Nissan 370Z photos: Z car goes retro?

Nissan 370Z

These are the first uncovered and undisguised official photos of the new Nissan 370Z, and it looks like Nissan has gone all retro on this new installment in the Z car series, probably trying to emulate the success of American car companies in producing modern versions of their musclecar classics.

On the interior, Japanese sports car lovers who typically love to adorn their car with a triplet of Defi gauges will find that Nissan has already done this for you, though they’re probably not from Defi. If you wish to add your own Defi gauges you’ll have to use A-pillar mounts as the area above the center dash is already taken.

Like its name indicates, though we are not 100% sure as no official spec sheets have been released, the new 370Z is most likely going to feature the new 3.7 litre V6 VQ37 engine, producing roughly 330 horsepower. This means even more road tax to pay for the first Malaysians who snap this one up.

Look for two more shots after the jump.

Nissan 370Z

Nissan 370Z

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• red7 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 3:37 am

the current 350z is better

• red7 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 3:38 am

better looking i mean =)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 3:49 am

looks shorter than the outgoing model…looks abt like z4…long bonnet.short rear….

• xenith (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 4:09 am

350z nicer…

• freeze (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 5:33 am

Hate the shape. Like a shoe with the back portion torn off or stepped on.

• ENZO (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:41 am

350Z look better, how come they can come out with this kind of design?
    While the GT-R is Godlike design, this is like……………….. (speechless)

• db8 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 7:38 am

yes this model wheelbase is shorter than 350z..but i think it looks like a porsche..the basic shape i mean..dont u ppl feel so?

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:01 am

Oh… Nissan.

FIRST! I’m the first, and only who like this car, the Z370?

Shorter car, lighter weight, stiffer chassis, bigger engine, higher power-to-weight ratio, what’s not to love?

And then there’s the design. Man, those bums. Designer had Beyonce and Shakira in mind when the ZZ370 was design.

The song “Baby Got Back” by SirMixaLot is now playing in my head…

– I like big butts and I cannot lie
    – You other brothers can’t deny
    – That when a girl walks in with an itty bitty waist
    – And a round thing in your face
    – You get sprung
    – Wanna pull up front…

• mokkf82 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:12 am

Looks totally different and odd, i might not addapt it so fast. But i still stick to that old Z.

• White Jack (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:17 am

First 370Z will be for datuk’s son :)

The sport rims need to be changed when you get the car :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:22 am

looks like they’re definitely going retro.. this car immediately brings up memories of the original “Z” cars of old. definitely has more of that roadster feel than the current 350 Z, which looks very short and squat.

• abtm (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:53 am

If it drove as well as the 350z i dont care it it look a bit dodgy, at least it doesnt look offensive- we’ll get used to it

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 9:45 am

What’s wrong with Nissan’s designers? They’re just getting things worst.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 10:05 am

love the rear light. something porsche thing going on there. and pls get rid of that orange seat. what happen to black colour?

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 10:17 am

Good God, the centre console looked like it was lifted directly from a Hyundai… WTF?!

• lchan (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:06 am

looks like a z4 hardtop to me.

• ignas (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:13 am

its ‘Z’ and that explains the fugly light shape. it gonna hurts the wallet if accidentally knock onto something.

• tariq (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:15 am

gorgeous 370z. with this design, surely it has better Cd ~ .29.
    meant to take on z4 pon. but before i even think of getting this car, or for that matter any other car, i’d want and need the PDRM ,herein termed the cops, to buck up and be tougher, smarter, more organized, than the street thugs and criminals. Together with the responsible citizen, make KL and Malaysia a safer place to stay.

• MK84 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:27 am

Now this is a proper Z-car. Proper homage to the original icon.

• ricaza (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:41 am

wow!! retro..loves retro..haha..cool.. :D

• torque (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:54 am

Well…it sure does look retro!! I think I could accept the front fascia of the car but not very fond with the back looks. Hope to see it up close then can say more. Still, this car has better weight distribution compare to the 350Z since it has a shorter wheel base. And YES…this is definately a sports car for the Dato’s and their sons…the road tax will surely cost more than 4K ler! Heck, look at the bright side…the current 350Z will cost cheaper to buy when this new baby reach our shore (still the tax will cost you 3K something also). Oh! I loved this car’s steering wheel compare to the current one…

• gtmaniac (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 12:00 pm

wow.. looks very short!

But I still think the Z32 (especially the 2+2) is the best looking Z.. ever.

• Jaybond (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 12:50 pm

Overall body profile is nice. Short & stubby , sleek yet muscular.
    Excellent rival to the FIA GT4 class cars – BMW Z4 M, Porsche Cayman S , Audi TTS , Aston Martin V8 Vantage, Ford Mustang GT etc.

I think what divide opinions is on the fussy head & rear lamp styling.

Anyway, for sure, currently Nissan has got two of the finest entry/medium level sportcars available on the market today.

• maxtek (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 1:42 pm

Wowie… Looks BETTER than I had expected… It somehow reminds me of the BMW Z4 in terms of its shape…

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 2:25 pm

i hate the A-pillar
    for now.

have to see the real thing.

• raptorclans (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 5:03 pm

Man that’s gorgeous… you’d think they couldn’t improve on the 350Z, now they made it even cooler! Love the way the window slopes up, real retro… and the proportions look sweet :D

• _Zephyre_ (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 5:57 pm

I very much prefer the 2006 350Z’s looks.

I started liking it less and less after they redesigned the hood for 2007.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:45 pm

the interior hints infiniti

• szw (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:56 pm

not a japanese car lover

• David9988 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 6:58 pm

looks like the designers were sleeping overtime.

• csv (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:32 pm

i think its nice.

imho, i think the z series is one of the best looking car design out there. 350z 240z etc. easily identified and named.

kudos to nissan.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 8:57 pm

will the actual production unit look like this?

the interior is too simple, not much attraction from there…..

dont like the front bumper…..

overall its ok, but still prefer the 350Z…..

• mytouch (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 9:55 pm

Still preffer the 350Z.This new 370Z looks a bit like Porche.Is it really neccessary to follow the European design?sigh…

• shoon1983 (Member) on Oct 30, 2008 at 11:12 pm

ya agree… becoming like porche design….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 12:15 am

i still prefer 350z

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 2:15 am

perhaps, they wanna incorporate some renault design onto it? loss some japs style liao… ha ha ha

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 3:19 am

lol.. the real is not pretty

• lchan (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 10:26 am

Should have stretch the front another inch or two (at the A pillar and front wheel fender) giving it a more roadster look. Roadsters always have long bonnets.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 2:03 pm

the 350z was actually cooler

• jinks (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 4:34 pm

isit me or is the 370Z significantly TVR-ized

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 31, 2008 at 4:36 pm

gosh… looks like a frog, which indirectly links me to Porsches…

• hvannees (Member) on Nov 02, 2008 at 2:43 pm

cooler than previous 350z. gosh.. lagi sejuk.. yeah.. loves retro.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 03, 2008 at 11:56 am

albagmane said,

October 31, 2008 @ 4:36 pm

gosh… looks like a frog, which indirectly links me to Porsches…

—————————–
    porsches are cool frogs, this is like the nerdy frog or loser frog