Chery A5 Hybrid for Beijing Olympics by Ricardo

Chery Hybrid

Chinese automaker Chery and automotive components supplier Ricardo developed these hybrid versions of the Chery A5 as part of transportation arrangements for the Beijing Olympics. The 50-unit fleet comprise of two different types of A5s. One is a start-stop “hybrid” which is basically a regular 1.6 litre petrol engine with a 5-speed manual equipped with start-stop system called the Belt Starter-Generator (BSG).

The other is what we would normally consider a hybrid vehicle. A 1.3 litre petrol engine is combined with a crank-mounted 12kW 151 volt motor. The system was fully developed by Ricardo, using an integrated hybrid control unit comprising of motor drive electronics, DC to DC converter and a high-voltage battery pack positioned behind the rear seats with minimal intrusion into the luggage area.

Ricardo claims the 1.3 litre hybrid system provides similiar peak power and torque to a 1.6 litre benchmark engine, with a 15% improvement in fuel consumption over the benchmark. In addition, the start-stop system can restart the engine within 200ms.

More images after the jump.

Chery Hybrid

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• austin_cipan (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 8:28 am

hedious… that’s it… no offense, but i really2 don’t like chinese car design… it’s just that they don’t have the mojo… design are typical, just like the koreans 5-10 years ago… even the koreans are improving… sorry…

• normaluser (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 8:50 am

Don’t justify a book by its cover. At least they can produce a hybrid in short time, and their tech improve from time to time. Their evolution is faster than the Koreans, and don’t be surprised if they can compete with the Japs soon.

• w_lighter (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 9:18 am

So remind me again how long before proton produce their hybrid car? 2010 is it? Proton are so screwed…..

• raverus (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 9:20 am

Before you judge others, please take a look at our own proton taxis.
    At least……there is hybrid, at least it looks like a better taxi.

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 10:33 am

If proton launch their hybrid just now…

Basher A : “this car might be scuks, mesti cepat losak”.
    Basher B : “Is this true? Or tipu one? ”
    Basher C : “Use what tehcnolgy aa? Ah Beng one aaa?”.
    Basher D : “etc etc etc…”..

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 11:05 am

I think bmpower is too quick to judge. Even though I hate Proton very much (product + management) but I’ll be happy they can do hybrid at all.

As for this Chery A5 (which, btw, should be the focus of this comment thread), design-wise I’d say “Oh whatever”. But the fact that it’s hybrid I give them a thumbs-up.

• David9988 (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 1:49 pm

The car reminds me of nissan slyph.
    personally i like what chery is doing.
    Proton has been around for ages and achieves little even with generous govt aid.
    Whereas chery is only the age of a standard 4 child.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 2:11 pm

Chery knows what they are doing. Who doesn’t gone though trial and error? None
    So this is a great achievement for them. As they are one of the leading Chinese car manufacturers.
    But even with that, there’s still some minor quibbles to iron out.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 4:03 pm

Looks like anyone can knock out a hybrid model nowadays, just buy / copy someone’s technology

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 6:18 pm

This 50 vehicles just a one off thing. Like the chansellor car. Will not see production, just to say Beijing is green and lessen the smog in the city

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 7:09 pm

this is even worse than that prius

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Aug 07, 2008 at 11:29 pm

If the price is right, then it can suited as taxis. Little car with good torque and low fc. They still need to make the car a little more user-friendly. The name ‘A5’ doesn’t stand up for its name in terms of design.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 08, 2008 at 12:21 am

Good for the Chinese to proof their ability for this coming Beijing Olympic. looks exactly like Nissan Slyphy.
    But i need to say something on the dash board. It took me around 1 minute to figure out what the indicators for.
    Might be my eye sight problem