered by Malays, Beemer by the Chinese, and Volvo by the Indians. Why is so due to demographic? Any study on this.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 9:49 am

There are other races that drive Volvo ofcos.

• theanswer (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 10:10 am

mokkf82; of course there are other races who use volvo..its only a general statement. but somehow it might be true. the reason malay use merc because the mindset..”merc mean luxury..merc mean rich”. My uncle is a contractor, one time ago he’s very eager to buy 2nd hand merc..even told me it’s a masterpiece model..in the end it’s w124 model…i thot it’s w210!(at that time w210 also considered old)..i dont see why i should be amazed with w124 model(unless it’s an AMG)..but since it’s a typical malay mindset, merc=luxury & rich. i think different races got different taste. For bmw, most chinese become rich at young age..(around 30+ to 40)..they know more about car industry & can compare with merc..based on their age..they prefer bmw because more sporty and easier to ‘play’ with the bodykit.

• kimmy (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 10:31 am

Personally, if I wanted a hot hatch, I would rather have the Golf GTI. The Volvo does look interesting though.

• ilmondo (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 10:31 am

yea i think its just a general statement.. luv volvos.. anyway.. there are lower displacements in its lineup.. starting from 1.6, 1.8, 2.0.. there is even the ‘green’ version.. 1.6 tdci if i’m not wrong.. hope its brought in ere.. but we only get the 2.4.. tax issue? or market issue?? i’m not sure.. anyway.. i always think that the Ford Focus is the cheaper S40, C30.. btw.. the volvo 2.4 5 pot sounds very good.. use to have 1 2.5 5 pot 20valves 850.. sounds damn good too..not alfa type.. but the unique/solid type.. havent driven the Mazda 3 tho..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 10:47 am

the look of the car need to have a “young-ish” look.

• theanswer (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 10:50 am

Roti Naan; agree! the car needs more aggressive bodykit..bigger sport rims. 2.4 is too big for hot hatch. better if got 2.0 or 1.8 turbo(save money on road tax). and for tht price, i would prefer a golf gti.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 2:25 pm

General Race we have
    BMW = Chinese
    Merc = Malay
    Volvo = Indians

General Age we have
    BMW = Between 20 to 35
    Merc = Between 35 to 50
    Volvo = Between 45 to 65

Conclusion
    Chinese rich at age 20 to 35
    Malay rich at age 35 to 50
    Indian rich at age 45 to 65

LOL

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 4:17 pm

C30 has been hailed as the most reliable medium car according to a survey conducted by Which? Car Magazine.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/7464980.stm

• LHQ (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 4:51 pm

The S40 might look better than this one, sportier or perhaps younger?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 6:13 pm

You have to remember that this is a 4 seater car, practicality is already lost there. So this is really a car for looks. The rear side is one nice different look, can see straight through the front with that.

• s60t (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 7:44 pm

I have to disagree with azrai.
    I have an S60, my wife drives an S40 and we are both chinese and we bought the cars when we were in our 30’s. So why did we buy volvo’s?
    we are both doctors and put safety above performance and status.In fact many of my doctor friends drive volvos provided they do not feel the need to “prove” their wealth by driving a merc or BMW.
    But even being a volvo supporter I would have to say the GTi is much better than the C30 and cheaper though, but new model may come in a year or so.

• csv (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 11:08 pm

well, i thought i saw one today.

JKH signplate, which is like 1 year ago?

either parallel import or he got it someway, still, it looks nice.

buttttttt

GOLF GTI ANYDAY ANYTIME!

• NARUdaARC (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 1:49 am

i just saw one in kuching a few days ago and its RED
    wowww that’s hot hatch!!

• dadtho (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 12:31 pm

I saw a Volvo C30 in Sunway near Sunway College only a few days ago. I am surprise on that time. I am even more suprise because after I saw it, it is going to lauch! The C30 is a nice car and suits women. I saw this in Australia. A lot of women drive the car. Maybe Golf GTI sometimes too fast for them. But for me, Golf GTI.

• dadtho (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 12:38 pm

I love this car man

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 9:03 pm

The reason why volvo isn’t that popular could be 2 reasons:

1)Although volvo IS a competitor alongside BMW and Merc,they just don’t stand oout of the crowd.You can’t argue with that…the 1st car people will most probably notice if you park a 3 series,S60 and C class is probably the C class.The styling of the volvo just won’t appeal to many people other than safety-conscious people.

2)BMW and “M” and “Alphina”
    Merc has “AMG”,”BRABUS”,”KLEEMAN”
    Volvo has..??

• droll (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 11:15 pm

2.4L fully imported CBU? at times like these, it’s gonna be a hard sell.

• droll (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 11:17 pm

oh and btw, it’s amazing what volvo has done with their branding. volvo and safety are not synonymous. mercedes, bmw, etc and all the other continentals are up there in the safety department.

it so happens volvo has emphasized this a little more in their advertising.

yes, i’ve heard of volvos being in accidents and the occupants walking out. who is to say the same won’t happen for an S class or a 5 series?

anyway, drive safe and drive smart.

• purefaith (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 11:48 pm

B1u3Be@m,

Obviously you don’t know much about Volvos…..

Volvo has Heico, BSR, IPD, MTE, Rica, etc….

• purefaith (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 12:01 am

B1u3Be@m,

Read this:
    http://paultan.org/archives/2006/09/02/tuners-prepare-volvo-c30-concepts/

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 8:37 am

So where is Audi? Who is Audi for? Lain-lain? heh :p

You have to see the C30 in person to appreciate how it looks. Somehow pictures don’t convey how good this car looks.

I love volvos, and the fondest memory of one was in a bright yellow T5 wagon, out running a snobbish, tailgating 328 owner.

However, the engine choices leave much to be desired. I will also pick the VW GTi in this price range as it has a better powertrain and utility (4 doors and a big boot). If Volvo introduces its T5 version, perhaps it might make more sence for a niche market player.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:47 am

different cars for different folks.. all these cars, whether merc, bmw, or volvo totally appeal to a different target audience.

no point arguing over who is better, or who buys what.. etc.

a T5 might be quicker in a straightline, but in a twisty country road, a 328 would probably be a better car.. they all appeal to different needs..

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 11:48 am

I think Volvo should put the turbo engine inside this one. It has a sporty image, and many will attracted because of it. But 170bhp and 230 nm of torque will bring it nowhere near the competitors. So people will buy it only because of the shape and exclusivity.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 11:54 am

NoToLowQuality said,
    June 21, 2008 @ 2:25 pm

Conclusion
    Chinese rich at age 20 to 35
    Malay rich at age 35 to 50
    Indian rich at age 45 to 65
    —————————

LOL!!…I agree…damn funny man!!…where did u get those stats anyway?..hahaha..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 12:05 pm

A turbo diesel version will serve a purpose here… a 2.4, dono lah, doesn’t seem to work for me. This is easy on the eyes though…. and impeccable safety features.

Many choices in this price range too, what’s the real world price on this thing, anyway..

• Hikaru (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 6:13 pm

The choice is simple.

S40 – RM170k plus (minus 10k discount), bigger saloon

C30 – RM215k plus, smaller hatch.

given that they are both good, the Huge difference in price will mean that the C30 is only reserved for the rich and volvo faithful. My choice would be S40 any day.
    Given RM215k to spare and a need for some Hatch adrenalin shot, I’ll go for a BM 130i.

• dr_blur (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 7:09 pm

not everyone knows how to appreciate Volvo.
    u can say that the look is not as killing as a beemer or merc.
    but performance and handling is as good if not better.
    what more if you talk about safety… arguably the best for
    family saloon.