Hyundai planning flagship large luxury sedan

Hyundai VI

After getting some pretty good reviews for the new Hyundai Genesis, the Korean automobile manufacturer wants to take it a notch higher with a new rear wheel drive luxury sedan that will take the place of the current Hyundai Equus (a model shared with Mitsubishi, which called it the Mitsubishi Proudia).

The new flagship Hyundai will go against the likes of the Lexus LS, the Mercedes-Benz S-Class and the BMW 7-Series. It is said to be called the Hyundai VI.

Above is a recently released teaser image of the new car. Expect it to have Hyundai’s largest engines under its hood such as the Tau V8 or the Lambda V6.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• anfernee (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 1:11 am

From the side, the back looks like the 5-series BMW.. :P

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 7:49 am

I heard rumors that this is going to be called the i70 and to be slotted above the Sonata… interesting, must wait and see :)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 8:14 am

Hyundai moving up. Targeting the big guns now not much unlike what Lexus did in the early 90s…..back then, everyone thinks Toyota is over ambitious…

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 10:24 am

Hyundai… they just revive..

Their existence already 61 year. (1947)
    and they just build their engine back 4 or 5 years ago.
    (at the same time proton build campro i think.. )

but honestly.. their design getting better.. no boring as before.. and far away better than many Toyota / Japan car. BTW, their engine.. still doubted.

• trustgtr (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 12:04 pm

another car that would be taxed until it doesn’t make sense…RM250k easy..anyone willing to spend that much on a hyundai??

• IsaacVky (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 12:32 pm

trustgtr said,

August 28, 2008 @ 12:04 pm

Paying 250k for a Hyundai, if you compare to other makers maybe you have to fork out another 30~50% for the same level & spec. Cheap & offer lots, that’s what they’re good at.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 1:39 pm

i thought that was a c-class

• Altezzar (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 2:53 pm

First of all they need to need to rebadge it to another name?.
    Secondly they need to find a characteristic which they can use to market the car. i.e High Quality, New technology, etc

Cause frankly Korean cars are not known for anything.

For example Jap known for Reliability and Conti known for design.
    Korean known for ?????. They are cheap but good????….well I am not so sure…

Then again there is a thing called “SOUL” apparently…… and only conti cars got them……so dont waste your time with this brand until it has “SOUL”.

• pirate (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 2:54 pm

Hmmm…the 5-series is really something these days. Heck! It’s in the same class or league as the Mercedes S-Class and Lexus LS.
    Or has Hyundai got its goals too bent on aping that mid-sized BMW model? Lol

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 3:53 pm

It looks like Mercedes C-Class side profile in a bigger body with a pinch of Camry + BMW 5 series at eh back. Hope the front looks wont disappoint, form what we get from the side muscular profile.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 4:06 pm

This is not to challenge the 5-Series, the Genesis got the 5 Series segment covered. This is to go against 7-Series/A8/LS/S-Class.

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 6:58 pm

So presumably this will look like a merc+bmw car when it is in production then. Cost of maintaining the car is another issue. Low market sales=high spare part cost

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 8:03 pm

given the money, would anyone but this over a 7er/s-klasse/a8? lexus ls only sells well in the us, volkswagen phaeton is probably the best car of all the large ones but it didnt sell well, its all down to badge problem.

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Aug 28, 2008 at 11:47 pm

Oh Yeah, That’s way to go… Hyundai!
    I want the genesis! I want the genesis! This is what me and my wife is craving for, I am confident that this coming model will not be dissapointing. I hope it will make its debut in Malaysia. Its worth a try… Don’t let down because its a Hyundai, Hyundai has step forward lightyears ahead than P1, It is as competitive as those Japanese Brands. Give them a chance and see what they can offer…

• dzat46 (Member) on Aug 29, 2008 at 11:32 am

Back in the 70’s and 80’s…ppl always laugh at Jap cars (ie toyota/honda), now Lexus is better than/equal merc/bmw (albeit in US due to msian mentality)…can see the history repeating itself where today ppl laughing at Korean cars (in msia only…US/Euro has started giving good review/ good sales already)…won’t be surprise within 10 yrs time ths Korean’s luxury marque car wil equal Lexus/infiniti/merc….etc

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 29, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Back in the 70’s and 80’s…ppl always laugh at Jap cars (ie toyota/honda), now Lexus is better than/equal merc/bmw (albeit in US due to msian mentality)…can see the history repeating itself where today ppl laughing at Korean cars (in msia only…US/Euro has started giving good review/ good sales already)…won’t be surprise within 10 yrs time ths Korean’s luxury marque car wil equal Lexus/infiniti/merc….etc

thx the USA for buying jap cars, now toyota priuses, give them a monopoly of the car industry. in japan, nobody buys lexus

• ReactiX (Member) on Aug 29, 2008 at 3:16 pm

Agree with Alpina BMW this time. Their nationalism is very thick, not even buying outsider car (Lexus is owned by Toyota, but manufactured outside Japan, same goes to Infiniti, they consider that non-japanese car)

~ReactiX

• mct (Member) on Aug 29, 2008 at 7:55 pm

it is true , japanese dun like lexus and there are no lexus at japan
    all lexus are rebadge to toyota
    but even then , japanese dun like these kind of ‘japan’ car

in japan, their manufacture produce some very/super old style car to suit the taste of the strange japanese , you could search for nissan president , and see for your self.

hyundai genesis is not as well as it looks
    i find a review at autozine , and they are dissapoint at what hyundai offer
    you could search for it and see for your self

• Altezzar (Member) on Sep 01, 2008 at 4:59 pm

History can repeat itself. Just like the Japs. But you must understand jap were obsessed with Quality, Reliabilty and Technology. That was the catayst.
    Now after 40 years later the Jap in someways are better or equal to their conti peers. Then again there are those will never admit when they are beaten in the own game. Always make excuse like “no soul” ,”better handling”
    etc. The Korean also can do it but they must spend considerable amount of their budget to R&D in engine technology and they must possess obsession for quality. Design and handling that money can buy easily.

Though of the day : 40 years has passed and the Japs have evolved from
    tin can poor excuse for a car to market leaders with
    technology,reliabililty and durability to boot. Now can
    say the same thing for conti?. Think about it !!!!!!.

• dzat46 (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 10:02 am

After the korean….prepare for the chinese car invasion, as per earlier japs,..currently ppl are laughing at them now……